12 photos
Mercedes-Benz Vito

Mercedes-Benz Vito

W639.I, W638, W639.II, V-Class W447.I
2.9 from 43 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Vans in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Mercedes-Benz? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

Previous
Next
Bob
BobDarwin
  • 2 reviews
  • 8 likes

What will go wrong next?

published
BodyWagon
LineWagon
Engine Type115 CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2008

Limp mode, mine does this to occasionally and the engine light comes on and goes of.

published

Limp mode, mine does this to occasionally and the engine light comes on and goes of. I have had it checked and the local merc specialist said it hard to find and fix an intermittent fault. The electric window on the passenger side is broken. I have put lube on the other so as not to stress the motor. The spare wheel mechanism is stuck. I use mine for renovation work and as a stealth camper. I love it, it has done 160,000 but not hard km. I bought it with 65,000 km and I have had no major problems

BodyCrew Cab
LineLong Wheel Base
Engine Type115 CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2009

It's good but it's a Benz and it should be better

published

90000KMs & the transmission died. $5K repair...... 125000Kms and the electronics under the dash caught fire and the thing was destroyed. Benz, be like "it's out of warranty.. we don't care". Compared with other Vans on the road they drive like a car and if you do long trips they are pretty comfy. Tyres don't last long, brakes don't either. That can get expensive every two years too. A nice comfortable van, but the dash is clunky. You can have a clock but not outside temp. You can have outside temp... but not a clock. This type of crap is not good enough from a marquee product.

BodyVan
LineCompact
Engine Type113
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2009
Brenda
BrendaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

love the the van but the but not electronics that control it

published

we purchased this van at an auction [ previously belonged to the health dept ] and it had only 56000 kms on it .We had about 4 years trouble free motoring then to term a phrase the wheels started falling off it was always serviced by a place that serviced ambulances,to get breaks completely replaced cost $1600 then it had serious electronics problems which they couldn't fix and referred me to someone else and after another $1500 later it was back on the road ,6 months down the track electronics problems again only $300 this time . the bottom line is, we love the van, the leg room ,the performance& handling,the fuel consumption but the reliability and repair cost would make us skeptical about having another one.

BodyVan
LineCompact
Engine Type115 CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2010
Vans

Find out how Mercedes-Benz Vito compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
NickDole
NickDoleAU
  • 3 reviews
  • 14 likes

Great van when it's running

published
BodyVan
Line$15000
Engine Type112 CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2008
Bud
BudLaunceston
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Problem couldn't be fixed

published
BodyVan
LineCompact
Engine Type111 CDI
TransmissionManual
JERRYUP
JERRYUPAU
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Mercedes Vito 115 Lwb

published
Engine Type115 CDI
BodyVan
LineLong Wheel Base

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
jeffk
jeffkAU
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

does the vito have an inherent auto transmission problem?

published

Same problem with auto transmission twice within 165,000 kms
Both electric window motors replaced and now rear window wiper wont work
safe,good braking and comfortable for a van
inherent auto transmission problem,both side electric windows replaced

TransmissionAutomatic
Rob0303
Rob0303SYDNEY

Rather have a Toyota

published

Have had vehicle since new, had new shocks all round, had both windows repaired apparently its the plastic slider that goes, its gone again so have decided to make my own slider a bit more robust have just spent $7000 having auto gearbox rebuilt, apparently the sprag clutch in the box slips allowing the clutch plate roots to wear away the central hub and fill the box with aluminium dust. Have replace the sway bar rubbers with poly ones, the transmission cooler was holed by a stone(unfortunate) but replacement cooler was costed at $1000 so replaced it with an after market one for $100. Thats why I want a Toyota.
Great engine, very economical and powerful for a 2.2 turbo diesel, comfortable to travel in
Expensive to maintain

BlooZed
BlooZed

have you ever owned a toyota?
their parts are just as expensive.
piece of plastic side panel in the boot of a corolla costs over $800 trade price

Vans

Find out how Mercedes-Benz Vito compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
chocolatetreat
chocolatetreatN.S.W., 2145
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Bad

published
BodyVan
LineCompact
TransmissionAutomatic

Questions & Answers

silk R.
silk R.asked
Vito

Hi Vito owners,
Recently I bought 2013 Vito 122CDI it’s V6 engine with 52000 km on the clock. Drives smooth.
It has just 3 months dealers warranty as the parts and repairs are very expensive I’m thinking of buying 3 years extended warranty.
I asked from MB mechanic, his reply was “ it’s just waste of money”

Plz put on the right direction which warranty company I go with which has more coverage as I’m not in the position to spend a huge $$$ on parts & repairs.

Your knowledge and advice would be highly appreciated.
Thanks in advance

3 answers
Harbour Cat C.
Harbour Cat C.

I just bought a v class Merc 87000klm on clock
I told the dealer I don’t want the 3000 warranty they will always find a way to to say it’s not covered!
So I’m taking a gamble with a van that can do 500000 Klms same engine and gearbox

silk R.
silk R.

So u didn’t have any extended warranty?
Would you suggest one if you or your friends had buying extended warranty before?

Harbour Cat C.
Harbour Cat C.

Dont bother the insurance wont pay out when u try to claim and engine and gearbox are superior to VW

Keep the money in your pocket for small repairs most parts are on ebay

Peter L.
Peter L.asked
Vito

Hi Tanya,
Nice review. Good to hear that you're happy with your Merc.
What is the name of your recommended Mechanic? I also live in Brisbane and would appreciate your advice. Thanks!

2 answers
Harbour Cat C.
Harbour Cat C.

I Use GW atomotive But im in Sydney
Mine is a 2009 111 vito crew cab 180klms
Rear wheel drive vans have less issues

Peter L.
Peter L.

Thank you!

Peter H.
Peter H.asked
Vito

Does the 1.6 litre diesel motor 2016 have a timing chain or a belt?

No answers
See all Mercedes-Benz Vito questions

Get an answer from our members

Mercedes-Benz Vito

Details

Compare all 4 Mercedes-Benz Vito
CategoryPeople Movers and VansPeople Movers and VansPeople Movers and VansPeople Movers and Vans
Release dateMay 2015May 2004Feb 2011Jan 1996
Discontinuation dateJan 2011Dec 2014Dec 2003
Replaced byMercedes-Benz Vito W639.IIMercedes-Benz Vito V-Class W447.I
Compare all 4 Mercedes-Benz Vito
Visit official website

Other Vans

Previous
Next
See all Vans

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.