?
? !
6 photos
Medela Swing

Medela Swing

4.2 from 617 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (10)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (10)
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (10)
  • Portability
    4.1 (9)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (10)
  • Suction
    3.9 (9)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (9)
Previous
Next
Dan

DanMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 18 reviews
  • 10 likes

Happy with purchase!

published

Purchase single pump back in 2019!
Haven’t had any issue it a pretty amazing pump love that if portable and you can take it on the go with you!

I do wish the overall machine was smaller.

Purchased for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela

Hi Dan, thank you so much for taking the time to review our Swing single electric breast pump! We love that it has helped you to be able to pump on-the-go.

Kindest Regards,
Natasha

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Philips Avent Comfort Single Electric

Looking for Electric Breast Pumps?

Read the reviews for Philips Avent Comfort Single Electric

102 reviews
Ad
Shanice

Shanice

  • 8 reviews

It worked just fine

published

I bought the maxi double pump, however if I used both at the same time it dramatically made a difference if the suction ability and therefore milk production. I resorted to using just the one at a time which made for a long process, about an hour to pump both sides.

Purchased in September 2019 at Baby Bunting for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ky N

Ky NGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified

Easy to use

published

I bought this one when my son was born. I feel that it is very reliable machine cause it took out all of my milk. I recommend this product for someone who find that it is hard for breastfeeding.

Purchased in July 2019 at Chemist Warehouse for $249.99.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Electric Breast Pumps

Find out how Medela Swing compares to other Electric Breast Pumps

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Janey N.

Janey N.

  • 3 reviews

Research alternatives

published

I find this pump mostly unreliable. Most times Ive used it Ive had an issue. Milk getting in the tubing, little or no suction, hissing sounds from tubing insert. I have however fixed these issues relatively easy by reading troubleshoot forums. I find the ease of buying attachments and bottles tho appealing as medela is everywhere

Purchased in December 2018 for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Nicole

NicoleSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Did well at first but then MOLD!

published

It worked well and I really liked it! At first.
I packed it away after not needing it anymore, I have recently pulled it out a month after packing it away and pumped some milk. The tab got stuck (understandably as it was sitting for a while) and milk got sucked into the machine. I opened it up straight away to find mold!!! I Won’t use it anymore and wouldn’t recommend it to anyone.

Purchased in January 2019 for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
3 comments
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Nicole
Nicole

Thanks for the reply, I did replace tubing and the sponge and continued to use it. It is a bit of a hassle still. I still like the pump when it comes to expressing the milk.

Medela
Medela A.Medela

Thanks, Nicole should you need any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact Customer Service. We will be only too happy to assist.
Kind regards
Pauline

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
May

May

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Great portable option

published

This pump is wonderful when out and about! Compact to pack up and discreet to use at high tea, dinner or even at the movies... Just make sure you remember all the parts!

Purchased in April 2017.

Usage FrequencyLong-term
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Philips Avent Comfort Single Electric

Looking for Electric Breast Pumps?

Read the reviews for Philips Avent Comfort Single Electric

102 reviews
Ad
Fel

FelSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Nothing can’t go wrong with it

published

First time for me to use this breast pump. It has good quality and save a lot of time compare to the previous one i had. Price is higher than others.

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
garth k.

garth k.

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified

Gets the job done

published

The medela swing pump is simple, easy to use and clean. I prefer to use it plugged into the mains as the batteries start to run out fairly quickly and reduce suction.

Purchased in August 2018 at Baby Bunting.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ale M.

Ale M.Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

So-so

published

I purchased this as a couple of girlfriends are also using it. It’s so-so, I hand express after pumping and still get quite a bit afterwards, so I feel like it’s not that good. It’s easy to clean but the tubes does have some water in them.

Purchased in January 2018.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Electric Breast Pumps

Find out how Medela Swing compares to other Electric Breast Pumps

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mika

Mika

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified

Good and reliable

published

I use this 3-4 times a day, very easy to disemble and clean, quite compact and pretty quiet. I never used it portable so don’t know what it’s like on the go. I do find I can usually pump more with hospital grade pump though. But would recommend this to anyone. Maybe even a double pump instead of single would be better.

Purchased in September 2018 for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Medela
Pauline T.Medela
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Shell

ShellPerth, WA

  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

Slow but does the job

published

I use this pump twice a day.
It does the job but it takes over 30 mins each side.
I have been using for 8 months and the motor seems to be wearing out. Its getting slower and louder.
Easy to use and clean.

Purchased in August 2018 at Baby Bunting Physical store for $260.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
3 comments
Medela
Pauline T.Medela
Shell
Shell

Hi, I dont use batteries at all. Just directly to the main power. I bought it from baby bunting so I cant see them helping to be honest.

Medela
Pauline T.Medela

Hi Shell
As long as you have a valid receipt they should be able to assist you.
kind regards
Pauline

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Courtney V

Courtney VSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Easy to use and pretty good pump but not working after 5 days

published

I bought the double pump straight out of hospital with my bub and was using 8 times a day due to poor latch and supply. Started off great but after 5 days it basically broke, suddenly the pump lost about 70% suction and couldn’t get any milk out. The two days I was without a pump was terrible for my supply. I borrowed my sisters which was the same pump and it had served me well 3 months on, but it breaking so quickly was so disappointing consider it’s not cheap. Keep your receipt! I haven’t done anything yet about it so I cannot comment on customer service

Purchased in November 2018 at Chemist Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
3 comments
Courtney V
Courtney V

To add, it turn out it was the tubes that were the issue. An easy replace but not great that they needed it in less than a week

Medela
Pauline T.Medela
Courtney V
Courtney V

Thank you :)

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Philips Avent Comfort Single Electric

Looking for Electric Breast Pumps?

Read the reviews for Philips Avent Comfort Single Electric

102 reviews
Ad
dmn

dmnSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 19 reviews
  • 6 likes

Good Machine. Easy to use.

published
1 comment
Medela
Pauline T.Medela

Hi dmn
Thank you for your email and review of the Medela Swing. It is always nice to hear our customers responding in such a positive way.
Kind regards
Pauline

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Laura

LauraGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

Not bad for a small pump, easy to transport and use with batteries

published

This breast pump served me well - it was a good pump and did help with expressing breast pump at home. It was fairly comfortable but did make a lot of noise in my opinion. I ended up hiring a hospital grade pump for the first month or so then used this one. I really liked. Ring able to use it with the cord and just batteries. It was really good when we went away for trips, the pump was small and light enough to take. Parts were easy to clean. I was quite satisfied with the amount of milk I got expressing but did find it a little loud to use.

1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chris

Chris

  • 2 reviews

Really good.

published

Was very comfortable, easy to use and portable!
I used this pump anywhere from 5-10 times a day and I found it really great at keeping my supply up.
I used this pump and a pump from the hospital and found it just as effective.
The only downside is having to pump one side at a time

1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Electric Breast Pumps

Find out how Medela Swing compares to other Electric Breast Pumps

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Roo

RooMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 18 likes
  • Verified

Good pump to start with

published

This was the first time i used some electric breast pump, and settled on medela swing. What i really like about the pump is its suction and let down function. You can adjust the speed and suction of the pump as per the requirement. Definitely helps to express more milk. The packaging itself was quite impressive as it provided with all the essentials. May be i found it bit noisy at the time other than that highly recommend this products.

1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela

Hi Roo
Thank you for your review of the Medela Swing breast pump. It is always lovely to hear positive feedback from our Customers.
Kind regards
Pauline

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dee

DeeSouthern highlands nsw

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great and compact breast pump

published

My friend gifted me this pump.
It is Easy to use and small which is good for travelling with. Can also use with 4xAA batteries.

The only annoying thing is that Occasionally the pump doesn't pump. It is weak pumping and not sufficient to do the job. I sterilise the part that attaches to the pump and this works and this is what I assume is the problem.
The only other issue is that I use the bottle
For breast milk and formula. I can't mix formula in the bottle because it is not rubber sealed and leaks everywhere when I shake the bottle.
Another minor issue is that when sterilising the bottle as recommended, the medela branding on the bottle has progressively faded.
Other than that great electric pump.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Joanne

JoanneSydney

  • 2 reviews

Easy to use

published

It is easy for me to use and maintain it in sterile condition. It was extremely comfortable to use and was discreet and quiet but I thought that it could have been better if the suction to the breast was more coz I found too much air was able to sneak under! It has good size itself and very easy to bring it with you to travel or bring it back to work.

1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela

HI Joanne
Thank you for your feedback, the Swing certainly is a great compact pump designed for busy mothers on the move. It is always great to hear from a happy Customer.
Kind regards
Pauline

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Philips Avent Comfort Single Electric

Looking for Electric Breast Pumps?

Read the reviews for Philips Avent Comfort Single Electric

102 reviews
Ad
TarsB

TarsBNewcastle

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Was a God send

published

I used this pump with my first baby and it came highly recommended to me by other Mums. It was very easy to use and came with a detailed booklet on how to effectively use, clean and store the pump. It was easily transportable and I was able to travel overseas with this pump. It was easy to express the milk with this however the next time I would get the double pump to save on time.

1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sela

SelaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 7 reviews

Gentle and portable

published

Pump was gentle unlike others were it feels like your nipple will get sucked thru too. Portable and also quiet- you can change the different speeds, I liked the slower pulse, it obviously did take a bit longer, but I was still intact after lol. love the little bag that comes with it, the bottles are also expensive but totally worth it!

1 comment
Medela
Medela A.Medela
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 11
See all Medela Swing reviews

Questions & Answers

Anonymous

Anonymousasked

Hi Team, unknowingly I’ve bought swing flex when there’s a maxi flex , now it’s time consuming because I couldn’t use both breasts at a single time. Is there a way that I can replace a motor with an add on cost? As I’ve spent already 200$ do I need to spend another 270$ to get maxi flex?

1 answer
Medela
Medela A.Medela

Hi there, we are sorry to hear this! Please contact your place of purchase or our customer service team by calling 1800 787 345 or emailing contact.au@medela.com and they will do everything they can to help you. Please note that once a pump has been used, we cannot exchange or replace a motor unless there is a fault with the machine that is covered under warranty.

Kindest Regards,
Natasha

neha M.

neha M.asked

Hi team,
I have medela swing flex single pump. Buy now i need to use it with double tube i.e. to start pumping from both at one time. Can u suggest if u can buy accessories for it? All parts i saw says compatible with only maxi flex? Can u suggest what shud i buy to get extra tube and extractor?

3 answers
Medela
Medela A.Medela

Hi Neha, thank you for reaching out. Unfortunately our Swing Single breast pump is not able to be used as a double breast pump because the motor is not strong enough to express both breasts at the same time. It is designed as a single pump only. If you would like to double pump, you would need to purchase the Swing Maxi Flex or Freestyle Flex.
Kindest Regards,
Natasha

neha M.
neha M.

Thanks Natasha... that helps

Medela
Medela A.Medela

No worries Neha. If you need further assistance, please contact our customer service team by calling 1800 787 345 or emailing contact.au@medela.com and they would be happy to help you.

Kind regards,
Natasha

Meital

Meitalasked

Hi,
I just bought Medela Swing (single) and I don’t seem to understand something basic- I do know you can use it either with the plug-in or with the batteries but isn’t there a need to give it an initial charge (of 24 hours like it goes with the Freestyle I used to have, before it was unfortunately broken beyond repair)? Can I use it straight away after I bought it (plugged in) or should there be an initial charging time prior to first use?
Thank you

2 answers
Medela
Medela A.Medela

Hi Meital, thank you for reaching out! Because your Swing requires powering up with either batteries or mains power, you cannot 'charge' it as such, unlike the Freestyle which has a re-chargable battery. Your Swing pump is ready to use as soon as you receive it, either using batteries or plugged into mains power.

Hope this helps!

For further information, please contact our customer service team by calling 1800 787 345 or emailing contact.au@medela.com.

Kind regards,
Natasha

Amy G.
Amy G.

Nope, she’s ready to go. Just plug into the mains power and get pumping :)

See all Medela Swing questions

Get an answer from our members and Medela representatives

Details

CategoryElectric Breast Pumps
TypeElectric
Price (RRP)299.95

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 7612367023986

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.