??!
5 photos
Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253

Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253 (2015-2021)

Also referred to as: Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253 2020 and Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253 2022. GLC 250, GLC 250 d, GLC 43, etc...
3.5 from 31 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (15)
  • Value for Money
    3.1 (16)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (14)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (15)
  • Braking
    4.4 (14)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.6 (14)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (14)
  • Suspension
    3.4 (16)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.6 (16)
  • Handling
    3.5 (16)
  • Interior Design
    4.5 (16)
  • Boot Size
    3.9 (16)
  • Comfort
    3.6 (16)
  • Features
    4.3 (15)
Previous
Next
Not an M-B fan

Not an M-B fanSouthwest, VIC

2nd biggest piece of crap to wear the 3 pointed star

published

Unfortunately, our daily driver which needs to be left in the garage.
Terrible front tyre skip which M-B claims is a feature? I have read the brochure and can’t find any information on “this feature”. Local dealer claimed that front tyres were wearing ok at 9400 kms and at 11000 kms front tyres are scrubbed out. If you are considering buying one of these vehicles make sure that you drive it for an extended period. Like days, not hours.
Was offered an X3 M40 for $10,000 less and should’ve taken up the offer.
Also, be aware that you can’t fit a set of golf clubs in the boot sideways. You will need to fold down one of the rear seats.

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Faye

FayeGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Over rated

published

The GLC 250 has severe wheel juddering which made for a very uncomfortable drive. Mercedes refused to acknowledge or accept any responsibility for the fact that this could all be avoided if they put on the correct tyres from the start instead of the soft compound tyre they come with. I have to say I will NEVER buy another Mercedes benz absolutely no value for the money I spent.

Purchased in December 2017 for $94,000.00.

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
George

GeorgeSydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Brace yourself.

published

Love the car - now 4 years old but: after 6mths had to urgently replace the run-flat tire. Only one matching replacement could be found in the whole of Australia. Seriously. From Queensland as it happened.
Now computer "Control" system gone haywire. Easy fix. $10,000 for a new set up or, two weeks wait and $5,000 for a reconditioned unit via Singapore. Enjoy.

Purchased in September 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jim

Jim

  • 2 reviews

Great driving car

published

This vehicle is approaching 3 years old and has travelled 95000 km. We are on the second set of tyres (first set at 80000 km) and front brake pads at 60000 km. 80% of our driving is country driving. Current life fuel economy is at 7.3 litres per 100 km. Has been serviced every 25000 km from new at Bunbury at more than reasonable costs when compared to my Volvo and Land Rover vehicles in the past. This vehicle is my third Merc although the first GLC.

Purchased in October 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Miklysha

MiklyshaSydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 14 likes

GLC63s 2018 - Best Car Ever!

published
1 comment
Miklysha
Miklysha
Chris M.

Chris M.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Factor in new tyres yearly (even at moderate kilometres)

published

Pathetic tyre shuddering on the GLC43. First set were replaced under warranty (in summer) so felt good for a while. Then winter kicked in and they were exactly the same.

Purchased in December 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Ron

RonSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Front wheels crabbing, excess wear on tyres

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Ian L

Ian LGarran 2605, ACT

Comments on tyre costs and crabbing on full lock

published

I recently purchased a 2017 GLC250 wagon in excellent condition, with 50,000 km on clock. My pre-purchase research had alerted me to the front wheel “crabbing” issues, which mean the run flat tyres have to be replaced frequently at great cost. My car had the steering problem fixed by getting new steering knuckles fitted under warranty, after the first owner argued long and hard; it appears to be mainly a RHD issue reflecting the very short steering links on RH side. Both tyre wear and driving enjoyment improved markedly. The air control suspension on my car contributes to its good ride and handling.
On high tyre costs, I have found there are quality 255/45/20 run flats available in the high $300s.

Purchased in May 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Geoff Bertram

Geoff BertramSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Wheel juddering engineering fault & excessive tyre wear

published

Purchased in May 2017 at Mercedes-Benz Dealers for $108,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Greg Q

Greg QSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

What a triumph of style over substance. POS.

published

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Sheik

SheikMaroubra

  • 23 reviews
  • 10 likes

As soon as warranty finished auxiliary battery died

published

I have been loving this car and enjoying for last 3 years. Loved everything except the wheel juddering which Mercedes completely refused to acknowledge. Right after 3 years and 1 week auxiliary battery dies .costing me $600 to fix. I have requested Peter Warran to help me and lodge a warranty claim they have refused. I have sent a message to Mercedes Facebook looks like they are considering to give me a refund. It’s been 3 weeks and I am yet to receive any communication about it. Update I have received a refund .Shop was shocking but head office helped me

Purchased in January 2017 at Peter Warran for $90,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Good lord

Good lord

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Money’s worth?

published

Beautiful car inside out,but hate the car without the gear stick and it is soo bumpy,meaning the ride is actually terrible on slightest road bumps.
And yes I have also experienced Tyre skipping on full turns.
If you are used to a gear stick then you will find yourself looking for it evertime !!

Purchased in March 2016 for $83,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Ian

IanSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Prefect mid size SUV

published

GLC 250d is now just over 3 years old and covered nearly 75,000kms. Apart from a faulty left headlight which was rectified under warranty, been a great car: very comfortable, excellent safety features, handles especially in sport mode and still looks brand new. Did upgrade the stereo with Focal speakers and change tyres to non run flat. Will buy again when redesign model is released probably in 2020.

However, word of caution. Not all dealers give good ongoing service. Now take mine back to Peter Warren Warrick.

Purchased in April 2016 for $75,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
John

JohnGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Tyre skipping severe

published

Best car ever is I did not have to turn... Round abouts or tight turns serious tyre skipping. It feels dangerous, very loud and not fun to drive. What should be my dream car is definitely the worse car I have ever driven. Mercedes is try to pass this off as "characteristics of the car", NO Mercedes its called defective. As I said big shame as the rest of the car is really nice...Very sad!

Purchased in June 2019 at Berwick Motor Group.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

Great Car, with Plenty to Give !!

published

Just traded from a BMW X5 to this Sports 350D turbo diesel. Smaller size wise but plenty of added features, smooth to drive and has that added grunt when you need it. The left hand turning knuckles needed changing to fix the excessive left side tyre wear, which Mercedes covered as part of the warranty, free of charge. Hoping, to continue having it for a little while longer.

Purchased in April 2018 at Mercedes-Benz Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Hannah vu

Hannah vuIllawarra, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Best car to drive but expensive maintainance

published

The best car to drive, so easy to drive and always feel safe on it. Only a bit expensive for service and maintenance , especially the tyres, because it’s flat run, cost us 800 each tyre every time we change

Purchased in November 2018 at Wollongong for $85,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Rob

RobGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Tyre skipping

published

Bought the GLC63s in October last year
All good until the front tyres started to wear 8000km. Now cold and wet in Melbourne can’t even drive it around roundabouts and turn in to streets with out tyre skipping really bad. Mercedes don’t want to know about it.

Purchased in October 2018.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Year2018
Don51

Don51Sydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great car to drive

published

I purchased this SUV a a replacement for my previous one.
This car is a pleasure to drive.
The interior is very stylish and comfortable.
I often drive to Sydney on the M1 and always arrive relaxed.
I would recommend a GLC to anyone wanting a great SUV in the future.

BadgeGLC250
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018
DriveAWD
Helix

Helix

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Severe Tyre Skipping....

published

Great car, however....
The car has developed after only 5000km a severe tyre skipping, after only 8000km the dealer told me the tyres are worn and I should change it. The skipping is so bad, that passenger feel unsafe and people turn heads. The tyre skipping happens when you steer sharp and at low speeds, for example into a parking lot. Mercedes says it is a characteristic of the car and nothing wrong with it! Not aaceptable for a $120k. GLC43

BadgeGLC43
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2017
Drive4WD
tony

tonySydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

GLC43 perfect allrounder

published

Purchased in March 2017 at Mercedes-Benz Dealers for $107,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

ronn64

ronn64asked

GLC-Class X253 (2015-2021)

Just recently purchased glc250 2019 but glc43 radiator grille look nicer than mine. Can i change my glc250 radiator grille with glc43 , does it need modification and will it revoked my glc250 warranty?

1 answer
Miklysha
Miklysha

In my understanding these grilles are not interchangeable, at least that's what my dealer told me. But you can get one from a secondary market, although it won't be a native MB product, it will look identical. I thought of changing it on my C43 (to panamericana style) but for the aforementioned reasons decided that it's too much risk, as after all you are messing with a car and it's not guaranteed that everything will work as expected as the part is not from MB.

I was going to order my new grille from “CHROMETEC. GmbH” - a German company. You can search for them online. They have a good support team who can tell you which grille to order.

Emma

Emmaasked

GLC-Class X253 (2015-2021)

Does anyone have any issues with car rolling back? When I’m on a hill in drive and come to a full stop without doing the foot brake.. the car rolls back.. my car is 2019gcl 200..

No answers
Ian L

Ian Lasked

GLC-Class X253 (2015-2021)

I am in the process of purchasing a MY2017 X253 GLC 250. I am wondering why so many complain about front wheel skipping on turning when the owner of the vehicle I am purchasing complained strenuously to MB and had this problem fixed under warranty. Surely such a reputable company would have rolled this fix out to all cars exhibiting the problem?
Ian L, Canberra

3 answers
Ian
Ian

On my 4 matic model, once the tyres were changed the problem went aware.

Sheik
Sheik

Mercedes Benz does not acknowledge that . So no fix under warranty . Problem becomes bigger in winter for some reason but it is not a huge issue really . This is a fantastic car . I got amg suspension it is very bad quality .when you turn car moves side to side few times .

Ian L
Ian L

Mine has air suspension and I look forward to trying it out when COVID restrictions ease and I can take delivery.

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 7 Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253 (2015-2021)
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $68,492$79,246$81,677$100,242
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolDieselDiesel
Wheels19" Alloy20" Alloy20" Alloy20" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.2 L/100km7.2 L/100km5.7 L/100km6.3 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 66 L66 L66 L66 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.1L6 Cylinder 3.0L
Max Power135kW @ 5500rpm155kW @ 5500rpm150kW @ 3800rpm190kW @ 3400rpm
Max Torque300Nm @ 1200-4000rpm350Nm @ 1200-4000rpm500Nm @ 1600-1800rpm620Nm @ 1600-2400rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Safety Features
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
Extra Features
  • 360° Camera
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • USB Port
  • 360° Camera
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • USB Port
  • 360° Camera
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • USB Port
  • 360° Camera
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateSept 2018Sept 2015Sept 2015Jan 2017
Compare all 7 Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253 (2015-2021)

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.