??!
5 photos
Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253

Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253 (2015-2019)

Also referred to as: Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253 2018 and Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253 2020. GLC 250 d, GLC 250, GLC 43, etc...
4.0 from 20 reviews

See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
11
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
3

Ian

IanSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Prefect mid size SUV

published

GLC 250d is now just over 3 years old and covered nearly 75,000kms. Apart from a faulty left headlight which was rectified under warranty, been a great car: very comfortable, excellent safety features, handles especially in sport mode and still looks brand new. Did upgrade the stereo with Focal speakers and change tyres to non run flat. Will buy again when redesign model is released probably in 2020.

However, word of caution. Not all dealers give good ongoing service. Now take mine back to Peter Warren Warrick.

Purchased in April 2016 for $75,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

John

JohnGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Tyre skipping severe

published

Best car ever is I did not have to turn... Round abouts or tight turns serious tyre skipping. It feels dangerous, very loud and not fun to drive. What should be my dream car is definitely the worse car I have ever driven. Mercedes is try to pass this off as "characteristics of the car", NO Mercedes its called defective. As I said big shame as the rest of the car is really nice...Very sad!

Purchased in June 2019 at Berwick Motor Group.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Great Car, with Plenty to Give !!

published

Just traded from a BMW X5 to this Sports 350D turbo diesel. Smaller size wise but plenty of added features, smooth to drive and has that added grunt when you need it. The left hand turning knuckles needed changing to fix the excessive left side tyre wear, which Mercedes covered as part of the warranty, free of charge. Hoping, to continue having it for a little while longer.

Purchased in April 2018 at Mercedes-Benz Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Hannah vu

Hannah vuIllawarra, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Best car to drive but expensive maintainance

published

The best car to drive, so easy to drive and always feel safe on it. Only a bit expensive for service and maintenance , especially the tyres, because it’s flat run, cost us 800 each tyre every time we change

Purchased in November 2018 at Wollongong for $85,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Rob

RobGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Tyre skipping

published

Bought the GLC63s in October last year
All good until the front tyres started to wear 8000km. Now cold and wet in Melbourne can’t even drive it around roundabouts and turn in to streets with out tyre skipping really bad. Mercedes don’t want to know about it.

Purchased in October 2018.

Year2018

Don51

Don51Sydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great car to drive

published

I purchased this SUV a a replacement for my previous one.
This car is a pleasure to drive.
The interior is very stylish and comfortable.
I often drive to Sydney on the M1 and always arrive relaxed.
I would recommend a GLC to anyone wanting a great SUV in the future.

BadgeGLC250
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018
DriveAWD

Helix

Helix

  • 2 reviews

Severe Tyre Skipping....

published

Great car, however....
The car has developed after only 5000km a severe tyre skipping, after only 8000km the dealer told me the tyres are worn and I should change it. The skipping is so bad, that passenger feel unsafe and people turn heads. The tyre skipping happens when you steer sharp and at low speeds, for example into a parking lot. Mercedes says it is a characteristic of the car and nothing wrong with it! Not aaceptable for a $120k. GLC43

BadgeGLC43
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Drive4WD

tony

tonySydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

GLC43 perfect allrounder

published

Purchased in March 2017 at Mercedes-Benz Dealers for $107,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Kanga

KangaSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Love my Car

published

Was never a car person until I purchased this vehicle. Pleasure to drive....9 speed auto does the job in the city don't need anything else. Radar cruise control is one of the better features when on the open road. All the safety warnings you will need.
Bring on my next Merc......

BadgeGLC250
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Ella

EllaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Mercedes GLC250 all wheel drive

published

A B200 was replaced by aGLC250. The higher seating position is very comfortable for long drives. The vehicle has a lot of inbuilt safety features including front and rear cameras for safer driving. The GPS is great for navigating and the intelligent lights are excellent as is the air conditioning. The keyless entry is very helpful when shopping. The trunk holds all sorts of things and with seats folded curtain rods and building needs can fit. It is proving to be an excellent choice.

Badge0
LineBlueEFFICIENCY Elegance
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
BadgeGLC250

gamain

gamainNSW, 2360

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

As good as I could wish for

published
Badge250d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Carlz

Carlz

  • 6 reviews

Great car

published

Car drives well, performance is great. The drive is smooth. We mostly use for City driving and have had no issues. It is a big car, so takes a bit of getting used to when parking. Also doesn't trigger park assist as often as our previous A class.

Very roomy on the inside, which is just what we need. Can fit car seat + 2 adults, though admittedly a but tight. The look and feel of the dash and seats screams luxury.

The only negative for me is no Android auto, even though this is available in other Mercedes cars, just not the GLC.

BadgeGLC250
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017

Breamo

BreamoSydney

  • 67 reviews
  • 56 likes

The test drive I did.. the front tyre skip

published
BadgeGLC43
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

kwangy

kwangyPerth

  • 5 reviews

German engineering at its best

published

This is the wife's car and she absolutely loves it. Easy car to drive, handles very well for a car of its size. Luxurious in and out, interior is really premium and best in class, easily trumping the Q5, X3, NX200, Discovery Sport in my opinion. Only negative is the GPS which is cumbersome and slow.

BadgeGLC250
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Anna

Annabrisbane

  • 5 reviews

Had it for 1 year

published

Ordered beginning of last year - had it for just a bit over a year now.
It is very easy to drive. A lot of the new features that I am still learning.
I loved everything about this car except the auto parking system, which can be a little bit scary sometimes

BadgeGLC250
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Andy

AndySydney

Just simply perfect!!

published

Saw it and love it! Ordered on mi May 2017, lucky enough to get it first week of June from Mercedes-Benz Sydney Alexandria (Stephan Werner).
Easy to drive, lots of power, luxury feels in and out. I got it fully option ( COMAND pack, seat comfort, vision, AMG and night pack). Very smooth, very good driving around in the city, took a drive to Goulburn (200km out of Sydney) and tried the Distronic Plus which the car drive and stop by it self. The only thing is the fuel consumption is around 10-11/100km, but again with that sort of car you will expect that. Love it!

BadgeGLC250
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Sheik

SheikMaroubra

  • 19 reviews
  • 10 likes

Updating review after 2 years of use

published

Purchased in June 2016 at Peter Warren Automotive.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Will

WillSydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 11 likes

Mercedes benz GLC 250d 2016

published
BadgeGLC250
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016

Anthony.W

Anthony.W

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Almost perfect

published
BadgeGLC250
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016

asulikeit

asulikeitSYDNEY

  • 9 reviews
  • 18 likes

Beautifully finished and well appointed

published
BadgeGLC250
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016

Questions & Answers

Matt A.

Matt A.asked

I bought an glc250d 2017
Second hand model with 41000ks
I noticed in sports + mode it tends to jolt / jerk when accelerating!
Anyone else have this problem? is it normal?

No answers

Nick O.

Nick O.asked

thanks Don so so taking of in 2nd from a stop sign is all normal.

1 answer
Don51
Don51

Yes


Nick O.

Nick O.asked

so depending on how i drive this car.It picks up the driving pattern and selects the most appropiate take of gear. can someone please explain or confirm thanks

1 answer
Don51
Don51

Yes, it also had paddles so you can drive it has a manual


Get an answer from our members and Mercedes-Benz representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.