??!
11 photos
Mercedes-Benz GLE-Class

Mercedes-Benz GLE-Class

M-Class W164, GLE-Class W166, GLE-Class C292, etc...
4.0 from 23 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.4 (7)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (7)
  • Noise Level
    4.6 (7)
  • Braking
    4.3 (6)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (6)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (6)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (6)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.7 (6)
  • Handling
    4.3 (6)
  • Interior Design
    4.7 (6)
  • Boot Size
    4.8 (6)
  • Comfort
    4.8 (6)
  • Features
    4.7 (6)
Previous
Next
Victor S

Victor SSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Great car except foir a couple of real bad points!!

published

I have a 2011 ML 300 with 130,000km with 20" alloys, sidestep and these upgrades. I would say the ride in this vehicle may be the best of any I have been in, it is beyond comfortable, The quality of the interior and exterior and fittings and materials are excellent and nothing has broken or torn or really worn. The car is a great cruiser at all speeds. The bad news is the poor acceleration due to turbo lag especially from stop and is an accident waiting to happen. Can't overemphasise how pathetic it is. The other poor point is the brakes. They do stop but the pedal travel is way too long and cause mistrust. My wife loves this car. As good as the ride and crusing in it is, I can't handle the poor acceleration response.

Purchased in September 2012 at Centenary Mercedes benz Macgregor for $59,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
MattCBR

MattCBRCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

The best car I have ever owned

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Andries d.

Andries d.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Smelly aircon

published

Hi,

Same issue, well known with a lot of models, even new GLE has several issues, 40 000 of them parked over the world and not being delivered with numerous build quality issues that has to be fixed first, production at factory in Alabama frozen at this time.

I know my SUV that I ordered for delivery 2020 has been delayed indefinitely.

My current car has smelly aircon, solved by replacing all aircon filters every year, does not smell anymore, have done 160 000km

Lovely cars but concerned about issues with the new one, possibly getting X5

Purchased in January 2016 at Mercedes-Benz Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Mercedes-Benz GLE-Class compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Andrew

AndrewDarling Downs, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • 7 likes

A great vehicle but keep up to date with recalls & service and theres a lot on line about these vehicles (settings etc)

published

There is a recall for the ACS hydraulic reservoir located front left with Bonnet open ( stability control with air suspension ) but is more to it than replacing dipstick as air would have got into the system and therefor like any hydraulic system needs to be bled out and then also seals checked ..push dealer fix properly
Is worth the effort to get to know your MB and the oil and filter types and codes to do some basic maintenance yourself if you inclined and off to a dealer once a year .. unless you flushed with cash the dealer can do all ..!

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Darryl M.

Darryl M.Perth, WA

Great car, pity about the smell.

published

Had the smelly aircon, Dealer said it was not their problem. I took out the internal filters and let the windows down when parked up in garage. This smell only happens in summer, otherwise I love this car.

Purchased in April 2018 for $85,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
IntegrityIsFree

IntegrityIsFreeGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Too many product failures.

published

Purchased in August 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
IntegrityIsFree
IntegrityIsFree

Clarification: The warranty period was 3 years. The problems started to occur just outside of the 3 year time frame.

garyradley

garyradleyAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Best car I have ever owned.

published
BadgeML250
LineBlueTEC
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015
Drive4WD
Tom

TomSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Awesome family car!

published

Honestly the nicest SUV to drive, driven everyday with two kids under 5.
Really fuel efficient, even around town. Purchased as a used vehicle from a Mercedes-Benz dealership. The 2 year warranty was a bonus. The only issue we have had was the AdBlue heating element. Luckily warranty covered the costs. Only negative is the brakes and tyres ware quicker than normal, but it’s expected with SUV’s.
Holding out for the new GLE with the third row option. Recommended highly for someone in the market for a family vehicle, super safe and drives amazingly.

BadgeML250
LineBlueEFFICIENCY AMG Sports
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
DriveAWD
Liem

LiemBrisbane

Disappointing and problem prone car

published
BadgeGLE 250 d 4MATIC
LineD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Mercedes-Benz GLE-Class compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peter

PeterRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great car all round, including brilliant for caravan towing

published
BadgeML350
LineDesigno
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2014
_shane

_shaneGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 22 reviews
  • 17 likes

A great car now even better

published

We had the previous ML250 which was a great car, it had a few warranty issues that were fixed outside of warranty (thank you Mercedes). The GLE 2017 is noticeably smoother and seems more powerful down the lower gears thanks to the new 9 speed transmission. The updates with tech and safety which include collision alert and lane departure are a major improvement. As always, the fit and finish, quality carpets and plastics and thick paint are what you pay for. You may pay more upfront but this is reflected in resale. All these attributes is what keeps consumers coming back.

BadgeGLE 250 d 4MATIC
LineBlueTEC
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Peter L.

Peter L.Brisbane

  • 2 reviews

Fantastic AWD!

published

Purchased in May 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Peter L.
Peter L.
M price

M price

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car would buy again

published

We had the ml amg for around three years till we trade in.
We found the car perfect for our family of 4.
Performance amazing and the handling to match.
Fuel little heavy but as expected.
We always felt safe and secure in the ml and that's why we purchased.
Should of had a touch screen as others car had but didn't.
The heated seats where great with the option to turn on wife's seat on a hot day.
Tyres expensive and rims protruding tyres are never a good idea.
I would buy again even with the above minor things.
Didn't purchase new shape as don't like the coupe look.
Matt.

BadgeML63
LineAMG Sports
TransmissionAutomatic
jackie

jackieVictoria

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Reversing sensor not working properly at all

published

I bought new GLE 350D, which is new model of ML350D. Everything is great, except reversing radar. The sensors don't beep until one inch close to object, which is too late. I rang the Mercedes and brought car back. They simple say all fine, that is what they are like in Mercedes. Unbelievable.

LineSports Luxury
TransmissionAutomatic

Love the comforts like heated seats, torque, handles well. Down side easy to forget the stalks on th

published

Great car, handles well, love the heated seats, very powerful, looks good. Downside easy to forget the stalks on the right near the steering wheel are gears not indicators especially if you're on the freeway doing 100 km and you indicate left it puts car in neutral. Bluetooth can't connect to music on iPhone need to buy special adaptor.Software in car out dated.

BadgeML 300 CDI
LineSpecial Edition
TransmissionAutomatic
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Mercedes-Benz GLE-Class compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
onejelly

onejellyAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 17 likes

Keeping getting problems

published
BadgeML 250
TransmissionAutomatic
Bonnie P

Bonnie PLand O Lakes

Looks can be deceiving!

published
BadgeML 350
LineBlueTEC
TransmissionAutomatic
ToddW

ToddW

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

ML350 CDI - AMG

published
BadgeML 350 CDI
LineBlueEFFICIENCY AMG Sports
TransmissionAutomatic
Sam

SamGold Coast

ML 350 4matic 'engine diagnosis' problem

published

Got a new ML 350 4matic in 2013. Running really smooth in a year. After the first service, have 'engine diagnosis' light on and run really rough. Went to dealer, told me it is petrol problem even I put in #98 from Shell or Caltex. Dealer reset the code and let me go. Unfortunately, this happened 3 times in a month. Dealer still complains the dirty petrol.
Running smooth.
Bad service

TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeML 350
dogbert

dogbertWestern Australia, 6110

  • 20 reviews
  • 21 likes

The benchmark in luxurous SUV

published
TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeML 250
1 comment
Alien2OZ
Alien2OZ
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Masud G.

Masud G.asked

GLE-Class W166 (2015-2021)

Guys
I have recently bought a gle500e second hand with Mercedes warranty and 2 years left of the battery. When I charge the battery to 100% it goes from 100 to 60% within reversing from my garage to the street and goes to 15% within minutes of driving. The car is 2016 model by the way. Is this a warranty issue or it’s normal? Would like to hear comments from car owners if they had similar experience

No answers
John

Johnasked

M-Class W166 (2012-2015)

ML 400 with 136000 2014 although says 2015 model W166 is it ok it’s from a Mercedes dealer certified for $Au 39888 2 yrs warranty

1 answer
Darren T
Darren T

Sounds good value, just make sure u get a warranty. I am looking at same car but for AU48K with 80K on clock.
I am just a little worried about reliability, the timing chain and air suspensions are the common issues and would be very expensive to fix. Otherwise its a beautiful car

Marie

Marieasked

GLE-Class

How do you operate the high beam in a 2015 Mercedes GLE 250

1 answer
Darryl M.
Darryl M.

Its automatic. It will sense when it is required. Turn the light switch to manual.

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 29 Mercedes-Benz GLE-Class
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $102,864$120,083$147,258$142,025
TransmissionAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels20" Alloy20" Alloy21" Alloy20" Alloy
Fuel Consumption6 L/100km9.1 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 93 L93 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.1L6 Cylinder 3.0L
Max Power150kW @ 3800rpm287kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque500Nm @ 1600-1800rpm520Nm @ 2500-5000rpm
Country of ManufactureUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited States
Safety Features
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
Extra Features
  • 360° Camera
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • 360° Camera
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • 360° Camera
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Sunroof
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • 360° Camera
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Sunroof
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJune 2015June 2015Jan 2016July 2016
Compare all 29 Mercedes-Benz GLE-Class

Other Large / 7 Seater SUVs


ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.