??!
8 photos
Mercedes-Benz B-Class

Mercedes-Benz B-Class (2005-2019)

Also referred to as: Mercedes-Benz B-Class 2018 and Mercedes-Benz B-Class 2020. W247 (2019), W246 (2012-2018) and W245 (2010-2011)
4.2 from 10 reviews

See the Best Hatchbacks in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
5
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
0

costly mistake

costly mistakeMelbourne

  • 10 reviews
  • 15 likes

Costly service and repairs

published

Purchased in February 2017.

Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

2019 Mercedes B class

published

Can anyone tell me why the only 2019 Australian model now available is the B180 despite the B200 and B250 being available in Europe.
Asked a Mercedes dealer who did not really know himself.

Purchased in September 2014.

Year2014

Be aware of low ground clearance

published

Many good things about it, but just be aware of the lowest ground clearance ever. In some places you can find it reported as being 190mm, in some others 134mm - 190mm, I just know that it hits to any small speed bump, hole, rock or when starting riding on a uphill. Nothing you can't deal with if driving in city, but a big ask for anything else.

Purchased in June 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers
dogbert

dogbertWestern Australia, 6110

  • 18 reviews
  • 18 likes

B180 - Dinosaur of a car

published
BadgeB180
LineBlueEFFICIENCY
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2014

Hils

HilsHobart

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it

published

The absolutely perfect car for us. Just some of the things that i love that others may not mention (mostly female stuff). It's small so fits in our narrow driveway without problems and I love the dipping passenger side mirror when backing. The height of the car/seats are perfect to get in and out of for my back - not or low or high. Really really comfortable seats, huge boot and it looks beautiful!!! The white is just gorgeous - a slight creamy white

BadgeB180
Line(No Line)
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Brissie B180

Brissie B180Brisbane

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Mercedes quality! Not a single problem!

published

Great family car. My wife's daily driver, bought used from Mercedes 3 years ago. Now up to 100000km. Normal family usage. Absolutely nothing has failed or broken. My only complaint is that the rear wiper is a bit noisy and that I think that it's a little under-powered. A B200 next time, maybe?

BadgeB180
Line(No Line)
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.7
2 comments
Brissie B180
Brissie B180

Still no problems- now with 135K on the clock!

Brissie B180
Brissie B180

After 8 years and 145K, the original Varta battery just failed. 8 years of- mainly- wife daily driving use. Brilliant.


s sydney

s sydneysydney

  • 22 reviews
  • 9 likes

Practical car

published

The B class is the best blend of practicality and passenger-friendliness – sure, it’s probably the least exciting to drive, but if you’re after a pragmatic, price-friendly choice, this is it. Fuel consumption was great esp when I am on cruise control (hence this is great for our weekend road trips)

BadgeB180
Line(No Line)
TransmissionAutomatic

David

DavidSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

2012 Mercedes B180

published
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeB180
madcatter

madcatter

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent

published
BadgeB180 CDI

Excellent

published

I love this beautiful car it drives like a REAL MERCEDES. It is so smooth when turning and accelerates beautifully! I just love it!

Nothing of course

Questions & Answers

Doug 4907

Doug 4907asked

B180 W246

Can anyone tell me how the interior storage space with rear seats folded down, compares with that of the Honda Jazz?

2 answers
dogbert
dogbert

This can be easily Googled and answers are readily available out there. However I can answer this rather quickly as I was looking at a Honda Jazz for a daily run about 2 years ago. Luggage space for the Jazz with the magic seat configuration etc is only 884 litres at its max, whereas the B-class is 1545 litres. Opening aperture of the boot of the B class is also larger as is the internal height which is important for big items.

Doug 4907
Doug 4907

I did Google but it seems my ability is limited.

Thank you dogbert for your answer.


Knotere Eever

Knotere Eeverasked

B180 W245

b180 speed sensor in CVT needs replacing after only 65klms. I see that in the UK they also had problems at 37Kmiles and many of those have been repaired by Mercedes . Is or has there been a repair program or recall on this problem in Aust?

No answers

edward

edwardasked

B180 W246

Has anyone had a tailgate issue, not locking?

1 answer
dogbert
dogbert

Best you go to your car dealership to sort this out but this happened to our previous B class after someone rear ended the car and it had to be repaired. Guess the tailgate was removed but it couldn't be put back as good as when it came from the factory. I understand that other common causes would be parking on an incline, e.g. half the car on the footpath which causes body flex.


Get an answer from our members and Mercedes-Benz representatives

Details

Mercedes-Benz B-Class B180 W245
  • Discontinued

Mercedes-Benz B-Class B180 W245 (2010-2011)

4 reviews
Mercedes-Benz B-Class B180 W246
  • Discontinued

Mercedes-Benz B-Class B180 W246 (2012-2018)

5 reviews
Mercedes-Benz B-Class B180 W247

Mercedes-Benz B-Class B180 W247 (2019)

No reviews
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $43,950$51,645
TransmissionAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypeDiesel and PetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars
Doors55
Seats55
Fuel Consumption6.1 L/100km5.7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L43 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.3L
Max Power115kW @ 5300rpm100kW @ 5500rpm
Max Torque250Nm @ 1250-4000rpm200Nm @ 1250-4000rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermany
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2010Jan 2012Jan 2019
Discontinuation dateDec 2011Dec 2018
Replaced byMercedes-Benz B-Class B180 W246

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.