1 photo
ME Bank Home Loans

ME Bank Home Loans

1.6 from 117 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

1.1
24 reviews
Previous
Next
Alex
AlexSouth East Queensland, QLD

Worst bank experience in 25 years

published
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
3/5
Timeliness
2/5
Online Tools
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeFixed Rate
Loan Start DateJune 2019
Loan used forInvestment Property
Jimbo
Jimbo
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

ME provides the opposite of customer service

published

last year ME Bank stuffed up my redraw facility. Now I have been on hold for an hour so far because they do not answer their phones, and you have to request a loan discharge form over the phone. Forget doing business with this worthless lot.

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
4/5
Timeliness
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateDecember 2001
Loan used forFirst Home

Other Home Loans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Customer service does not exist

published

When trying to close out mortgages there is always a delay even after being given six weeks notice. Each time they have blamed someone else however taking the opportunity to charge the extra interest. This has happened three times. It appears to be a trend.

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
3/5
Timeliness
5/5
Online Tools
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeFixed Rate
Loan used forInvestment Property
Heath
HeathSydney
  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes
  • Verified

Frustrating customer service

published
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Online Tools
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeFixed Rate
Loan Start DateOctober 2017
Loan used forInvestment Property
Home Loans

Find out how ME Bank Home Loans compares to other Home Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michelle F.
Michelle F.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Hopeless bank as once existing customer. Been unable to update my home loan. It’s been six weeks and 3rd attempt

published

3 times I have tried to reduce my rate for my homeland. Currently awaiting paperwork to be emailed and so far it’s been six weeks. Very unhelpful and very slow to help you reduce your home loan rate but quick to ring if my credit card is overdue. Very frustrating and hopeless bank once you are an existing customer

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forFirst Home
Sal
SalMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Most expensive rates in the country

published

Just got a letter saying my home loan rate is increasing to 4.3% . Logged into internet banking to call and get pictures of fake chattering teeth . Are your customers a joke to you.

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forSecond Home
Get quotes
Looking for Home Loans?

Compare lenders with Lendi

Start now
D Taranto
D TarantoSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Hopeless customer service at this bank!

published

I am now refinancing with another bank after the poor I received from Me Bank last year. I have a home investment loan with them which I had to pause repayments during Covid restrictions. Due to the poor training of their call centre staff, I was treated like I was in default and you always wait at least 20 minutes to talk to someone. I lodged a complaint with the banking ombudsman and in the end, they offered $200 to settle my complaint.

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
3/5
Timeliness
3/5
Online Tools
2/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeFixed Rate
Loan Start DateNovember 2015
Loan used forInvestment Property

Related Articles

Previous
Super Funds Awards 2020!

A good super fund can make a substanial difference to the amount you retire with. From retail super funds to self managed super funds, view reviewer ratings for the top-rated super funds of 2020!

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.7 Nov 2019
super-funds-awards-2020
Credit Card Awards 2020

Whether it's the sign up bonus, rates and fees, or reliable customer service that you look for in a credit card, a credit card is often used everyday, so it's important you choose one that meets your needs and that you're happy with. These are the top-rated credit cards this year, as decided by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.19 Nov 2019
credit-card-awards-2020
What Is Peer-To-Peer Lending?

Peer-to-peer lending is quickly gaining popularity among Australian borrowers and investors. If you've never heard of it before, this 2 minute read will give you a quick rundown so you can decide if P2P lending is right for you.

Nathan S.
Nathan S.14 Nov 2019
what-is-peer-to-peer-lending
Next
Melissa
MelissaPerth, WA

Would not recommend an investment loan

published

Loyal customer for 5 years tried to negotiate lower rates as paying well above average. Interest free period has also ended. Was advised that it would be easy to reapply for interest only, but rejected. So now stuck paying high rate and principle. I have a second loan with another bank that I am paying a significantly lower rate with and interest only. ME Bank have passed on a small cut, but interest rates are already high so still well above a fair amount. I would never recommend this bank to anyone, my broker can't even deal with them anymore so I have had to myself.

Transparency
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Application Process
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Online Tools
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeFixed Rate
Loan used forInvestment Property

Other Home Loans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Mike T.
Mike T.
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Absolutely disappointing!!

published

Long waits on the phone, online app is very basic and crashes all the time, very long time to process requests. I was expecting good customer service because it's a small bank but overall it's been very disappointing

Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Online Tools
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeFixed Rate
Loan Start DateDecember 2017
Loan used forFirst Home
Home Loans

Find out how ME Bank Home Loans compares to other Home Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Robert Saunders
Robert SaundersMelbourne
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Messed around

published
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Online Tools
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forFirst Home
Get quotes
Looking for Home Loans?

Compare lenders with Lendi

Start now

Disgraceful bank

published

Mebank ripped me off, charging $400 on top of a high rate. When I stopped them taking my $400 they increased interest to 4.75%. 11 years as a customer. Scum.

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Online Tools
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forFirst Home

Other Home Loans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Bernie
Bernie
  • 3 reviews
  • 10 likes

Interest rates remains high

published

Borrowed from ME in 2001, the interest rate at the time was competitive as an owner occupier the interest rate currently (July 2020) is 4.47%. Conversations with ME about the interest rate have been to no avail and the costs involved in refinancing have made the option unviable. I have always made repayments on time and have a spotless credit report. Never again.

Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forSecond Home
Home Loans

Find out how ME Bank Home Loans compares to other Home Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Herb M.
Herb M.
  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good initial offer BUT difficult and extremely time consuming communications

published

For an investment property loan ME was absolutely a pain to deal with. At the end of my initial term I wanted to continue with interest only payments. I submitted many documents over after their many requests over several weeks then to be rejected.

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
4/5
Timeliness
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateJanuary 2017
Loan used forInvestment Property
Get quotes
Looking for Home Loans?

Compare lenders with Lendi

Start now
alison98
alison98Perth, WA
  • 4 reviews
  • 10 likes

Call centre staff rude and incompetent

published
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forInvestment Property
mark
markGearaldton
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

they have taken money from my account,

published

took money from my redraw no notice no contact, the people you speak to after hours on the phone, just spin what they have been told, this bank is just like the big banks now, they need to be investigated wirth a royal commission, Mark,

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forSecond Home
mark
mark

can we make a class action Mark,

Questions & Answers

Sam D.
Sam D.asked

once you approve a home loan how long before i get the loan documents to sign? & then how long does it take for my refinance from my existing lender (choicelend) to go through? thanks

No answers

Get an answer from our members and ME (Members Equity) Bank representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.

Find the right home loan for you

Compare lenders with Lendi

Start NowNEW SERVICE