?
? !
1 photo
Medibank Health Insurance

Medibank Health Insurance

1.5 from 788 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

2.3

18 reviews
  • Value for Money
    2.4 (13)
  • Transparency
    2.7 (12)
  • Customer Service
    2.8 (13)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (5)
    • 1-2 weeks (1)
    • 2-4 weeks (3)
    • 1-2 months (3)
    • 3+ months (2)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (18) · No
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
PNB
PNBSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Have been a member for almost 20 years and Heath insurance in Aus is a scam.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJune 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
2 comments
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi,
I'm very sorry you're not happy with your cover.
I've sent you a private message if you'd like to review your policy.
- Mary

PNB
PNB

Thanks but pointless as this is not related to which Medibank policy I am on, ALL your plans work the same way.
Am I wrong?

Frank Health Insurance

Looking for Health Insurance?

Read the reviews for Frank Health Insurance

511 reviews
Ad

Worst health provider ever

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank
Karen and lynden
Karen and lyndenGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified

PEC Approved But Claim Rejected

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateFebruary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
4 comments
Medibank
MedibankMedibank
Karen and lynden
Karen and lynden
Medibank
MedibankMedibank
Health Insurance

Find out how Medibank Health Insurance compares to other Health Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Andrew
Andrew
  • 2 reviews

Medibank

published

We lost a child and wife had to undergo a d&c procedure. Medibank made us to jump a few hoops to make a claim, we put the claim multiple times and we got 0 dollar reimbursed. It's not as if it's painful to have that incident, Medibank made it even worse by refusing a valid claim and blaming it on to the hospital.

Update:
Medibank rep approached me and helped us to resolve the issue. The claim went through and it was helped to untangle the miscommunication between the hospital and medibank. The customer rep Annete was very humane and gentle while helping us. Thank you.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital Only
Coverage TypeSingle Parent Extension
Under 30Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank
D Van Luyn
D Van LuynPerth, WA

Medibank is the best

published

Great value, quick process for my claims and I’ve been with Medibank since 2012
Not sure why they have low star ratings.

Customer services are also great.

I personally think they should have 5 stars rating

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi D, thanks for your lovely review! If there is anything we can help you with, please don't hesitate to reach out. - Jade

Related Articles
Previous

Best Super Funds in 2020!

A good super fund can make a substanial difference to the amount you retire with. From retail super funds to self managed super funds, view reviewer ratings for the best super funds of 2020!

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.7 Nov 2019
best-super-funds-in-2020

Best Credit Cards in 2020!

Whether it's the sign up bonus, rates and fees, or reliable customer service that you look for in a credit card, a credit card is often used everyday, so it's important you choose one that meets your needs and that you're happy with. These are the best credit cards this year, as decided by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.19 Nov 2019
best-credit-cards-in-2020

Australian Government Rebates & Incentives for Private Health Insurance

There are a number of government rebates, discounts, and additional charges that could apply to you when taking out private health insurance. We've outlined the main ones here so you don't have to dig through all the research yourself.

Nathan S.
Nathan S.7 Feb 2020
australian-government-rebates-incentives-for-private-health-insurance
Next
Snifer
SniferVIC, 3059
  • 15 reviews
  • 13 likes
  • Verified

Corporate Greed over humanity. Money sucking leecher.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank
Frank Health Insurance

Looking for Health Insurance?

Read the reviews for Frank Health Insurance

511 reviews
Ad
Ihassan
IhassanSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Most unhelpful customer support

published

I am regretting getting overseas medical insurance from them for my mother. Customer support is the worst I have ever seen in Australia. Absolutely terrible. The hasstle a person has to go through for a refund!

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank
Hayley
HayleySydney
  • 21 reviews
  • 20 likes

Disputed surgery claim

published

I had surgery to remove a skin cancer on my nose. Medibank private refused to pay the claim of closure of the wound disputing this as plastic surgery when it was mohs surgery to remove a life threatening skin cancer. I had to get the ombudsmen involved who made Medibank private pay for the surgery, Medibank then called me to advise they will pay it this time but not again and we’re very rude about this. I would recommend avoiding this insurer at all costs. They forget who the client is that is paying for this service.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Hayley,
I am sorry to read about your experience. I just sent you a private message asking for a few more details.
Thanks,
Joshua

Tibi
TibiMonash 2904, ACT
  • Verified

Terrible service

published

Recently cancelled the overseas visitor insurance with medibank. The call centre person told me that there will be a fee of $50 for refunding the balance amount, from a monthly premium medibank has taken it from the account as direct debit. The time when we signed up to medibank no body from medibank told us there will be a fees of refunding any balance amount. The call centre person also suggested, in the future dont go with direct debit with medibank just go for a month to month payments.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Health Insurance

Find out how Medibank Health Insurance compares to other Health Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Medibank Subscription & Claim

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
4 comments
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Soren,
Thank you for your review and we'd love to follow up your wife's claim. I've sent you a private message.
Thanks,
Joshua

Soren
Soren
Medibank
Medibank P.Medibank
Da T.
Da T.
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Happy with them and will re-consider

published

I've recently change my private insurance to another one due to my employer subsidise the other funds (and a higher level of cover).
During the time with medibank, claiming is easy (I claim my max. for dental/optical). It does takes longer than expect for them to close my account and provide the certificate, but the refund of premium is quick.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30Yes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi there,
Thank you very much for your review and feedback. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to send us a private message.
Thanks,
Joshua

young
youngPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews

Bad experience

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital Only
Coverage TypeSingle Parent Family
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
3 comments
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi there,
I am sorry to read about your recent experience with Medibank concerning your mother's policy. I just sent you a private message asking for a few more details so that we can follow up. Thanks, Joshua

young
young

Hi Joshua

Where did you send private message?

Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi there,
I just replied to your private message. - Anna

Frank Health Insurance

Looking for Health Insurance?

Read the reviews for Frank Health Insurance

511 reviews
Ad
judy
judyPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Happy to have it

published

So blessed to have this hospital coverage as I have had heart problems which I didnt know I had and all it has cost me is the $500 surplus.
Can't understand anyone giving bad reviews.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Judy,
Thanks for submitting your lovely review. We are happy to read about your positive experience with us. If there is anything we can do to help, please don’t hesitate to get in touch.
Have a great day! - Joshua

Kanimbla
KanimblaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Don't be fooled by Medibank's promises,

published

Don't be fooled by Medibank's promises, they are only interested in their KPI's and member's payments. Hard and completive times for health insurers. They are playing dirty and want your money. They will not act in your best interest and would rather see you in crisis than reasonably help you with a temporary suspension of your payments. My daughter under mental medical health and they ask her to pay back $ 2300 because she could Int’l provide the receipt from year 2017 and I am let everyone in word what Medibank provider do to my daughter

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim DateJanuary 2017
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Kanimbla,
I am sorry to read of your daughter’s situation and your recent experience with Medibank. I just sent you a private message to see if there is anything we can do to help. Thanks, Anna

wendylou
wendylouSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Don't know why

published

Don't know why I stay with them .The fees keep going up with nothing extra added . Can't even have a massage covered.Nib is no different . got a quote ,it was about the same.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageExtras Only
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Wendylou,
I am sorry to read that you are finding difficulty seeing the value in your cover. I would suggest that now is the perfect time for a review. Just sent you a private message asking you to confirm a few details.
Thanks,
Anna

Health Insurance

Find out how Medibank Health Insurance compares to other Health Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2
See all Medibank Health Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Roger T.
Roger T.asked

If I pay for 12month cover before the April 1st can I get it at the current rate rather than the rate from April 1st.

1 answer
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Roger,
Generally you can. However please don’t hesitate to send us a private message so that we can check your premium for you. Thanks, Anna

Hilda
Hildaasked

My husband has throat cancer. We can have the operation immediately if we pay the specialist $5000. Could we get any kind of medicare rebate on the amount as we are both elderly but in otherwise good health. My husband is in pain and the waiting list has lengthened due to the corona virus.

3 answers
chris tedbury
chris tedbury

Well I take it you don’t have private health cover, I did and was basically forced into public If your catagory1 like me they said we must do within 30 days perhaps sera a more sympathetic doctor and beg him to get to catorgy 1 they cannot watch him die

Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Hilda,

Thanks for getting in touch. I just sent you a private message to see if there is anything we can do to help.

Please note, if your question was intended for Medicare please get in touch with Medicare at https://www.servicesaustralia.gov.au/individuals/contact-us.

Thanks,
Anna

Hilda
Hilda

Hi Anna, thank you for your message. The surgical team at John Hunter Hospital at Newcastle has taken care of my husband and he is down for surgery next Friday and it will be fully funded by Medicare. The relief for both of us has been dramatic. Hilda

Reddy
Reddyasked

Why do medibank doesn't have claims via email? It is always not possible for us to go to stores or post at this stage and submit our claims. It would help customers if you have some generic email to submit claims which other insurance companies offer like BUPA?

1 answer
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Reddy,
Thanks for your question. Most claims can be submitted via the My Medibank app.
If you need help accessing your online account, please don’t hesitate to send us a private message or contact our Contact Centre on 132 331 from 8 am to 8 pm Monday to Friday & Saturdays 9 am to 4 pm (AEST) for assistance. Thanks,
Anna

See all Medibank Health Insurance questions

Get an answer from our members and Medibank representatives

Details

CategoryHealth Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Life, Pet and Travel
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.