5 photos
Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253

Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253

GLC 250, GLC 250 d, GLC 43, etc... (See All)
3.6 from 33 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Mercedes-Benz? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.1 (17)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (18)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (16)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (17)
  • Braking
    4.4 (16)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.6 (16)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (16)
  • Suspension
    3.5 (18)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.7 (18)
  • Handling
    3.6 (18)
  • Interior Design
    4.6 (18)
  • Boot Size
    3.9 (18)
  • Comfort
    3.7 (18)
  • Features
    4.4 (17)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Waz
WazPerth, WA

Luv this one

published

Bought a Merc Certified. Very nice and comfortable drive. Would have been perfect comfort with the air suspension but I specifically don't want that feature (had GL previously with that).
Fantastic consumption. A touch of class. I read people complained about the tyres shudder. I might had that rare occasions when reversing with steering to the limit. Front right. But after changing my tyres from Pirelli Scorpion (run flat) to Falken (non run flat), had never had that issue since.

Purchased in October 2016.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
IanL
IanLGarran 2605, ACT
  • 6 reviews

Mercedes GLC is great luxury SUV

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in May 2020 for $51,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Not an M-B fan
Not an M-B fanSouthwest, VIC

2nd biggest piece of crap to wear the 3 pointed star

published

Unfortunately, our daily driver which needs to be left in the garage.
Terrible front tyre skip which M-B claims is a feature? I have read the brochure and can’t find any information on “this feature”. Local dealer claimed that front tyres were wearing ok at 9400 kms and at 11000 kms front tyres are scrubbed out. If you are considering buying one of these vehicles make sure that you drive it for an extended period. Like days, not hours.
Was offered an X3 M40 for $10,000 less and should’ve taken up the offer.
Also, be aware that you can’t fit a set of golf clubs in the boot sideways. You will need to fold down one of the rear seats.

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Faye
FayeGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Over rated

published

The GLC 250 has severe wheel juddering which made for a very uncomfortable drive. Mercedes refused to acknowledge or accept any responsibility for the fact that this could all be avoided if they put on the correct tyres from the start instead of the soft compound tyre they come with. I have to say I will NEVER buy another Mercedes benz absolutely no value for the money I spent.

Purchased in December 2017 for $94,000.

Value for Money
2/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
George
GeorgeSydney
  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

Brace yourself.

published

Love the car - now 4 years old but: after 6mths had to urgently replace the run-flat tire. Only one matching replacement could be found in the whole of Australia. Seriously. From Queensland as it happened.
Now computer "Control" system gone haywire. Easy fix. $10,000 for a new set up or, two weeks wait and $5,000 for a reconditioned unit via Singapore. Enjoy.

Purchased in September 2016.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jim
Jim
  • 2 reviews

Great driving car

published

This vehicle is approaching 3 years old and has travelled 95000 km. We are on the second set of tyres (first set at 80000 km) and front brake pads at 60000 km. 80% of our driving is country driving. Current life fuel economy is at 7.3 litres per 100 km. Has been serviced every 25000 km from new at Bunbury at more than reasonable costs when compared to my Volvo and Land Rover vehicles in the past. This vehicle is my third Merc although the first GLC.

Purchased in October 2017.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Miklysha
MiklyshaSydney, NSW
  • 11 reviews
  • 15 likes

GLC63s 2018 - Best Car Ever!

published
Miklysha
Miklysha
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
Chris M.
Chris M.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Factor in new tyres yearly (even at moderate kilometres)

published

Pathetic tyre shuddering on the GLC43. First set were replaced under warranty (in summer) so felt good for a while. Then winter kicked in and they were exactly the same.

Purchased in December 2016.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ron
RonSydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Front wheels crabbing, excess wear on tyres

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ian L
Ian LGarran 2605, ACT

Comments on tyre costs and crabbing on full lock

published

I recently purchased a 2017 GLC250 wagon in excellent condition, with 50,000 km on clock. My pre-purchase research had alerted me to the front wheel “crabbing” issues, which mean the run flat tyres have to be replaced frequently at great cost. My car had the steering problem fixed by getting new steering knuckles fitted under warranty, after the first owner argued long and hard; it appears to be mainly a RHD issue reflecting the very short steering links on RH side. Both tyre wear and driving enjoyment improved markedly. The air control suspension on my car contributes to its good ride and handling.
On high tyre costs, I have found there are quality 255/45/20 run flats available in the high $300s.

Purchased in May 2020.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Geoff Bertram
Geoff BertramSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Wheel juddering engineering fault & excessive tyre wear

published

Purchased in May 2017 at Mercedes-Benz Dealers for $108,000.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Greg Q
Greg QSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

What a triumph of style over substance. POS.

published

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sheik
SheikMaroubra
  • 24 reviews
  • 12 likes

As soon as warranty finished auxiliary battery died

published

I have been loving this car and enjoying for last 3 years. Loved everything except the wheel juddering which Mercedes completely refused to acknowledge. Right after 3 years and 1 week auxiliary battery dies .costing me $600 to fix. I have requested Peter Warran to help me and lodge a warranty claim they have refused. I have sent a message to Mercedes Facebook looks like they are considering to give me a refund. It’s been 3 weeks and I am yet to receive any communication about it. Update I have received a refund .Shop was shocking but head office helped me

Purchased in January 2017 at Peter Warran for $90,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Good lord
Good lord
  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Money’s worth?

published

Beautiful car inside out,but hate the car without the gear stick and it is soo bumpy,meaning the ride is actually terrible on slightest road bumps.
And yes I have also experienced Tyre skipping on full turns.
If you are used to a gear stick then you will find yourself looking for it evertime !!

Purchased in March 2016 for $83,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ian
IanSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Prefect mid size SUV

published

GLC 250d is now just over 3 years old and covered nearly 75,000kms. Apart from a faulty left headlight which was rectified under warranty, been a great car: very comfortable, excellent safety features, handles especially in sport mode and still looks brand new. Did upgrade the stereo with Focal speakers and change tyres to non run flat. Will buy again when redesign model is released probably in 2020.

However, word of caution. Not all dealers give good ongoing service. Now take mine back to Peter Warren Warrick.

Purchased in April 2016 for $75,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

ronn64
ronn64asked
GLC-Class X253

Just recently purchased glc250 2019 but glc43 radiator grille look nicer than mine. Can i change my glc250 radiator grille with glc43 , does it need modification and will it revoked my glc250 warranty?

1 answer
Miklysha
Miklysha
Emma
Emmaasked
GLC-Class X253

Does anyone have any issues with car rolling back? When I’m on a hill in drive and come to a full stop without doing the foot brake.. the car rolls back.. my car is 2019gcl 200..

No answers
Ian L
Ian Lasked
GLC-Class X253

I am in the process of purchasing a MY2017 X253 GLC 250. I am wondering why so many complain about front wheel skipping on turning when the owner of the vehicle I am purchasing complained strenuously to MB and had this problem fixed under warranty. Surely such a reputable company would have rolled this fix out to all cars exhibiting the problem?
Ian L, Canberra

3 answers
Ian
Ian

On my 4 matic model, once the tyres were changed the problem went aware.

Sheik
Sheik
Ian L
Ian L

Mine has air suspension and I look forward to trying it out when COVID restrictions ease and I can take delivery.

See all Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253 questions

Get an answer from our members

Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253

Details

Compare all 7 Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253
Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253 GLC 200
  • Discontinued

Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253 GLC 200

No reviews yet
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $68,492.00$79,246.00$81,677.00$100,242.00
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolDieselDiesel
Wheels19" Alloy20" Alloy20" Alloy20" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.2 L/100km7.2 L/100km5.7 L/100km6.3 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 66 L66 L66 L66 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.1L6 Cylinder 3.0L
Max Power135kW @ 5500rpm155kW @ 5500rpm150kW @ 3800rpm190kW @ 3400rpm
Max Torque300Nm @ 1200-4000rpm350Nm @ 1200-4000rpm500Nm @ 1600-1800rpm620Nm @ 1600-2400rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Compare all 7 Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.