??!

See the Best Small / Compact SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(8)
(5)
(2)
(0)
(2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.7 (3)
  • Handling
    4.7 (3)
  • Braking
    4.3 (3)
  • Suspension
    3.0 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.7 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.7 (3)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (3)
  • Boot Size
    2.3 (3)
  • Features
    4.3 (3)
  • Comfort
    3.7 (3)
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (2)


E H

E HSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Headlight Condensation

published

Bought the car Brand New on 2015 - drive well, love it - never missed the service always garage, only 20k now. once the warranty finished the headlight condensate. I search in the forum, it is a common problems, some owner are lucky to found it out during the warranty period, replaced and no cost involved. If Mazda aware of this problems they could have recall this matter. I hope someone from Mazda Australia read this and do something about it.

Purchased in August 2015 at Liverpool.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

AhmedCo

AhmedCoNSW, 2250

  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great looking compact SUV

published

I upgraded my first car (Corolloa 2003) and decided to give Mazda a try with this CX-3 Maxx Auto.
Drives very well, as expected from 2.0 L engine
Very economical, average ~6.5L/ 100 km which is excellent to a car this range
Looks very modern and sharp, I always liked these sharp looks of Mazda cars
The infotainment system is very good. Apart from GPS not picking the best routes sometimes, everything else works perfectly.
Trunk size is not great (I reckon it's smaller than my old hatchback Corolla! )

BadgeMaxx
DriveFWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2018
Jan O

Jan OGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 9 reviews

Best Car I've Ever Bought!

published

I've always driven a Mazda 3 but this car is way better. It's the same dimensions as my others but it's higher, automatic, economical, & ideal for a senior with back problems. Inbuilt navigation & phone bluetooth are the icing on the cake - I love it! The only draw back is it doesn't have rear hatch release, otherwise it ticks all the boxes.

BadgeMaxx
DriveFWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
David C

David CGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Do not buy a Mazda CX3

published
BadgeMaxx
DriveFWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Connie F

Connie FAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Highly rated little suv for tight streets of Sydneys inner west.

published
BadgeMaxx
DriveFWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2015

Brad W

Brad WVictoria

  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

Good at first, then the issues happen

published

Purchased in July 2015.

Build Quality
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

hasher22

hasher22

  • 5 reviews

Cute little wannabe SUV

published

I got the 2016 Maxx model, wouldn't buy the base model as Maxx and above models is worth the price.

Drives smooth, handling is great and it has a 'sports' mode for extra power (in-which I dont understand why this car would have a sports mode').

The 2016 model does not have the 'safety package' which was an additional cost add on and the 2017+ models have this as standard!

So I suggest if anyone looking for this model, go for the 2017 model or later.

My car does approx 550km on one tank of fuel, and fuel tank is approx 45 litres. That's highway and city driving.

My max was 700km on one tank but that was driving from Sydney to Melbourne

BadgeMaxx
DriveFWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017

HT123

HT123Westmead

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect car !!

published

Bought 2016 Mazda Cx3 last year. It is perfect car for a small family with a lots of good feature. It’s a mini SUV and there is no other car really you can compare in this segment. It’s reliable , very well prized and good interior. I like navigator , Bluetooth and other key features.

BadgeMaxx
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Pacific Pines

Pacific PinesGold Coast

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best SUV

published

I bought my CX - 3 from James Frizelle's in Southport QLD. The service was exceptional from Shane. We went for a test drive and got to experience the car first hand. When it came to pick up point he went through all the car's buttons and programs and even set up my bluetooth!
The car drives really well and I haven't had any major issues with it over the last 2 years. Mazda service always look after me when I go in and always send reminders when you forget.
The car is spacious enough for me and my partner and dogs but we will need to upgrade when we decide to have a family as it may be a bit squishy.
A tank of fuel generally last me over a week and is great on the highway.

BadgeMaxx
DriveFWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Katrina

KatrinaPerth

  • 6 reviews

I Love My New Car!

published
BadgeMaxx
DriveFWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017

Alfred

AlfredMElbourne

  • 4 reviews

Just got it!

published

Just bought a new Mazda Cx-3 and I'm in love with it. Sleek design.

Great for young couples. Just enough room. Not recommended for a family of 5. Legroom at the back is not as great as in front. Small boot space and not recommended when travelling with 4 large luggage.

Good for driving in city as well. Good fuel efficiency.

BadgeMaxx
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017

Elle Slowey

Elle SloweyGold Coast

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car, cute, but not roomy

published

I love the look of my CX3 but there isn't a huge boot or much leg room in the back. I didn't mind this, as I don't use them too often. The navigation was hard to work out how to use & was easier to use my phone. The voice command usually gets things wrong. The car drives nicely & has been very reliable & comfortable, however, i don't think I'd buy another one. I'd say a Mazda 3 would be better for the same money.

BadgeMaxx
DriveFWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015

good, but even a small mark still can be saw in grey color

published

good
Love this car. This is my first car. . I am really enjoying driving this car. The interior is awesome. And it is very comfortable. The engine is perfect. Cool line and easy to drive.

But even a small mark still can be saw in the grey color .

BadgeMaxx
DriveFWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Bekky

Bekky

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolutely love this car! Best car I have ever driven!

published

An absolute dream to drive, very smooth and handles very well. Very spacious for a smaller car and the over all finish of the car (dashboard and interior) is amazing for the price. Extremely economical and reliable, just an all round great car. Could not be happier with my purchase! After such a great experience I will never purchase anything but a Mazda.

BadgeMaxx
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Rajat

RajatGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Stylish & Performing small SUV

published

Purchased in October 2015 at Max Kirwin Mazda for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Rajat
Rajat
Amy

AmyBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love this car!

published

Excellent handling, good suspension makes it a smooth ride and the comfort is ten out of ten. I adore the soul red colour. Its great on fuel economy and I make any excuse to drive it. The service at Old Mac Mazda Cleveland is brilliant. Lauren is the one to see. Its been an excellent experience all round.

BadgeMaxx
DriveFWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Andrew V

Andrew VSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

CX-3 is a great car - but Skyactiv auto shifts into 5th and 6th to early.

published

Have done 6000ks. Generally all very good but auto transmission shifts into 5th & 6th too early (5th at about 50km/h and 6th at just over 60km/h) resulting in the engine lugging around at only 1,100rpm, at these speeds. It will shift down (a bit reluctantly) if you put your foot down but performance feels apathetic when cruising around with a light foot. Sports mode is too much the other way and is too aggressive for normal driving. Can appreciate car is designed this way for "fuel efficiency" but if it shifted into 5th and 6th at slightly higher speeds or had a setting between "normal" and "sports", it would then be much nicer to drive.

BadgeMaxx
DriveFWD
TransmissionAutomatic

See all Mazda CX-3 DK reviews

Questions & Answers

James

Jamesasked

Hi
When I drive up the hill, my cx3 don't have enough power to go up, I have to step on the accelerator down to the floor. The front left shock absorbers makes noise when I turn the steering wheel. When I start the engine, it doesn't start straight away. It starts within 4 second. I have an accident last month and I didnt see the car infront all of a sudden stoped because it was raining, I hit the breaks too late and bang the back of the other car. My auto breaks didn't apply. Why?
Normally it will apply when it rains and I break too late.
Does my cx3 have a defect auto breaking system?

1 answer
maryfrancis3
maryfrancis3

I also have the noise from the front of my car when I turn the steering wheel. Not happy with this car. Also, the aircon stopped working. It turns out that the some models of our car, there is A KNOWN ISSUE and Mazda fixed my car under warranty, even though it has run out. Good luck sorting your issues :)


Get an answer from our members and Mazda representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.