1 photo
ME Bank Home Loans

ME Bank Home Loans

1.6 from 117 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

1.2
18 reviews
Previous
Next
Alex
AlexSouth East Queensland, QLD

Worst bank experience in 25 years

published
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
3/5
Timeliness
2/5
Online Tools
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeFixed Rate
Loan Start DateJune 2019
Loan used forInvestment Property
PamA
PamASouth East Queensland, QLD

Waiting and waiting for my home loan to be corrected

published

Refixed my home loan with ME Bank after three attempted phone calls to get through (eventually just waiting and waiting which isn't easy when you have things to do). After a long phone call to fix it, it's 12 days later and nothing has happened. I'm still being charged the higher old rate and the money I added into my home loan hasn't been absorbed into it. And despite sending two emails, I'm stuck with making another dreaded phonecall and waiting endlessly again. Doesn't make life easy for working people that they only take calls during the same working hours that their clients work. Go somewhere else if you're looking for good service!

Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeFixed Rate
Loan used forRefinancing

Other Home Loans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Customer service does not exist

published

When trying to close out mortgages there is always a delay even after being given six weeks notice. Each time they have blamed someone else however taking the opportunity to charge the extra interest. This has happened three times. It appears to be a trend.

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
3/5
Timeliness
5/5
Online Tools
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeFixed Rate
Loan used forInvestment Property
Heath
HeathSydney
  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes
  • Verified

Frustrating customer service

published
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Online Tools
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeFixed Rate
Loan Start DateOctober 2017
Loan used forInvestment Property
Home Loans

Find out how ME Bank Home Loans compares to other Home Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
D Taranto
D TarantoSydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Hopeless customer service at this bank!

published

I am now refinancing with another bank after the poor I received from Me Bank last year. I have a home investment loan with them which I had to pause repayments during Covid restrictions. Due to the poor training of their call centre staff, I was treated like I was in default and you always wait at least 20 minutes to talk to someone. I lodged a complaint with the banking ombudsman and in the end, they offered $200 to settle my complaint.

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
3/5
Timeliness
3/5
Online Tools
2/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeFixed Rate
Loan Start DateNovember 2015
Loan used forInvestment Property
Ciaran
CiaranSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Breathtakingly Incompetent

published
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeFixed Rate
Loan used forRenovation
Get quotes
Looking for Home Loans?

Compare lenders with Lendi

Start now
Jason Smith
Jason SmithSydney, NSW

Slow and hopeless

published

Slow and hopeless would be my most accurate summation. Went through our trusted Mortgage broker to set the finance and after 6 weeks, still no approval, just repeated requests for the same information already provided with apparently no end in sight. We have pulled the finance and this is our first and last time dealing with them. Could not possibly recommend.

Transparency
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan used forHome Construction

Related Articles

Previous
Super Funds Awards 2020!

A good super fund can make a substanial difference to the amount you retire with. From retail super funds to self managed super funds, view reviewer ratings for the top-rated super funds of 2020!

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.7 Nov 2019
super-funds-awards-2020
Credit Card Awards 2020

Whether it's the sign up bonus, rates and fees, or reliable customer service that you look for in a credit card, a credit card is often used everyday, so it's important you choose one that meets your needs and that you're happy with. These are the top-rated credit cards this year, as decided by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.19 Nov 2019
credit-card-awards-2020
What Is Peer-To-Peer Lending?

Peer-to-peer lending is quickly gaining popularity among Australian borrowers and investors. If you've never heard of it before, this 2 minute read will give you a quick rundown so you can decide if P2P lending is right for you.

Nathan S.
Nathan S.14 Nov 2019
what-is-peer-to-peer-lending
Next
Melissa
MelissaPerth, WA

Would not recommend an investment loan

published

Loyal customer for 5 years tried to negotiate lower rates as paying well above average. Interest free period has also ended. Was advised that it would be easy to reapply for interest only, but rejected. So now stuck paying high rate and principle. I have a second loan with another bank that I am paying a significantly lower rate with and interest only. ME Bank have passed on a small cut, but interest rates are already high so still well above a fair amount. I would never recommend this bank to anyone, my broker can't even deal with them anymore so I have had to myself.

Transparency
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Application Process
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Online Tools
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeFixed Rate
Loan used forInvestment Property

Other Home Loans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Worst bank and customer service

published

Did a construction loan with ME Bank, sent application through for stage one payment as well as requested documents for the bank to be told it’s been completed and funds will be in building account in 24 hours to then receive a call a week later saying we can’t pay the builder due to a discrepancy with no explanation or detailed reason why. I have been calling everyday for the past month to be told the same thing over and over again that a team leader will call me, I am get to receive any phone call from the team leader or any explanation of what is going on even though we have settled the loan more then 2 months ago. Do not waste you time with this bank!

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Online Tools
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateAugust 2020
Loan used forHome Construction
Home Loans

Find out how ME Bank Home Loans compares to other Home Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Herb M.
Herb M.
  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good initial offer BUT difficult and extremely time consuming communications

published

For an investment property loan ME was absolutely a pain to deal with. At the end of my initial term I wanted to continue with interest only payments. I submitted many documents over after their many requests over several weeks then to be rejected.

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
4/5
Timeliness
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateJanuary 2017
Loan used forInvestment Property
Get quotes
Looking for Home Loans?

Compare lenders with Lendi

Start now
alison98
alison98Perth, WA
  • 4 reviews
  • 10 likes

Call centre staff rude and incompetent

published
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forInvestment Property

Other Home Loans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Flabberghasted
FlabberghastedGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Do Not Get A Home Loan With This Bank

published

Received a letter today telling me that my available redraw had been reduced over $10k but that quote".... the total amount outstanding and the time remaining on your home loan all remain the same." That is in spite of paying well over the minimum payment required for over 2 years. I will be complaining to Australian Financial Complaints Authority. I am just flabberghasted that a bank can decide to more or less take your extra funds without permission!

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forRefinancing
Home Loans

Find out how ME Bank Home Loans compares to other Home Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Steve Jones
Steve Jones
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

One star too many!

published

ME, ME, ME - how apt!
Utterly pathetic follow up. Told things were done, only to find they weren't. Never got a call back when they promised. Never sent through paperwork when requested. Consistently having to chase up. Don't seem to understand the word 'urgency' unless it applies to them. Due to their contempt and lax ways, my family could be on the street as a result of a settlement falling through! They don't care. They really have become Australia's 5th largest bank. Welcome to the club ME Bank. You wont be hearing from me again!

Transparency
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
3/5
Timeliness
2/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeFixed Rate
Loan Start DateJuly 2013
Loan used forRefinancing
Get quotes
Looking for Home Loans?

Compare lenders with Lendi

Start now
Rocky
RockyRichmond-Tweed, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Poor Service Wasting Borrowers Time

published
Transparency
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan used forRefinancing
David
DavidSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

ME Bank is becoming more like a lender of last resort - Beware

published

Have a loan that's just come off its fixed rate and been a customer of ME bank for 5 years. No problems of note in that time. However was recently confronted by a smug, condescending individual on the phone that showed zero empathy and willingness to assist. Basically it seems ME will hook you in with decent, even low rates then hit existing customers with higher than acceptable rates at first opportunity. I went from 3.69% fixed for 3 years to now, 4.20% variable P&I!! This is in an environment where the official cash rate is 0.75% people! They are refusing to budge and my only option is: fix now or else. I know which option I'll be taking and will vote with my feet. Such a pity because I didn't contemplate leaving.

Customer Service
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forInvestment Property

Questions & Answers

Sam D.
Sam D.asked

once you approve a home loan how long before i get the loan documents to sign? & then how long does it take for my refinance from my existing lender (choicelend) to go through? thanks

No answers

Get an answer from our members and ME (Members Equity) Bank representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.

Find the right home loan for you

Compare lenders with Lendi

Start NowNEW SERVICE