??!
10 photos
Mazda CX-5

Mazda CX-5 (page 2 of 14)

KE.I, KE.II, KF
4.1 from 277 reviews

Reviews

(146)
(72)
(20)
(14)
(25)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (42)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (42)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (36)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (41)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.1 (40)
  • Handling
    4.6 (38)
  • Braking
    4.5 (40)
  • Suspension
    4.4 (38)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (33)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (39)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (40)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (40)
  • Features
    4.3 (38)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (40)

Great car no issues and the power is fantastic....love love love it

published

Great car no issues and the power is fantastic....love love love it. Service is cheap on this vehicle which I was not expecting. Salesman was super friendly and did not come across pushy

Mark Francis

Mark FrancisSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

CX5 Akira 2018-I love this car

published

I have had my Cx5 2.5l petrol Akira for 16 months and it has been awesome.
It is my daily drive around Sydney and for trips to the Snowy and Blue mountains.
Smooth to drive, safe, comfortable, functional, stylish, good for towing my trailer.
The servicing dept of Mazda has been terrific.
I have friends with more expensive makes of cars who have driven my CX5 and have admitted it is better than their cars costing $30,000 more.
I just got back from a country trip and was getting 7.5l per 100km.
Great Job Mazda.

Purchased in May 2018 at Brookvale Mazda, Sydney, Australia for $47,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Kevin G

Kevin G

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Brilliant Car

published

I bought my CX5 in November 2012, it is a beauty. I'm retired so don't travel many kilometres per year, after nearly 7 years I've done just 125,000. My car has been serviced every 10,000 by my Mazda Dealer and apart from new tyres at 40,000, it hasn't put a foot wrong. I've never had the slightest problem, I mainly do town travel now but have done day trips of 300-400 ks, I did drive to Queensland and back 5 years ago. I feel sorry for those who have had problems, I thoroughly recommend my Mazda (Petrol version) to anyone. My wife and I recently purchased another Mazda for her, a CX3, and it too is equally brilliant. We did a 600 k trip in it only last week. My CX5 regularly gives economy figures of 7.5 lts per 100 Ks.

Purchased in November 2012 at Bendigo Mazda for $35.75.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Twerpy

TwerpyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

Diesel engine issues

published

Engine oil level too high problem still exists in 2019 build.

The fix for this problem and advised during purchase for the above no longer existing has appeared at 3000 km mark and 5mths Vehicle mainly city driving with a couple of highway 3 hour journeys.

Beware

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
paul

paulGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

zoom boom cx5 diesel

published

mazda should change its name to zoom boom as my diesel engine failed thanks to oil dilution serviced as per book but at 150 thousand bye bye mazda did replace the donk but with existing issue so it was only time before zoom boom the suv drives great it was a car i could see me keeping for at least 10+ years but after this problem it magically turned into a subaru forester drives just as good if not better

Purchased in January 2017 for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
TT57

TT57Melbourne

  • 16 reviews

Great reliable car

published

This is our second Mazda. I find the car functional, reliable and looks good. I gave 4 Stars because the back doesn’t quite fit 3 baby seats comfortably so we now have to consider another suv which would.

Purchased in May 2014.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Rola Rahal

Rola RahalSydney, NSW

  • 14 reviews

Great Car

published

I purchased the Mazda CX5 and I love it. It's a wonderful car, it has a lot of safety tech and they all work perfectly well. This is the first time I own a Mazda and have had no problems with it at all. My next car will certainly be a Mazda.

Purchased in October 2018 at Mazda Dealers for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Masum Billah

Masum BillahGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 12 reviews

One of the best car I've ever had

published

I love my mazda cx5. It's fun and soo comfortable to drive since I got the diesel one. Very good on the freeway and hilly areas, drives effortlessly. Looks very sleek and elegant. Can't fault a thing. Hopefully it will keep going like now for numbers of years.

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
abjmelbourne

abjmelbournemelbourne

  • 12 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fun to drive car

published

I have a Mazda CX 5 and i usually do 70 Km per day. Very happy with the overall performance of the car. Mileage is 9.2 per 100kms with 91 octane fuel. Could have been a bit better. Otherwise I enjoy driving this car. Interior is very posh and I love the BOSE music system. No wonder CX5 is the trending SUV in the Australian car market for years.

Purchased in November 2018 at Brighton Mazda for $43,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Andrew V

Andrew VSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Multiple Safety System Malfunction Messages on Hot Sunny Days

published

Good car but having ongoing problems with multiple safety system malfunction messages.
Cloth seats are comfortable & ride is compliant.
Petrol 2.5L motor is powerful but lacks a bit in low down torque.

Purchased in February 2019 at Penrith Mazda Centre.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sarahs

Sarahs

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not reliable - don’t buy a lemon

published

Don’t buy these cars. My Mazda CX-5 diesel needed a new engine after only 90,000km due to a known manufacturing defect. Mazda has dragged it on for months. Not a reliable family car. Lots of maintenance issues once it has done over 80,000km.

Purchased in April 2014.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
See all answers
Ali

AliMelbourne Australia

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Terrible car ! Do NOT buy it

published

The only good thing about Mazda CX5 is that it is a beautiful sporty car. Otherwise, the maintenance costs are way too high! Maintenance costs are comparable to that of BMW or even Mercedes Benz specially after you drive over and around 100,000 kilometers with your car ! I hate my CX5 with passion! Would buy a proper reliable German car instead of buying a rubbish Japanese car !

Purchased in December 2014 at Max Kirwin Mazda for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Bigman

BigmanHunter Region, NSW

Brilliant car

published

have purchased a December 2018 GT 2.5 petrol... only had for a short period... truly a superb car.. all the upgraded safety tech.. apple car play..radar cruise...head up display works a treat absolute pleasure to drive.. have had Mazda’s before and ran without any trouble.. will do another review down track...

BadgeGrand Touring
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
DriveAWD
fshao

fshaoRyde

  • 4 reviews

Product works greatly for me

published
BadgeMaxx
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
DriveAWD
Bill

BillLake Macquarie

CX5 Diesel _ Great car to drive but doubts over diesel engine reliability.

published

Have owned a CX5 GT Diesel for 3 years and it has been a pleasure to drive until recently. I do a long highway commute to work each day, which is why I purchased the diesel (longevity and fuel economy). Everything was fine until recently when the car started to experience loss of power and high engine temperatures (light flashed up on dash). I have it booked into the dealer to be checked, but now that I have done a bit of research it seems the diesel engine has issues with heating and blowing head gaskets, not a good issue to have for a car driven long distances in the Aussie summer. The rest of the car is to the usual Mazda quality standard, but it seems the diesel engine may have a design flaw.

BadgeGT
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
DriveAWD
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tom

TomMelbourne

$500 to retrofit android auto / apple carplay on 2 month old car - Ridiculous!

published

After receiving my brand new Mazda CX-5 GT only 2 months ago i'm now being asked to pay an additional $500 to retrofit android auto/ apple carplay unit which now comes standard on the CX-5. You'd think for people that have recently purchased a CX-5 (ie, in the last 6 months) that they would as a courtesy offer to upgrade the entertainment unit for free or at the very least a subsided price.

Very disappointing as i was expecting more from Mazda.

Will I buy a Mazda again? Hmmm, not so sure now.

BadgeGT
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018

Buyer beware

published

Beware! When driving in rainy conditions you can’t bloody see out the windscreen. The angle of the windscreen holds the water even when you have the highest speed working. It’s a new car with new windscreen wipers.
After owning lots of cars this is far the worst.
Absolute nightmare to drive in the wet. Death trap
Love to hear from other owners if they experienced the same problem

BadgeMaxx
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017
Tim

TimCairns

  • 3 reviews

Fantastic safety features

published

Used every day about 70-80 k a day. Truly an Suv which is hard to beat for safety features and at the same time great looks all around. Servicing is capped for 3 years and is reasonable priced. One irritation is its very occasional habit of not restarting immediately when engaging gear at traffic lights whilst in skyactiv mode. But otherwise a great car.

BadgeMaxx
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
SuninCuba

SuninCubaPerth, W.A.

  • 3 reviews

LOVE my New Car!

published

Parkland Mazda, W.A. were the great people who sold me my first New Car last week. I absolutely LOVE this Car, and can't believe its mine, its such a pleasure to drive - very economical, very light on the steering and whisper quiet. A/C and Sound is great, along with the stylish interior. Turbo Diesel is also very economical and highly recommended. I recommend this Car thoroughly - you won't be sorry you chose it! Thanks Parkland Mazda.

BadgeTouring
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018
Bigted

Bigted

  • 25 reviews
  • 11 likes

Great car

published

Use this car every day. Typical Mazda no issues. Not a race car but looks great and goes well. Service is expensive at a dealer, but its worth it knowing you will have trouble free driving for years to come. Love the car and will buy Mazda again for sure.

BadgeMaxx
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Page 2 of 14
See all Mazda CX-5 reviews

Questions & Answers

Peter

Peterasked

CX-5 KF Maxx Sport FWD, 2.0L Petrol (2015-2020)

can I use any type of grade petrol in my 2 litre CX 5 Mazda

No answers
Jason

Jasonasked

I have a mazda cx 5 2016 sport maxx diesel awd. I bought it brand new. Initially the range of the tank was upto 990 km on a full tank, but lately I have noticed a decline in the range down to 700 km. Can you advise me what I can do?

2 answers
Mr SS
Mr SS

Don't know why that is unless you were driving long distance on an open road getting great fuel economy. I have a 2017 CX5 diesel and driving around the city get about 7 liters per 100 kilometers which will show on your trip meter. The math is a 55 liter tank x (100/7) = 785 kilometers per tank.

Jason
Jason

Hi Mr SS, taking your maths into account, I'm currently getting 750 km. How can I get the 35 km back?

Gillian B.

Gillian B.asked

CX-5 KF Akera AWD, 2.2L Diesel (2017-2020)

Is the Mazda warranty for 3 or 5 years?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Mazda representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.