??!
5 photos
Mazda CX-5 KF Maxx Sport

Mazda CX-5 KF Maxx Sport (2017-2020)

Also referred to as: Mazda CX-5 KF Maxx Sport 2019 and Mazda CX-5 KF Maxx Sport 2021. FWD, 2.0L Petrol, AWD, 2.5L Petrol, AWD, 2.2L Diesel
4.4 from 20 reviews

Reviews

4.4

20 reviews
5
(12)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(0)
  • Build Quality
    4.7 (9)
  • Value for Money
    4.8 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (8)
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (9)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (9)
  • Handling
    4.9 (8)
  • Braking
    4.9 (9)
  • Suspension
    4.9 (8)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.4 (8)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.8 (8)
  • Interior Design
    4.9 (9)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (9)
  • Features
    4.8 (8)
  • Comfort
    4.9 (9)
Previous
Next
LLS

LLS

  • 4 reviews

very disappointing except the design

published

Purchased in March 2020 at Mazda Dealers for A$36,900.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
brarboyz

brarboyzPerth, WA

  • 9 reviews

Love it

published

Best car I ever had. Value of money. 7 litres urban. All sensor working great. Comfortable ride. 5 years warranty, 4 yrs free service. High quality material , feel luxurious. Best in this segment

Purchased in December 2018 for A$35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
teag

teagNorth ryde

  • 11 reviews

Perfect upgrade from our Mazda 6

published

We have owned a Mazda 6 for 18 years and its always been very reliable. We purchased a Mazda CX-5 for an upgrade and are very happy with it.

Great value for money and all the features youd expect in a modern car.

No issues

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 KF Maxx Sport compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Frank Hope Valley SA

Frank Hope Valley SAMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews

Best car ever!

published

The Mazda CX5 is the best car we have ever bought. We bought it from Paradise Motors SA in October 2019. After considering many other medium SUVs, the CX5 confirms all the positive reviews we read months before making our decision. We chose "soul red" colour and had the MotorOne Protektiv Car Care product included. Often people remark on the quality of the paintwork (eg very shiny) and are impressed (as we are) on the general appearance of the car. It's the 4th Mazda vehicle we've had, including 3 new ones from Paradise Motors who are simply the best as far as service is concerned - we won't go anywhere else!

Purchased in October 2019 for A$38,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
J and T Smith

J and T SmithSouth West, WA

  • 6 reviews

In love with my car!

published

I have had my Mazda CX-5 for just over 12 months and have never looked back! It is so comfortable to be in and drive. The technology is user friendly and has so many features to assist you such as the navigation and even the average fuel consumption. It is driven each day for commuting to work, the gym and around town. I have had my CX-5 serviced once and the customer service I received was wonderful, very friendly and informative throughout the entire experience.

Purchased in July 2018.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Rola Rahal

Rola RahalSydney, NSW

  • 14 reviews

Great Car

published

I purchased the Mazda CX5 and I love it. It's a wonderful car, it has a lot of safety tech and they all work perfectly well. This is the first time I own a Mazda and have had no problems with it at all. My next car will certainly be a Mazda.

Purchased in October 2018 at Mazda Dealers for A$35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Masum Billah

Masum BillahGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 12 reviews

One of the best car I've ever had

published

I love my mazda cx5. It's fun and soo comfortable to drive since I got the diesel one. Very good on the freeway and hilly areas, drives effortlessly. Looks very sleek and elegant. Can't fault a thing. Hopefully it will keep going like now for numbers of years.

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Andrew V

Andrew VSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Multiple Safety System Malfunction Messages on Hot Sunny Days

published

Good car but having ongoing problems with multiple safety system malfunction messages.
Cloth seats are comfortable & ride is compliant.
Petrol 2.5L motor is powerful but lacks a bit in low down torque.

Purchased in February 2019 at Penrith Mazda Centre.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Amy

AmyMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Best car I’ve ever owned!

published

We use this car for family transport mainly. Often driving several hours to the county and back. We chose to do capped servicing with Mazda. I can’t fault this car. It’s been brilliant and the service at Mazda fantastic. I think we will probably need to upgrade to the cx9 when we have a second car.

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 KF Maxx Sport compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Stacey

Staceymelbourne

  • 2 reviews

THE BEST!

published

Car for everyday commuting and weekend trips with the family and dog. No issues so far. A lovely upgrade with a navman, entertainment options, dashboard screen and controls in the mid section. The controls are a great change to the normal layout as it is less distracting and closer to arms length.

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018

Disappointing fuel consumption

published
BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
sarah s

sarah sNambour

  • 14 reviews

Smooth driving and good fuel economy

published

Purchased brand new 2017 Mazda CX-5 in the deep crystal blue, I really love the colour and dark interior. I’m super satisfied with the car. The only thing I hate is the chrome strip highlighting the air vents, I don’t understand why anyone would highlight and air vent, it looks tacky. Upgraded to the Maxx Sport which I thought was great for the price. Smooth handling and great fuel economy. Great family car.

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
J Rykers

J RykersBalcolyn

  • 5 reviews

Amazing, drives like a dream!

published

This car is a brilliant family car (dogs included) with amazing space! Big car space, drives like a small car. Incredibly reliable we have covered over 20,000kms in the 8 months of having the car and it has been amazing. The sky active technology is impressive and updated at each service. Highly recommend!

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
BenW

BenWGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great value for money and safety standards

published

Good medium size family SUV.
Quiet and smooth, drives like a car. More safety features compare to other Japanese competitors in same price range.
Lower capped price servicing compare to Volkswagen.
Dislike missing digital speed display in speedo. No net or hooks in boot to hold down stowage.
No road side assist provided with warranty.

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Simple and elegant

published

I actually wanted a family car which not only looks good but also delivers. I was looking into few others models but this one fitted right into the budget and reliablilty. I personally likes it interiors better than its competitors, decent leg room and easy drive. The family loves it!

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 KF Maxx Sport compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cheryl Smyth

Cheryl SmythQLD, 4051

  • 14 reviews

Its been all Zoom Zoom for me

published
BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Heather

HeatherGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

zoom zoom

published

Luv it so far. Only picked it up 5 days ago and can’t find any faults yet. Handles the road well, spacious inside. . Could do with a bigger glove compartment as the manual takes up most of the room. Got the red one and it’s gorgeous. Just got to keep hubbies hands off it cause it’s all mine!! Now a few years later: I purchased the bright red one and it is susceptible to showing scratches with little effort. ie my handbag has metal handles and this has scratched the doors usually getting into the car. Still love it though

Purchased in September 2018 at Max Kirwin Mazda.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Suchislife

SuchislifeRockhampton

  • 11 reviews
  • 6 likes

GREAT FAMILY CAR

published
BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Lori

LoriMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

The best car i’ve ever had

published

This is the first automatic car i have driven since getting my licence 28 years ago it is the smoothest lightest car i have ever driven. Very economical. Extremely comfortable with the hand brake just a push of the button. I highly recommed everyone to test drive a mazda cx5

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017
Steve

Steve

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Battery warranty

published

I just had my cx5 a 60k service and the battery is not holding charge is the battery covered by warranty as the vehicle is only 2years old the cost of the battery they quoted me is $680 also they told me that the battery can only be purchased from Mazda

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2015
See all Mazda CX-5 reviews

Questions & Answers

Peter

Peterasked

CX-5 KF Maxx Sport FWD, 2.0L Petrol (2015-2020)

can I use any type of grade petrol in my 2 litre CX 5 Mazda

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.