??!
5 photos
Mazda CX-9 TB

See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
33
4 star
25
3 star
4
2 star
3
1 star
9

Shan

ShanPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car, lovely to drive

published

Amazing car and I love it, no issues what so ever. I purchased the luxury pack with bose audio, sunroof and leather. It does use a fair bit of fuel, but it needs to be considered that the car is 11 years old, its a large family 7 seater SUV. I'm averaging 12.3-12.7l to 100km and can get it down to about 8.9L/100km on the freeway. In comparison, I downsized from a 2013 Kluger and it actually has slightly better fuel consumption than that.

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Public safety concerns

published

Be aware, there is a factory recall on the brake booster. Mazda is not informing all its customers because it costs too much and the local dealers would not pay out of their pocket to replace them. Instead, they will fix it on the need to repair basis. My brakes completely failed at 63K even though there was plenty of life left on the brake pads. Bottom line, Mazda could care less about your safety. Please call your local dealer and verify this information

Purchased in May 2017 for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Mick

MickAU

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

It is what it is

published
BadgeGrand Touring
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
DriveAWD
TarsB

TarsBNewcastle

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Big car but great...

published

When I first got this car I had to adapt to driving a car which was much bigger than any prior car that I would have driven before. However now that I am driving it for a year, I am extremely happy with having gone up a car size or two. The boot space is amazing and perfect for a trip away, or just to fit in my child's pram and the shopping. I love the rear camera as it obviously helps with parking. This is our family car and we drive it daily. Would have liked it if it had a navigation system however...

BadgeClassic
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Scott

ScottBrisbane

CX 9 Lemona

published

Brakes make a crunching and grinding noise, it has continuously been back to Mt Gravatt Mazda for over 18 months. Still not fixed, plenty of excuses and and hyperbole about this and that. This car has been back to the dealership on over 30 occasions, with plenty of other issues. I am tempted to spray paint a big lemon on the back of it and park it out the front. Stay away

BadgeClassic
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Jim S

Jim SGoulburn

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car

published

This is our daily drive. We do more than a 1000km a month. The CX9 is a very comfortable car with great safety features. The 7 seat option is the best around. Comfy even for adults in the third row, and easy to get in and out.
Stack of room in the boot.

BadgeLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018

Viv

VivSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 12 likes

Worst Bluetooth system

published
BadgeLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015

I like my coffee

I like my coffeeSydney

  • 2 reviews

Great 7 seaters for the price

published
BadgeLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
aaykay

aaykayGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

love my cx9

published

- lots of space -- drove 400 Kms to the great ocean road with 6 passengers. everyone has enough leg space.
- 13L/100 Km -- not fuel efficient but a very powerful car. 3.6L engine.
- noise free - I have been driving for 3 years but still no sound from the engine while running

Love driving this car.

BadgeLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016

Classy economy but feels luxurious

published

This car drives so smoothly and beautifully. Going on 4 years and never had a problem. The interior feels so spacious and roomy. Dashboard features look gently blended into the care and easy on the eyes, not coarse.
In long distance, it loves its drink. you tend to forget this if you are driving around the suburb.

BadgeLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2013

GLS

GLSAuckland, NZ

  • 2 reviews

I like the way it drives but it suffers from some quality issues.

published

I like the way it drives, the space and modern comforts but it suffers from some quality issues which are becoming apparent after 1.5 years of ownership. Rust started appearing on the roof and body panels even though it’s still under warranty. Dealer has been a nightmare to deal with and warranty claims seem impossible. Overall disappointed with it as quality issues let the sporty Mazda down.

BadgeLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016
1 comment
GLS
GLS

By way of an update, Mazda has eventually offered a replacement. I have had the new car for a few months and have not had any major problems with it. So far so good.


JHP

JHPGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

One of the very few PROPER 7 seat car, that can sit 7 adults

published
BadgeLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2013

Barb

Barb

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Smart looking but over rated

published

I love the look of our Mazda CX-9 Only 55.000 km
The interior is lever though after only 5 years has cracked also the steering wheel
To be honest it’s not as comfortable as I thought I the middle & back seats
The air con doesn’t travel to the back

The air con flooded once
And now it sounds like it’s in over drive with gear issues

BadgeLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2013

Tian

TianSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Super car

published

Worth the price you paid for. I got the version with AWD, Sun roof, Leather Seat, and Bose audio system.
It feels very high tech, design is almost perfect.
Turbo engine also very powerful, never had the sluggish feeling like CX-5 does.
Only thing is the third passenger row is not very spacious (like Kia Carnival), but if you don't constantly have passengers on the third row, it should be a perfect car for you.

BadgeLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Stella

StellaMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Luxury

published

Mazda CX-9.
Looks and feels amazing-the dash lights up perfectly-interior is very comfortable and can not find a fault to the design, heated seats. Perfect for bug families ,Very spacious no matter where your seating, performance is AAA+
Very smooth drives in the CX-9’s.

Mazda CX-9 is Definitely a head turner.
LOVE IT

BadgeLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Max

MaxMt eliza

  • 6 reviews

Uhh its ok

published

I like the handling and performance but it breaks down easily and it is really loud I have the aircon e because the vents break easily but the speaker are absoulty amazing and the blue tooth connection is so good it comes through perfectly almost every time overall it is a goo car but it's has some major issues

BadgeClassic
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2013

Viv

Viv

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good car with shortcomings

published

Drives reasonably, perhaps ordinary for. $55k car being a luxury model (mid range). Has some great features such as lots of space, especially for 3rd row and big boot size if 3rd row is folded down, tilt side mirrors while reversing, sun roof, reasonable music system, large wheels, rain sensor wipers, leather interiors, heated front seats, dual climate control. Downside fuel thirsty, noisy for a car at that price range, bluetooth has very poor integration with IPhone. Making a phone call takes multiple steps an annoying feature, GPS maps are never upgraded despite MAZDA claiming its service gives the advantage

BadgeLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015

Iklist

Iklist

  • 7 reviews

Excellent family car

published

Was sceptical to begin with but now a complete convert. Our 7 seater CX-9 is a great family car with plenty of space for our 5 member family, great looks and excellent technology. We also have a Mercedes-Benz as the alternative car and yet the Mazda is becoming the car if choice for most family activities. Fuel efficiency is not perfect but then again it is a heavy 7 seater car even though it drives and feels like a mid size SUV.

BadgeLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Keen

KeenWollongong

  • 12 reviews
  • 8 likes

dream family car

published

the performance is so good, it is easy to forget the size of the vehicle. the same goes for handling, its light and easy to steer, doesnt roll around corners.
there is SO much room in these cars - both in width of the interior and height. Plus with the cupholders for everyone and rear a/c being a bonus.
Have found to get around 500km to a tank of fuel, with mostly city driving.

BadgeLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Day day

Day dayAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awesome

published

Love everything about it. Fits a family of six with luggage for family trips. The only 7 seater that has legroom in the third row. We checked them all as we didnt want a mini van.
Heaps of room.
Good performance for a huge car.
Nicely appointed, feels very european in quality.

BadgeClassic
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016

Page 1 of 4

See all Mazda CX-9 reviews

Questions & Answers

Optus peanuts

Optus peanutsasked

I am looking at a 2008 CX9 with 180000 kilometres do I need to be concerned about anything

No answers

Ali

Aliasked

Hi guys
I bought a Mazda CX-9 one month ago, the gearbox is broken I took it to the mechanic. My car is in the garage of mechanic. Unfortunately I don’t know is it AWD or FWD! I asked the mechanic he didn’t know too. What can I do?

1 answer
Matthew9929
Matthew9929

Take it to a new mechanic.
If he doesn't know this then he is not a very good mechanic.


Jo Taps

Jo Tapsasked

Hi,
I recently bought a 2011 Mazda CX-9 FWD with Sat-nav, ive noticed the map is really out of date (new roads, changes not pick up), any experience of updating the DVD navigation at less expensive dealer update? Thanks.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Mazda representatives

Details

Mazda CX-9 TB Grand Touring
  • Discontinued

Mazda CX-9 TB Grand Touring (2010-2015)

6 reviews
Mazda CX-9 TB Classic
  • Discontinued

Mazda CX-9 TB Classic (2007-2015)

17 reviews
Mazda CX-9 TB Luxury
  • Discontinued

Mazda CX-9 TB Luxury (2017-2015)

29 reviews
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels20" Alloy18" Alloy20" Alloy
Doors555
Seats777
Fuel Tank Capacity 76 L76 L76 L
Engine6 Cylinder 3.7L6 Cylinder 3.7L6 Cylinder 3.7L
Max Power204kW @ 6250rpm204kW @ 6250rpm204kW @ 6250rpm
Max Torque367Nm @ 4250rpm367Nm @ 4250rpm367Nm @ 4250rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapan
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2010Jan 2007Jan 2017
Discontinuation dateDec 2015Dec 2015Dec 2015
Replaced byMazda CX-9 TCMazda CX-9 TCMazda CX-9 TC
Compare all Mazda CX-9

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.