5 photos
Mercedes-Benz Sprinter

Mercedes-Benz Sprinter (2006-2021)

Also referred to as: Mercedes-Benz Sprinter 2020 and Mercedes-Benz Sprinter 2022. NCV3, T1N, VS30
2.6 from 44 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Vans in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Mercedes-Benz? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    5.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (2)
  • Braking
    5.0 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.5 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (2)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (2)
  • Handling
    5.0 (2)
  • Interior Design
    5.0 (2)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    5.0 (2)
  • Features
    5.0 (2)
Previous
Next
Shell D.
Shell D.Peel, WA

Love this van

published

*heaps of power
*easy gears
*lwb n high roof is great
*heaps of legroom in front of cab
*very easy to drive considering its 6.5metres long
* driven daily
* if service n look after great vehicle

Purchased in January 2020 for $14,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Michael
MichaelWide Bay-Burnett, QLD
  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

Fabulous Truck

published

We bought this truck from a dealer because it was a cancelled sale with specials. Wow what a deal. I could sell it now one year later for at least another $12,000 [going by the 2nd hand market prices]. It has been a god send to our business and the powerful V6 just keeps on thundering along. We absolutely love it and are really grateful. Our Ops Manager is from the UK where he said they had several of these in service and they ran constantly all over UK. He cannot speak highly enough of the job they do.

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
paul
paulhowrah tasmania
  • 17 reviews
  • 35 likes

Difficult to compare so inspect with a good mechanic.

published

Bought the 2011 313cdi campervan, medium WB high roof 6 speed manual 4 months ago.It had previously done 275,000 km. as a courier van, & mechanically is perfect.A slight patch of rust{near the sliding door} was the only disapointment-you should check that carefully. They can have a big range of safety features, from 1{driver only} airbag,, etc etc .If you put the VIN.into the Mercedes website, it will show the complete specs,so you know exactly what it has. Preferably have a good Merc or diesel mechanic check it over before buying.

Badge313CDI
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Shanelovescraggly
Shanelovescraggly
  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

Love my van

published

Use car to live in has high roof can stand up in it has so many hidden safety features like wind assist it brakes that side of car so you dont get blown all over place. Also esp and somthing that stops will spins lowers revs got stuck on gravel hill when first got it didnt no there was but to turn off so you could gun it up dirt hills spin wheels but mecedes literture doesnt tell you about all theses things you have to find out from forums and google and trail and error great van love it well built drives awsomely but only get about 12litres per 100kilometers which i dont thinks right for little4 cylinder 311cdi 2010

Badge311CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Vans

Find out how Mercedes-Benz Sprinter compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Diversion
DiversionSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Which is best for Australia - Ducato or Sprinter?

published
Badge313CDI
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Tomislav
TomislavGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 8 reviews
  • 13 likes

If they`ve been crap,Ambulance wouldnt use them

published

450,000kms so far, goes and goes and goes...regular service and maintenance and No Headaches, I'm using it as a Owner-Driver 10-12 hours per day/5days per week.Great turning circle, breaks/stops like a Thunder, consumption is not the very BEST German part(Renault is more cheaper to run),drives like a luxury car, city, freeways..max speed(my personal160km/h),for some reason bulbs are going off very often, can recommend it for every kind of industrial work

Badge316CDI
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2013
Jamie
JamieSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 10 likes

It’s Amazing!

published

I’ve had the 2016 Sprinter 513CDI for 12 Months. It drives like an absolute dream. My confidence in the brand has not been tested.
The oil was due to be changed at 30’000 km. Like any Diesel engine the oil gets dark and I changed it at 18’000. I like to keep on top of the preventative maintenance to avoid issues.
I’m not putting the vehicle under exhaustive commercial demands, rather it’s a motorhome. It comes in at 4.5 ton and has had to tackle some steep terrain, in both blistering hot and freezing cold conditions. I can’t fault it.
I’m not going to break any land speed records but for reliability it’s 10/10.

Badge513CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2017

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
How to be more eco-friendly when you're gifting this Christmas

Christmas seems to go hand in hand with consumption, but that doesn’t mean you can’t be eco-friendly with your gift giving. We’ve got tips for everything from shopping sustainably to zero-waste packaging, so that you can have a greener holiday season.

Clara V.
Clara V.30 Nov 2021
how-to-be-more-eco-friendly-when-youre-gifting-this-christmas
Next

perfect van, wouldnt buy anything else

published
Badge316CDI
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2012
camshaft
camshaftdon't do facebook Brisbane, Mt Gravatt east 4122
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

CANBUS system the big headake. Does its own thing on a regular basis. Indicates errors that dont exi

published
Badge318CDI
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015
Vans

Find out how Mercedes-Benz Sprinter compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

The Best Discision I Ever Made In My Life

published

Second To None ,comfortable to drive big and high cargo compartment.It's like you're living in a different world.Handles heavy load pretty well.One good thing oil and filter change in every ten to fifteen thousand km instead of thirty thousand km's recommended by the dealer.When you look after it ie service in time, drive to the speed limit, road and weather condition it will in return reap you reward as far as running cost is concerned. Very reliable vehicle.

Badge316CDI ELWB
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2014
Will
WillSydney
  • 7 reviews
  • 12 likes

At 370,000km Plus 2010 Mercedes Sprinter 416 (906)

published
Badge416CDI
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2010
NicolasCage
NicolasCageMoscow
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Take care of your Sprinter!

published
Badge315CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2014
Vans

Find out how Mercedes-Benz Sprinter compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
P. Elvins
P. ElvinsEvesham

Most reliable van out there in my opinion.

published
Badge318CDI
TransmissionManual

No Problems

published
TransmissionManual
Badge309CDI
WheelbaseMedium

Best vans by far

published

My 2010 sprinter is my second sprinter,first one 2001 did 410,000kms before i sold it,having spent normal maintennace repairs ie brake pds,fan belt.my 2010 unit has now clocked up 100,000kms,with similar results so far.these units are great for long distance driving,low maintennance,low fuel use,great comfort.my units are on a mix or long distance,and short hilly city type of work
comfort on long runs,great fuel economy
only real critisysm i have is that in both models i have had 1st gear is too high a ratio for hilly starts.

Questions & Answers

James
Jamesasked
Sprinter (2006-2021)

I have a 2013 ex ambo and need to purchase running boards
they come in long/short packs but as i have both drivers and passenger sliding doors i will need a long/long
pack.
what are the best & worst running boards out there,i am located in Canberra

No answers
martin
martinasked
Sprinter (2006-2021)

21 reviews above are ng for automatic transmissions
Is auto still a problem ? And would a manual be a better choice for reliability in a motorhome

3 answers
Darren G.
Darren G.

YES! You will thank yourself in the long run. The automatic boxes give out with little prior notice. If you can find one get the workshop manual off ebay in a disc form (about $10) then look at the exploded view of the automatic gearbox compared to the manual. The auto when they fail are expensive as hell to fix. Manuals will run like the engine if treated well. All you'll need is the usual clutch replacement when needed which a normal mechanic can do. The autos need to be taken into a Mercedes-Benz service centre. It actually works out cheaper. Don't even bother searching for a local mechanic to work on the auto. You will end up getting ripped off. We took it to a place in North Ringwood on Dorset Rd. I won't name and shame the guy (even though he deserves it). Quoted over $9000.00 and would give no guaranteeon his work. We took it to Mercedes-Benz in Berwick under half the price with a 3yr or 50,000km guarantee on the gearbox.

Shell D.
Shell D.

Loved the manual

martin
martin

THANKS ...will look for manual transmission gearbox!! did merc dealership say if the auto gearbox problem was quality issue (usa built ) or design
ie service must be strictly adhered to?.....most blogs indicate hi mileage approx 1000000 miles and over

Reuben
Reubenasked
Sprinter T1N (1995-2006)

Hi there,
I have a 1999 Sprinter with a 2.9L diesel engine and 5 speed manual gearbox.The turn signals were working fine then all of a sudden stopped so did the hazards. Can someone please tell me where is the flasher relay located so I can test/replace it. I had a look under the steering colum(where the fuses are)and under the driver's seat with no luck.
Much appreciated.

No answers
See all Mercedes-Benz Sprinter (2006-2021) questions

Get an answer from our members

Mercedes-Benz Sprinter (2006-2021)

Details

Compare all 3 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter (2006-2021)
CategoryVansVansVans
Release dateFeb 2018Jan 1995Jan 2006
Discontinuation dateDec 2006Jan 2018
Compare all 3 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter (2006-2021)

Other Vans

Previous
Next
See all Vans

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.