??!
5 photos
Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253

Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253 (2015-2020)

Also referred to as: Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253 2019 and Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253 2021. GLC 250, GLC 250 d, GLC 43, etc...
3.6 from 25 reviews

Reviews

3.6

25 reviews
5
(10)
4
(6)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(5)
  • Build Quality
    4.1 (11)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (9)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (10)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.7 (10)
  • Handling
    3.5 (11)
  • Braking
    4.7 (10)
  • Suspension
    3.1 (11)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.6 (10)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.6 (11)
  • Interior Design
    4.7 (11)
  • Boot Size
    4.1 (11)
  • Features
    4.5 (10)
  • Comfort
    3.6 (11)
Previous
Next
Ron

RonSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Front wheels crabbing, excess wear on tyres

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ian L

Ian LGarran 2605, ACT

Comments on tyre costs and crabbing on full lock

published

I recently purchased a 2017 GLC250 wagon in excellent condition, with 50,000 km on clock. My pre-purchase research had alerted me to the front wheel “crabbing” issues, which mean the run flat tyres have to be replaced frequently at great cost. My car had the steering problem fixed by getting new steering knuckles fitted under warranty, after the first owner argued long and hard; it appears to be mainly a RHD issue reflecting the very short steering links on RH side. Both tyre wear and driving enjoyment improved markedly. The air control suspension on my car contributes to its good ride and handling.
On high tyre costs, I have found there are quality 255/45/20 run flats available in the high $300s.

Purchased in May 2020.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Geoff Bertram

Geoff BertramSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Wheel juddering engineering fault & excessive tyre wear

published

Purchased in May 2017 at Mercedes-Benz Dealers for A$108,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Greg Q

Greg QSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

What a triumph of style over substance. POS.

published

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Handling
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sheik

SheikMaroubra

  • 21 reviews

As soon as warranty finished auxiliary battery died

published

I have been loving this car and enjoying for last 3 years. Loved everything except the wheel juddering which Mercedes completely refused to acknowledge. Right after 3 years and 1 week auxiliary battery dies .costing me $600 to fix. I have requested Peter Warran to help me and lodge a warranty claim they have refused. I have sent a message to Mercedes Facebook looks like they are considering to give me a refund. It’s been 3 weeks and I am yet to receive any communication about it. Update I have received a refund .Shop was shocking but head office helped me

Purchased in January 2017 at Peter Warran for A$90,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Good lord

Good lord

  • 4 reviews

Money’s worth?

published

Beautiful car inside out,but hate the car without the gear stick and it is soo bumpy,meaning the ride is actually terrible on slightest road bumps.
And yes I have also experienced Tyre skipping on full turns.
If you are used to a gear stick then you will find yourself looking for it evertime !!

Purchased in March 2016 for A$83,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers
Ian

IanSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Prefect mid size SUV

published

GLC 250d is now just over 3 years old and covered nearly 75,000kms. Apart from a faulty left headlight which was rectified under warranty, been a great car: very comfortable, excellent safety features, handles especially in sport mode and still looks brand new. Did upgrade the stereo with Focal speakers and change tyres to non run flat. Will buy again when redesign model is released probably in 2020.

However, word of caution. Not all dealers give good ongoing service. Now take mine back to Peter Warren Warrick.

Purchased in April 2016 for A$75,000.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
John

JohnGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Tyre skipping severe

published

Best car ever is I did not have to turn... Round abouts or tight turns serious tyre skipping. It feels dangerous, very loud and not fun to drive. What should be my dream car is definitely the worse car I have ever driven. Mercedes is try to pass this off as "characteristics of the car", NO Mercedes its called defective. As I said big shame as the rest of the car is really nice...Very sad!

Purchased in June 2019 at Berwick Motor Group.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Great Car, with Plenty to Give !!

published

Just traded from a BMW X5 to this Sports 350D turbo diesel. Smaller size wise but plenty of added features, smooth to drive and has that added grunt when you need it. The left hand turning knuckles needed changing to fix the excessive left side tyre wear, which Mercedes covered as part of the warranty, free of charge. Hoping, to continue having it for a little while longer.

Purchased in April 2018 at Mercedes-Benz Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Hannah vu

Hannah vuIllawarra, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Best car to drive but expensive maintainance

published

The best car to drive, so easy to drive and always feel safe on it. Only a bit expensive for service and maintenance , especially the tyres, because it’s flat run, cost us 800 each tyre every time we change

Purchased in November 2018 at Wollongong for A$85,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Rob

RobGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Tyre skipping

published

Bought the GLC63s in October last year
All good until the front tyres started to wear 8000km. Now cold and wet in Melbourne can’t even drive it around roundabouts and turn in to streets with out tyre skipping really bad. Mercedes don’t want to know about it.

Purchased in October 2018.

Year2018
Don51

Don51Sydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews

Great car to drive

published

I purchased this SUV a a replacement for my previous one.
This car is a pleasure to drive.
The interior is very stylish and comfortable.
I often drive to Sydney on the M1 and always arrive relaxed.
I would recommend a GLC to anyone wanting a great SUV in the future.

BadgeGLC250
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018
DriveAWD
Helix

Helix

  • 2 reviews

Severe Tyre Skipping....

published

Great car, however....
The car has developed after only 5000km a severe tyre skipping, after only 8000km the dealer told me the tyres are worn and I should change it. The skipping is so bad, that passenger feel unsafe and people turn heads. The tyre skipping happens when you steer sharp and at low speeds, for example into a parking lot. Mercedes says it is a characteristic of the car and nothing wrong with it! Not aaceptable for a $120k. GLC43

BadgeGLC43
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Drive4WD
tony

tonySydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

GLC43 perfect allrounder

published

Purchased in March 2017 at Mercedes-Benz Dealers for A$107,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Kanga

KangaSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Love my Car

published

Was never a car person until I purchased this vehicle. Pleasure to drive....9 speed auto does the job in the city don't need anything else. Radar cruise control is one of the better features when on the open road. All the safety warnings you will need.
Bring on my next Merc......

BadgeGLC250
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ella

EllaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Mercedes GLC250 all wheel drive

published

A B200 was replaced by aGLC250. The higher seating position is very comfortable for long drives. The vehicle has a lot of inbuilt safety features including front and rear cameras for safer driving. The GPS is great for navigating and the intelligent lights are excellent as is the air conditioning. The keyless entry is very helpful when shopping. The trunk holds all sorts of things and with seats folded curtain rods and building needs can fit. It is proving to be an excellent choice.

Badge0
LineBlueEFFICIENCY Elegance
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
BadgeGLC250
gamain

gamainNSW, 2360

  • 4 reviews

As good as I could wish for

published
Badge250d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Carlz

Carlz

  • 6 reviews

Great car

published

Car drives well, performance is great. The drive is smooth. We mostly use for City driving and have had no issues. It is a big car, so takes a bit of getting used to when parking. Also doesn't trigger park assist as often as our previous A class.

Very roomy on the inside, which is just what we need. Can fit car seat + 2 adults, though admittedly a but tight. The look and feel of the dash and seats screams luxury.

The only negative for me is no Android auto, even though this is available in other Mercedes cars, just not the GLC.

BadgeGLC250
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017
Breamo

BreamoSydney

  • 66 reviews

The test drive I did.. the front tyre skip

published
BadgeGLC43
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
kwangy

kwangyPerth

  • 5 reviews

German engineering at its best

published

This is the wife's car and she absolutely loves it. Easy car to drive, handles very well for a car of its size. Luxurious in and out, interior is really premium and best in class, easily trumping the Q5, X3, NX200, Discovery Sport in my opinion. Only negative is the GPS which is cumbersome and slow.

BadgeGLC250
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Ian L

Ian Lasked

GLC-Class X253 (2015-2020)

I am in the process of purchasing a MY2017 X253 GLC 250. I am wondering why so many complain about front wheel skipping on turning when the owner of the vehicle I am purchasing complained strenuously to MB and had this problem fixed under warranty. Surely such a reputable company would have rolled this fix out to all cars exhibiting the problem?
Ian L, Canberra

3 answers
Ian
Ian

On my 4 matic model, once the tyres were changed the problem went aware.

Sheik
Sheik

Mercedes Benz does not acknowledge that . So no fix under warranty . Problem becomes bigger in winter for some reason but it is not a huge issue really . This is a fantastic car . I got amg suspension it is very bad quality .when you turn car moves side to side few times .

Ian L
Ian L

Mine has air suspension and I look forward to trying it out when COVID restrictions ease and I can take delivery.

Matt A.

Matt A.asked

GLC-Class X253 GLC 250 d (2015-2020)

I bought an glc250d 2017
Second hand model with 41000ks
I noticed in sports + mode it tends to jolt / jerk when accelerating!
Anyone else have this problem? is it normal?

No answers
Nick O.

Nick O.asked

GLC-Class X253 GLC 250 (2015-2020)

thanks Don so so taking of in 2nd from a stop sign is all normal.

1 answer
Don51
Don51

Yes

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.