1 photo
ME Bank Home Loans

ME Bank Home Loans

1.6 from 123 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

1.4
19 reviews
Previous
Clear all
Next
Caitlin T.
Caitlin T.
  • 2 reviews

Slow Service and Outdated Application Process

published

ME Bank is great for banking however they do not excel with home loans. Lower interest rate than the big 4 but you pay the price with the wait times and outdated application process. We had to send our pre-approval application via mail which significantly delayed the process. After 4 weeks, several emails requesting updates on our progress and false promises that the wait times were ‘getting shorter’ our mobile banker finally looked at our application and requested more documents as the ones we sent were now too old. We ceased our application with ME and went to Macquarie who completed our pre-approval in 3 business days. Look elsewhere!

  • Transparency
  • Customer Service
  • Application Process
  • Timeliness
  • Online Tools
  • Incentivised Review No
  • Loan TypeSplit
  • Loan Start DateDecember 2021
  • Loan used forFirst Home
ME (Members Equity) Bank
Digital S.ME (Members Equity) BankSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rhino
RhinoGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Still stressed by the experience

published

Had many problems including a change of their system no longer withdrawing loan amount from linked account, talking to representatives who provided false information and these resulted in extra payments and default notices. Also took 13 thousand off the money sitting on top mortgage without notice. Closed accounts without any communication- very stressful.

  • Transparency
  • Customer Service
  • Incentivised Review No
  • Loan TypeVariable Rate
  • Loan used forFirst Home
ME (Members Equity) Bank
Digital S.ME (Members Equity) BankSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Great service and rates

published

My wife and I searched many financial products via our Financial Advisor, No Fuss Home Loans, and came across ME Bank. Although not the lowest rate, they were quite low, accepted us as borrowers even though we are 'older' people, and best of all accepted our loan application with only 5% equity. The only issue was that the Variable rate lock-in was left out, but this was quickly resolved by ME Bank no questions asked. We found the service was great,-- we did it via our Financial Advisor::
Kathy Dundas [www.nofusshomeloans.com.au]
AND, our conveyancer who helped us with property contracts::
Michelle Nassif [tri-stateconveyancing].
With ME Bank on our side, we had a great team. No fuss, no hassle.

THANK YOU ME BANK !!

  • Transparency
  • Customer Service
  • Application Process
  • Timeliness
  • Incentivised Review No
  • Loan TypeSplit
  • Loan Start DateJune 2021
  • Loan used forFirst Home
ME (Members Equity) Bank
Digital S.ME (Members Equity) BankSend a private message

Hey Murray, Welcome to ME! We're glad to hear that we were able to help you out without and fuss or hassle - Jeremy

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jimbo
Jimbo
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

ME provides the opposite of customer service

published

last year ME Bank stuffed up my redraw facility. Now I have been on hold for an hour so far because they do not answer their phones, and you have to request a loan discharge form over the phone. Forget doing business with this worthless lot.

  • Transparency
  • Customer Service
  • Application Process
  • Timeliness
  • Incentivised Review No
  • Loan TypeVariable Rate
  • Loan Start DateDecember 2001
  • Loan used forFirst Home
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Home Loans

Find out how ME Bank Home Loans compares to other Home Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michelle F.
Michelle F.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Hopeless bank as once existing customer. Been unable to update my home loan. It’s been six weeks and 3rd attempt

published

3 times I have tried to reduce my rate for my homeland. Currently awaiting paperwork to be emailed and so far it’s been six weeks. Very unhelpful and very slow to help you reduce your home loan rate but quick to ring if my credit card is overdue. Very frustrating and hopeless bank once you are an existing customer

  • Transparency
  • Customer Service
  • Application Process
  • Timeliness
  • Incentivised Review No
  • Loan TypeVariable Rate
  • Loan used forFirst Home
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sal
SalMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Most expensive rates in the country

published

Just got a letter saying my home loan rate is increasing to 4.3% . Logged into internet banking to call and get pictures of fake chattering teeth . Are your customers a joke to you.

  • Transparency
  • Customer Service
  • Incentivised Review No
  • Loan TypeVariable Rate
  • Loan used forSecond Home
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stan M.
Stan M.South East Queensland, QLD

Incompetent and arrogant. Don't fall for the cool marketing image!

published
  • Transparency
  • Customer Service
  • Application Process
  • Timeliness
  • Online Tools
  • Incentivised Review No
  • Loan TypeSplit
  • Loan Start DateNovember 2018
  • Loan used forFirst Home
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Super Funds Awards 2022!

A good super fund can make a substantial difference to the amount you retire with. From retail super funds to self managed super funds, view reviewer ratings for the top-rated super funds of 2022.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.
super-funds-awards-2020
Credit Card Awards 2020

Whether it's the sign up bonus, rates and fees, or reliable customer service that you look for in a credit card, a credit card is often used everyday, so it's important you choose one that meets your needs and that you're happy with. These are the top-rated credit cards this year, as decided by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.
credit-card-awards-2020
What Is Peer-To-Peer Lending?

Peer-to-peer lending is quickly gaining popularity among Australian borrowers and investors. If you've never heard of it before, this 2 minute read will give you a quick rundown so you can decide if P2P lending is right for you.

Nathan S.
Nathan S.
what-is-peer-to-peer-lending
Next
Scott M
Scott MSunshine Coast
  • 12 reviews
  • 8 likes

Started out great!! Have become bad!!!

published
  • Customer Service
  • Incentivised Review No
  • Loan TypeVariable Rate
  • Loan used forFirst Home
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Worst bank and customer service

published

Did a construction loan with ME Bank, sent application through for stage one payment as well as requested documents for the bank to be told it’s been completed and funds will be in building account in 24 hours to then receive a call a week later saying we can’t pay the builder due to a discrepancy with no explanation or detailed reason why. I have been calling everyday for the past month to be told the same thing over and over again that a team leader will call me, I am get to receive any phone call from the team leader or any explanation of what is going on even though we have settled the loan more then 2 months ago. Do not waste you time with this bank!

  • Transparency
  • Customer Service
  • Application Process
  • Timeliness
  • Online Tools
  • Incentivised Review No
  • Loan TypeVariable Rate
  • Loan Start DateAugust 2020
  • Loan used forHome Construction
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Home Loans

Find out how ME Bank Home Loans compares to other Home Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mike T.
Mike T.
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Absolutely disappointing!!

published

Long waits on the phone, online app is very basic and crashes all the time, very long time to process requests. I was expecting good customer service because it's a small bank but overall it's been very disappointing

  • Customer Service
  • Timeliness
  • Online Tools
  • Incentivised Review No
  • Loan TypeFixed Rate
  • Loan Start DateDecember 2017
  • Loan used forFirst Home
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Robert Saunders
Robert SaundersMelbourne
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Messed around

published
  • Transparency
  • Customer Service
  • Application Process
  • Timeliness
  • Online Tools
  • Incentivised Review No
  • Loan TypeVariable Rate
  • Loan used forFirst Home
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Disgraceful bank

published

Mebank ripped me off, charging $400 on top of a high rate. When I stopped them taking my $400 they increased interest to 4.75%. 11 years as a customer. Scum.

  • Transparency
  • Customer Service
  • Online Tools
  • Incentivised Review No
  • Loan TypeVariable Rate
  • Loan used forFirst Home
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Home Loans

Find out how ME Bank Home Loans compares to other Home Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bernie
Bernie
  • 3 reviews
  • 10 likes

Interest rates remains high

published

Borrowed from ME in 2001, the interest rate at the time was competitive as an owner occupier the interest rate currently (July 2020) is 4.47%. Conversations with ME about the interest rate have been to no avail and the costs involved in refinancing have made the option unviable. I have always made repayments on time and have a spotless credit report. Never again.

  • Incentivised Review No
  • Loan TypeVariable Rate
  • Loan used forSecond Home
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
mark
markGearaldton
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

they have taken money from my account,

published

took money from my redraw no notice no contact, the people you speak to after hours on the phone, just spin what they have been told, this bank is just like the big banks now, they need to be investigated wirth a royal commission, Mark,

  • Transparency
  • Customer Service
  • Incentivised Review No
  • Loan TypeVariable Rate
  • Loan used forSecond Home
mark
mark

can we make a class action Mark,

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brett
BrettGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Thieves

published

Money missing from our redraw account. When I asked where it is? Because it wasn’t in our savings account and it didn’t come off the principal. They said “it had been absorbed into the loan” bloody thieves.

  • Transparency
  • Customer Service
  • Application Process
  • Timeliness
  • Online Tools
  • Incentivised Review No
  • Loan TypeVariable Rate
  • Loan Start DateApril 2010
  • Loan used forSecond Home
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

EyeDee
EyeDeeasked

Hi. which one is quicker - processing a new construction loan or processing our release paper?

1 answer
ME (Members Equity) Bank
Digital S.ME (Members Equity) BankSend a private message

Hi there! So that we can follow these matters up for you, can you please give ME a call on 13 15 63. - Jeremy

Sam D.
Sam D.asked

once you approve a home loan how long before i get the loan documents to sign? & then how long does it take for my refinance from my existing lender (choicelend) to go through? thanks

No answers

Get an answer from our members and ME (Members Equity) Bank representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.