5 photos
Mercedes-Benz Sprinter

Mercedes-Benz Sprinter (2006-2022)

Also referred to as: Mercedes-Benz Sprinter 2021 and Mercedes-Benz Sprinter 2023. NCV3, T1N, VS30 (See All)
2.6 from 44 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Vans in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Mercedes-Benz? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.6 (5)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (3)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (5)
  • Braking
    4.5 (4)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (4)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (4)
  • Handling
    4.7 (3)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (4)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (2)
  • Comfort
    4.8 (4)
  • Features
    4.3 (3)
Previous
Clear all
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Shell D.
Shell D.Peel, WA

Love this van

published

*heaps of power
*easy gears
*lwb n high roof is great
*heaps of legroom in front of cab
*very easy to drive considering its 6.5metres long
* driven daily
* if service n look after great vehicle

Purchased in January 2020 for $14,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kurt B.
Kurt B.South East Queensland, QLD

Mercedes Warranty Disappointment

published

Purchased in October 2020.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Michael
MichaelWide Bay-Burnett, QLD
  • 11 reviews
  • 6 likes

Fabulous Truck

published

We bought this truck from a dealer because it was a cancelled sale with specials. Wow what a deal. I could sell it now one year later for at least another $12,000 [going by the 2nd hand market prices]. It has been a god send to our business and the powerful V6 just keeps on thundering along. We absolutely love it and are really grateful. Our Ops Manager is from the UK where he said they had several of these in service and they ran constantly all over UK. He cannot speak highly enough of the job they do.

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tim
TimKatoomba
  • 11 reviews
  • 8 likes

Mercedes-benz.. do you really want one? - review of 3 brand new sprinter vans below..

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Vans

Find out how Mercedes-Benz Sprinter compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Drives Smooth, Costs Huge!!!

published

Purchased in January 2012 at Mercedes-Benz Dealers.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Shanelovescraggly
Shanelovescraggly
  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

Love my van

published

Use car to live in has high roof can stand up in it has so many hidden safety features like wind assist it brakes that side of car so you dont get blown all over place. Also esp and somthing that stops will spins lowers revs got stuck on gravel hill when first got it didnt no there was but to turn off so you could gun it up dirt hills spin wheels but mecedes literture doesnt tell you about all theses things you have to find out from forums and google and trail and error great van love it well built drives awsomely but only get about 12litres per 100kilometers which i dont thinks right for little4 cylinder 311cdi 2010

Badge311CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tomislav
TomislavGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 8 reviews
  • 13 likes

If they`ve been crap,Ambulance wouldnt use them

published

450,000kms so far, goes and goes and goes...regular service and maintenance and No Headaches, I'm using it as a Owner-Driver 10-12 hours per day/5days per week.Great turning circle, breaks/stops like a Thunder, consumption is not the very BEST German part(Renault is more cheaper to run),drives like a luxury car, city, freeways..max speed(my personal160km/h),for some reason bulbs are going off very often, can recommend it for every kind of industrial work

Badge316CDI
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next
Jamie
JamieSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 10 likes

It’s Amazing!

published

I’ve had the 2016 Sprinter 513CDI for 12 Months. It drives like an absolute dream. My confidence in the brand has not been tested.
The oil was due to be changed at 30’000 km. Like any Diesel engine the oil gets dark and I changed it at 18’000. I like to keep on top of the preventative maintenance to avoid issues.
I’m not putting the vehicle under exhaustive commercial demands, rather it’s a motorhome. It comes in at 4.5 ton and has had to tackle some steep terrain, in both blistering hot and freezing cold conditions. I can’t fault it.
I’m not going to break any land speed records but for reliability it’s 10/10.

Badge513CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

perfect van, wouldnt buy anything else

published
Badge316CDI
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Vans

Find out how Mercedes-Benz Sprinter compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Camper
CamperAU
  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Scary info

published

I am lucky to know a mechanic who works on the ambos for 20years. He said since merceedes put maintainance to 30.000 km, he’s seeing new motor replacements needed at round 300.000. A replacement motor cost is round $20,000

My merceedes sprinter 2011 - Yearly service 13.000 to 14.000 per year.
My sprinter with only 82000. Mechanic said “I have things going on mine van which he’d only ever seen in vans with much higher klms.” Now that’s scary thinking of what he’d said regarding motor.
2015
Several engine oil leaks - Merceedes Goldcoast fixed under warrenty.
2016
* Coolent - leak common place at fuel holder. Hard to see. Easy fix.
* 70,000 New Tyres (

Badge313CDI
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The Best Discision I Ever Made In My Life

published

Second To None ,comfortable to drive big and high cargo compartment.It's like you're living in a different world.Handles heavy load pretty well.One good thing oil and filter change in every ten to fifteen thousand km instead of thirty thousand km's recommended by the dealer.When you look after it ie service in time, drive to the speed limit, road and weather condition it will in return reap you reward as far as running cost is concerned. Very reliable vehicle.

Badge316CDI ELWB
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
NicolasCage
NicolasCageMoscow
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Take care of your Sprinter!

published
Badge315CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Vans

Find out how Mercedes-Benz Sprinter compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
P. Elvins
P. ElvinsEvesham

Most reliable van out there in my opinion.

published
Badge318CDI
TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Keith
Keith
  • 2 reviews
  • 9 likes

Numerous problems on delivery.

published
Keith
Keith
Keith
Keith
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

No Problems

published
TransmissionManual
Badge309CDI
WheelbaseMedium
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Colin C.
Colin C.asked
Sprinter (2006-2022)

Hi I have a high roof van with barn doors and I'm looking to buy a spare wheel holder on the left side door does anyone know where I can find one please

No answers
James
Jamesasked
Sprinter (2006-2022)

I have a 2013 ex ambo and need to purchase running boards
they come in long/short packs but as i have both drivers and passenger sliding doors i will need a long/long
pack.
what are the best & worst running boards out there,i am located in Canberra

No answers
martin
martinasked
Sprinter (2006-2022)

21 reviews above are ng for automatic transmissions
Is auto still a problem ? And would a manual be a better choice for reliability in a motorhome

3 answers
Darren G.
Darren G.

YES! You will thank yourself in the long run. The automatic boxes give out with little prior notice. If you can find one get the workshop manual off ebay in a disc form (about $10) then look at the exploded view of the automatic gearbox compared to the manual. The auto when they fail are expensive as hell to fix. Manuals will run like the engine if treated well. All you'll need is the usual clutch replacement when needed which a normal mechanic can do. The autos need to be taken into a Mercedes-Benz service centre. It actually works out cheaper. Don't even bother searching for a local mechanic to work on the auto. You will end up getting ripped off. We took it to a place in North Ringwood on Dorset Rd. I won't name and shame the guy (even though he deserves it). Quoted over $9000.00 and would give no guaranteeon his work. We took it to Mercedes-Benz in Berwick under half the price with a 3yr or 50,000km guarantee on the gearbox.

Shell D.
Shell D.

Loved the manual

martin
martin

THANKS ...will look for manual transmission gearbox!! did merc dealership say if the auto gearbox problem was quality issue (usa built ) or design
ie service must be strictly adhered to?.....most blogs indicate hi mileage approx 1000000 miles and over

See all Mercedes-Benz Sprinter (2006-2022) questions

Get an answer from our members

Mercedes-Benz Sprinter (2006-2022)

Details

Compare all 3 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter (2006-2022)
CategoryVansVansVans
Release dateFeb 2018Jan 1995Jan 2006
Discontinuation dateDec 2006Jan 2018
Compare all 3 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter (2006-2022)

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.