??!
11 photos
Mercedes-Benz GLE-Class

Mercedes-Benz GLE-Class

M-Class W164, GLE-Class W166, GLE-Class C292, etc...
3.9 from 21 reviews

Reviews

(9)
(6)
(2)
(3)
(1)
  • Build Quality
    4.2 (5)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (5)
  • Noise Level
    4.6 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    5.0 (4)
  • Handling
    4.3 (4)
  • Braking
    4.5 (4)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (4)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.8 (4)
  • Interior Design
    4.5 (4)
  • Boot Size
    4.8 (4)
  • Features
    4.5 (4)
  • Comfort
    4.8 (4)
Andries d.

Andries d.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Smelly aircon

published

Hi,

Same issue, well known with a lot of models, even new GLE has several issues, 40 000 of them parked over the world and not being delivered with numerous build quality issues that has to be fixed first, production at factory in Alabama frozen at this time.

I know my SUV that I ordered for delivery 2020 has been delayed indefinitely.

My current car has smelly aircon, solved by replacing all aircon filters every year, does not smell anymore, have done 160 000km

Lovely cars but concerned about issues with the new one, possibly getting X5

Purchased in January 2016 at Mercedes-Benz Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Andrew

AndrewDarling Downs, QLD

  • 12 reviews

A great vehicle but keep up to date with recalls & service and theres a lot on line about these vehicles (settings etc)

published

There is a recall for the ACS hydraulic reservoir located front left with Bonnet open ( stability control with air suspension ) but is more to it than replacing dipstick as air would have got into the system and therefor like any hydraulic system needs to be bled out and then also seals checked ..push dealer fix properly
Is worth the effort to get to know your MB and the oil and filter types and codes to do some basic maintenance yourself if you inclined and off to a dealer once a year .. unless you flushed with cash the dealer can do all ..!

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Darryl M.

Darryl M.Perth, WA

Great car, pity about the smell.

published

Had the smelly aircon, Dealer said it was not their problem. I took out the internal filters and let the windows down when parked up in garage. This smell only happens in summer, otherwise I love this car.

Purchased in April 2018 for $85,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Mercedes-Benz GLE-Class compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
IntegrityIsFree

IntegrityIsFreeGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Too many product failures.

published

Purchased in August 2014.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
See all answers
1 comment
IntegrityIsFree
IntegrityIsFree

Clarification: The warranty period was 3 years. The problems started to occur just outside of the 3 year time frame.

garyradley

garyradleyAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best car I have ever owned.

published
BadgeML250
LineBlueTEC
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015
Drive4WD
Tom

TomSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Awesome family car!

published

Honestly the nicest SUV to drive, driven everyday with two kids under 5.
Really fuel efficient, even around town. Purchased as a used vehicle from a Mercedes-Benz dealership. The 2 year warranty was a bonus. The only issue we have had was the AdBlue heating element. Luckily warranty covered the costs. Only negative is the brakes and tyres ware quicker than normal, but it’s expected with SUV’s.
Holding out for the new GLE with the third row option. Recommended highly for someone in the market for a family vehicle, super safe and drives amazingly.

BadgeML250
LineBlueEFFICIENCY AMG Sports
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
DriveAWD
Liem

LiemBrisbane

Disappointing and problem prone car

published
BadgeGLE 250 d 4MATIC
LineD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Peter

PeterRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great car all round, including brilliant for caravan towing

published
BadgeML350
LineDesigno
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2014
_shane

_shaneGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 18 reviews

A great car now even better

published

We had the previous ML250 which was a great car, it had a few warranty issues that were fixed outside of warranty (thank you Mercedes). The GLE 2017 is noticeably smoother and seems more powerful down the lower gears thanks to the new 9 speed transmission. The updates with tech and safety which include collision alert and lane departure are a major improvement. As always, the fit and finish, quality carpets and plastics and thick paint are what you pay for. You may pay more upfront but this is reflected in resale. All these attributes is what keeps consumers coming back.

BadgeGLE 250 d 4MATIC
LineBlueTEC
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Mercedes-Benz GLE-Class compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peter L.

Peter L.Brisbane

Fantastic AWD!

published

Purchased in May 2013.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Peter L.
Peter L.
M price

M price

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car would buy again

published

We had the ml amg for around three years till we trade in.
We found the car perfect for our family of 4.
Performance amazing and the handling to match.
Fuel little heavy but as expected.
We always felt safe and secure in the ml and that's why we purchased.
Should of had a touch screen as others car had but didn't.
The heated seats where great with the option to turn on wife's seat on a hot day.
Tyres expensive and rims protruding tyres are never a good idea.
I would buy again even with the above minor things.
Didn't purchase new shape as don't like the coupe look.
Matt.

BadgeML63
LineAMG Sports
TransmissionAutomatic
jackie

jackieVictoria

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Reversing sensor not working properly at all

published

I bought new GLE 350D, which is new model of ML350D. Everything is great, except reversing radar. The sensors don't beep until one inch close to object, which is too late. I rang the Mercedes and brought car back. They simple say all fine, that is what they are like in Mercedes. Unbelievable.

LineSports Luxury
TransmissionAutomatic

Love the comforts like heated seats, torque, handles well. Down side easy to forget the stalks on th

published

Great car, handles well, love the heated seats, very powerful, looks good. Downside easy to forget the stalks on the right near the steering wheel are gears not indicators especially if you're on the freeway doing 100 km and you indicate left it puts car in neutral. Bluetooth can't connect to music on iPhone need to buy special adaptor.Software in car out dated.

BadgeML 300 CDI
LineSpecial Edition
TransmissionAutomatic
onejelly

onejellyAU

  • 4 reviews

Keeping getting problems

published
BadgeML 250
TransmissionAutomatic
Bonnie P

Bonnie PLand O Lakes

Looks can be deceiving!

published
BadgeML 350
LineBlueTEC
TransmissionAutomatic
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Mercedes-Benz GLE-Class compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ToddW

ToddW

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

ML350 CDI - AMG

published
BadgeML 350 CDI
LineBlueEFFICIENCY AMG Sports
TransmissionAutomatic
Sam

SamGold Coast

ML 350 4matic 'engine diagnosis' problem

published

Got a new ML 350 4matic in 2013. Running really smooth in a year. After the first service, have 'engine diagnosis' light on and run really rough. Went to dealer, told me it is petrol problem even I put in #98 from Shell or Caltex. Dealer reset the code and let me go. Unfortunately, this happened 3 times in a month. Dealer still complains the dirty petrol.
Running smooth.
Bad service

TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeML 350
dogbert

dogbertWestern Australia, 6110

  • 19 reviews

The benchmark in luxurous SUV

published
TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeML 250
1 comment
Alien2OZ
Alien2OZ
amayzen19

amayzen19NSW, 2290

  • 8 reviews
  • 8 likes

ML 320 CDI

published

Great SUV. You have class, power and mid size room.(prado size)
You feel safe punching along at 110kmh+ on most roads. Great features. This one had the distronic cruise control (radar) that slows you down with the brake to keep pace with traffic and then speed you back up when the obsticle is gone. Heaps of gadgets that work well. GPS system is spot on. Rear boot area is a good size.
Cant fault the engineering.

Options are where they get you on a new purchase. Options are too hexy.

TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeML 320 CDI
4 comments
nannycallipan
nannycallipan
Melbourne_3000
Melbourne_3000
Alien2OZ
Alien2OZ

Good

published

Overall we're happy with the 500 and we just bought a smaller B200 for my wife to scoot around in. Mercedes has been a nice change in out lives. I have not gone off road with it but it does not seem like it was really built for it even though it is considered to be an SUV.
Nice handling, the wipers come on automatically when it starts raining (this surprised me LOL) very comfortable and heated seats. Came with a decent Benz golf bag! Very good looking set of wheels - comfort and class.
The key/door unlocker only works from a short distance. For some reason I cant figure out how to set the phone system up to work with my mobile - I wasn't given any instruction from the dealer.

TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeML 500
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Marie

Marieasked

How do you operate the high beam in a 2015 Mercedes GLE 250

1 answer
Darryl M.
Darryl M.

Its automatic. It will sense when it is required. Turn the light switch to manual.

John R

John Rasked

GLE-Class W166 (2015-2020)

I have 2016 model GLE350D. The car has just been serviced. During the service the mechanic discovered the front universal joint was leaking grease. This issue required the entire drive shaft to be replaced. Anyone else experience this? Total kilometres on the car is 33000.

No answers
Chris

Chrisasked

GLE-Class W166 GLE 500 e (2016-2020)

Hi, from reading reviews here it seems that aircon issues are very common. My car 2018 GLE 500e Hybrid was all perfect until the aircon fan started making an awful sound. Took it in for a replacement fan which lasted maybe six weeks. Mercedes is now telling me that it has to make the sound as it cools the batteries and the electric motor . (Shame as I bought the car partly for its low road noise, now sounding like a diesel Ute ) Mercedes where we are is not at all interested in helping. My concerns are if I switch the aircon off it stops, but does that mean the battery will overheat now? Has anyone else experienced a similar problem or have a solution?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Mercedes-Benz representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.