18 photos
Mazda 2

Mazda 2

DE, DY, DJ, DL
4.3 from 178 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

Previous
Next
Red
RedSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Mazda 2 sedan

published

I purchased the sedan as I wanted boot space and ease of accessing the boot that did not involve having to reach my arms far, as required with a hatch. The car size is good. We purchased rear sensors, as did not come with any! This car is easy to drive, including having a small turning circle. The car does not have automatic lights or wiper settings. The head space in the back is an issue for 5' 9" son. Petrol consumption is good. Take off from standing is slow, breaks are reliable / satisfactory.

BodySedan
BadgeMaxx
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2016
Funky
FunkySydney, NSW
  • 15 reviews
  • 4 likes

Decent little city car

published

It's not going to see the world on fire in terms of driving experience but it's pretty good compared to Toyota Yaris and slightly older Toyota Echo I drove extensively in my uni days. Good interior and reliability but service costs were slightly higher than I was imagining after previous Toyota I had.

BodyHatch
BadgeNeo
TransmissionAutomatic
Andrew V
Andrew VSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Mazda 2 is a great car but Skyactive automatic transmission shifts into higher gears to early.

published

Have done 7000ks. Generally a very good car but auto transmission shifts into 5th & 6th too early (5th at about 50km/h and 6th at just over 60km/h) resulting in the little engine lugging at only 1,100rpm, at these speeds. It will shift down (a bit reluctantly) if you put your foot down but performance feels apathetic when cruising around with a light foot. Sports mode is too much the other way and is too aggressive for normal driving. Can appreciate car is designed this way for economy but if it shifted into 5th and 6th at slightly higher speeds or had a setting between "normal" and "sports", it would feel peppier and much nicer to drive.

BodyHatch
BadgeMaxx
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.5L
Cars

Find out how Mazda 2 compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Rattle noise

published
BodySedan
BadgeGenki
TransmissionAutomatic

Bad upholstery

published

Everything about the car is top quality, aside from the bad upholstery in particular the front door trim. They mark continually and look very shabby, and I have been unable to restore the fabric to original condition, that's pretty rough for a one year old car ... Also 5 times when I have turned off the engine the car keeps running - weird! Has anyone had similar issues? Funnily enough I would still buy Mazda

BodyHatch
BadgeGenki
TransmissionAutomatic
Related Articles
Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Banjo Petterson
Banjo PettersonWodonga
  • 2 reviews
  • 8 likes

Average. Some Issues.

published
Engine Size1.5L
TransmissionManual
BadgeMaxx
BodyHatch
Selwyncars
SelwyncarsDianella
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

FaultyAirbag

published

I have a 2007 model,which is good little but one day the airbag light came on and on aving it checked out I was informed that the passenger side airbag was faulty and a replacement would be about $950.00 which to is a hefty price to pay for an item which just becomes faulty even though it has never been used,has any other owners had this type of issue
Small easy to park
Not enough power boot very small

BadgeGenki
Engine Size1500
TransmissionAutomatic
BodyHatch
doesthatmakesense
doesthatmakesenseMelbourne
  • 10 reviews
  • 7 likes

Mazda2 Hatch 2006

published
BodyHatch
1 comment
Karmaisking
KarmaiskingNSW, 2011
  • 21 reviews
  • 13 likes

Good not great

published

Reliable, quiet, very reasonable pricing, good rear seat. But very small boot, and it feels "narrow" and it feels - dare I say it - a little "tinny".

It has somewhat intrusive road "hum" and is not as refined as the Polo.

Nevertheless a reliable shopping trolley for around town. And VERY economical.
Reliable, no fuss driving
Slightly tinny feel because of tyre noise intrusion at freeway speed

BodyHatch
3 comments
Chris9165
Chris9165

Are you getting a high pitched sound when you get up to 80+ and then take your foot off?

Karmaisking
Karmaisking

No

youngkid
youngkid

Car manufacturer always provided bad tyres on new car, so better get ur own great tyres for ur car to get a stable n quiet ride on fwy

Cars

Find out how Mazda 2 compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Candice_Milne
Candice_MilneAU
  • 3 reviews

Mazda2 Genki issue

published

Good little car, though I just took it to get a blue slip (roadworthy) and it failed! Due to a bad oil leak and a ticking noise which turned out to be electric sparks flying in the engine. It's in to get fixed with Mazda but they were unable to give me a replacement car which is really inconvenient considering I bought it brand new to avoid this sort of thing.
Easy to park, good on fuel.

Engine Size1.5L
TransmissionManual
BodyHatch
BadgeGenki
2 comments
Chris9165
Chris9165

How old is your car?

Candice_Milne
Candice_Milne

It's a 2011 model, running very well now. Seems to have been a one off issue.

Heavy on the gas

published

Great car bright green, but the high pitched noise when you get up to 100km,when you take your foot of the gas it stops then when you put your foot on the gas it starts up again. You get quite a headache by the time you drive for a bit. Anybody else have this trouble
Reliable, inexpensive, feels lovely to drive, high seats, easy to get out of and into.
High pitched noise. glove box it weird.

Engine Size4cyl
BodyHatch
1 comment
chris
chris

Havn't got up to 100kms as yet. Interesting. I do feel that its very heavy on petrol though and not impressed with that at all.

See all Mazda 2 reviews

Questions & Answers

Steve B.
Steve B.asked
2 DY (2002-2007)

I have 2006 Mazda, have had it for years and been running smoothly but yesterday I felt like the car had a hiccup then the AT and engine lights on the dashboard came on. After a minute the AT light was gone but the engine light stayed the whole day. Can anyone please tell me what the issue is? Thank you.

1 answer
fariha j.
fariha j.

I own a mazda2 (2005 genkii), a thoroughly enjoyable, reliable, feul efficient car, but.... had thecsame issue when i first bought it second hand 3 years ago. The engine checklight would turn on intermittently. My very very reliable mechanic (blunder road, durack, brisbane) lifted it up and gave it a thorough once over. He told me the problem wasn't in the engine at all but in the circuitory of the checklight itself. Once he replaced the said offending circuit.... Voila! No more problems. Cost me $270.

Pam
Pamasked
2

Has anyone else had problems with their Mazda2 Neo 2016 a/c as mine has stopped working they told me it was the a/c clutch and would cost $2,500 to fix it? Have had the car since new.

No answers
Kylie
Kylieasked
2 DY (2002-2007)

Hi I have a blown head gasket and have a mate fixing it for me but hes made the mistake of not marking where the timing chain needs to be and now hes upto putting it all back together but doesn't know where it needs to line up? Can anyone help plz ??

No answers
See all Mazda 2 questions

Get an answer from our members

Mazda 2

Details

Compare all 16 Mazda 2
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $21,140$23,140$24,150$22,150
TransmissionManualAutomaticAutomaticManual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy16" Alloy16" Alloy16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption5.2 L/100km4.9 L/100km4.9 L/100km5.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 44 L44 L44 L44 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L
Max Power81kW @ 6000rpm81kW @ 6000rpm81kW @ 6000rpm81kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque141Nm @ 4000rpm141Nm @ 4000rpm141Nm @ 4000rpm141Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureThailandThailandThailandThailand
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014
Compare all 16 Mazda 2
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.