?
? !
1 photo
McDonald Jones Homes
4.7 from 1,069 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.8

129 reviews
  • Build Stage
  • Customer Service
    4.8 (113)
  • Site Admin
    4.7 (96)
  • Timeliness
    4.7 (91)
  • Structural Integrity
    4.7 (69)
  • Plumbing & Waterproofing
    4.7 (45)
  • Electrical & Lighting
    4.8 (36)
  • Flooring
    4.7 (19)
  • Transparency
    4.7 (98)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Brindha

BrindhaNorth Western Region, NSW

  • NSW
  • Verified customer

Utterly disappointed and terrible service

published
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StageMid-Construction
5 comments
McDonald Jones Homes
Customer C.McDonald Jones Homes
Brindha
Brindha

I m not sure why you even send a direct message asking for details if you are not going to check or give a update for the issue ?

McDonald Jones Homes
Customer C.McDonald Jones Homes

Hi Brindha, we do intend to investigate your concerns. We will have a member of the team to contact you directly. Thank you.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Prajeev Divya

Prajeev DivyaSydney, NSW

Our House construction is halfway through-Construction Supervisor- Wayne Gordon is excellent !!!!!

published

Wayne Gordon is our Construction Supervisor for our new home . He is excellent and has keeping us well informed on progress and concerns raised.
Prompt response, well planned communication particularly weekly update has been very helpful in understanding the stages of construction.Wayne also responds to concerns well via email and phone call. His proactiveness is keeping us well informed.Today we did our first inspection prior to internal plastering with Wayne . He was so good at explaining the completed milestones and clearing the doubts whatever we had. We are at mid construction phase and hope this level of service continues till handover and post construction.
Thanks again Wayne.

Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StageMid-Construction
Construction End DateAugust 2021
1 comment
McDonald Jones Homes
Customer C.McDonald Jones Homes

Hi Prajeev, thank you so much for your wonderful review of Wayne, who will be thrilled to read your comments. We look forward to hearing more about new home. Best wishes.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dane Taylor

Dane Taylor

  • 2 reviews

Quality Service!

published

We are currently building with Mcdonald Jones Homes in South West Sydney and could not be happier with the process so far. The pre construction phase brought very honest and helpful staff which was a welcome surprise and our supervisor Wayne has been excellent with keeping us updated on the progress and always happy to have a chat.
Overall we couldn't be happier and we hope the rest of our build continues in similar fashion.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StageMid-Construction
Construction End DateJune 2021
1 comment
McDonald Jones Homes
Customer C.McDonald Jones Homes

Hi Dane, thank you for your review and feedback on Wayne, we will be sure to share this with the team. We look forward to hearing about your new home when you move in. Best wishes

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Home Builders

Find out how McDonald Jones Homes compares to other Home Builders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Leah E.

Leah E.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • NSW
  • Verified customer

Loved this process!

published

My build process was excellent! I dealt with Mitchell (moved offices now) and Cathy at Warnervale and they made choosing the right home exceptionally easy. Now living in the Central Coast with my beautiful family and can't fault the house. We also had Nigel as the building supervisor who was excellent.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StageMid-Construction
1 comment
McDonald Jones Homes
Customer C.McDonald Jones Homes

Hi Leah, thank you so much for your review. We are so thrilled to hear your feedback and that you love your new home. We will be sure to share your feedback with our team and celebrate their efforts for you. Many thanks.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Nicky

NickySydney Surrounds, NSW

Best supervisor in the business!!

published

Wayne Gordon distilled confidence back into the construction of my home after a shaky start. His approach to only having the best contractors on site and a high standard of finish is exceptional. Wayne's communication and willingness to assist wherever he can is second to none. Definitely an amazing asset to McDonald Jones Homes.
If you're lucky enough to be allocated Wayne Gordon as your supervisor, it'll be time to celebrate and know you're in great hands, he's fantastic!

Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StageMid-Construction
Construction End DateJune 2021
1 comment
McDonald Jones Homes
Customer C.McDonald Jones Homes

Hi Nicky, thank you so much for your review. We are so thrilled to hear your comments and we will be sure to share your comments with Wayne Gordon and the wider team to celebrate his performance. Many thanks.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Fazal

Fazal

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

First stage of construction completed

published

We’re very glad to see our first stage of construction completed. We were well informed about the work to be carried out thanks to Chris Simmons for letting us know the procedure for site preparation and slab pouring. It was completed two days before it was scheduled.
Frame work has just started and David Davies well experienced supervisor is keeping us updated.
Thank you Danielle Plummer and Samantha Lynas for their prompt response to our query.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StageMid-Construction
1 comment
McDonald Jones Homes
Customer C.McDonald Jones Homes

Hi Fazal, thank you for your review of your team, they will be all so thrilled to see your review. We appreciate your time and we look forward to completing your wonderful new home. Kind regards MJH Team.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Diego.Olivares94

Diego.Olivares94Sydney, NSW

First Home Build In Progress - Smooth and Enjoyable

published

We met with Wayne Gordon to update on our current first home build and are extremely satisfied with the progress he has made in coordinating our home build.

Wayne has helped in keeping us up to date with any issue/progress with the house and the communication has been solid between us.

We look forward to the final stages of completing this house and have had an enjoyable and creative process to what was imagined to be a daunting process for first home builders.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StageMid-Construction
1 comment
McDonald Jones Homes
Customer C.McDonald Jones Homes

Hi Diego, thank you for your review we are pleased Wayne providing you with great communication and service. We will share your comments with Wayne and the team. Many thanks.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Matts

MattsHunter Region, NSW

Nearly there but not that excited

published
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StageMid-Construction
Construction End DateMarch 2021
4 comments
McDonald Jones Homes
Customer C.McDonald Jones Homes
Matts
Matts
McDonald Jones Homes
Customer C.McDonald Jones Homes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tim and Kristen

Tim and Kristen

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • NSW
  • Verified customer

Slab construction - very impressed

published

Elliot apprised us of every step of the way up to having the slab completed for our new house. He provided a timeline for slab construction that was completed one week early even with rain delays. We are both very impressed with the ongoing professionalism of the McDonald Jones team.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StageMid-Construction
1 comment
McDonald Jones Homes
McDonald J.McDonald Jones Homes

Hi Tim and Kristen,
Thank you for the feedback, we'd love to be kept updated on your progress, congratulations on the slab!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Home Builders

Find out how McDonald Jones Homes compares to other Home Builders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Very pleased!

published

We are currently up to Slab (poured today!), and so far everything has been smooth. This is our first build so nothing to compare to, but we are happy. Good communication from all sales, project coordinators and our slab supervisor. I haven't had any issues and fingers crossed don't in the future, but we are all only human. I'm excited to see all the sections come to life after a long 12 month wait on our land. The cost reflects the quality, right? Pretty reasonable price, exactly what I expected for a first home, with style! :)

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StageMid-Construction
Construction End DateJuly 2021
1 comment
McDonald Jones Homes
McDonald J.McDonald Jones Homes

Hi Siobhan, thank you for the feedback, how exciting, slab being poured lets you really start to see your new home come to life! Keep us updated and don't forget to provide photos too!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Fantastic!!!

published

Currently at slab stage.
The team at MJH Group have been absolutely wonderful to deal with so far.
Our slab supervisor Elliot Whiley is extremely professional, knowledgeable and approachable. He has exceeded expectations and made sure we have been contacted every step of the way.
Our construction coordinator Vanessa Lynch has been an absolute pleasure to deal with. She is knowledgeable, efficient and extremely friendly, she has made us feel comfortable with our build and so grateful we have chosen MJH to build our dream home.
I highly recommend McDonald Jones homes group and I’m so excited moving into the next stage of our build.
If you’re thinking of building, McDonald Jones homes is the way to go!!

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StageMid-Construction
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
tydra

tydra

  • 2 reviews
  • NSW
  • Verified customer

Smooth and exciting process

published

We are currently mid construction and this far (albeit a few small issues which is expected on such large scale services) the process has been exciting and enjoyable, from dealing with Tracey at Sales and her wealth of experience, to Benji in pre-construction and now Aaron for the build phase. While there are some unforeseen and some surprises, the journey thus far is exciting and filled with anticipation as we watch our new house build - really hope this goes all the way to handover.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StageMid-Construction
Construction End DateJune 2021
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Winston W.

Winston W.Sydney, NSW

Excellent Slab Supervisor

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StageMid-Construction
1 comment
McDonald Jones Homes
McDonald J.McDonald Jones Homes

Hi Winston, thank you for your honest feedback, keep us updated on your progress, and we would love to see photos!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Leanne Preston

Leanne PrestonSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • NSW
  • Verified customer

Great communication from start to finish

published

Chris was fantastic in each stage of the slab being laid. He sent photos and communicated everything we needed to know. He was able to assist in a contact to have the excess soil removed and then in the end was able to spread the remaining soil over the property helping us save money in not having to pay for soil removal.

Site Admin
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StageMid-Construction
1 comment
McDonald Jones Homes
McDonald J.McDonald Jones Homes

Hi Leanne, thank you so much for the feedback about Chris, he loves helping his customers create their dream home. We would love to see photos if you have time!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
leigh.gough91

leigh.gough91Sydney, NSW

Our Slab Supervisor - Chris was great

published

Our slab supervisor Chris was amazing in the sydney west region. He kept up us informed of all work happening during the initial stages of our build and was able to answer any question my wife or I had. Highly recommend MJH to anyone looking to build their first home

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StageMid-Construction
1 comment
McDonald Jones Homes
McDonald J.McDonald Jones Homes

Hi Leigh, thank you for the feedback, the team were delighted to read your feedback, in particular Chris, please keep us posted on your progress!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Home Builders

Find out how McDonald Jones Homes compares to other Home Builders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
M and M

M and MSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 9 likes

Enjoying another build with McDonald Jones!

published
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StageMid-Construction
1 comment
McDonald Jones Homes
McDonald J.McDonald Jones Homes

Hi there, thank you for the honest feedback and welcome back again to build your new home! Please keep us posted on your progress, we can't wait to see the finished product!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
  • NSW
  • Verified customer

Building Process - Slab and Frames

published

We had the pleasure of Chris looking after our Slab and Frames towards the start of our building schedule. He was prompt and always updated us on the building process. Being our first time building a home we did not know what to expect. Chris was easy to contact and we are very happy with his results.

Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StageMid-Construction
1 comment
McDonald Jones Homes
McDonald J.McDonald Jones Homes

Hi Allen, thank you for the feedback about Chris, he was so delighted to read your comments. Keep us posted on your progress, we would love to see photos if you have time too!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rick

RickSydney, NSW

Very good experience

published

We have started the construction phase now, Chris Symons our slab supervisor has done an excellent job and its great to see the slab completed and frame on site for installation. Chris kept us up to date so we knew what was going on. We are now handed over to our building site supervisor Aaron Plaatjies, Aaron also contacted us and introduced what will happen next. Very exciting to move to the next phase, I am sure Aaron will also do an excellent job for us just like Chris did.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StageMid-Construction
1 comment
McDonald Jones Homes
McDonald J.McDonald Jones Homes

Hi Rick, thanks for the feedback about your building journey, the team was pleased to read your comments, we can't wait to see photos of your finished home!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Satch

SatchSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Great service by the slab supervisor

published

Chris, our slab supervisor was amazing! He provided timely updates and response to our queries as well as sending photos in regard to the progress of the site.

Keep up the great job and thank you for all your assistance during the slab process.

I would highly recommend Chris as a slab supervisor.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StageMid-Construction
1 comment
McDonald Jones Homes
McDonald J.McDonald Jones Homes

Hi Satch, thanks for the feedback on your building experience, keep us posted on your progress!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sachin Gupta

Sachin Gupta

  • 3 reviews

Excellent customer service

published

I would like to thank you Chris and acknowledge his professionalism towards our house we are building with MJH. Chris is very approachable, and thorough with his service. He cares and takes times to assist and has kick started our build journey in the right way.
Thanks Chris, and I wish you all the best for time ahead.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Structural Integrity
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Build StageMid-Construction
1 comment
McDonald Jones Homes
McDonald J.McDonald Jones Homes

Hi Sachin, thank you for the feedback about Chris, he loves creating his customers dream homes, keep us posted on your progress!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 7
See all McDonald Jones Homes reviews

Questions & Answers

sanjeev d.

sanjeev d.asked

McDonald Jones Homes

Dear All,
My internal colour selection ended up with upgraded cost of 50k. I’m still recovering from some surprises that I really don’t intend to discuss. In a weeks time, I have appointment for electricals.
My question is, is it worth getting all the downlights from them or it’s wise to get it done later. Would there be a significant difference?

7 answers
Prajeev Divya
Prajeev Divya

Did you get the $60K discount bonus from MJH? If so, that will be a nice deal.
During Electrical selection, aircon zone selection will be a good amount. Better to go for standard light fittings and LED upgrades after handover. Builder charge you minimum 20% extra for each item.

Mani
Mani

it looks likes you have upgraded a lot tiles etc.Yes aircon zones is a must upgrade. I got eight zones upgrade. Regarding led they have led packages like get 20 and it is cheaper. When i did my electric plan I added too much leds but lady at the appointment helped me to fix it. If your house is a single storey than it could be cheaper to do it after hand over but not that much, do check how much a Clipsel led will cost you including install. I also got wiring done for fans to install fans later (remember if you do this get one switch for light one switch for fan and a dimmer).
For outdoor I didn’t use led, normal holders. With switches you can get 5 or six in one point with no extra, try to get one extra. Also look into two way switch and some dimmable. I was told make an electrical provision of $7k but ended up $14k but did everything with them.

sanjeev d.
sanjeev d.

Thanks for your feedback

JastonA

JastonAasked

McDonald Jones Homes

Hi, me and my wife are going through purchasing our first home and have agreed to a house and land package in Wilton Greens with McDonald Jones. Our build contract has been signed (15th September 2020) as well as our land contract. The land was suppose to register in December 2021 and now having spoken to the Wilton greens people they have advised it will be March 2022 which sucks tbh. So when doing the tender process and signing off on it, we were told to think about adding 6months onto the tender via variation as when it expires, I’m not sure what happens. What happens in this case? Our tender is from the 15th of Sep and the additional 6months which cost $6000???, will take us till the 15th of March 2022.

Question 1 - McDonald Jones have put their packages out for purchase and as we have agreed to go ahead, why does this fall on us to add time (6 months) onto the tender period for $6000 so it doesn’t expire and not just an amount to lock it in as it isn’t our fault but the land providers/council who is working the job having delays and what not. They should get charged not us tbh

Question 2 - What happens if the land doesn’t register by the expiration date of our tender contract?

Question 3 - buying property at the moment is so competitive with so many great deals. If we have agreed to a deal with McDonald Jones, if another deal comes after with you guys like the $60,000 which is on at the moment, can we access this if we are still far away from building?

This is our first time purchasing a home and new to the process so I hope I’m not out of line for asking these questions.

Thank you and much appreciated.

5 answers
McDonald Jones Homes
Customer C.McDonald Jones Homes

Hi JastonA, thank you for your questions. We will liaise with our team and respond back to you with answers to your questions shortly. Many thanks

Daka
Daka

If the land is owned by McDonald Jones you are screwed but if you exchanged on the land with the developer cancel your contract with meh lose the $5000 start over with another builder or better idea go to another mcjones office and start again and get the 60K off deal

JastonA
JastonA

I’m not screwed or in any way disappointed with the deal I’ve got with McDonald Jones. But I wanted to know if there was any way to get this new deal or anything added to my current deal. There is no harm in checking and asking the question. Thanks for the reply.

Arun

Arun asked

McDonald Jones Homes

Hi there,
Just wondering, we had exchanged contracts for the house at Marsden Park, almost 6 weeks ago. We had been visiting the site for the last 4 weeks but there had been no work done.
Is there a reason why the work is on halt. It would be wiser to complete the work sooner than later so I can get the valuation done for loan purposes.
Please get back to me.
Arun
0452 422 408

2 answers
Arlin
Arlin

Hi Arun,

Has the land been registered? If so, we've been told that the average timeframe for pre construction (getting all the approval needed, testing the soil etc) is 3 - 5 months. Then the construction takes about 6 months. So altogether we're looking around 11 months.

Thanks,
Arlin

McDonald Jones Homes
Customer C.McDonald Jones Homes

HI Arun, thank you for your question. Could you please give us your job number so we can have a member of the team investigate and contact you with more information. Thank you

See all McDonald Jones Homes questions

Get an answer from our members and McDonald Jones Homes representatives

McDonald Jones Homes

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.