?
? !
5 photos
Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253

Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253

GLC 250, GLC 250 d, GLC 43, etc...
3.5 from 31 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.3 (7)
  • Value for Money
    2.4 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (6)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (6)
  • Braking
    4.3 (6)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.8 (6)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.7 (6)
  • Suspension
    3.4 (7)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.0 (7)
  • Handling
    2.7 (7)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (7)
  • Boot Size
    3.7 (7)
  • Comfort
    3.0 (7)
  • Features
    3.9 (7)
Previous
Next
Not an M-B fan

Not an M-B fanSouthwest, VIC

2nd biggest piece of crap to wear the 3 pointed star

published

Unfortunately, our daily driver which needs to be left in the garage.
Terrible front tyre skip which M-B claims is a feature? I have read the brochure and can’t find any information on “this feature”. Local dealer claimed that front tyres were wearing ok at 9400 kms and at 11000 kms front tyres are scrubbed out. If you are considering buying one of these vehicles make sure that you drive it for an extended period. Like days, not hours.
Was offered an X3 M40 for $10,000 less and should’ve taken up the offer.
Also, be aware that you can’t fit a set of golf clubs in the boot sideways. You will need to fold down one of the rear seats.

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
George

GeorgeSydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Brace yourself.

published

Love the car - now 4 years old but: after 6mths had to urgently replace the run-flat tire. Only one matching replacement could be found in the whole of Australia. Seriously. From Queensland as it happened.
Now computer "Control" system gone haywire. Easy fix. $10,000 for a new set up or, two weeks wait and $5,000 for a reconditioned unit via Singapore. Enjoy.

Purchased in September 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ron

RonSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Front wheels crabbing, excess wear on tyres

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ian L

Ian LGarran 2605, ACT

Comments on tyre costs and crabbing on full lock

published

I recently purchased a 2017 GLC250 wagon in excellent condition, with 50,000 km on clock. My pre-purchase research had alerted me to the front wheel “crabbing” issues, which mean the run flat tyres have to be replaced frequently at great cost. My car had the steering problem fixed by getting new steering knuckles fitted under warranty, after the first owner argued long and hard; it appears to be mainly a RHD issue reflecting the very short steering links on RH side. Both tyre wear and driving enjoyment improved markedly. The air control suspension on my car contributes to its good ride and handling.
On high tyre costs, I have found there are quality 255/45/20 run flats available in the high $300s.

Purchased in May 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Greg Q

Greg QSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

What a triumph of style over substance. POS.

published

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
John

JohnGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Tyre skipping severe

published

Best car ever is I did not have to turn... Round abouts or tight turns serious tyre skipping. It feels dangerous, very loud and not fun to drive. What should be my dream car is definitely the worse car I have ever driven. Mercedes is try to pass this off as "characteristics of the car", NO Mercedes its called defective. As I said big shame as the rest of the car is really nice...Very sad!

Purchased in June 2019 at Berwick Motor Group.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Great Car, with Plenty to Give !!

published

Just traded from a BMW X5 to this Sports 350D turbo diesel. Smaller size wise but plenty of added features, smooth to drive and has that added grunt when you need it. The left hand turning knuckles needed changing to fix the excessive left side tyre wear, which Mercedes covered as part of the warranty, free of charge. Hoping, to continue having it for a little while longer.

Purchased in April 2018 at Mercedes-Benz Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Helix

Helix

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Severe Tyre Skipping....

published

Great car, however....
The car has developed after only 5000km a severe tyre skipping, after only 8000km the dealer told me the tyres are worn and I should change it. The skipping is so bad, that passenger feel unsafe and people turn heads. The tyre skipping happens when you steer sharp and at low speeds, for example into a parking lot. Mercedes says it is a characteristic of the car and nothing wrong with it! Not aaceptable for a $120k. GLC43

BadgeGLC43
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2017
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Carlz

Carlz

  • 6 reviews

Great car

published

Car drives well, performance is great. The drive is smooth. We mostly use for City driving and have had no issues. It is a big car, so takes a bit of getting used to when parking. Also doesn't trigger park assist as often as our previous A class.

Very roomy on the inside, which is just what we need. Can fit car seat + 2 adults, though admittedly a but tight. The look and feel of the dash and seats screams luxury.

The only negative for me is no Android auto, even though this is available in other Mercedes cars, just not the GLC.

BadgeGLC250
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Breamo

BreamoSydney

  • 66 reviews
  • 56 likes

The test drive I did.. the front tyre skip

published
BadgeGLC43
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
kwangy

kwangyPerth

  • 5 reviews

German engineering at its best

published

This is the wife's car and she absolutely loves it. Easy car to drive, handles very well for a car of its size. Luxurious in and out, interior is really premium and best in class, easily trumping the Q5, X3, NX200, Discovery Sport in my opinion. Only negative is the GPS which is cumbersome and slow.

BadgeGLC250
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Anna

Annabrisbane

  • 5 reviews

Had it for 1 year

published

Ordered beginning of last year - had it for just a bit over a year now.
It is very easy to drive. A lot of the new features that I am still learning.
I loved everything about this car except the auto parking system, which can be a little bit scary sometimes

BadgeGLC250
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
asulikeit

asulikeitSYDNEY

  • 11 reviews
  • 21 likes

Beautifully finished and well appointed

published
BadgeGLC250
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253 reviews

Questions & Answers

ronn64

ronn64asked

GLC-Class X253

Just recently purchased glc250 2019 but glc43 radiator grille look nicer than mine. Can i change my glc250 radiator grille with glc43 , does it need modification and will it revoked my glc250 warranty?

1 answer
Miklysha
Miklysha

In my understanding these grilles are not interchangeable, at least that's what my dealer told me. But you can get one from a secondary market, although it won't be a native MB product, it will look identical. I thought of changing it on my C43 (to panamericana style) but for the aforementioned reasons decided that it's too much risk, as after all you are messing with a car and it's not guaranteed that everything will work as expected as the part is not from MB.

I was going to order my new grille from “CHROMETEC. GmbH” - a German company. You can search for them online. They have a good support team who can tell you which grille to order.

Emma

Emmaasked

GLC-Class X253

Does anyone have any issues with car rolling back? When I’m on a hill in drive and come to a full stop without doing the foot brake.. the car rolls back.. my car is 2019gcl 200..

No answers
Ian L

Ian Lasked

GLC-Class X253

I am in the process of purchasing a MY2017 X253 GLC 250. I am wondering why so many complain about front wheel skipping on turning when the owner of the vehicle I am purchasing complained strenuously to MB and had this problem fixed under warranty. Surely such a reputable company would have rolled this fix out to all cars exhibiting the problem?
Ian L, Canberra

3 answers
Ian
Ian

On my 4 matic model, once the tyres were changed the problem went aware.

Sheik
Sheik

Mercedes Benz does not acknowledge that . So no fix under warranty . Problem becomes bigger in winter for some reason but it is not a huge issue really . This is a fantastic car . I got amg suspension it is very bad quality .when you turn car moves side to side few times .

Ian L
Ian L

Mine has air suspension and I look forward to trying it out when COVID restrictions ease and I can take delivery.

See all Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253 questions

Get an answer from our members

Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253

Details

Compare all 7 Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253
Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253 GLC 200
  • Discontinued

Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253 GLC 200

No reviews yet
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $68,492$79,246$81,677$100,242
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolDieselDiesel
Wheels19" Alloy20" Alloy20" Alloy20" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.2 L/100km7.2 L/100km5.7 L/100km6.3 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 66 L66 L66 L66 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.1L6 Cylinder 3.0L
Max Power135kW @ 5500rpm155kW @ 5500rpm150kW @ 3800rpm190kW @ 3400rpm
Max Torque300Nm @ 1200-4000rpm350Nm @ 1200-4000rpm500Nm @ 1600-1800rpm620Nm @ 1600-2400rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Compare all 7 Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class X253

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

See all Midsize / Medium SUVs

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.