??!
10 photos
Mazda CX-5

Mazda CX-5 (page 4 of 14)

KE.I, KE.II, KF
4.1 from 280 reviews

Reviews

4.1

280 reviews
5
(146)
4
(72)
3
(20)
2
(15)
1
(27)
  • Build Quality
    4.2 (45)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (45)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (39)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (44)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (42)
  • Handling
    4.6 (40)
  • Braking
    4.5 (42)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (40)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (35)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (41)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (42)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (42)
  • Features
    4.3 (40)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (42)
Previous
Next
Mike B 2012

Mike B 2012Sydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Mazda’s CX-5 Akera is a pleasure to drive and maintain...

published

The best SUV i have bought yet. Its been over 6 months, runs like a breeze...comfortable and smooth ride, easy steering control, enough power for city drive and perfect grunt with turbo on long drives, love the package with all features in the top model, interior is sleek and non-plastic so feels quieter and excellent electronics. The only drawback, it does not have a Traffic update system in the Nav, needs to connect to internet via phone hotspot before it gives you that feature. And that's unlike many other car makes which connect with Suna Traffic via Radio. Barring that short-coming i absolutely love my CX-5 and strongly recommend people to test drive one as its easy and very silent to ride in n drive.

BadgeAkera
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Lauren

LaurenMELBOURNE

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect for every occasion

published

WE have had our Mazda Cx-5 for a year and LOVE IT! this is the second Mazda I have owned (I previously had a Mazda 3). They are such great cars and we have never had any issues with the,. servicing and upkeep is affordable and easy. We loved the CX-5 as it was a lot bigger internally than other brands of a similar "size" - the boot is super roomy and great for when ewe go camping.

BadgeAkera
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
sarah s

sarah sNambour

  • 14 reviews

Smooth driving and good fuel economy

published

Purchased brand new 2017 Mazda CX-5 in the deep crystal blue, I really love the colour and dark interior. I’m super satisfied with the car. The only thing I hate is the chrome strip highlighting the air vents, I don’t understand why anyone would highlight and air vent, it looks tacky. Upgraded to the Maxx Sport which I thought was great for the price. Smooth handling and great fuel economy. Great family car.

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ngs

NgsSydney

  • 4 reviews

Love it

published

Great car! The boot fits our pram with room for shopping. Beautiful interior, drives really nicely and has a really nice looking exterior. Mazda service is also really good.

It does show dust in the dark grey colour though and if we had to fit 3 car seats in the back it would be a struggle.

BadgeGrand Touring
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Cara

CaraTraralgon

  • 2 reviews

Worst after sales service, your better off buying a second hand car

published
BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2015
J Rykers

J RykersBalcolyn

  • 5 reviews

Amazing, drives like a dream!

published

This car is a brilliant family car (dogs included) with amazing space! Big car space, drives like a small car. Incredibly reliable we have covered over 20,000kms in the 8 months of having the car and it has been amazing. The sky active technology is impressive and updated at each service. Highly recommend!

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Sarah

SarahBlaxland

  • 4 reviews

Hate hate hate!

published

I had a 2013 MY14 CX5 and had problems from day dot. From a faulty battery, to a faulty sunroof button which meant I couldn’t close the roof to a faulty sensor which made the engine stall (it was an automatic!) to blowing a head gasket and needing a whole new engine! Mazda put me through hell and back and wouldn’t cover it under warranty because my car was serviced through 2 different Mazda dealerships!! I would never recommend nor would I buy a CX5 again!

BadgeGrand Touring
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2014

Fab car no issues so far great small SUV

published

Great car highly recommended, no issues in 3.5 years great drive. Good quality, easy to maintain, minimal servicing . Good fuel economy, smooth driving ..

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2014
Lisa Angelo

Lisa Angelomelbourne

  • 4 reviews

A beauty inside and out

published

This is an affordable mid sized SUV with a great look. Spacious, sleek and functional interior. Fits a car seat nicely with room for 2 adult occupants spaciously. Impressive technology with active heads up display with built in GPS and speed limit detector. I’m very very impressed with this car.

BadgeGT
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Allen

AllenSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

Top in it's category!

published

Mazda has done an excellent job with it's second generation CX-5. Everything has been updated top to bottom. Upgrading from 2014 model to this has given me the chance to compare the two generations and feel the difference throughout.
It is in fact a new car. CX-5 was a brilliant car but the 2nd generation is almost a premium CUV with same price tag. The Akera badge can be compared with Audi or BMW mid range CUVs.
Interior and exterior details are well thought out and the material used specifically on the interior is really good.
I absolutely love the car and enjoy it everytime I drive it.

BadgeAkera
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
davew

davew

  • 42 reviews
  • 7 likes

Beware of genuine hidden tow hitch. Space saver spare.

published
BadgeMaxx
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
1 comment
davew
davew
Blake1

Blake1Sydney, NSW

  • 18 reviews

Lexus cross shop

published
BadgeAkera
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Perfect family SUV

published
BadgeAkera
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Avil

AvilSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great car with free upgrades deal

published

We have purchased this car during the Christmas sales and got the free upgrade deal. It is a medium size SUV that will fit the family and plenty of legroom for all the seats. The most frequently used great little features of the car are the intelligent control, bluetooth music streaming, reverse camera and dashboard, engine noise is minimal and its fuel-efficiency makes the running cost low (make sure you get a package deal with the car dealer to obtain the above inclusion!)

BadgeMaxx
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Clare L

Clare LAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car great value

published

We wanted sat nav and blindspot detection in an SUV but not needing a premium version. Mazda was the only make that we can add-on these features, allowing us to get these and not paying too much. Car is well built and ride is pretty good. Love the red colour too!

BadgeMaxx
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Joseph B

Joseph B

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Outstanding car, sensors really useful

published

Bought a new CX-5 touring turbo diesel in December 2017 and have done 2k's. This car is really smooth with plenty of power to climb and accelerate. I love the rear camera with sensors that detect cross traffic, blind spot sensor, and front sensors that detect pedestrians. All this makes me a safer driver and helps me park the car in tight spaces. I need to spend some time understanding the navigation although my wife has read the manual and has figured this out, we are also not sure how to get voice commands to do more than basic navigation like navigate home. The turbo diesel got about 6.3L/100KM on long distance driving and 7.5 in the city. Outstanding vehicle, drives great, very comfortable I am very happy with this purchase.

BadgeGrand Touring
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Leo

LeoAU

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Well-rounded car

published

Car is a great performer and the Sports mode helps during long distance country driving. Engine noise is quiet and the interior is spacious, for the driver and passengers. The touch-screen navigation system in the center console is very useful and easy to update, you can do it yourself online. The features are great for the price

BadgeAkera
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016
Ray

RayMelbourne

  • 3 reviews

SUV of the year

published

Stylish design and very user friendly. Lots of technology such as the awesome active driving display which helps you to know the road’s speed limit. It also displays the GPS. Very quiet and smooth drive. Very fuel efficient and good pick up. Big boot space and comfortable interior. Best SUV ever.

BadgeGrand Touring
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
tommy

tommyBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good car

published

It handles very well for a SUV almost like a sedan but with the high driving position. The fuel efficiency is very good at about 7.6l per 100km. The features are very good for the price which is why it is so popular. The downside is there is not much room for rear passengers and there is no aircon for rear passengers.

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2014
Mark

Mark

  • 3 reviews

Excellent car for families

published

Excellent vehicle. Not a fan of the auto though some times the revs kick in real slow and all of a sudden the car is screaming. I was able to hack the Live Traffic Updates for free using some online websites and replacing the software on the SD card so now the wife gets free live updates from Tom Tom. Very spacious. If they fix the auto computer that'd be a 5/5.

BadgeMaxx
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2014
Page 4 of 14
See all Mazda CX-5 reviews

Questions & Answers

San

Sanasked

CX-5

Hi fellow CX-5 Owners,

Hope you are all doing well during these times,
I have a Mazda CX5 2019 GT turbo version bought in July 2019. My family loves this car, but since Feb'2020 we are hearing water movement noises from the center console for few moments when I accelerate, moving the vehicle from stopped state. Also the noise is heard when changing gear position when car is ON, basically when the car/engine moves/rattles this water noise is audible from center console. This is bothering much for last 4 months. Has any body else had this issue and any fix you can recommend.
I have informed the dealer thrice so far in last 3 months but with no luck. Sorry for a very long post.

Let me explain each of those instance in detail:
1. First time - I reported to the dealer during the car's first service that 10000k/1 yr in March'2020, the dealer informed me that they drained all door and other places where rain/carwash water stored, but they could not replicate the issue of water sounds from center console. And asked me to monitor.

2. The issue was still there hence I took the car back to dealer after 3 weeks and a service person came along for a test drive to hear the noise, he could hear the noise and noted in service sheet, but again at the end of the day they said they checked everything but could not replicate the issue and asked to monitor again.

3. Now after couple more weeks again the noises are still audible more frequent and louder, took the car again to dealer, service person drove my car to test and he said he heard some noises but said they are not of water but of suspension (I thought he might be right and knows better than me about Mazda cars) left the vehicle for service, at the end of the day I got the car back but the water movement noises are still there. This time I could feel suspension was better as brand new car during first few months.
It is annoying me much, I am concerned if this water might be damaging any parts in the car. I would like to seek help from this community in this regard. Is there a way to escalate to Mazda directly or please suggest any options that I have since it's been 3 times already at the dealer with no help.

Appreciate your time.

2 answers
Khurshed
Khurshed

Hi,
No idea how can I help. The dealer should fix this as they are also getting this noise/sound.or they should replace the car.
I bought Mazda Akera, having problem with the air conditioning since I bought. Cooling is not good enough. Dosen't correspondent with the adjustment what we made inside.
2. Few times had malfunction 306'camera
3. GPS never upgrade even they try few times
4. Overhead display also comes and go.
But car driver very good.
Thanks

San
San

Thanks for your response Khurshed,

Peter

Peterasked

CX-5 KF Maxx Sport FWD, 2.0L Petrol (2015-2020)

can I use any type of grade petrol in my 2 litre CX 5 Mazda

No answers
Jason

Jasonasked

CX-5

I have a mazda cx 5 2016 sport maxx diesel awd. I bought it brand new. Initially the range of the tank was upto 990 km on a full tank, but lately I have noticed a decline in the range down to 700 km. Can you advise me what I can do?

2 answers
Mr SS
Mr SS

Don't know why that is unless you were driving long distance on an open road getting great fuel economy. I have a 2017 CX5 diesel and driving around the city get about 7 liters per 100 kilometers which will show on your trip meter. The math is a 55 liter tank x (100/7) = 785 kilometers per tank.

Jason
Jason

Hi Mr SS, taking your maths into account, I'm currently getting 750 km. How can I get the 35 km back?

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.