1 photo
Mercedes-Benz GLA-Class X156

Mercedes-Benz GLA-Class X156 (2014-2021)

Also referred to as: Mercedes-Benz GLA-Class X156 2020 and Mercedes-Benz GLA-Class X156 2022. GLA 180, GLA 250 4MATIC, GLA 45 4MATIC, etc...
4.0 from 21 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Small / Compact SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Mercedes-Benz? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (1)
  • Braking
    5.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    5.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (1)
  • Handling
    5.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    5.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    5.0 (1)
  • Features
    5.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Jurek
JurekSydney, NSW
  • 13 reviews
  • 5 likes

It's pretty good. But....

published

Overall, this is a good car. But, for the money, it should be.
The engine is fabulous. Handling is excellent. Build quality good.
Crazy exhaust sounds good (at least, I like it).
The dual clutch gearbox is OK. I guess. Would have preferred a manual.
The electronics however are a bit flaky.
False positives are quite common. Flat tire alert. Go for a coffee alert. You are about to crash alert. And so on.
One wonders how all this electronic gear is going to work after a few years.
Servicing in not cheap (I knew that).
Warranty is short. 3 years. But do not forget your rights under Australian Consumer Law.

Purchased in April 2016 at Mercedes-Benz Dealers for $93,000.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
TonyK
TonyKGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great little car.

published

We bought this car replacing the ML350 which was a bucket of crap.
This car has all the features we expect along with the safety which is one of the main reasons I have stuck with the brand. Love the apple car play and the car is nippy, well appointed and fairly frugal on fuel.

BadgeGLA250
Date PurchasedJune 2017
Tim
TimMelbourne
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

High quality compact car

published

The interior design is very good! Simple and practical, easy to use. You can press the button directly to radio, gps, car settings. And when you make a call you can direct press number button like you call from your phone.
And it’s easy to drive, sensor combined with several cameras. Most important is the safety, it has 9 airbags and sensor will remind you when you drive, blind spot sensors are also helpful.
The price is reasonable and the main drawback is the space, it’s not big. But it’s ok for me. the car is not big so it’s much flexible to drive in busy streets

BadgeGLA180
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
AceBunker
AceBunker
  • 40 reviews
  • 22 likes

Affordable and Advanced for Small Family

published

You do not need to purchase extra options like what you may need on counterparts like Evoque and Q3, even QX30. Safety features like blind spot indicator and belt retentioner are standard. It is a good bargain if you bought it in October last year when it was on special. New model gets a face lift and that is all. For a family of three the back seats are satisfied and it is alright for a short travel of five. This model used to outplay and outweigh X1, Q3 and other luxury brand counterparts but this year the new Bimmer X1 stands out among them.

BadgeGLA180
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Mercedes-Benz GLA-Class X156 compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
SN
SNSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Car with good features.

published
BadgeGLA200 CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2015

Questions & Answers

McKenzie
McKenzieasked
GLA-Class X156 GLA 180 (2015-2021)

How does the performance of the gla 1.6 engine compare with the 180k ?

2 answers
Polly
Polly

We nearly always put it into sports mode. And it goes well. A bit heavy on petrol though.

McKenzie
McKenzie

Thank you. We live in the Qld country and currently drive a C180k which has excellent acceleration when passing trucks etc. I am looking at a GLA but am a bit concerned the 1.6 turbo may be a bit stretched. Perhaps the 200 D or 250 may be better.

Vishal
Vishalasked
GLA-Class X156 (2014-2021)

Any engine wise problems? Thinking to buy it

1 answer
TonyK
TonyK

The petrol 250 has not missed a beat, loads of power and still pretty fuel efficient. I believe the newest diesel had a recall and is higher on costs for service.

Josh P.
Josh P.asked
GLA-Class X156 (2014-2021)

hi just wondering what common problems the Mercedes-benz GLA 250 have (2016 model) , and how much they roughly cost to repair.

1 answer
TonyK
TonyK

Personally we have not had any real issues with our GLA 250 and we had servicing included in our deal from Mercedes. our vehicle has done roughly 67,000 now and so far very happy and very reliable.

See all Mercedes-Benz GLA-Class X156 (2014-2021) questions

Get an answer from our members

Mercedes-Benz GLA-Class X156 (2014-2021)

Details

Compare all 6 Mercedes-Benz GLA-Class X156 (2014-2021)
CategorySmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVs
Starting Price $50,010$57,624$67,967$99,664
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypePetrolDieselPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy19" Alloy20" Alloy
Fuel Consumption5.7 L/100km4.5 L/100km7 L/100km7.5 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L50 L56 L56 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 2.1L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power90kW @ 5000rpm130kW @ 4000rpm155kW @ 5500rpm280kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque200Nm @ 1250-4000rpm350Nm @ 1400-3400rpm350Nm @ 1200-4000rpm475Nm @ 2250-5000rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,200 kg1,500 kg1,800 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2015Jan 2016Apr 2014Apr 2014
Compare all 6 Mercedes-Benz GLA-Class X156 (2014-2021)
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.