??!
10 photos
Mazda CX-5

Mazda CX-5 (page 4 of 15)

KE.I, KE.II, KF
4.0 from 287 reviews

Reviews

4.0

287 reviews
5
(150)
4
(73)
3
(20)
2
(15)
1
(29)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (52)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (52)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (45)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (51)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (48)
  • Handling
    4.6 (46)
  • Braking
    4.6 (48)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (46)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (41)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (47)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (48)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (47)
  • Features
    4.3 (46)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (48)
Previous
Next
Kate

Kate

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Still loving my Mazda

published

6 years on Im still loving my cx5. Its economic on petrol and the big boot has been handy with the kids bikes and trips away. Its the second Mazda I've bought and they are so reliable and they drive well.

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2012
Brooke

BrookeRed cliffs

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Could not fault car had for 12months

published

This car is so reliable never missed a beat and fuel consumption is great I fill up once a fortnight at 70 dollars, Mazda has outdone themselves the transition is smooth and very quite first services are capped so that’s always a plus, long trips are comfortable for adults and children.

BadgeMaxx
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Disappointing fuel consumption

published
BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sad CX5

Sad CX5Darwin

Lemon is an understatement.

published

Long term review for anyone that wants to purchase a Mazda CX-5. Save your money and purchase something else. Numerous sensor faults causing the car to limp or stop. At 80,000 KM blew a turbo. Not a single service they pick another fault from ruptured common rail fuel lines at a cost of $1000 to repair. The car is just at 130000 km engine mount bolts have ruptured and power steering is about to go according to the service department. Nothing but drama with the CX-5 and all Mazda could offer was one free service and an extended 12 months warranty. Wasn’t really worth the year off the road over 5 years.

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2012
JohnR

JohnR

  • 3 reviews

Superb service

published
BadgeGrand Touring
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2014
1 comment
JohnR
JohnR

Came back from Melb to Melbourne 27 Dec, towing 1.4 tonne caravan - aircon working really well, temp outside mid 40s much of the way through central NSW : this lovely diesel did not miss a beat!

Anna

Anna

  • 4 reviews

Comfortable family car

published

This is a nice and comfortable family car. For a medium sized car it’s actually quite roomy inside. The cargo area has lots of room and is easy to reach into. It takes a cargo barrier so you can transport your pets in the back securely. The leather seats are very comfortable and the heated front seats add an element of luxury.

BadgeGrand Touring
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Mike B 2012

Mike B 2012Sydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Mazda’s CX-5 Akera is a pleasure to drive and maintain...

published

The best SUV i have bought yet. Its been over 6 months, runs like a breeze...comfortable and smooth ride, easy steering control, enough power for city drive and perfect grunt with turbo on long drives, love the package with all features in the top model, interior is sleek and non-plastic so feels quieter and excellent electronics. The only drawback, it does not have a Traffic update system in the Nav, needs to connect to internet via phone hotspot before it gives you that feature. And that's unlike many other car makes which connect with Suna Traffic via Radio. Barring that short-coming i absolutely love my CX-5 and strongly recommend people to test drive one as its easy and very silent to ride in n drive.

BadgeAkera
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Lauren

LaurenMELBOURNE

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect for every occasion

published

WE have had our Mazda Cx-5 for a year and LOVE IT! this is the second Mazda I have owned (I previously had a Mazda 3). They are such great cars and we have never had any issues with the,. servicing and upkeep is affordable and easy. We loved the CX-5 as it was a lot bigger internally than other brands of a similar "size" - the boot is super roomy and great for when ewe go camping.

BadgeAkera
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
sarah s

sarah sNambour

  • 14 reviews
  • 3 likes

Smooth driving and good fuel economy

published

Purchased brand new 2017 Mazda CX-5 in the deep crystal blue, I really love the colour and dark interior. I’m super satisfied with the car. The only thing I hate is the chrome strip highlighting the air vents, I don’t understand why anyone would highlight and air vent, it looks tacky. Upgraded to the Maxx Sport which I thought was great for the price. Smooth handling and great fuel economy. Great family car.

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ngs

NgsSydney

  • 4 reviews

Love it

published

Great car! The boot fits our pram with room for shopping. Beautiful interior, drives really nicely and has a really nice looking exterior. Mazda service is also really good.

It does show dust in the dark grey colour though and if we had to fit 3 car seats in the back it would be a struggle.

BadgeGrand Touring
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Cara

CaraTraralgon

  • 2 reviews

Worst after sales service, your better off buying a second hand car

published
BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2015
J Rykers

J RykersBalcolyn

  • 5 reviews

Amazing, drives like a dream!

published

This car is a brilliant family car (dogs included) with amazing space! Big car space, drives like a small car. Incredibly reliable we have covered over 20,000kms in the 8 months of having the car and it has been amazing. The sky active technology is impressive and updated at each service. Highly recommend!

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Sarah

SarahBlaxland

  • 4 reviews

Hate hate hate!

published

I had a 2013 MY14 CX5 and had problems from day dot. From a faulty battery, to a faulty sunroof button which meant I couldn’t close the roof to a faulty sensor which made the engine stall (it was an automatic!) to blowing a head gasket and needing a whole new engine! Mazda put me through hell and back and wouldn’t cover it under warranty because my car was serviced through 2 different Mazda dealerships!! I would never recommend nor would I buy a CX5 again!

BadgeGrand Touring
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2014

Fab car no issues so far great small SUV

published

Great car highly recommended, no issues in 3.5 years great drive. Good quality, easy to maintain, minimal servicing . Good fuel economy, smooth driving ..

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2014
Lisa Angelo

Lisa Angelomelbourne

  • 4 reviews

A beauty inside and out

published

This is an affordable mid sized SUV with a great look. Spacious, sleek and functional interior. Fits a car seat nicely with room for 2 adult occupants spaciously. Impressive technology with active heads up display with built in GPS and speed limit detector. I’m very very impressed with this car.

BadgeGT
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Allen

AllenSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

Top in it's category!

published

Mazda has done an excellent job with it's second generation CX-5. Everything has been updated top to bottom. Upgrading from 2014 model to this has given me the chance to compare the two generations and feel the difference throughout.
It is in fact a new car. CX-5 was a brilliant car but the 2nd generation is almost a premium CUV with same price tag. The Akera badge can be compared with Audi or BMW mid range CUVs.
Interior and exterior details are well thought out and the material used specifically on the interior is really good.
I absolutely love the car and enjoy it everytime I drive it.

BadgeAkera
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
davew

davew

  • 43 reviews
  • 64 likes

Beware of genuine hidden tow hitch. Space saver spare.

published
BadgeMaxx
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
1 comment
davew
davew
Blake1

Blake1Sydney, NSW

  • 18 reviews
  • 33 likes

Lexus cross shop

published
BadgeAkera
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Perfect family SUV

published
BadgeAkera
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Avil

AvilSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great car with free upgrades deal

published

We have purchased this car during the Christmas sales and got the free upgrade deal. It is a medium size SUV that will fit the family and plenty of legroom for all the seats. The most frequently used great little features of the car are the intelligent control, bluetooth music streaming, reverse camera and dashboard, engine noise is minimal and its fuel-efficiency makes the running cost low (make sure you get a package deal with the car dealer to obtain the above inclusion!)

BadgeMaxx
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Page 4 of 15
See all Mazda CX-5 reviews

Questions & Answers

Wayne

Wayneasked

CX-5

Considering buying cx5 Akera 2.5turbo any response would be good

No answers
Sophie T.

Sophie T.asked

CX-5

Hi guys, I’m looking at buying a Mazda CX-5 2012 sports model diesel, only done 120,000 k’s. Wondering what your experiences are with it?

2 answers
Nathan
Nathan

Hi Sophie, what do you plan on using it for? Family? Car seats? Bootspace?

Based on the reviews overall most people will have had a positive experience but it really all depends on your circumstances and what you hope to get from it :)

Sophie T.
Sophie T.

Single parent, just around town with my dog in the boot m. The odd bigger drive 250 km.

Sasho

Sashoasked

CX-5

hi guys , i was just wondering has anyone has installed a catch can on Mazda CX5 turbo diesel 2.2 liter engine

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.