??!
4 photos
Mazda 3 BM

Mazda 3 BM (2014-2015)

4.3 from 119 reviews

Reviews

(62)
(39)
(10)
(5)
(3)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (7)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (7)
  • Noise Level
    3.4 (7)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (7)
  • Handling
    4.3 (7)
  • Braking
    4.4 (7)
  • Suspension
    3.9 (7)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (7)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.1 (8)
  • Interior Design
    4.1 (8)
  • Boot Size
    4.4 (8)
  • Features
    4.0 (8)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (8)

A Massive Lemon - being factual

published

Top of the line Astina hatch.
Problems with the infotainment system saying no sat nav installed after one month .
Front drivers side shock absorber creeks all the time , MAZDA said cant find fault

Purchased in March 2015.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Daniel D Lay

Daniel D LayBonnyrigg

  • 8 reviews

Stress free

published

I drive daily to work and taken the car up and down the coast for little getaways. I have owned my Mazda 3, for nearly 5 years and mever had a problem. No regrets choosing this car as it has been hassle free so far.

Purchased in September 2015 for $24,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
J B.

J B.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

SP25 GT Premium price for crap infotainment system.

published

Had this car for 6 yrs. always complain about the Bose system install in the car, dealer always been telling me we just tune it. It will be ok finally my car was out warranty when they told there was one speaker broken and want me to pay for it.

Purchased in March 2014 for $39,990.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sedans

Find out how Mazda 3 BM compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Fet91

Fet91Goulburn Valley, VIC

  • 9 reviews

Love this car!

published

It would take a very good salesman to get me to buy anything other than a Mazda3!!! Stunning to look at. Fun to drive. Super reliable. Amazing fuel efficiency. Cheap to service. What more could you want?

Purchased in August 2016 for $24,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Anti

AntiSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent

published

Had my 2014 SP25 about 7 months, 17k km, has been flawless. Coming from Fords, and Holdens, I'll never go back. Previous car was an XR6T, so was expecting it to be a slug, but for a little 2.5 litre, it's pretty quick. Travel 500+ km a week, and spend 40-50 on fuel compared to 90+ when I drove the Falcon.

The 6 speed manual box is great, the MZD voice commands for GPS is a godsend, and bluetooth calls is just awesome. Will definately buy another when it's time to upgrade.

Purchased in September 2018 for $16,800.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Steering wheel wear is terrible on this model

published

2014 sp25 astina,Done low kms but leather is wearing . Most other used astinas were the same. The piano black trim is a bad choose also as it scratches too easily. Apart from that it’s been great .

Purchased in July 2018.

Noise Level
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Excellent and reliable car!

published

This is a really reliable car! I've had it for almost 5 years. The mazda 3 has a great aesthetic, is an easy and smoothe drive, has a great turning circle and is very fuel efficient. The hatchback is surprisingly spacious. You can also drop the boot down to fit a lot. I get the car serviced once per year and I've had no issues with it.

Purchased in December 2014 at Artarmon Mazda.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
S Lowy

S LowySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Best small car on the market

published

I have owned my Mazda 3 for 3 years and it is the most reliable car I have owned! It has a stylish interior, amazing tech features and is great on fuel consumption.

Purchased in November 2015.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Hayley F

Hayley FMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car - value for money!

published

Mazda 3 is a fuel efficient, value for money car!! Quality build with excellent finish and very stylish interior. My first Mazda 3 was written off in an accident and I bought another one to replace it because I just love it. Service is also very affordable, only require service once a year! It's a great first / second car.

BodySedan
BadgeTouring
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2015
Sedans

Find out how Mazda 3 BM compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Marco Niere

Marco NiereGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 17 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent vehicle only replaced it with a new mazdza CX3 due to total loss accident

published

Build quality was excellent, finish and ride were also very good, very stylish and nice interior- lovely car with many great features and great fuel economy: the car never missed a beat and I was very impressed with the handling and reliability. Definitely a leader in its class and would get this car again had I not seen the even better MAZDA CX3 suv

BodyHatch
BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Specul8r

Specul8rSydney

  • 2 reviews

Warranty customer process lacking

published
BodySedan
BadgeSP25 GT
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2015
Rob

Rob

  • 5 reviews

Love my car!

published

This is the second Mazda3 I have bought, and I will buy another one! They look great and with the sky active technology, the fuel economy is great. The car for its class is quite roomy and has a decent boot. Mostly I am the only one it, but it is also suitable to bundle others in and go away on holiday. I take my mum and daughter places, and manage to fit in suitcases, walker, and folding wheelchair. I have had no issues with this car and get it serviced as recommended.

BodySedan
BadgeNeo
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2015
Ali

Aliadelaide

  • 5 reviews

Perfect car

published

Since I have it from 2014, just take it to the regular service and there is no issue at all. It is a reliable and very strong car, efficient and fuel economy car with I stop technology you can save 1000$ on fuel cost.
it is safe car with city smart break and 10 airbags, reverse camera, satnav, Bluetooth and smart cruse control is other good functionality which you can have on MAXX and upper model.

BodySedan
BadgeMaxx
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2014
Georgie T

Georgie T

  • 4 reviews

Mazda is the best

published

I use my car to get to work as well as just personal use as well
I use it everyday and I get it serviced every 10,000 know as recommended by my mechanic
Have had no issues with this car and it was very nice to drive as well And easy to maintain

BodySedan
BadgeNeo
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2014
Emma

EmmaGeelong

Love this car

published

Wonderful vehicle. Small on the outside and huge on the inside and still has room for an external boot. Fuel economy is ok. Styling is divine. No sunroof which makes me sad but it does have really intuitive cruise control. Cup holders come as standard. I like this car a lot

BodySedan
Badge3
Engine Size2.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2015
Sedans

Find out how Mazda 3 BM compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Greg J

Greg JPerth

  • 2 reviews

Fantastic Car

published

Brilliant fuel economy. 5 - 6 litres per 100km.
Great handling, and nice driver surrounds.
Only thing i felt could be better , ( neo edition)
Bluetooth for phone calls is basic. Accept calls via steering wheel, which is fine. But outgoing calls are made from your handset. No touchscreen to work with. But a small issue only.
Great value, only sold due to third child. Comfortable for two kid seats. Three won't fit at all.
Would buy again for sure.

BodyHatch
BadgeNeo
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2015
hipsterdonut

hipsterdonut

  • 9 reviews
  • 10 likes

2nd Mazda 3 no troubles at all

published

After inheriting an old Mazda 3 from a family member, I loved it so much we went out and got another.
Everything runs as it should, have not had any major car troubles (although admittedly that's when the true mettle of a company is tested), and the services have been quick and painless.
Been very happy.

Considering getting a Mazda 6 next.

BodySedan
BadgeMaxx
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2014
robin

robinMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 28 reviews

Bad ride

published
BodySedan
BadgeSP20 SKYACTIV
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
C.A.

C.A.Sydney, NSW

  • 13 reviews

A FAULTLESS CAR

published

We bought our Mazda 3 in 2014 and it has to be the best purchase we have ever made. The car is perfect in every way. No technical problems, just a perfect vehicle, where I could not ask for anything more. If I ever buy another vehicle in the future, I would make sure it’s a Mazda 3.

BodySedan
BadgeTouring
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2014
Amylase

AmylaseMelbourne

  • 8 reviews

Good Car

published

The peformance is pretty good overall. very quiet engine and takes me on long road trips nicely. It also has nice interior but it is a bit small in the drivers area. it makes you feel a little claustrophobic. the lgihts are nice though. the driver wheel is very sensitive. my pet peeve is the side mirror is too zoomed up. the breaks don't tend to break straight away but lags a bit. it is reliable though and the running costs is about $50 per tank of fuel and it is about $300 for service

BodySedan
BadgeNeo
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2013
Page 1 of 6

See all Mazda 3 reviews

Questions & Answers

Dips

Dipsasked

Anybody have a ticking sounds like something is rubbing agianest something from the rhs near the pillar?

2 answers
Victor
Victor

I have the same problem and I'm yet to find out until my 3rd service. It appears to have a ticking sounds when the road surface is a bit bumpy for me on the rhs near the pillar or dash?

Troy H.
Troy H.

Can you bolt a Mazda 3 auto motor up to a manual box and what’s the difference between Mazda 3 and Mazda sp23

Raanipura

Raanipuraasked

Was wondering if anyone has had issues with the MZ Connect system? I have a Mazda 3 Hatch BM MY2015 SP 25 Astina. Just under a year of getting it new, the " your over the speed limit" woman started going silent, yet you could tell that she was trying as the right ( driver) side speaker would be off, with music still coming through the left ( passenger) speaker. And this would happen more so if apps like Pandora were active. I've had one fix, that didn't fix it. There is another one due in a few weeks but there must be more than one driver having this issue!

3 answers
Bernie S
Bernie S

I haven't had any major problems, I just use the music connected to an iPod & the navigation, it has crashed a few times but generally works well.

ajstuart
ajstuart

Yes I had this problem. It started when I had a service in October 2016. Just had another service and it has stopped doing it thanks to them updating softare or just reinstalling whatever version is currently out. Hope this helps :)

Raanipura
Raanipura

Thanks

Lofty

Loftyasked

What is the function of the button/switch on the steering wheel column of the Mazda 3 Sp25 Astina?

1 answer
Blake S
Blake S

function button?

Get an answer from our members and Mazda representatives

Other Sedans

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.