?
? !
1 photo
McDonald Jones Homes
4.7 from 1,069 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Stage
  • Customer Service
    4.6 (273)
  • Site Admin
    4.7 (248)
  • Timeliness
    4.6 (252)
  • Structural Integrity
    4.8 (230)
  • Plumbing & Waterproofing
    4.6 (230)
  • Electrical & Lighting
    4.7 (228)
  • Flooring
    4.7 (173)
  • Transparency
    4.5 (233)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Maha H

Maha HSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Extremely satisfied thanks to our Site Supervisor Wayne Gordon!!

published
  • Thumbnail
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateApril 2021
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Monica Semrad

Monica SemradSydney, NSW

Stress-free dream come true

published

From house plans, through colour selection, to house delivery, the teams were engaging and clearly skilled and experienced. The online portal kept us informed of the progress. Our building manager Douglas called every week with progress reports and the future week's plan ahead. He even took pictures for us which were available on the portal. The onsite walk-throughs at various stages allowed us to see our dream come to life. I recommend McDonald Jones without hesitation. Building Manager Douglas was exceptional - this was my third build, but the first time I've dealt with a builder that made it stress-free!!

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateApril 2021
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Extremely Professional

published

From start to finish Our build was informative and inspirational. Selection of fit-outs, colours and products were well organised and professionally handled. Our site supervisor was personable, professional and had no issues with answering any of our questions as our beautiful new home took shape. Couldn’t have ask for any better. The quality of the build is exceptional.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateApril 2021
1 comment
McDonald Jones Homes
Customer C.McDonald Jones Homes

Hi Robyn, Thank you for your wonderful review of our team. We are so thrilled and hope you love every exciting moment of moving and enjoying your new home. Best wishes.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Home Builders

Find out how McDonald Jones Homes compares to other Home Builders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Disappointed

Disappointed

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great Construction Experience

published

The lead up to construction was ordinary at best, with McDonald Jones changing design details without advising us and then being unable to explain why they had made the changes. The level of knowledge varied greatly. However, the construction experience was outstanding. Our site supervisor was the best, keeping us fully informed, being honest and open and very approachable. The construction was smooth and quick and a few weeks after handover we are very satisfied with the house.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateMarch 2021
2 comments
McDonald Jones Homes
Customer C.McDonald Jones Homes
Disappointed
Disappointed

605495

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mani

ManiSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • NSW
  • Verified customer

Excellent quality and service

published

Job#604548
The start of the journey was with our sales consultant Robert H at Mardsen park. Give him 10/10 for his service and knowledge. He helped us to customize our house with every change we wanted.
Our site supervisor was great. 10/10. He made sure everything was as per good standards. He is actually very strict and would not allow entry to the house without him being on the site. We felt that he made sure everything was 100%. He was always on time and available on call. Any issues raised were fixed straight away.
Things to improve for MJH is they need to cut the grass before handing back the property and they require us to give them our block clean and empty. When I cut the glass there was some rubbish that belongs to the builder.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateMarch 2021
1 comment
McDonald Jones Homes
Customer C.McDonald Jones Homes

Hi Mani, thank you very much for your review. We will be sure to share your comments with Robert and the wider team. We appreciate your feedback and will be sure to share your feedback. Best wishes

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Nightmare journey.

published

Would not reccommend McDonald jones to anybody our journey over the last 11 months after moving in to get repairs/defects done most minor has been horrendous. Virtually no communication before and after handover with local Management even after numerous visits to the office most times said they were not available left message most times no reply. Fair Trading has been involved hopefully we will get the work done that has been identified and we will take it from there.

Customer Service
Timeliness
Electrical & Lighting
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateMarch 2020
4 comments
McDonald Jones Homes
Customer C.McDonald Jones Homes

Hi Jim, we are disappointed to see your comments on your experience. Could you please provide us with your job number so we can share your comments and have the team investigate and contact you to assist. Thank you.

Jim.
Jim.

Job number 270008 as requested.
Why has the end part of my review been left out in regards to Head office Management asking local Management why the breakdown in communication regarding the time it has taken to get some of these repairs completed.

McDonald Jones Homes
Customer C.McDonald Jones Homes

Hi Jim, THANK YOU for this information. Only Product Review has the ability to alter or omit parts of the reviews (we have no access to this at all.) So we recommend you contact Product Review to identify who edited your review, THANK YOU.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bangawanga

BangawangaIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • NSW
  • Verified customer

Thank you Jordan Fletcher & Chris Murdzevski of McJones Warranty Department

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StagePost-Construction
2 comments
McDonald Jones Homes
Customer C.McDonald Jones Homes

Hi, thank you for your review of our team they will be so thrilled to see your comments and we will be sure to share your review with our wider team. Many thanks

Bangawanga
Bangawanga

Thanks McJones. I’ll be sure to provide another review once all of our warranty requests have been repaired. Stay tuned...

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jen

JenIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

A class act & quality product

published
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateJanuary 2021
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
sunee

suneeSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

pleasant communication

published

we have just finished a PCI of our house. Very happy with it at the end. build quality is good can't wait to move in. I have to thank the site supervisor Doug Goreal who was very patient with me and give me a useful advice, whilst admin of MJH was not really helpful and didn't give a clear explanation. however, at the end i'm happy with the house

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateJanuary 2021
1 comment
McDonald Jones Homes
Customer C.McDonald Jones Homes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Home Builders

Find out how McDonald Jones Homes compares to other Home Builders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Deybra

DeybraSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Amazing first building experience!!! Will build again with MJH in future!

published
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateJanuary 2021
1 comment
McDonald Jones Homes
Customer C.McDonald Jones Homes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pranav O.

Pranav O.Sydney, NSW

First time build, will build them again for sure, peace of mind

published

We have build our first home with MJH, would definitely give them another chance,

Although have learnt lot after first home build and I would like compliment MJH on looking after us.

Build quality and workmanship is great, service in each stages is at best levels.

Even after building almost 2 yrs, their service no doubt the best.

Thank you MJH.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateSeptember 2019
1 comment
McDonald Jones Homes
Customer C.McDonald Jones Homes

Hi Pranav, thank you so much for your lovely review and your feedback. We are so thrilled to read how happy you are with your home and we do hope you enjoy making many, many years of wonderful memories. Best wishes.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Worst experience ever

published

If you want to deal with a company that doesn't communicate or reply to it's customers than Mcdonald Jones is perfect for you. Still waiting on issues to be rectified that have been going on for over 12 months. Would definitely not recommend them. This is our second build with them and we have only just had issues.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateJuly 2019
2 comments
McDonald Jones Homes
McDonald J.McDonald Jones Homes

Hi Margaret, we are disappointed to read your comments, can you please provide your best contact information and job number, so we can investigate and have the team contact you, kind regards

Margaret
Margaret

Hi I have sent you a message.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sanjay

SanjaySydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Poor service after construction

published

One month passed after handover but till date pending points are not completed by Construction team. After construction no one replying about pending work and construction supervisor not responding anything. Brickwork patching not goid, Bathroom tiles are not in level, Till date no rain water tank connection done by construction team. Poor quality of Kitchen range hood. You can see the pictures. Please rethink your decision if you will be planning to work with McDonald Jones Homes.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +4Thumbnail
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateSeptember 2020
2 comments
McDonald Jones Homes
McDonald J.McDonald Jones Homes
Sanjay
Sanjay
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Duha S.

Duha S.Sydney, NSW

Almost disappointed

published

We started our journey with Mc Donald Jones in October 2019. Moving forward we did have some hiccups however internal and colour appointments were great. The level of customer service was exceptional.
Our handover was slightly delayed due to minor defects during painting. We can say MJH has done an exceptionally great job however need to hire new painters.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateDecember 2020
1 comment
McDonald Jones Homes
McDonald J.McDonald Jones Homes

Hi Duha, thank you for the honest feedback, we have circulated your feedback with the team also to irmprove this area. Congratulations on your new home and we hope you create lots of happy memories there!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

First home builders

published

We moved into our home roughly one month ago, and as first time builders we had a great experience building with MJH throughout the whole process from the studio selections to the build itself. Our site supervisor Wayne Gordon was great throughout the build, communicating with us regularly and went above and beyond nearing the end during practical completion stage. He was also available for any questions after handover. Would definitely recommend building with MJH, we love our house.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateNovember 2020
1 comment
McDonald Jones Homes
McDonald J.McDonald Jones Homes

Hi Josephine, thank you for the feedback, the Wayne and the team were delighted to read your comments - Congratulations on your new home! We hope you create lots of happy memories there every day.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Home Builders

Find out how McDonald Jones Homes compares to other Home Builders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bonnie

BonnieSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Practical completion done and dusted

published
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateDecember 2020
1 comment
McDonald Jones Homes
McDonald J.McDonald Jones Homes

Hi Bonnie,
Thank you for such lovely and informative feedback! We hope you create lots of happy memories in your new home - Congratulations!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
K and E

K and ESydney, NSW

First home builders

published
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateNovember 2020
1 comment
McDonald Jones Homes
McDonald J.McDonald Jones Homes

Hi there, thank you for the feedback and congratulations on moving into your new home! We hope you create lots of happy memories there

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Almost perfect

published

This is our fifth build, first time with MJH(job 605388) and we are so sceptic in building again. We were proven wrong. It started from sales Kassandra Savage who is knowledgeable, professional, supportive and always respond to our enquiries. Our site supervisor Wayne Gordon was also fantastic to work with. He made sure the build was built to a high standard of his and finished well ahead of the finish built date. He even picked up a few minor defects that my private inspector has missed and got it repaired. Thank you Kassey, Wayne and to the whole team of MJH. Keep up the good work.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateOctober 2020
1 comment
McDonald Jones Homes
McDonald J.McDonald Jones Homes

Hi Arthur, thank you so much for your feedback about your experience with our team from sales through to constuction. We hope you are creating lots of extraordinary memories in your new home! CONGRATULATIONS!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Saveena

SaveenaSydney, NSW

Perfect

published

We have been very satisfied with the process that McDonald Jones Homes in place. I was very much impressed the speed they built our house, in 4 months time our house was ready, there is no delay in construction. They made the whole process enjoyable , big thanks to Site Supervisor (Wayne Gordon) . We are so anxious to enter into our new house.
Thanks
Saveena & Jatish Deo :)

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateNovember 2020
1 comment
McDonald Jones Homes
McDonald J.McDonald Jones Homes

Hi Saveena and Jatish, thank you so much for the lovely feedback about your experience and in particular Wayne , he loves helping customers create their dream homes! Congratulations on your new home, we have you create lots of extraordinary memories!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Exceptional Supervisor!!!

published

We have had the pleasure of dealing with Wayne Gordon as our site supervisor. He has been absolutely amazing. Wayne was there whenever we needed to ask questions. He answered all the enquires and responded back instantly to emails. Our house was completed to the highest standard, thanks to Wayne’s expertise.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateNovember 2020
1 comment
McDonald Jones Homes
McDonald J.McDonald Jones Homes

Hi Jelena, thank you for the feedback about Wayne, he was delighted to read your comments. Congratulations on your new home, we hope you create lots of extraordinary memories there!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 17
See all McDonald Jones Homes reviews

Questions & Answers

sanjeev d.

sanjeev d.asked

McDonald Jones Homes

Dear All,
My internal colour selection ended up with upgraded cost of 50k. I’m still recovering from some surprises that I really don’t intend to discuss. In a weeks time, I have appointment for electricals.
My question is, is it worth getting all the downlights from them or it’s wise to get it done later. Would there be a significant difference?

7 answers
Prajeev Divya
Prajeev Divya

Did you get the $60K discount bonus from MJH? If so, that will be a nice deal.
During Electrical selection, aircon zone selection will be a good amount. Better to go for standard light fittings and LED upgrades after handover. Builder charge you minimum 20% extra for each item.

Mani
Mani

it looks likes you have upgraded a lot tiles etc.Yes aircon zones is a must upgrade. I got eight zones upgrade. Regarding led they have led packages like get 20 and it is cheaper. When i did my electric plan I added too much leds but lady at the appointment helped me to fix it. If your house is a single storey than it could be cheaper to do it after hand over but not that much, do check how much a Clipsel led will cost you including install. I also got wiring done for fans to install fans later (remember if you do this get one switch for light one switch for fan and a dimmer).
For outdoor I didn’t use led, normal holders. With switches you can get 5 or six in one point with no extra, try to get one extra. Also look into two way switch and some dimmable. I was told make an electrical provision of $7k but ended up $14k but did everything with them.

sanjeev d.
sanjeev d.

Thanks for your feedback

JastonA

JastonAasked

McDonald Jones Homes

Hi, me and my wife are going through purchasing our first home and have agreed to a house and land package in Wilton Greens with McDonald Jones. Our build contract has been signed (15th September 2020) as well as our land contract. The land was suppose to register in December 2021 and now having spoken to the Wilton greens people they have advised it will be March 2022 which sucks tbh. So when doing the tender process and signing off on it, we were told to think about adding 6months onto the tender via variation as when it expires, I’m not sure what happens. What happens in this case? Our tender is from the 15th of Sep and the additional 6months which cost $6000???, will take us till the 15th of March 2022.

Question 1 - McDonald Jones have put their packages out for purchase and as we have agreed to go ahead, why does this fall on us to add time (6 months) onto the tender period for $6000 so it doesn’t expire and not just an amount to lock it in as it isn’t our fault but the land providers/council who is working the job having delays and what not. They should get charged not us tbh

Question 2 - What happens if the land doesn’t register by the expiration date of our tender contract?

Question 3 - buying property at the moment is so competitive with so many great deals. If we have agreed to a deal with McDonald Jones, if another deal comes after with you guys like the $60,000 which is on at the moment, can we access this if we are still far away from building?

This is our first time purchasing a home and new to the process so I hope I’m not out of line for asking these questions.

Thank you and much appreciated.

5 answers
McDonald Jones Homes
Customer C.McDonald Jones Homes

Hi JastonA, thank you for your questions. We will liaise with our team and respond back to you with answers to your questions shortly. Many thanks

Daka
Daka

If the land is owned by McDonald Jones you are screwed but if you exchanged on the land with the developer cancel your contract with meh lose the $5000 start over with another builder or better idea go to another mcjones office and start again and get the 60K off deal

JastonA
JastonA

I’m not screwed or in any way disappointed with the deal I’ve got with McDonald Jones. But I wanted to know if there was any way to get this new deal or anything added to my current deal. There is no harm in checking and asking the question. Thanks for the reply.

Arun

Arun asked

McDonald Jones Homes

Hi there,
Just wondering, we had exchanged contracts for the house at Marsden Park, almost 6 weeks ago. We had been visiting the site for the last 4 weeks but there had been no work done.
Is there a reason why the work is on halt. It would be wiser to complete the work sooner than later so I can get the valuation done for loan purposes.
Please get back to me.
Arun
0452 422 408

2 answers
Arlin
Arlin

Hi Arun,

Has the land been registered? If so, we've been told that the average timeframe for pre construction (getting all the approval needed, testing the soil etc) is 3 - 5 months. Then the construction takes about 6 months. So altogether we're looking around 11 months.

Thanks,
Arlin

McDonald Jones Homes
Customer C.McDonald Jones Homes

HI Arun, thank you for your question. Could you please give us your job number so we can have a member of the team investigate and contact you with more information. Thank you

See all McDonald Jones Homes questions

Get an answer from our members and McDonald Jones Homes representatives

McDonald Jones Homes

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.