8 photos
Mercedes-Benz B-Class

Mercedes-Benz B-Class (2005-2021)

Also referred to as: Mercedes-Benz B-Class 2020 and Mercedes-Benz B-Class 2022. W246, W245, W247
4.0 from 11 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Hatchbacks in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Mercedes-Benz? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

4.0
11 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (2)
  • Braking
    4.0 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.0 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    2.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    2.5 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.5 (2)
  • Handling
    3.5 (2)
  • Interior Design
    2.0 (2)
  • Boot Size
    3.3 (3)
  • Comfort
    2.7 (3)
  • Features
    3.0 (2)
Previous
Next

Dangerous

published

Drove new B200 mercedes found driving position crowded. But the gear change located on right hand side below steering can be mistaken for signal indicator which is where it is in many cars, but this model has the gear change indicator embedded in the body of the indicator lever in small type up for Reverse down for drive and push on end to park. Easy to accidently knock lever up while driving into reverse which is dangerous. Or if not careful thinking it is a signal indicator one can push it up with disastrous consequences. Display panel on left of dash is also hidden from view on the right hand side by the steering wheel. Driving position cramped and cluttered. Risky buy at best not for me.

Purchased in January 2021 at Cricks Maroochydore.

Build Quality
Value for Money
costly mistake
costly mistakeMelbourne
  • 23 reviews
  • 25 likes

Costly service and repairs

published

Purchased in February 2017.

Value for Money
Incentivised Review No

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

2019 Mercedes B class

published

Can anyone tell me why the only 2019 Australian model now available is the B180 despite the B200 and B250 being available in Europe.
Asked a Mercedes dealer who did not really know himself.

Purchased in September 2014.

Incentivised Review No
Year2014
Hatchbacks

Find out how Mercedes-Benz B-Class compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Be aware of low ground clearance

published

Many good things about it, but just be aware of the lowest ground clearance ever. In some places you can find it reported as being 190mm, in some others 134mm - 190mm, I just know that it hits to any small speed bump, hole, rock or when starting riding on a uphill. Nothing you can't deal with if driving in city, but a big ask for anything else.

Purchased in June 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
dogbert
dogbertWestern Australia, 6110
  • 20 reviews
  • 21 likes

B180 - Dinosaur of a car

published
BadgeB180
LineBlueEFFICIENCY
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2014

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Hils
HilsHobart
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it

published

The absolutely perfect car for us. Just some of the things that i love that others may not mention (mostly female stuff). It's small so fits in our narrow driveway without problems and I love the dipping passenger side mirror when backing. The height of the car/seats are perfect to get in and out of for my back - not or low or high. Really really comfortable seats, huge boot and it looks beautiful!!! The white is just gorgeous - a slight creamy white

BadgeB180
Line(No Line)
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Brissie B180
Brissie B180Brisbane
  • 14 reviews
  • 7 likes

Mercedes quality! Not a single problem!

published

Great family car. My wife's daily driver, bought used from Mercedes 3 years ago. Now up to 100000km. Normal family usage. Absolutely nothing has failed or broken. My only complaint is that the rear wiper is a bit noisy and that I think that it's a little under-powered. A B200 next time, maybe?

BadgeB180
Line(No Line)
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.7
Brissie B180
Brissie B180

Still no problems- now with 135K on the clock!

Brissie B180
Brissie B180

After 8 years and 145K, the original Varta battery just failed. 8 years of- mainly- wife daily driving use. Brilliant.

s sydney
s sydneysydney
  • 22 reviews
  • 10 likes

Practical car

published

The B class is the best blend of practicality and passenger-friendliness – sure, it’s probably the least exciting to drive, but if you’re after a pragmatic, price-friendly choice, this is it. Fuel consumption was great esp when I am on cruise control (hence this is great for our weekend road trips)

BadgeB180
Line(No Line)
TransmissionAutomatic

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
David
DavidSydney
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

2012 Mercedes B180

published
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeB180
Hatchbacks

Find out how Mercedes-Benz B-Class compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
madcatter
madcatter
  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent

published
BadgeB180 CDI

Excellent

published

I love this beautiful car it drives like a REAL MERCEDES. It is so smooth when turning and accelerates beautifully! I just love it!

Nothing of course

Questions & Answers

Abdulrosheed olaide
Abdulrosheed olaideasked
B-Class (2005-2021)

Pls what can caused it to shock the key and on the light but not cracking though he didn't appear the heater light and injector system?

1 answer
costly mistake
costly mistake

All of the functions are dependent on a computer system. Only a specialist Mercedes mechanic or workshop keep the technical equipment which can check these.
I have not had this problem with mine, but at one point all my warning lights were advising me not to drive the car, so I took it to a Mercedes mechanic to diagnose the issue.

brumby44
brumby44asked
B-Class (2005-2021)

2017 Mercedes-Benz B180. Has anybody heard of any problems with the accelerator getting stuck on full revs.

No answers
BiancaM
BiancaMasked
B-Class (2005-2021)

has my 2009 200B Renault engine? anyone?

1 answer
costly mistake
costly mistake

Sorry Bianca, I don’t know.

See all Mercedes-Benz B-Class (2005-2021) questions

Get an answer from our members

Mercedes-Benz B-Class (2005-2021)

Details

Compare all 3 Mercedes-Benz B-Class (2005-2021)
CategoryHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacks
Starting Price $51,645$43,950
TransmissionAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolDiesel and Petrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption5.7 L/100km6.1 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 43 L50 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.3L4 Cylinder 1.6L
Max Power100kW @ 5500rpm115kW @ 5300rpm
Max Torque200Nm @ 1250-4000rpm250Nm @ 1250-4000rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermany
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2019Jan 2012Jan 2010
Discontinuation dateDec 2018Dec 2011
Replaced byMercedes-Benz B-Class B180 W246
Compare all 3 Mercedes-Benz B-Class (2005-2021)
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.