1 photo
ME Bank Home Loans

ME Bank Home Loans

1.6 from 116 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

1.2
17 reviews
Previous
Next
Jimbo
Jimbo
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

ME provides the opposite of customer service

published

last year ME Bank stuffed up my redraw facility. Now I have been on hold for an hour so far because they do not answer their phones, and you have to request a loan discharge form over the phone. Forget doing business with this worthless lot.

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
4/5
Timeliness
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateDecember 2001
Loan used forFirst Home
Michelle F.
Michelle F.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Hopeless bank as once existing customer. Been unable to update my home loan. It’s been six weeks and 3rd attempt

published

3 times I have tried to reduce my rate for my homeland. Currently awaiting paperwork to be emailed and so far it’s been six weeks. Very unhelpful and very slow to help you reduce your home loan rate but quick to ring if my credit card is overdue. Very frustrating and hopeless bank once you are an existing customer

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forFirst Home

Other Home Loans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Sal
SalMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Most expensive rates in the country

published

Just got a letter saying my home loan rate is increasing to 4.3% . Logged into internet banking to call and get pictures of fake chattering teeth . Are your customers a joke to you.

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forSecond Home
Robert Saunders
Robert SaundersMelbourne
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Messed around

published
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Online Tools
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forFirst Home
Home Loans

Find out how ME Bank Home Loans compares to other Home Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Disgraceful bank

published

Mebank ripped me off, charging $400 on top of a high rate. When I stopped them taking my $400 they increased interest to 4.75%. 11 years as a customer. Scum.

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Online Tools
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forFirst Home
Bernie
Bernie
  • 3 reviews
  • 10 likes

Interest rates remains high

published

Borrowed from ME in 2001, the interest rate at the time was competitive as an owner occupier the interest rate currently (July 2020) is 4.47%. Conversations with ME about the interest rate have been to no avail and the costs involved in refinancing have made the option unviable. I have always made repayments on time and have a spotless credit report. Never again.

Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forSecond Home
Get quotes
Looking for Home Loans?

Compare lenders with Lendi

Start now
Herb M.
Herb M.
  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good initial offer BUT difficult and extremely time consuming communications

published

For an investment property loan ME was absolutely a pain to deal with. At the end of my initial term I wanted to continue with interest only payments. I submitted many documents over after their many requests over several weeks then to be rejected.

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
4/5
Timeliness
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateJanuary 2017
Loan used forInvestment Property

Related Articles

Previous
Super Funds Awards 2020!

A good super fund can make a substanial difference to the amount you retire with. From retail super funds to self managed super funds, view reviewer ratings for the top-rated super funds of 2020!

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.7 Nov 2019
super-funds-awards-2020
Credit Card Awards 2020

Whether it's the sign up bonus, rates and fees, or reliable customer service that you look for in a credit card, a credit card is often used everyday, so it's important you choose one that meets your needs and that you're happy with. These are the top-rated credit cards this year, as decided by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.19 Nov 2019
credit-card-awards-2020
What Is Peer-To-Peer Lending?

Peer-to-peer lending is quickly gaining popularity among Australian borrowers and investors. If you've never heard of it before, this 2 minute read will give you a quick rundown so you can decide if P2P lending is right for you.

Nathan S.
Nathan S.14 Nov 2019
what-is-peer-to-peer-lending
Next
alison98
alison98Perth, WA
  • 4 reviews
  • 10 likes

Call centre staff rude and incompetent

published
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forInvestment Property

Other Home Loans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
mark
markGearaldton
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

they have taken money from my account,

published

took money from my redraw no notice no contact, the people you speak to after hours on the phone, just spin what they have been told, this bank is just like the big banks now, they need to be investigated wirth a royal commission, Mark,

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forSecond Home
mark
mark

can we make a class action Mark,

Home Loans

Find out how ME Bank Home Loans compares to other Home Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Brett
BrettGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Thieves

published

Money missing from our redraw account. When I asked where it is? Because it wasn’t in our savings account and it didn’t come off the principal. They said “it had been absorbed into the loan” bloody thieves.

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
4/5
Timeliness
1/5
Online Tools
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateApril 2010
Loan used forSecond Home
Get quotes
Looking for Home Loans?

Compare lenders with Lendi

Start now
Linda W.
Linda W.Canberra 2600, ACT
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolutely terrible - will raise your interest rate as soon as they can

published

Raise interest rate a month after signing up but lie and say they won't if you purchase their "member package", lost my paperwork prior to settlement which delayed it by days, delay processing your pay so you can't organise direct debits, send texts you have missed a mortgage payment when you haven't, statements don't accurately reflect each other even though all accounts are with Me. Will keep you in the phone forever and then laugh at you when you question their system their banking ap has constant glitches and is never up to date. I seriously regret going with them and will bail as soon as possible.

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Online Tools
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateOctober 2018
Loan used forFirst Home

Other Home Loans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

SERIOUSLY! DO NOT TOUCH!!

published

Delay! Delay! Delay! Get used to those words. This is the worst bank we have ever had to deal with, they charge numerous fees and give zero service, the terms of the loan were even incorrect, eg. frequency of repayment, fixed or variable. You can do bank to bank transfer out of their accounts, but don’t try to transfer in, they are NOT registered for that service. They outsource valuations, their solicitors, all with added fees. They do not communicate, they charge heaps and give worthless service.

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forFirst Home
Home Loans

Find out how ME Bank Home Loans compares to other Home Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
NotHappyMeBank
NotHappyMeBankGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews

MEBANK Was Not The Bank For Me

published
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Online Tools
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forSecond Home
Get quotes
Looking for Home Loans?

Compare lenders with Lendi

Start now
David
DavidSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

ME Bank is becoming more like a lender of last resort - Beware

published

Have a loan that's just come off its fixed rate and been a customer of ME bank for 5 years. No problems of note in that time. However was recently confronted by a smug, condescending individual on the phone that showed zero empathy and willingness to assist. Basically it seems ME will hook you in with decent, even low rates then hit existing customers with higher than acceptable rates at first opportunity. I went from 3.69% fixed for 3 years to now, 4.20% variable P&I!! This is in an environment where the official cash rate is 0.75% people! They are refusing to budge and my only option is: fix now or else. I know which option I'll be taking and will vote with my feet. Such a pity because I didn't contemplate leaving.

Customer Service
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forInvestment Property
J Hwang
J Hwang
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great/easy refinancing as a new customer, absolute nightmare when you discharge the mortgage

published

Mebank were one of the easiest bank to refinance and sign up with. Even when they got their rates wrong, they were prompt to rectify the fault. 5 stars for the sign up and interest rate, they were very good!

However, all good things must come to an end, unfortunately we had to refinance and it was sad leaving a great bank. The mortgage discharge team was poor, probably insufficient staffing. Their lawyers (Galilee) were poor in communication, the discharge took them over 40 days to complete. What annoys me the most is that after 3 weeks of refinancing with the new bank, Mebank still cannot generate a account closure letter!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 star

Transparency
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Application Process
5/5
Timeliness
1/5
Online Tools
2/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateJune 2017
Loan used forInvestment Property

Questions & Answers

Sam D.
Sam D.asked

once you approve a home loan how long before i get the loan documents to sign? & then how long does it take for my refinance from my existing lender (choicelend) to go through? thanks

No answers

Get an answer from our members and ME (Members Equity) Bank representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.

Find the right home loan for you

Compare lenders with Lendi

Start NowNEW SERVICE