?
? !
10 photos
Mazda CX-5

Mazda CX-5 (page 4 of 15)

KE.I, KE.II, KF
4.0 from 296 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.2 (61)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (60)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (54)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (60)
  • Braking
    4.6 (55)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.1 (55)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (48)
  • Suspension
    4.4 (53)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (54)
  • Handling
    4.5 (53)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (55)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (54)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (55)
  • Features
    4.3 (53)
Previous
Next
Daisy

DaisyMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect-

published

I love my Mazda what can I say I love it I love it. One thing that I’m not happy with is the air con and heating and the boot. But I love it it is a great car and great with petrol. Thank you Mazda I’m in love. The family also love it I have 2 children so it is very spacious.

BadgeMaxx
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Radio headset.

published

The entertainment unit whe n playing music from usb memory always restarts thebsame song every time the car is resarted.
Divers you insane.
Car is fantastic for towing our van. Economy is great.Good driving position. But the door closure warning light does not indicate which door is not closed properly.

BadgeGrand Touring
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bebe

Bebe

  • 3 reviews

Amazing!

published

I purchased a second hand 2015 model this year and I’m in love! In my opinion, it’s the perfect size - heaps of room for passengers and heaps of boot space without being too big that it’s hard to park. Really comfortable to drive, really quiet and reaaaaally cheap to run. I previously had a corolla and they’re close to each other with fuel consumption. I would 100% recommend this!

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine SizeI’m not sure
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Karina

KarinaNORTH NOWRA

  • 3 reviews

ZOOM ZOOM ZOOM

published

This car is perfect for my needs as a young busy working mum.
It drives quietly and safely.
my only complaint about the interior is the push button is on the left which is not convenient when you have bags to scoop up from the passenger seat but other than that it fits myself, the shopping and the kids in it very comfortably.
The kids love that they can attach their music via bluetooth too.
I have always been a Mazda owner and this car has been no exception to their reliability and comfort - as well as looking very snazy!
Fuel is quite economical also as it is E10 compatible.

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Fair Dinkum

Fair DinkumSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes

Issue with navigation system in Mazda's

published

We found the Navigation System does not work properly with Mazda cars. We have a Mazda CS 6 Sedan as well and have the same issues. We have to use our mobile phone navigation instead. The Navigation system does not connected and can be an issue if you travel without a mobile phone.

BadgeGT
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Samantha M

Samantha MChisholm

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Decent car

published

We bought the CX 5 Max sport model for its ungraded features. We found that the tint that the installation team added was below par so I would recommend you do that aspect yourself.

Overall a smooth drive, not jerky with the breaks. We have owned it for over 5 years and with regular services we haven’t had a problem. In fact the low tyre pressure warning system saved my life on an outback drive one year, if this had not have gone off I would have been stranded heavily pregnant in the middle of nowhere.

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Katym

KatymSydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

Best Car I Have Ever Bought

published

Purchased my Mazda CX5 in August 2014 from John Newel Mazda - Alexandria. Comfortable, easy to drive, very economical on fuel. The interior is luxurious without the price tag. It is a medium size SUV, providing adequate legroom, boot storage and a feeling of being a sturdy safe car. After service at John Newel brilliant....high focus on customer experience. I will continue to purchase Mazda vehicles from this dealership in future as will my family.

BadgeAkera
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Landine Kao

Landine KaoSpringwood

Worst Servicing Issues Non Resolved

published
BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jenny

JennyMackay

  • 3 reviews
  • 8 likes

Such a good mum car

published

I love this car. We bought it when we found out I was pregnant as an upgrade from my small Elantra. I love driving this car around, it is so smooth, comfortable and spacious. The pram fits in the boot with plenty of room to spare. I love having a reverse camera too. Very happy with this purchase!

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kate

Kate

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Still loving my Mazda

published

6 years on Im still loving my cx5. Its economic on petrol and the big boot has been handy with the kids bikes and trips away. Its the second Mazda I've bought and they are so reliable and they drive well.

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brooke

BrookeRed cliffs

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Could not fault car had for 12months

published

This car is so reliable never missed a beat and fuel consumption is great I fill up once a fortnight at 70 dollars, Mazda has outdone themselves the transition is smooth and very quite first services are capped so that’s always a plus, long trips are comfortable for adults and children.

BadgeMaxx
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Disappointing fuel consumption

published
BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sad CX5

Sad CX5Darwin

Lemon is an understatement.

published

Long term review for anyone that wants to purchase a Mazda CX-5. Save your money and purchase something else. Numerous sensor faults causing the car to limp or stop. At 80,000 KM blew a turbo. Not a single service they pick another fault from ruptured common rail fuel lines at a cost of $1000 to repair. The car is just at 130000 km engine mount bolts have ruptured and power steering is about to go according to the service department. Nothing but drama with the CX-5 and all Mazda could offer was one free service and an extended 12 months warranty. Wasn’t really worth the year off the road over 5 years.

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
JohnR

JohnR

  • 3 reviews

Superb service

published
BadgeGrand Touring
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2014
1 comment
JohnR
JohnR

Came back from Melb to Melbourne 27 Dec, towing 1.4 tonne caravan - aircon working really well, temp outside mid 40s much of the way through central NSW : this lovely diesel did not miss a beat!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Anna

Anna

  • 4 reviews

Comfortable family car

published

This is a nice and comfortable family car. For a medium sized car it’s actually quite roomy inside. The cargo area has lots of room and is easy to reach into. It takes a cargo barrier so you can transport your pets in the back securely. The leather seats are very comfortable and the heated front seats add an element of luxury.

BadgeGrand Touring
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mike B 2012

Mike B 2012Sydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Mazda’s CX-5 Akera is a pleasure to drive and maintain...

published

The best SUV i have bought yet. Its been over 6 months, runs like a breeze...comfortable and smooth ride, easy steering control, enough power for city drive and perfect grunt with turbo on long drives, love the package with all features in the top model, interior is sleek and non-plastic so feels quieter and excellent electronics. The only drawback, it does not have a Traffic update system in the Nav, needs to connect to internet via phone hotspot before it gives you that feature. And that's unlike many other car makes which connect with Suna Traffic via Radio. Barring that short-coming i absolutely love my CX-5 and strongly recommend people to test drive one as its easy and very silent to ride in n drive.

BadgeAkera
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lauren

LaurenMELBOURNE

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect for every occasion

published

WE have had our Mazda Cx-5 for a year and LOVE IT! this is the second Mazda I have owned (I previously had a Mazda 3). They are such great cars and we have never had any issues with the,. servicing and upkeep is affordable and easy. We loved the CX-5 as it was a lot bigger internally than other brands of a similar "size" - the boot is super roomy and great for when ewe go camping.

BadgeAkera
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
sarah s

sarah sNambour

  • 14 reviews
  • 3 likes

Smooth driving and good fuel economy

published

Purchased brand new 2017 Mazda CX-5 in the deep crystal blue, I really love the colour and dark interior. I’m super satisfied with the car. The only thing I hate is the chrome strip highlighting the air vents, I don’t understand why anyone would highlight and air vent, it looks tacky. Upgraded to the Maxx Sport which I thought was great for the price. Smooth handling and great fuel economy. Great family car.

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ngs

NgsSydney

  • 4 reviews

Love it

published

Great car! The boot fits our pram with room for shopping. Beautiful interior, drives really nicely and has a really nice looking exterior. Mazda service is also really good.

It does show dust in the dark grey colour though and if we had to fit 3 car seats in the back it would be a struggle.

BadgeGrand Touring
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cara

CaraTraralgon

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Worst after sales service, your better off buying a second hand car

published
BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 4 of 15
See all Mazda CX-5 reviews

Questions & Answers

Rod W

Rod Wasked

CX-5 KF (2017-2021)

Is it possible to retro fit passive entry door handles to 2021 CX5 Maxx Sport, if so what company in WA can carry this out?
Thanks in advance.

No answers
Gary S.

Gary S.asked

CX-5

I have a Mazda CX 5 but when dash would not shut down, I couldn't lock the car. A free igbnition battery replacement didn't solve the problem and I had to order a new Selection Lever Part No MZB45-46-100D at a cost of $1160 fitted. Apparently as I was told by a service person at local Mazda dealership, the previous model would have fixed this problem by exchanging a simple microswitch, which is integrated into a more substantial part into the pre 2016 model. Can this be true? Do I have any redress with Mazda...or do we just give up on such seeming examples of design idiocy and apparent money making from we poor consumers? Gary Sydney Australia

No answers
Tush

Tushasked

CX-5 KE.II (2015-2016)

Any one heard about auto transmission failure in CX-5 AWD GT model 2015?

No answers
See all Mazda CX-5 questions

Get an answer from our members

Mazda CX-5

Details

Compare all 16 Mazda CX-5
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $32,990$34,990$37,990$37,240
TransmissionManualAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Steel17" Steel17" Steel17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.9 L/100km6.9 L/100km7.4 L/100km6.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 56 L56 L58 L56 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.5 L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power115kW @ 6000rpm115kW @ 6000rpm140kW @ 6000rpm115kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque200Nm @ 4000rpm200Nm @ 4000rpm252Nm @ 4000rpm200Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,800 kg1,800 kg1,800 kg1,800 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance193 mm193 mm193 mm193 mm
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2015
Compare all 16 Mazda CX-5

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.