?
? !
6 photos
Medela Swing

Medela Swing

4.2 from 617 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.1 (10)
  • Value for Money
    2.9 (10)
  • Ease of Use
    3.0 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.2 (10)
  • Portability
    3.3 (10)
  • Noise Level
    2.8 (10)
  • Suction
    2.8 (10)
  • Comfort
    3.1 (10)
Previous
Next

mendela breat pump swing

published

I only used for 6 months had it for 2 years and 3 months and the warranty was 2 years but they would not replace it after the motor had gone they should be ashamed to sell such a product that does not last

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Philips Avent Comfort Single Electric

Looking for Electric Breast Pumps?

Read the reviews for Philips Avent Comfort Single Electric

102 reviews
Ad
Dan

DanMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 18 reviews
  • 10 likes

Happy with purchase!

published

Purchase single pump back in 2019!
Haven’t had any issue it a pretty amazing pump love that if portable and you can take it on the go with you!

I do wish the overall machine was smaller.

Purchased for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela

Hi Dan, thank you so much for taking the time to review our Swing single electric breast pump! We love that it has helped you to be able to pump on-the-go.

Kindest Regards,
Natasha

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Milk keeps going into tube

published

I don’t know how many times I’ve had to clean out pipe because milk goes into it. So frustrating, so difficult to clean and so over it. After four months of being annoyed I have upgraded to Spectra and it’s amazing.

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Electric Breast Pumps

Find out how Medela Swing compares to other Electric Breast Pumps

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Shanice

Shanice

  • 8 reviews

It worked just fine

published

I bought the maxi double pump, however if I used both at the same time it dramatically made a difference if the suction ability and therefore milk production. I resorted to using just the one at a time which made for a long process, about an hour to pump both sides.

Purchased in September 2019 at Baby Bunting for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
UKat

UKatSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Terrible! Noisy and low suction

published

I am disappointed at how bad this pump is. The suction isn't that powerful and i have tried cleaning it as per medela youtube videos. All in vain. It is very noisy and has such a bad suction. Also the pump parts are so bad that i almost replaced all of them so far in expectation to have it working properly, I feel cheated!

Purchased at Pharmacy for $265 and i want to return it but the pharmacy says medela should take it back and Medela says the retailer should take it back.

Very disappointing! I hope it gets resolved by Medela that they take it back and refund me.

Purchased in January 2020 at Terry White Chemists for $265.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
6 comments
Medela
Medela A.Medela
UKat
UKat

I have messaged personally now. Thanks

UKat
UKat

Hi Natasha,
I have recieved no help from customer service. Can u help in returning this product?

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ky N

Ky NGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified

Easy to use

published

I bought this one when my son was born. I feel that it is very reliable machine cause it took out all of my milk. I recommend this product for someone who find that it is hard for breastfeeding.

Purchased in July 2019 at Chemist Warehouse for $249.99.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Philips Avent Comfort Single Electric

Looking for Electric Breast Pumps?

Read the reviews for Philips Avent Comfort Single Electric

102 reviews
Ad
Ellie

ElliePerth, WA

  • Verified

Please do your research beforr buying

published

I wish I'd have done my research before buying this. 6 weeks in and I've have 2 membrane replacements and a pump replacement. I have been begging for a refund on this unreliable product but they keep sending me replacements. Having now researched this product I can see it is plagued in problems, with others unable to claim a refund despite the product being faulty. If this review saves one other person from buying this product, or atleast doing their research before purchasing, then it was worth it. Ive since purchased the Spectra breat pump which has stronger, reliable suction and is more comfortable.

Purchased in May 2019 at Chemist Warehouse for $324.99.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
May

May

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Great portable option

published

This pump is wonderful when out and about! Compact to pack up and discreet to use at high tea, dinner or even at the movies... Just make sure you remember all the parts!

Purchased in April 2017.

Usage FrequencyLong-term
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Fel

FelSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Nothing can’t go wrong with it

published

First time for me to use this breast pump. It has good quality and save a lot of time compare to the previous one i had. Price is higher than others.

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Electric Breast Pumps

Find out how Medela Swing compares to other Electric Breast Pumps

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
garth k.

garth k.

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified

Gets the job done

published

The medela swing pump is simple, easy to use and clean. I prefer to use it plugged into the mains as the batteries start to run out fairly quickly and reduce suction.

Purchased in August 2018 at Baby Bunting.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Shell

ShellPerth, WA

  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

Slow but does the job

published

I use this pump twice a day.
It does the job but it takes over 30 mins each side.
I have been using for 8 months and the motor seems to be wearing out. Its getting slower and louder.
Easy to use and clean.

Purchased in August 2018 at Baby Bunting Physical store for $260.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
3 comments
Medela
Pauline T.Medela
Shell
Shell

Hi, I dont use batteries at all. Just directly to the main power. I bought it from baby bunting so I cant see them helping to be honest.

Medela
Pauline T.Medela

Hi Shell
As long as you have a valid receipt they should be able to assist you.
kind regards
Pauline

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
dmn

dmnSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 19 reviews
  • 6 likes

Good Machine. Easy to use.

published
1 comment
Medela
Pauline T.Medela

Hi dmn
Thank you for your email and review of the Medela Swing. It is always nice to hear our customers responding in such a positive way.
Kind regards
Pauline

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Philips Avent Comfort Single Electric

Looking for Electric Breast Pumps?

Read the reviews for Philips Avent Comfort Single Electric

102 reviews
Ad
Laura

LauraGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

Not bad for a small pump, easy to transport and use with batteries

published

This breast pump served me well - it was a good pump and did help with expressing breast pump at home. It was fairly comfortable but did make a lot of noise in my opinion. I ended up hiring a hospital grade pump for the first month or so then used this one. I really liked. Ring able to use it with the cord and just batteries. It was really good when we went away for trips, the pump was small and light enough to take. Parts were easy to clean. I was quite satisfied with the amount of milk I got expressing but did find it a little loud to use.

1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chris

Chris

  • 2 reviews

Really good.

published

Was very comfortable, easy to use and portable!
I used this pump anywhere from 5-10 times a day and I found it really great at keeping my supply up.
I used this pump and a pump from the hospital and found it just as effective.
The only downside is having to pump one side at a time

1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Roo

RooMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 18 likes
  • Verified

Good pump to start with

published

This was the first time i used some electric breast pump, and settled on medela swing. What i really like about the pump is its suction and let down function. You can adjust the speed and suction of the pump as per the requirement. Definitely helps to express more milk. The packaging itself was quite impressive as it provided with all the essentials. May be i found it bit noisy at the time other than that highly recommend this products.

1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela

Hi Roo
Thank you for your review of the Medela Swing breast pump. It is always lovely to hear positive feedback from our Customers.
Kind regards
Pauline

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Electric Breast Pumps

Find out how Medela Swing compares to other Electric Breast Pumps

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dee

DeeSouthern highlands nsw

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great and compact breast pump

published

My friend gifted me this pump.
It is Easy to use and small which is good for travelling with. Can also use with 4xAA batteries.

The only annoying thing is that Occasionally the pump doesn't pump. It is weak pumping and not sufficient to do the job. I sterilise the part that attaches to the pump and this works and this is what I assume is the problem.
The only other issue is that I use the bottle
For breast milk and formula. I can't mix formula in the bottle because it is not rubber sealed and leaks everywhere when I shake the bottle.
Another minor issue is that when sterilising the bottle as recommended, the medela branding on the bottle has progressively faded.
Other than that great electric pump.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Joanne

JoanneSydney

  • 2 reviews

Easy to use

published

It is easy for me to use and maintain it in sterile condition. It was extremely comfortable to use and was discreet and quiet but I thought that it could have been better if the suction to the breast was more coz I found too much air was able to sneak under! It has good size itself and very easy to bring it with you to travel or bring it back to work.

1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela

HI Joanne
Thank you for your feedback, the Swing certainly is a great compact pump designed for busy mothers on the move. It is always great to hear from a happy Customer.
Kind regards
Pauline

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
TarsB

TarsBNewcastle

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Was a God send

published

I used this pump with my first baby and it came highly recommended to me by other Mums. It was very easy to use and came with a detailed booklet on how to effectively use, clean and store the pump. It was easily transportable and I was able to travel overseas with this pump. It was easy to express the milk with this however the next time I would get the double pump to save on time.

1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Philips Avent Comfort Single Electric

Looking for Electric Breast Pumps?

Read the reviews for Philips Avent Comfort Single Electric

102 reviews
Ad
Kim

KimAdelaide, South Australia

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Nothing but major trouble

published

We got recommended this brand Brest pump but after nearly 7 months it's stopped working and now caused me issues having to find a new one as over time it slowed down and now has stopped. The shop we bought it from had none left so had to go and buy some thing else from a different shop

1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sela

SelaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 7 reviews

Gentle and portable

published

Pump was gentle unlike others were it feels like your nipple will get sucked thru too. Portable and also quiet- you can change the different speeds, I liked the slower pulse, it obviously did take a bit longer, but I was still intact after lol. love the little bag that comes with it, the bottles are also expensive but totally worth it!

1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 11
See all Medela Swing reviews

Questions & Answers

Anonymous

Anonymousasked

Hi Team, unknowingly I’ve bought swing flex when there’s a maxi flex , now it’s time consuming because I couldn’t use both breasts at a single time. Is there a way that I can replace a motor with an add on cost? As I’ve spent already 200$ do I need to spend another 270$ to get maxi flex?

1 answer
Medela
Medela A.Medela

Hi there, we are sorry to hear this! Please contact your place of purchase or our customer service team by calling 1800 787 345 or emailing contact.au@medela.com and they will do everything they can to help you. Please note that once a pump has been used, we cannot exchange or replace a motor unless there is a fault with the machine that is covered under warranty.

Kindest Regards,
Natasha

neha M.

neha M.asked

Hi team,
I have medela swing flex single pump. Buy now i need to use it with double tube i.e. to start pumping from both at one time. Can u suggest if u can buy accessories for it? All parts i saw says compatible with only maxi flex? Can u suggest what shud i buy to get extra tube and extractor?

3 answers
Medela
Medela A.Medela

Hi Neha, thank you for reaching out. Unfortunately our Swing Single breast pump is not able to be used as a double breast pump because the motor is not strong enough to express both breasts at the same time. It is designed as a single pump only. If you would like to double pump, you would need to purchase the Swing Maxi Flex or Freestyle Flex.
Kindest Regards,
Natasha

neha M.
neha M.

Thanks Natasha... that helps

Medela
Medela A.Medela

No worries Neha. If you need further assistance, please contact our customer service team by calling 1800 787 345 or emailing contact.au@medela.com and they would be happy to help you.

Kind regards,
Natasha

Meital

Meitalasked

Hi,
I just bought Medela Swing (single) and I don’t seem to understand something basic- I do know you can use it either with the plug-in or with the batteries but isn’t there a need to give it an initial charge (of 24 hours like it goes with the Freestyle I used to have, before it was unfortunately broken beyond repair)? Can I use it straight away after I bought it (plugged in) or should there be an initial charging time prior to first use?
Thank you

2 answers
Medela
Medela A.Medela

Hi Meital, thank you for reaching out! Because your Swing requires powering up with either batteries or mains power, you cannot 'charge' it as such, unlike the Freestyle which has a re-chargable battery. Your Swing pump is ready to use as soon as you receive it, either using batteries or plugged into mains power.

Hope this helps!

For further information, please contact our customer service team by calling 1800 787 345 or emailing contact.au@medela.com.

Kind regards,
Natasha

Amy G.
Amy G.

Nope, she’s ready to go. Just plug into the mains power and get pumping :)

See all Medela Swing questions

Get an answer from our members and Medela representatives

Details

CategoryElectric Breast Pumps
TypeElectric
Price (RRP)299.95

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 7612367023986

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.