?
? !
10 photos
Mazda CX-5

Mazda CX-5 (page 3 of 15)

KE.I, KE.II, KF
4.0 from 296 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.2 (61)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (60)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (54)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (60)
  • Braking
    4.6 (55)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.1 (55)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (48)
  • Suspension
    4.4 (53)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (54)
  • Handling
    4.5 (53)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (55)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (54)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (55)
  • Features
    4.3 (53)
Previous
Next
Kevin G

Kevin G

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Brilliant Car

published

I bought my CX5 in November 2012, it is a beauty. I'm retired so don't travel many kilometres per year, after nearly 7 years I've done just 125,000. My car has been serviced every 10,000 by my Mazda Dealer and apart from new tyres at 40,000, it hasn't put a foot wrong. I've never had the slightest problem, I mainly do town travel now but have done day trips of 300-400 ks, I did drive to Queensland and back 5 years ago. I feel sorry for those who have had problems, I thoroughly recommend my Mazda (Petrol version) to anyone. My wife and I recently purchased another Mazda for her, a CX3, and it too is equally brilliant. We did a 600 k trip in it only last week. My CX5 regularly gives economy figures of 7.5 lts per 100 Ks.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Twerpy

TwerpyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

Diesel engine issues

published

Engine oil level too high problem still exists in 2019 build.

The fix for this problem and advised during purchase for the above no longer existing has appeared at 3000 km mark and 5mths Vehicle mainly city driving with a couple of highway 3 hour journeys.

Beware

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
paul

paulGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

zoom boom cx5 diesel

published

mazda should change its name to zoom boom as my diesel engine failed thanks to oil dilution serviced as per book but at 150 thousand bye bye mazda did replace the donk but with existing issue so it was only time before zoom boom the suv drives great it was a car i could see me keeping for at least 10+ years but after this problem it magically turned into a subaru forester drives just as good if not better

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
TT57

TT57Melbourne

  • 16 reviews
  • 23 likes

Great reliable car

published

This is our second Mazda. I find the car functional, reliable and looks good. I gave 4 Stars because the back doesn’t quite fit 3 baby seats comfortably so we now have to consider another suv which would.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rola Rahal

Rola RahalSydney, NSW

  • 14 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great Car

published

I purchased the Mazda CX5 and I love it. It's a wonderful car, it has a lot of safety tech and they all work perfectly well. This is the first time I own a Mazda and have had no problems with it at all. My next car will certainly be a Mazda.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Masum Billah

Masum BillahGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 12 reviews
  • 5 likes

One of the best car I've ever had

published

I love my mazda cx5. It's fun and soo comfortable to drive since I got the diesel one. Very good on the freeway and hilly areas, drives effortlessly. Looks very sleek and elegant. Can't fault a thing. Hopefully it will keep going like now for numbers of years.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
abjmelbourne

abjmelbournemelbourne

  • 12 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fun to drive car

published

I have a Mazda CX 5 and i usually do 70 Km per day. Very happy with the overall performance of the car. Mileage is 9.2 per 100kms with 91 octane fuel. Could have been a bit better. Otherwise I enjoy driving this car. Interior is very posh and I love the BOSE music system. No wonder CX5 is the trending SUV in the Australian car market for years.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Andrew V

Andrew VSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Multiple Safety System Malfunction Messages on Hot Sunny Days

published

Good car but having ongoing problems with multiple safety system malfunction messages.
Cloth seats are comfortable & ride is compliant.
Petrol 2.5L motor is powerful but lacks a bit in low down torque.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sarahs

Sarahs

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not reliable - don’t buy a lemon

published

Don’t buy these cars. My Mazda CX-5 diesel needed a new engine after only 90,000km due to a known manufacturing defect. Mazda has dragged it on for months. Not a reliable family car. Lots of maintenance issues once it has done over 80,000km.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ali

AliMelbourne Australia

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Terrible car ! Do NOT buy it

published

The only good thing about Mazda CX5 is that it is a beautiful sporty car. Otherwise, the maintenance costs are way too high! Maintenance costs are comparable to that of BMW or even Mercedes Benz specially after you drive over and around 100,000 kilometers with your car ! I hate my CX5 with passion! Would buy a proper reliable German car instead of buying a rubbish Japanese car !

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bigman

BigmanHunter Region, NSW

Brilliant car

published

have purchased a December 2018 GT 2.5 petrol... only had for a short period... truly a superb car.. all the upgraded safety tech.. apple car play..radar cruise...head up display works a treat absolute pleasure to drive.. have had Mazda’s before and ran without any trouble.. will do another review down track...

BadgeGrand Touring
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
DriveAWD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
fshao

fshaoRyde

  • 5 reviews

Product works greatly for me

published
BadgeMaxx
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
DriveAWD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bill

BillLake Macquarie

CX5 Diesel _ Great car to drive but doubts over diesel engine reliability.

published

Have owned a CX5 GT Diesel for 3 years and it has been a pleasure to drive until recently. I do a long highway commute to work each day, which is why I purchased the diesel (longevity and fuel economy). Everything was fine until recently when the car started to experience loss of power and high engine temperatures (light flashed up on dash). I have it booked into the dealer to be checked, but now that I have done a bit of research it seems the diesel engine has issues with heating and blowing head gaskets, not a good issue to have for a car driven long distances in the Aussie summer. The rest of the car is to the usual Mazda quality standard, but it seems the diesel engine may have a design flaw.

BadgeGT
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
DriveAWD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tom

TomMelbourne

$500 to retrofit android auto / apple carplay on 2 month old car - Ridiculous!

published

After receiving my brand new Mazda CX-5 GT only 2 months ago i'm now being asked to pay an additional $500 to retrofit android auto/ apple carplay unit which now comes standard on the CX-5. You'd think for people that have recently purchased a CX-5 (ie, in the last 6 months) that they would as a courtesy offer to upgrade the entertainment unit for free or at the very least a subsided price.

Very disappointing as i was expecting more from Mazda.

Will I buy a Mazda again? Hmmm, not so sure now.

BadgeGT
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Buyer beware

published

Beware! When driving in rainy conditions you can’t bloody see out the windscreen. The angle of the windscreen holds the water even when you have the highest speed working. It’s a new car with new windscreen wipers.
After owning lots of cars this is far the worst.
Absolute nightmare to drive in the wet. Death trap
Love to hear from other owners if they experienced the same problem

BadgeMaxx
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tim

TimCairns

  • 3 reviews

Fantastic safety features

published

Used every day about 70-80 k a day. Truly an Suv which is hard to beat for safety features and at the same time great looks all around. Servicing is capped for 3 years and is reasonable priced. One irritation is its very occasional habit of not restarting immediately when engaging gear at traffic lights whilst in skyactiv mode. But otherwise a great car.

BadgeMaxx
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
SuninCuba

SuninCubaPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews

LOVE my New Car!

published

Parkland Mazda, W.A. were the great people who sold me my first New Car last week. I absolutely LOVE this Car, and can't believe its mine, its such a pleasure to drive - very economical, very light on the steering and whisper quiet. A/C and Sound is great, along with the stylish interior. Turbo Diesel is also very economical and highly recommended. I recommend this Car thoroughly - you won't be sorry you chose it! Thanks Parkland Mazda.

BadgeTouring
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bigted

Bigted

  • 26 reviews
  • 12 likes

Great car

published

Use this car every day. Typical Mazda no issues. Not a race car but looks great and goes well. Service is expensive at a dealer, but its worth it knowing you will have trouble free driving for years to come. Love the car and will buy Mazda again for sure.

BadgeMaxx
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Amy

AmyMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Best car I’ve ever owned!

published

We use this car for family transport mainly. Often driving several hours to the county and back. We chose to do capped servicing with Mazda. I can’t fault this car. It’s been brilliant and the service at Mazda fantastic. I think we will probably need to upgrade to the cx9 when we have a second car.

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stacey

Staceymelbourne

  • 2 reviews

THE BEST!

published

Car for everyday commuting and weekend trips with the family and dog. No issues so far. A lovely upgrade with a navman, entertainment options, dashboard screen and controls in the mid section. The controls are a great change to the normal layout as it is less distracting and closer to arms length.

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 3 of 15
See all Mazda CX-5 reviews

Questions & Answers

Rod W

Rod Wasked

CX-5 KF (2017-2021)

Is it possible to retro fit passive entry door handles to 2021 CX5 Maxx Sport, if so what company in WA can carry this out?
Thanks in advance.

No answers
Gary S.

Gary S.asked

CX-5

I have a Mazda CX 5 but when dash would not shut down, I couldn't lock the car. A free igbnition battery replacement didn't solve the problem and I had to order a new Selection Lever Part No MZB45-46-100D at a cost of $1160 fitted. Apparently as I was told by a service person at local Mazda dealership, the previous model would have fixed this problem by exchanging a simple microswitch, which is integrated into a more substantial part into the pre 2016 model. Can this be true? Do I have any redress with Mazda...or do we just give up on such seeming examples of design idiocy and apparent money making from we poor consumers? Gary Sydney Australia

No answers
Tush

Tushasked

CX-5 KE.II (2015-2016)

Any one heard about auto transmission failure in CX-5 AWD GT model 2015?

No answers
See all Mazda CX-5 questions

Get an answer from our members

Mazda CX-5

Details

Compare all 16 Mazda CX-5
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $32,990$34,990$37,990$37,240
TransmissionManualAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Steel17" Steel17" Steel17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.9 L/100km6.9 L/100km7.4 L/100km6.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 56 L56 L58 L56 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.5 L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power115kW @ 6000rpm115kW @ 6000rpm140kW @ 6000rpm115kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque200Nm @ 4000rpm200Nm @ 4000rpm252Nm @ 4000rpm200Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,800 kg1,800 kg1,800 kg1,800 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance193 mm193 mm193 mm193 mm
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2015
Compare all 16 Mazda CX-5

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.