5 photos
Mercedes-Benz Sprinter

Mercedes-Benz Sprinter (2006-2022)

Also referred to as: Mercedes-Benz Sprinter 2021 and Mercedes-Benz Sprinter 2023. NCV3, T1N, VS30 (See All)
2.6 from 44 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Vans in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Mercedes-Benz? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.8 (5)
  • Value for Money
    2.6 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.8 (5)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (5)
  • Braking
    3.4 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.0 (5)
  • Gear Shifting
    2.8 (5)
  • Suspension
    3.2 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.4 (5)
  • Handling
    3.6 (5)
  • Interior Design
    3.4 (5)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (2)
  • Comfort
    3.4 (5)
  • Features
    3.4 (5)
Previous
Clear all
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Shell D.
Shell D.Peel, WA

Love this van

published

*heaps of power
*easy gears
*lwb n high roof is great
*heaps of legroom in front of cab
*very easy to drive considering its 6.5metres long
* driven daily
* if service n look after great vehicle

Purchased in January 2020 for $14,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Darren G.
Darren G.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Tronic transmission

published

What a POS. Every 100-120k these gearboxes just collapse. Do transmission specialists want to touch them because they are a Cee You Next Tuesday of a gearbox. Average cost of repair (quoted on phone by Mercedes) $3000-$4000. Trying to find someone who will swap out the auto-tronic gearbox for a clutch and shift 5 or 6 speed box. At least you know that around $50k-75k you swap out the clutch kit for a set price. These horrible gearboxes are only still used by Renault. We bought this Winnebago Sprinter not that long ago. Should have done our homework a little better. If you're thinking of buying one of these don't buy an automatic. A nightmare waiting to happen is how I'd describe the design.

Purchased in March 2019 for $65,000.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Michael
MichaelWide Bay-Burnett, QLD
  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

Fabulous Truck

published

We bought this truck from a dealer because it was a cancelled sale with specials. Wow what a deal. I could sell it now one year later for at least another $12,000 [going by the 2nd hand market prices]. It has been a god send to our business and the powerful V6 just keeps on thundering along. We absolutely love it and are really grateful. Our Ops Manager is from the UK where he said they had several of these in service and they ran constantly all over UK. He cannot speak highly enough of the job they do.

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Martin
MartinSouth East Queensland, QLD

Mercedes Sprinter Van

published

My god, I have never had as much trouble with a vehicle in all my life . Ihave spent $$$$ and $$$$$ when the computer said this was wrong, you'd replace that then something else would show. In the end Mercedes still couldn't get it to start and after all the money I have spent says it now needs a engine rebuild. You expect more from a vehicle that has done 300k kilometres. Stay away from this brand.

Purchased in February 2016 for $10,000.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Vans

Find out how Mercedes-Benz Sprinter compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Davo
DavoMoffat Beach
  • 4 reviews
  • 25 likes

Limp Mode

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased at Cricks maroochdore.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Shanelovescraggly
Shanelovescraggly
  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

Love my van

published

Use car to live in has high roof can stand up in it has so many hidden safety features like wind assist it brakes that side of car so you dont get blown all over place. Also esp and somthing that stops will spins lowers revs got stuck on gravel hill when first got it didnt no there was but to turn off so you could gun it up dirt hills spin wheels but mecedes literture doesnt tell you about all theses things you have to find out from forums and google and trail and error great van love it well built drives awsomely but only get about 12litres per 100kilometers which i dont thinks right for little4 cylinder 311cdi 2010

Badge311CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
jack
jack
  • 2 reviews
  • 9 likes

Absolute p.o.s.a death trap.

published

fuel economy ok.but cant make use of it because it breaks down consistently.seatings good.driving position & glass ok.entry exits ok steering circle good.heating.air con good.my view on this vehicle is dont buy one ! You will go bankrupt paying dealers to delete codes that pop up for no reason but put the van into limp mode or worse into neutral in the middle of the road.merc benz should be sued!!!

Badge515CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next
Tomislav
TomislavGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 8 reviews
  • 13 likes

If they`ve been crap,Ambulance wouldnt use them

published

450,000kms so far, goes and goes and goes...regular service and maintenance and No Headaches, I'm using it as a Owner-Driver 10-12 hours per day/5days per week.Great turning circle, breaks/stops like a Thunder, consumption is not the very BEST German part(Renault is more cheaper to run),drives like a luxury car, city, freeways..max speed(my personal160km/h),for some reason bulbs are going off very often, can recommend it for every kind of industrial work

Badge316CDI
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jamie
JamieSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 10 likes

It’s Amazing!

published

I’ve had the 2016 Sprinter 513CDI for 12 Months. It drives like an absolute dream. My confidence in the brand has not been tested.
The oil was due to be changed at 30’000 km. Like any Diesel engine the oil gets dark and I changed it at 18’000. I like to keep on top of the preventative maintenance to avoid issues.
I’m not putting the vehicle under exhaustive commercial demands, rather it’s a motorhome. It comes in at 4.5 ton and has had to tackle some steep terrain, in both blistering hot and freezing cold conditions. I can’t fault it.
I’m not going to break any land speed records but for reliability it’s 10/10.

Badge513CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Vans

Find out how Mercedes-Benz Sprinter compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

perfect van, wouldnt buy anything else

published
Badge316CDI
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

New Mercedes Sprinter 4x4 Clunks like a Junker

published

my preordered optioned out $$$ 2016 sprinter 4x4 developed Terrible drivetrain clunk's after 10,000 kms
Took it in 3 times to 2 dealerships and was told it was normal after break in period by both dealerships including the regional sales manager because Mercedes engineering told them so over the phone.
Thanks a lot for the fuhk around! I feel like a whipped dog after this humiliating experience and tremendous waste of time, patience and money. And yes its that bad.

Badge316CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
flatout
flatoutMontreal

Two engines in and two engines blown. What a joke.

published
Badge416CDI
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Vans

Find out how Mercedes-Benz Sprinter compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Camper
CamperAU
  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Scary info

published

I am lucky to know a mechanic who works on the ambos for 20years. He said since merceedes put maintainance to 30.000 km, he’s seeing new motor replacements needed at round 300.000. A replacement motor cost is round $20,000

My merceedes sprinter 2011 - Yearly service 13.000 to 14.000 per year.
My sprinter with only 82000. Mechanic said “I have things going on mine van which he’d only ever seen in vans with much higher klms.” Now that’s scary thinking of what he’d said regarding motor.
2015
Several engine oil leaks - Merceedes Goldcoast fixed under warrenty.
2016
* Coolent - leak common place at fuel holder. Hard to see. Easy fix.
* 70,000 New Tyres (

Badge313CDI
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

stop building intimidating vehicles its sadistic for no reason other than conseet because its a merc

published

handles ok, interior ok, very bad sound system. can be a reliable vehicle if computer wasnt set up to drag you to the dealer every other day.your identification in badge section is for engineers not us! when working on these vehicle trying to tell the scanner what your working on is difficult.

Badge318CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Broke down again no one with knowledge to fix in akaska.

published

Driving fine. InterI or fine. Running cost good milage. This has been a money pit. Repair....repair. ...repair! Shame on mercedes and dodge. Resonator. Electrical. Transmission. Much more. Every trip was a tow. Every trip was hotels. The worst is the No one is experienced to fix it. Had to fly home from alaska and return and still not ready.

Badge316CDI
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2009
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Colin C.
Colin C.asked
Sprinter (2006-2022)

Hi I have a high roof van with barn doors and I'm looking to buy a spare wheel holder on the left side door does anyone know where I can find one please

No answers
James
Jamesasked
Sprinter (2006-2022)

I have a 2013 ex ambo and need to purchase running boards
they come in long/short packs but as i have both drivers and passenger sliding doors i will need a long/long
pack.
what are the best & worst running boards out there,i am located in Canberra

No answers
martin
martinasked
Sprinter (2006-2022)

21 reviews above are ng for automatic transmissions
Is auto still a problem ? And would a manual be a better choice for reliability in a motorhome

3 answers
Darren G.
Darren G.

YES! You will thank yourself in the long run. The automatic boxes give out with little prior notice. If you can find one get the workshop manual off ebay in a disc form (about $10) then look at the exploded view of the automatic gearbox compared to the manual. The auto when they fail are expensive as hell to fix. Manuals will run like the engine if treated well. All you'll need is the usual clutch replacement when needed which a normal mechanic can do. The autos need to be taken into a Mercedes-Benz service centre. It actually works out cheaper. Don't even bother searching for a local mechanic to work on the auto. You will end up getting ripped off. We took it to a place in North Ringwood on Dorset Rd. I won't name and shame the guy (even though he deserves it). Quoted over $9000.00 and would give no guaranteeon his work. We took it to Mercedes-Benz in Berwick under half the price with a 3yr or 50,000km guarantee on the gearbox.

Shell D.
Shell D.

Loved the manual

martin
martin

THANKS ...will look for manual transmission gearbox!! did merc dealership say if the auto gearbox problem was quality issue (usa built ) or design
ie service must be strictly adhered to?.....most blogs indicate hi mileage approx 1000000 miles and over

See all Mercedes-Benz Sprinter (2006-2022) questions

Get an answer from our members

Mercedes-Benz Sprinter (2006-2022)

Details

Compare all 3 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter (2006-2022)
CategoryVansVansVans
Release dateFeb 2018Jan 1995Jan 2006
Discontinuation dateDec 2006Jan 2018
Compare all 3 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter (2006-2022)

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.