??!
10 photos
Mazda CX-5

Mazda CX-5 (page 3 of 14)

KE.I, KE.II, KF
4.1 from 280 reviews

Reviews

4.1

280 reviews
5
(146)
4
(72)
3
(20)
2
(15)
1
(27)
  • Build Quality
    4.2 (45)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (45)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (39)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (44)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (42)
  • Handling
    4.6 (40)
  • Braking
    4.5 (42)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (40)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (35)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (41)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (42)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (42)
  • Features
    4.3 (40)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (42)
Previous
Next
Tim

TimCairns

  • 3 reviews

Fantastic safety features

published

Used every day about 70-80 k a day. Truly an Suv which is hard to beat for safety features and at the same time great looks all around. Servicing is capped for 3 years and is reasonable priced. One irritation is its very occasional habit of not restarting immediately when engaging gear at traffic lights whilst in skyactiv mode. But otherwise a great car.

BadgeMaxx
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
SuninCuba

SuninCubaPerth, W.A.

  • 3 reviews

LOVE my New Car!

published

Parkland Mazda, W.A. were the great people who sold me my first New Car last week. I absolutely LOVE this Car, and can't believe its mine, its such a pleasure to drive - very economical, very light on the steering and whisper quiet. A/C and Sound is great, along with the stylish interior. Turbo Diesel is also very economical and highly recommended. I recommend this Car thoroughly - you won't be sorry you chose it! Thanks Parkland Mazda.

BadgeTouring
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018
Bigted

Bigted

  • 25 reviews
  • 11 likes

Great car

published

Use this car every day. Typical Mazda no issues. Not a race car but looks great and goes well. Service is expensive at a dealer, but its worth it knowing you will have trouble free driving for years to come. Love the car and will buy Mazda again for sure.

BadgeMaxx
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Amy

AmyMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Best car I’ve ever owned!

published

We use this car for family transport mainly. Often driving several hours to the county and back. We chose to do capped servicing with Mazda. I can’t fault this car. It’s been brilliant and the service at Mazda fantastic. I think we will probably need to upgrade to the cx9 when we have a second car.

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Stacey

Staceymelbourne

  • 2 reviews

THE BEST!

published

Car for everyday commuting and weekend trips with the family and dog. No issues so far. A lovely upgrade with a navman, entertainment options, dashboard screen and controls in the mid section. The controls are a great change to the normal layout as it is less distracting and closer to arms length.

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
Daisy

DaisyMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Perfect-

published

I love my Mazda what can I say I love it I love it. One thing that I’m not happy with is the air con and heating and the boot. But I love it it is a great car and great with petrol. Thank you Mazda I’m in love. The family also love it I have 2 children so it is very spacious.

BadgeMaxx
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Radio headset.

published

The entertainment unit whe n playing music from usb memory always restarts thebsame song every time the car is resarted.
Divers you insane.
Car is fantastic for towing our van. Economy is great.Good driving position. But the door closure warning light does not indicate which door is not closed properly.

BadgeGrand Touring
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2014
Bebe

Bebe

  • 3 reviews

Amazing!

published

I purchased a second hand 2015 model this year and I’m in love! In my opinion, it’s the perfect size - heaps of room for passengers and heaps of boot space without being too big that it’s hard to park. Really comfortable to drive, really quiet and reaaaaally cheap to run. I previously had a corolla and they’re close to each other with fuel consumption. I would 100% recommend this!

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine SizeI’m not sure
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Karina

KarinaNORTH NOWRA

  • 3 reviews

ZOOM ZOOM ZOOM

published

This car is perfect for my needs as a young busy working mum.
It drives quietly and safely.
my only complaint about the interior is the push button is on the left which is not convenient when you have bags to scoop up from the passenger seat but other than that it fits myself, the shopping and the kids in it very comfortably.
The kids love that they can attach their music via bluetooth too.
I have always been a Mazda owner and this car has been no exception to their reliability and comfort - as well as looking very snazy!
Fuel is quite economical also as it is E10 compatible.

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Fair Dinkum

Fair DinkumSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Issue with navigation system in Mazda's

published

We found the Navigation System does not work properly with Mazda cars. We have a Mazda CS 6 Sedan as well and have the same issues. We have to use our mobile phone navigation instead. The Navigation system does not connected and can be an issue if you travel without a mobile phone.

BadgeGT
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016
Samantha M

Samantha MChisholm

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Decent car

published

We bought the CX 5 Max sport model for its ungraded features. We found that the tint that the installation team added was below par so I would recommend you do that aspect yourself.

Overall a smooth drive, not jerky with the breaks. We have owned it for over 5 years and with regular services we haven’t had a problem. In fact the low tyre pressure warning system saved my life on an outback drive one year, if this had not have gone off I would have been stranded heavily pregnant in the middle of nowhere.

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2013
Katym

KatymSydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

Best Car I Have Ever Bought

published

Purchased my Mazda CX5 in August 2014 from John Newel Mazda - Alexandria. Comfortable, easy to drive, very economical on fuel. The interior is luxurious without the price tag. It is a medium size SUV, providing adequate legroom, boot storage and a feeling of being a sturdy safe car. After service at John Newel brilliant....high focus on customer experience. I will continue to purchase Mazda vehicles from this dealership in future as will my family.

BadgeAkera
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2014
Landine Kao

Landine KaoSpringwood

Worst Servicing Issues Non Resolved

published
BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Jenny

JennyMackay

  • 3 reviews
  • 8 likes

Such a good mum car

published

I love this car. We bought it when we found out I was pregnant as an upgrade from my small Elantra. I love driving this car around, it is so smooth, comfortable and spacious. The pram fits in the boot with plenty of room to spare. I love having a reverse camera too. Very happy with this purchase!

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Kate

Kate

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Still loving my Mazda

published

6 years on Im still loving my cx5. Its economic on petrol and the big boot has been handy with the kids bikes and trips away. Its the second Mazda I've bought and they are so reliable and they drive well.

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2012
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Brooke

BrookeRed cliffs

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Could not fault car had for 12months

published

This car is so reliable never missed a beat and fuel consumption is great I fill up once a fortnight at 70 dollars, Mazda has outdone themselves the transition is smooth and very quite first services are capped so that’s always a plus, long trips are comfortable for adults and children.

BadgeMaxx
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Disappointing fuel consumption

published
BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Sad CX5

Sad CX5Darwin

Lemon is an understatement.

published

Long term review for anyone that wants to purchase a Mazda CX-5. Save your money and purchase something else. Numerous sensor faults causing the car to limp or stop. At 80,000 KM blew a turbo. Not a single service they pick another fault from ruptured common rail fuel lines at a cost of $1000 to repair. The car is just at 130000 km engine mount bolts have ruptured and power steering is about to go according to the service department. Nothing but drama with the CX-5 and all Mazda could offer was one free service and an extended 12 months warranty. Wasn’t really worth the year off the road over 5 years.

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2012
JohnR

JohnR

  • 3 reviews

Superb service

published
BadgeGrand Touring
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2014
1 comment
JohnR
JohnR

Came back from Melb to Melbourne 27 Dec, towing 1.4 tonne caravan - aircon working really well, temp outside mid 40s much of the way through central NSW : this lovely diesel did not miss a beat!

Anna

Anna

  • 4 reviews

Comfortable family car

published

This is a nice and comfortable family car. For a medium sized car it’s actually quite roomy inside. The cargo area has lots of room and is easy to reach into. It takes a cargo barrier so you can transport your pets in the back securely. The leather seats are very comfortable and the heated front seats add an element of luxury.

BadgeGrand Touring
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Page 3 of 14
See all Mazda CX-5 reviews

Questions & Answers

Trish

Trishasked

CX-5

Purchased CX-5 November 2012 and have driven 65,600 kms and no off road, now the diff has failed and when inspected found to have water inside and completely rusted out! Has anyone else had this problem or know if this problem?

2 answers
sccouple
sccouple

Hi Trish
Have not seen this problem with a CX5 before. However, saw that a number of new Fords and Toyotas in nth qld experienced similar problems after the Townsville floods.
Early 2012 saw huge amounts of rain and inundation in nsw. Dont wish to be a harbinger of nasties, but wondering if this is a coincidence.

Trish
Trish

Maybe, but I didn’t buy it until Nov 2012 and the dealer was waiting on it, but I will look into the weather patterns for that year. Thank you for the info

San

Sanasked

CX-5

Hi fellow CX-5 Owners,

Hope you are all doing well during these times,
I have a Mazda CX5 2019 GT turbo version bought in July 2019. My family loves this car, but since Feb'2020 we are hearing water movement noises from the center console for few moments when I accelerate, moving the vehicle from stopped state. Also the noise is heard when changing gear position when car is ON, basically when the car/engine moves/rattles this water noise is audible from center console. This is bothering much for last 4 months. Has any body else had this issue and any fix you can recommend.
I have informed the dealer thrice so far in last 3 months but with no luck. Sorry for a very long post.

Let me explain each of those instance in detail:
1. First time - I reported to the dealer during the car's first service that 10000k/1 yr in March'2020, the dealer informed me that they drained all door and other places where rain/carwash water stored, but they could not replicate the issue of water sounds from center console. And asked me to monitor.

2. The issue was still there hence I took the car back to dealer after 3 weeks and a service person came along for a test drive to hear the noise, he could hear the noise and noted in service sheet, but again at the end of the day they said they checked everything but could not replicate the issue and asked to monitor again.

3. Now after couple more weeks again the noises are still audible more frequent and louder, took the car again to dealer, service person drove my car to test and he said he heard some noises but said they are not of water but of suspension (I thought he might be right and knows better than me about Mazda cars) left the vehicle for service, at the end of the day I got the car back but the water movement noises are still there. This time I could feel suspension was better as brand new car during first few months.
It is annoying me much, I am concerned if this water might be damaging any parts in the car. I would like to seek help from this community in this regard. Is there a way to escalate to Mazda directly or please suggest any options that I have since it's been 3 times already at the dealer with no help.

Appreciate your time.

2 answers
Khurshed
Khurshed

Hi,
No idea how can I help. The dealer should fix this as they are also getting this noise/sound.or they should replace the car.
I bought Mazda Akera, having problem with the air conditioning since I bought. Cooling is not good enough. Dosen't correspondent with the adjustment what we made inside.
2. Few times had malfunction 306'camera
3. GPS never upgrade even they try few times
4. Overhead display also comes and go.
But car driver very good.
Thanks

San
San

Thanks for your response Khurshed,

Peter

Peterasked

CX-5 KF Maxx Sport FWD, 2.0L Petrol (2015-2020)

can I use any type of grade petrol in my 2 litre CX 5 Mazda

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.