12 photos
Mercedes-Benz Vito

Mercedes-Benz Vito

W639.I, W638, W639.II, V-Class W447.I
2.9 from 43 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Vans in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Mercedes-Benz? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    1.5 (4)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.0 (4)
  • Noise Level
    2.3 (4)
  • Braking
    2.7 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    2.3 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.7 (3)
  • Suspension
    1.7 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.7 (3)
  • Handling
    3.3 (3)
  • Interior Design
    3.7 (3)
  • Boot Size
    3.0 (2)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (3)
  • Features
    2.7 (3)
Previous
Next
Mark U
Mark USouth-Eastern Region, NSW

Don’t buy 111cdi 2016 model Vito van

published

Purchased in June 2016 for $48,000.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5

Worst Van ever

published

I have owned brand new transits, vivaros and combos but i thought i would try a vito but its the worst van of them all. The engine is so loud it sound like its 20 years old, its too low and hits speed bumps and curbs, the radio connects to your phone but drops calls halfway through talking, if you hammer it on the motorway then for the rest of the day it sounds like the exhaust is blowing (boy racer car sound). Please note that this is a brand new 2020 vito van and has had these problems since i drove it off the forecourt.

Purchased in May 2020 at Mercedes-Benz Dealers for $16,995.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Brad
BradSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Worse car I've owned!

published

4 years old. In the workshop every 2_3 months. Break power booster failed, tx valve aircon and evaporator fan failed, rear shocks failed, gas struts failed, turbo intercooler failed. All within 90,000kms.

Purchased in December 2015 for $48.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
HDTEE
HDTEEGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Vito Ripoff

published

Purchased in August 2015 for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Vans

Find out how Mercedes-Benz Vito compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Limp mode, mine does this to occasionally and the engine light comes on and goes of.

published

Limp mode, mine does this to occasionally and the engine light comes on and goes of. I have had it checked and the local merc specialist said it hard to find and fix an intermittent fault. The electric window on the passenger side is broken. I have put lube on the other so as not to stress the motor. The spare wheel mechanism is stuck. I use mine for renovation work and as a stealth camper. I love it, it has done 160,000 but not hard km. I bought it with 65,000 km and I have had no major problems

BodyCrew Cab
LineLong Wheel Base
Engine Type115 CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2009

It's good but it's a Benz and it should be better

published

90000KMs & the transmission died. $5K repair...... 125000Kms and the electronics under the dash caught fire and the thing was destroyed. Benz, be like "it's out of warranty.. we don't care". Compared with other Vans on the road they drive like a car and if you do long trips they are pretty comfy. Tyres don't last long, brakes don't either. That can get expensive every two years too. A nice comfortable van, but the dash is clunky. You can have a clock but not outside temp. You can have outside temp... but not a clock. This type of crap is not good enough from a marquee product.

BodyVan
LineCompact
Engine Type113
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2009
Brenda
BrendaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

love the the van but the but not electronics that control it

published

we purchased this van at an auction [ previously belonged to the health dept ] and it had only 56000 kms on it .We had about 4 years trouble free motoring then to term a phrase the wheels started falling off it was always serviced by a place that serviced ambulances,to get breaks completely replaced cost $1600 then it had serious electronics problems which they couldn't fix and referred me to someone else and after another $1500 later it was back on the road ,6 months down the track electronics problems again only $300 this time . the bottom line is, we love the van, the leg room ,the performance& handling,the fuel consumption but the reliability and repair cost would make us skeptical about having another one.

BodyVan
LineCompact
Engine Type115 CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2010

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Arthur
ArthurPascoe Vale South

will never buy another vito

published

Purchased from a dealer in January 2006, 4000km, has now done 155000km and serviced as per specifiactions. Interior "appalling quality", but worse of all the airconditioning does not work if temperature is 33c+, blows hot air,had taken back to dealer during and after warranty between 25 and 30 times, they could not find anything

BodyWagon
LineLong Wheel Base
Engine Type115 CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Frank M
Frank MMelbourne
  • 7 reviews
  • 15 likes

Worst vehicle I've ever owned!

published

I've owned 8 vehicles, mostly new like the Vito, or demonstrators and the Vito has had more issues than the other 7 vehicles combined! Appalling quality, and the Benz owned Melbourne Australia dealership can't even fix some of the faults after 4 years! Buy any other van, rather than a Vito. I can't wait to offload this one in a few months time and I'll never touch another Benz.

BodyCrew Cab
LineCompact
Engine Type111 CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Vans

Find out how Mercedes-Benz Vito compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Worst. Van. Ever.

published

If you feel like your life is too problem-free and that you have excess money to burn, then you should own the Vito. My experience with this van has been horrific. From the first day it has given me nothing but problems. Poor body work, engine problems, components breaking off and not working, warning lights constantly coming on for no reason. Mechanics don't even want to look at it! The van no longer recognizes my key and needs new computer system, along with front-end suspension work and a new hydraulics compressor (€2,700). Now I own this titanic garbage bin and have to *pay* to get rid of it at a total loss. I will never own another MB vehicle!

TransmissionAutomatic

Terrible van

published

Numerous quality issues, both power windows went, had to replace window regulators, Would no longer recognise the key - needed a new EIS $1500, Clutch jammed needed new clutch and flywheel - $2000. Parts are horrendously expensive regular service base is $700 but usually ends up being $1000. Now the diff is making bad noises.

Engine Type109 CDI
anthonyg
anthonyg
  • 15 reviews
  • 7 likes

Terrible

published
Vans

Find out how Mercedes-Benz Vito compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JERRYUP
JERRYUPAU
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Mercedes Vito 115 Lwb

published
Engine Type115 CDI
BodyVan
LineLong Wheel Base
prkevk
prkevk
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Terrible

published

I would never buy another Mercedes product. For a company that has been making vehicles for so long, they have goofed this one.
The best looking van on the market. I bought a crewcab 115 diesel new in 2004.
Noisy - very little attention given to noise suppression, considering vans are on the road more than cars. Poor build quality, poor panel fit. Lots of squeaks and rattles. Crewcab seat very heavy and awkward to remove and replace. Broke down three times in 2 years and needed towing. Indifference from Mercedes head office. Clunky gearbox. Not easy to open or close sliding doors.

BodyCrew Cab
Engine Type115 CDI
honest guest
honest guestCHATSWOOD
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Shocker

published
BodyVan
wotda
wotda

my 1999 mercedes vito van has starting problems and struggles on take off im not sure if it is the immobilser but a red light stays on after i start the van and problem persists but when red light goes off the van goes good, please help

Questions & Answers

silk R.
silk R.asked
Vito

Hi Vito owners,
Recently I bought 2013 Vito 122CDI it’s V6 engine with 52000 km on the clock. Drives smooth.
It has just 3 months dealers warranty as the parts and repairs are very expensive I’m thinking of buying 3 years extended warranty.
I asked from MB mechanic, his reply was “ it’s just waste of money”

Plz put on the right direction which warranty company I go with which has more coverage as I’m not in the position to spend a huge $$$ on parts & repairs.

Your knowledge and advice would be highly appreciated.
Thanks in advance

3 answers
Harbour Cat C.
Harbour Cat C.

I just bought a v class Merc 87000klm on clock
I told the dealer I don’t want the 3000 warranty they will always find a way to to say it’s not covered!
So I’m taking a gamble with a van that can do 500000 Klms same engine and gearbox

silk R.
silk R.

So u didn’t have any extended warranty?
Would you suggest one if you or your friends had buying extended warranty before?

Harbour Cat C.
Harbour Cat C.

Dont bother the insurance wont pay out when u try to claim and engine and gearbox are superior to VW

Keep the money in your pocket for small repairs most parts are on ebay

Peter L.
Peter L.asked
Vito

Hi Tanya,
Nice review. Good to hear that you're happy with your Merc.
What is the name of your recommended Mechanic? I also live in Brisbane and would appreciate your advice. Thanks!

2 answers
Harbour Cat C.
Harbour Cat C.

I Use GW atomotive But im in Sydney
Mine is a 2009 111 vito crew cab 180klms
Rear wheel drive vans have less issues

Peter L.
Peter L.

Thank you!

Peter H.
Peter H.asked
Vito

Does the 1.6 litre diesel motor 2016 have a timing chain or a belt?

No answers
See all Mercedes-Benz Vito questions

Get an answer from our members

Mercedes-Benz Vito

Details

Compare all 4 Mercedes-Benz Vito
CategoryPeople Movers and VansPeople Movers and VansPeople Movers and VansPeople Movers and Vans
Release dateMay 2015May 2004Feb 2011Jan 1996
Discontinuation dateJan 2011Dec 2014Dec 2003
Replaced byMercedes-Benz Vito W639.IIMercedes-Benz Vito V-Class W447.I
Compare all 4 Mercedes-Benz Vito
Visit official website

Other Vans

Previous
Next
See all Vans

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.