??!
3 photos
Mazda MX-5 NC (2005-2014)

Mazda MX-5 NC (2005-2014)

4.6 from 20 reviews · View Details

Reviews

4.6

20 reviews
5
(15)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    4.7 (3)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (3)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (3)
  • Handling
    5.0 (3)
  • Braking
    5.0 (3)
  • Suspension
    4.7 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (3)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (3)
  • Boot Size
    3.3 (3)
  • Features
    4.7 (3)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (3)
Previous
Next

New toy

published

Just got new used nc on the weekend love it. This is the third Mx5 we have owned nb(2002) nc(2006) and now nc(2013)never had a problem with any of them .they are a great car for us older amateurs to play around with . Go and get one!

Purchased in April 2020.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Best car i've ever owned!

published

Purchased in March 2007 at Mazda Dealers for A$47,650.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2007
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Bob of gulf point

Bob of gulf pointMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 14 reviews
  • 14 likes

Excellent. First convertible. What took me so long? (I had an RX-7 in 1980s)

published

Bought June 2018. NC hard top convertible, black. My second car but use it on club rallies. Great fun. Mostly along the coast with roof down. Cheap to service with a guy who raves one himself. Quick but not so powerful. Blue tooth, cruise control, wheel controls. Seven speaker Bose. Very reliable and quite cheap stuff interchangeable with other Mazda’s. Not unlike the two Mazda Sixes I’ve had. Any faults? I think the paint may be a bit soft cos there’s a few stone chips at fron end. Working thro them right now. Lights were clouded, fixed.

Purchased in June 2018 at Better Braces.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Convertibles

Find out how Mazda MX-5 NC (2005-2014) compares to other Convertibles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mark

MarkGold Coast Qld

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

The real sports car

published

The Mazda MX5 has developed it's own unique DNA since the first NA model was launched over 25 years ago, small improvements in safety and driving dynamics have ensured the MX5 maintained it's true sports car credentials. I have owned my NC2 coupe for over 5 years, with regular services from my local Mazda dealer. This MX5 has never had any warranty or service issues, although I have not used it on a daily basis, I feel the MX5 is better suited for that pure driving experience.

BadgeRoaster Coupe
Engine Size2.0L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2013
My pug

My pugAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Everything you could want in a cheaper sports car

published
BadgeRoadster
Engine Size2.0L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2009
bernii

berniicroydon

  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

Value for money

published

Car looks great. Feels great to drive. Retractable hardtop is down in 12 seconds. Very secure. Not the fastest car but very smooth. Sound system bose is superb. Leather seats still smells inside like new. Uses approx 9ltrs per 100ks. It has 4 cupholders! Last mx5 1999 had only one hidden one in console. Cruise control and control on steering wheel for radio is awesome. Lights look fantastic!

BadgeRoadster
Engine Size2.0L
TransmissionAutomatic
Brian

BrianWellington

  • 13 reviews
  • 25 likes

Comparing my Mk2 and Mk3 MX5's

published
Engine Size2.0L

spare parts

published

I have a 2014 mx5 which needs a new fuel pump and Mazda Australia has no spare fuel pump in Australia. The best they offer is a 3 week delivery from Japan. Interested to know if other people are experiencing similar unreasonable delays from Mazda Australia? I wish Mazda's sales brochure was more realistic about time delays for standard parts. I suggest the by-line should be Zoom Zoom (until you need a spare part).

Engine Size2.0L
1 comment
Brian
Brian

Three week wait is normal in NZ for MX5 parts, they all come from Japan.

MsJanette25

MsJanette25AU

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great car

published

Owned a 2006 hard top for 3 years and absolutely loved it. Can't wait for the new gen 4 version to release at next years Chicago Car Show in February.

Handling was great. Loved the styling and stereo system. Sat nav would have been nice. Maybe in the 2015 model.
Great cornering. Fast and nippy to drive.

TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.0L
Convertibles

Find out how Mazda MX-5 NC (2005-2014) compares to other Convertibles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
deus_zeus

deus_zeusSydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 10 likes

Brilliant affordable sports car

published
Engine Size2.0L
TransmissionManual
Bailey

BaileySydney

Driving Nirvana

published
Engine Size2.0L
TransmissionManual
1 comment
dingodude
dingodude
Corbs13

Corbs13perth

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

M is for Magic

published

I have owned my MX 5 for 5 years and l have no hesitation in recommending the car - low maintence - but more importantly low maintence costs. I did have trouble with the passenger side head light constantly having to be replaced every 2 to 3 months (this was done at my local garage at a cost of $26 each time) until l took my car to a Mazda Service shop where they cleaned the light before installing a new bulb - the cost $15 and I have never had a problem since. Economical to run especially since l have 50kms to travel to work - 100kms round trip each day. In the 5 years i have had my Mazda, l have only had to replace the tyres and a battery... My next car will also be a Mazda MX5
Performance and economical

Engine Size2.0L
MX5 Lover

MX5 LoverMELBOURNE

Exactly what I was looking for!

published
Engine Size2.0L
TransmissionManual
kkinninmont

kkinninmontAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Excellent

published
Engine Size2.0L

Excellent

published

Brilliant I've had mine nearly 4 years in stormy blue the same as the picture. Just a great fun car to drive, when I drive anything else they seem like a tank.
Everything.

Engine Size2.0L
Convertibles

Find out how Mazda MX-5 NC (2005-2014) compares to other Convertibles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
joda5084

joda5084Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 21 reviews
  • 10 likes

Good

published

A lot of fun to drive handles very well corners even better not too hard to get in and out of and six gears to play with.
Very comfortable to sit in very good to drive handles very well everything is easy to acsess and a good Bose strereo The top is very easy to put up and down realy good fun to drive handles like its on rails good and tight six speed gearbox and a responsive 2 litre engine
Not much to complain about the only con I hava is the lack of spare wheel ( it does have a repair kit with compressor), and a very small boot

Engine Size2.0L
Serviceman

Serviceman

  • 5 reviews

Excellent

published
Engine Size2.0L

Good

published

I love it, although the build quality isn't as good as the 1991 model. It is more plasticy - My car is only 6months old so time will tell. My NA had no serious issues in 18 years. The dealer support has been great, so no real comlaints.
Stylish little roadster. Love the stereo contols on the steering wheel. More power than NA.Fuel ecomomy good. The colours have improved with the NC Series 2.
Gearbox replaced at 6000Km, it is still notchy, but at least it doesn't jump out of 4th gear anymore! It doesn't handle as well as 1991 NA.

Engine Size2.0L
macmx5

macmx5

  • 2 reviews

Good

published
Engine Size2.0L

Excellent

published

Love having the MX5 Hardtop Convertible. Its the first time I have ever owned a convertible and I am loving it, have the roof down and every opportunity. I have found no issues with anything to date, though I am only 3 months into owning it. So far so good.
I bought the new Hard Top Roadster Convertible in March 2007 and I love everything about it. It handles well, great on the gas, easy to park in the city
Not a great deal

Engine Size2.0L
See all Mazda MX-5 reviews

Questions & Answers

Danny

Dannyasked

MX-5 NC (2005-2014)

The inside light doesnt work.isit the fuse or the bulb? How can you reduce the fuel consumption to drive it economically?

1 answer

Light can be fussy. Use 98 petrol and drive at 5000 tp 6500 rpm. If that’s too expensive get a Hyundai.

Get an answer from our members

Other Convertibles

Previous
BMW M3

BMW M3

4.7
(15)
Audi TT

Audi TT

4.3
(12)
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.