??!
10 photos
Mazda CX-5

Mazda CX-5 (page 2 of 15)

KE.I, KE.II, KF
4.0 from 287 reviews

Reviews

4.0

287 reviews
5
(150)
4
(73)
3
(20)
2
(15)
1
(29)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (52)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (52)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (45)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (51)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (48)
  • Handling
    4.6 (46)
  • Braking
    4.6 (48)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (46)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (41)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (47)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (48)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (47)
  • Features
    4.3 (46)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (48)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

dave

daveIllawarra, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Comfy but noisy

published

Purchased in April 2019 at Dwyer's mazda.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
a79

a79Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 25 reviews
  • 10 likes

Such a great family car

published

We love our cx 5 it is perfect for our little family and has been very reliable and comes with such fantastic safety features
We have 3 children in car seats across the back so it’s a squishy fit but works for now
The boot space is enough for prams and such but for holidays we have found a roof pod is necessary for all the luggage
Fuel economy is pretty good and the car drives really well

Purchased in December 2012 at Mazda Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Delzey

DelzeyMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love my CX-5 and Mazda's customer service is second to none.

published

Purchased in April 2014 at CityMazda for A$35,200.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Wiesiek

Wiesieksydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

10 K review

published
Sarah T.

Sarah T.Queensland

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Reliable comfortable car

published

A great family car drove up from Victoria to Queensland effortlessly. Servicing very reasonably priced compared to the Q5 it replaced. Great handling, plenty of room for a family of 4.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Mick

MickGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Be warned

published

Purchased in July 2013 at Mazda Dealers for A$38,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Nina56

Nina56Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Stylish, Safe and the Best Red Car on the Market

published

Purchased in April 2016.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
J and T Smith

J and T SmithSouth West, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

In love with my car!

published

I have had my Mazda CX-5 for just over 12 months and have never looked back! It is so comfortable to be in and drive. The technology is user friendly and has so many features to assist you such as the navigation and even the average fuel consumption. It is driven each day for commuting to work, the gym and around town. I have had my CX-5 serviced once and the customer service I received was wonderful, very friendly and informative throughout the entire experience.

Purchased in July 2018.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
John P

John PSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great Reliable Car

published

Purchased at Mazda Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great car no issues and the power is fantastic....love love love it

published

Great car no issues and the power is fantastic....love love love it. Service is cheap on this vehicle which I was not expecting. Salesman was super friendly and did not come across pushy

Mark Francis

Mark FrancisSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

CX5 Akira 2018-I love this car

published

I have had my Cx5 2.5l petrol Akira for 16 months and it has been awesome.
It is my daily drive around Sydney and for trips to the Snowy and Blue mountains.
Smooth to drive, safe, comfortable, functional, stylish, good for towing my trailer.
The servicing dept of Mazda has been terrific.
I have friends with more expensive makes of cars who have driven my CX5 and have admitted it is better than their cars costing $30,000 more.
I just got back from a country trip and was getting 7.5l per 100km.
Great Job Mazda.

Purchased in May 2018 at Brookvale Mazda, Sydney, Australia for A$47,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Kevin G

Kevin G

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Brilliant Car

published

I bought my CX5 in November 2012, it is a beauty. I'm retired so don't travel many kilometres per year, after nearly 7 years I've done just 125,000. My car has been serviced every 10,000 by my Mazda Dealer and apart from new tyres at 40,000, it hasn't put a foot wrong. I've never had the slightest problem, I mainly do town travel now but have done day trips of 300-400 ks, I did drive to Queensland and back 5 years ago. I feel sorry for those who have had problems, I thoroughly recommend my Mazda (Petrol version) to anyone. My wife and I recently purchased another Mazda for her, a CX3, and it too is equally brilliant. We did a 600 k trip in it only last week. My CX5 regularly gives economy figures of 7.5 lts per 100 Ks.

Purchased in November 2012 at Bendigo Mazda for A$35.75.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Twerpy

TwerpyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

Diesel engine issues

published

Engine oil level too high problem still exists in 2019 build.

The fix for this problem and advised during purchase for the above no longer existing has appeared at 3000 km mark and 5mths Vehicle mainly city driving with a couple of highway 3 hour journeys.

Beware

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
paul

paulGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

zoom boom cx5 diesel

published

mazda should change its name to zoom boom as my diesel engine failed thanks to oil dilution serviced as per book but at 150 thousand bye bye mazda did replace the donk but with existing issue so it was only time before zoom boom the suv drives great it was a car i could see me keeping for at least 10+ years but after this problem it magically turned into a subaru forester drives just as good if not better

Purchased in January 2017 for A$35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
TT57

TT57Melbourne

  • 16 reviews
  • 23 likes

Great reliable car

published

This is our second Mazda. I find the car functional, reliable and looks good. I gave 4 Stars because the back doesn’t quite fit 3 baby seats comfortably so we now have to consider another suv which would.

Purchased in May 2014.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rola Rahal

Rola RahalSydney, NSW

  • 14 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great Car

published

I purchased the Mazda CX5 and I love it. It's a wonderful car, it has a lot of safety tech and they all work perfectly well. This is the first time I own a Mazda and have had no problems with it at all. My next car will certainly be a Mazda.

Purchased in October 2018 at Mazda Dealers for A$35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Masum Billah

Masum BillahGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 12 reviews
  • 5 likes

One of the best car I've ever had

published

I love my mazda cx5. It's fun and soo comfortable to drive since I got the diesel one. Very good on the freeway and hilly areas, drives effortlessly. Looks very sleek and elegant. Can't fault a thing. Hopefully it will keep going like now for numbers of years.

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
abjmelbourne

abjmelbournemelbourne

  • 12 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fun to drive car

published

I have a Mazda CX 5 and i usually do 70 Km per day. Very happy with the overall performance of the car. Mileage is 9.2 per 100kms with 91 octane fuel. Could have been a bit better. Otherwise I enjoy driving this car. Interior is very posh and I love the BOSE music system. No wonder CX5 is the trending SUV in the Australian car market for years.

Purchased in November 2018 at Brighton Mazda for A$43,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Andrew V

Andrew VSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Multiple Safety System Malfunction Messages on Hot Sunny Days

published

Good car but having ongoing problems with multiple safety system malfunction messages.
Cloth seats are comfortable & ride is compliant.
Petrol 2.5L motor is powerful but lacks a bit in low down torque.

Purchased in February 2019 at Penrith Mazda Centre.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sarahs

Sarahs

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not reliable - don’t buy a lemon

published

Don’t buy these cars. My Mazda CX-5 diesel needed a new engine after only 90,000km due to a known manufacturing defect. Mazda has dragged it on for months. Not a reliable family car. Lots of maintenance issues once it has done over 80,000km.

Purchased in April 2014.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
See all answers
Page 2 of 15
See all Mazda CX-5 reviews

Questions & Answers

Wayne

Wayneasked

CX-5

Considering buying cx5 Akera 2.5turbo any response would be good

No answers
Sophie T.

Sophie T.asked

CX-5

Hi guys, I’m looking at buying a Mazda CX-5 2012 sports model diesel, only done 120,000 k’s. Wondering what your experiences are with it?

2 answers
Nathan
Nathan

Hi Sophie, what do you plan on using it for? Family? Car seats? Bootspace?

Based on the reviews overall most people will have had a positive experience but it really all depends on your circumstances and what you hope to get from it :)

Sophie T.
Sophie T.

Single parent, just around town with my dog in the boot m. The odd bigger drive 250 km.

Sasho

Sashoasked

CX-5

hi guys , i was just wondering has anyone has installed a catch can on Mazda CX5 turbo diesel 2.2 liter engine

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.