??!
8 photos
Mercedes-Benz B-Class

Mercedes-Benz B-Class (2005-2020)

Also referred to as: Mercedes-Benz B-Class 2019 and Mercedes-Benz B-Class 2021. W246, W245, W247
4.2 from 10 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.2

10 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (1)
  • Braking
    3.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    1.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    1.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.0 (1)
  • Handling
    3.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    2.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    3.0 (2)
  • Comfort
    2.5 (2)
  • Features
    2.0 (1)
Previous
Next
costly mistake

costly mistakeMelbourne

  • 18 reviews
  • 21 likes

Costly service and repairs

published

Purchased in February 2017.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

2019 Mercedes B class

published

Can anyone tell me why the only 2019 Australian model now available is the B180 despite the B200 and B250 being available in Europe.
Asked a Mercedes dealer who did not really know himself.

Purchased in September 2014.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Year2014

Be aware of low ground clearance

published

Many good things about it, but just be aware of the lowest ground clearance ever. In some places you can find it reported as being 190mm, in some others 134mm - 190mm, I just know that it hits to any small speed bump, hole, rock or when starting riding on a uphill. Nothing you can't deal with if driving in city, but a big ask for anything else.

Purchased in June 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers
Hatchbacks

Find out how Mercedes-Benz B-Class compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
dogbert

dogbertWestern Australia, 6110

  • 20 reviews
  • 20 likes

B180 - Dinosaur of a car

published
BadgeB180
LineBlueEFFICIENCY
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2014
Hils

HilsHobart

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it

published

The absolutely perfect car for us. Just some of the things that i love that others may not mention (mostly female stuff). It's small so fits in our narrow driveway without problems and I love the dipping passenger side mirror when backing. The height of the car/seats are perfect to get in and out of for my back - not or low or high. Really really comfortable seats, huge boot and it looks beautiful!!! The white is just gorgeous - a slight creamy white

BadgeB180
Line(No Line)
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Brissie B180

Brissie B180Brisbane

  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

Mercedes quality! Not a single problem!

published

Great family car. My wife's daily driver, bought used from Mercedes 3 years ago. Now up to 100000km. Normal family usage. Absolutely nothing has failed or broken. My only complaint is that the rear wiper is a bit noisy and that I think that it's a little under-powered. A B200 next time, maybe?

BadgeB180
Line(No Line)
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.7
2 comments
Brissie B180
Brissie B180

Still no problems- now with 135K on the clock!

Brissie B180
Brissie B180

After 8 years and 145K, the original Varta battery just failed. 8 years of- mainly- wife daily driving use. Brilliant.

s sydney

s sydneysydney

  • 22 reviews
  • 9 likes

Practical car

published

The B class is the best blend of practicality and passenger-friendliness – sure, it’s probably the least exciting to drive, but if you’re after a pragmatic, price-friendly choice, this is it. Fuel consumption was great esp when I am on cruise control (hence this is great for our weekend road trips)

BadgeB180
Line(No Line)
TransmissionAutomatic
David

DavidSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

2012 Mercedes B180

published
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeB180
madcatter

madcatter

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent

published
BadgeB180 CDI
Hatchbacks

Find out how Mercedes-Benz B-Class compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Excellent

published

I love this beautiful car it drives like a REAL MERCEDES. It is so smooth when turning and accelerates beautifully! I just love it!

Nothing of course

Questions & Answers

brumby44

brumby44asked

B-Class (2005-2020)

2017 Mercedes-Benz B180. Has anybody heard of any problems with the accelerator getting stuck on full revs.

No answers
BiancaM

BiancaMasked

B-Class (2005-2020)

has my 2009 200B Renault engine? anyone?

1 answer
costly mistake
costly mistake

Sorry Bianca, I don’t know.

Cynthia P.

Cynthia P.asked

B-Class (2005-2020)

Hi.Does a Mercedes B180 2009 model share the same oil pump with the Mercedes B180 2013 model?

1 answer
costly mistake
costly mistake

Sorry Cynthia, I do not know. However, we now use non Mercedes parts which are cheaper and do the job just as well. The other advice from my experience is to keep away from 3-Point Motors or the Richmond Foreign car specialist, if you are from Victoria, because I have found both to be dishonest and extremely costly. Any competent mechanic can do the job.

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 3 Mercedes-Benz B-Class (2005-2020)
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price A$51,645A$43,950
TransmissionAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolDiesel and Petrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars
Doors55
Seats55
Fuel Consumption5.7 L/100km6.1 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 43 L50 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.3L4 Cylinder 1.6L
Max Power100kW @ 5500rpm115kW @ 5300rpm
Max Torque200Nm @ 1250-4000rpm250Nm @ 1250-4000rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermany
Safety Features
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2019Jan 2012Jan 2010
Discontinuation dateDec 2018Dec 2011
Replaced byMercedes-Benz B-Class B180 W246
Compare all 3 Mercedes-Benz B-Class (2005-2020)

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.