12 photos
Mercedes-Benz Vito

Mercedes-Benz Vito

W639.I, W638, W639.II, V-Class W447.I
2.9 from 43 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Vans in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Mercedes-Benz? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    5.0 (3)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (2)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (2)
  • Braking
    4.0 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (3)
  • Suspension
    4.7 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (3)
  • Handling
    5.0 (3)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (3)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (3)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (3)
  • Features
    5.0 (3)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Harbour Cat C.
Harbour Cat C.Sydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

best van ever 111 auto

published

Best van rear wheel drive very reliable diesel auto will never sell it
parts are not espensive All ive done is new roller bearing for side door new window inder guides Aus $50 each new speakers 180 klms

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in May 2014 for $19,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Harbour Cat C.
Harbour Cat C.Sydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love it Ive had 4 VW 111 diesel Auto 178k

published

My 2009 111 Auto crew cab Short wheel base is the best van ive owned
Ive owned 4 VW1973 1976 1995 2008 ALL ENGINES BLEW UP 2008 GEARBOX AS WELL
Bought used at 105klm now 180klm after about 5 years
I love it gets me on the speed limit safe REAR WHEELDRIVE VANS ARE THE BEST and most reliable.
Ive always got 200kg -500kg of stuff in it yes i drive it gentle but if im having a prang its not in an iLoad

The best thing on this van SPEED CONTROL 10/10 how simple if you like you speed click

  • Thumbnail

Purchased for $19,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Incentivised Review No
cliffe s.
cliffe s.Southwest, VIC

Perfect van

published

Purchased in September 2009.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

I love my Vito

published

I have had my Vito for approx 1 year now after owning numerous Vans.
I love my Vito, It is a pleasure to drive, The driving position is very comfortable. The interior is nice.
There is plenty of room for what i need. I cant recommend the Vito enough!
The gearbox shifts nice and smooth. The motor in the 114 could be a little bit more powerful. but it is a van and i didnt buy it for performance. The diesel is great. i get on average 1000KM to 1 tank. (highway use). I am 6'4 and have plenty of room and am very comfortable when driving on a daily basis.

BodyVan
LineLong Wheel Base
Engine Type114BlueTEC
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Vans

Find out how Mercedes-Benz Vito compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ideal mick
Ideal mick
  • 7 reviews

a great work horse with 5 star luxury

published
BodyVan
LineLong Wheel Base
Engine Type109 CDI
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2007

Reliable, cost effective motoring.

published
BodyVan
LineCompact
Engine Type108 CDI
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2000
z80
z80hobart

Vito 111 CDi van-From new

published
BodyVan
LineCompact
Engine Type111 CDI
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2011

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next

Limp mode, mine does this to occasionally and the engine light comes on and goes of.

published

Limp mode, mine does this to occasionally and the engine light comes on and goes of. I have had it checked and the local merc specialist said it hard to find and fix an intermittent fault. The electric window on the passenger side is broken. I have put lube on the other so as not to stress the motor. The spare wheel mechanism is stuck. I use mine for renovation work and as a stealth camper. I love it, it has done 160,000 but not hard km. I bought it with 65,000 km and I have had no major problems

BodyCrew Cab
LineLong Wheel Base
Engine Type115 CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2009

It's good but it's a Benz and it should be better

published

90000KMs & the transmission died. $5K repair...... 125000Kms and the electronics under the dash caught fire and the thing was destroyed. Benz, be like "it's out of warranty.. we don't care". Compared with other Vans on the road they drive like a car and if you do long trips they are pretty comfy. Tyres don't last long, brakes don't either. That can get expensive every two years too. A nice comfortable van, but the dash is clunky. You can have a clock but not outside temp. You can have outside temp... but not a clock. This type of crap is not good enough from a marquee product.

BodyVan
LineCompact
Engine Type113
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2009
Vans

Find out how Mercedes-Benz Vito compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Brenda
BrendaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

love the the van but the but not electronics that control it

published

we purchased this van at an auction [ previously belonged to the health dept ] and it had only 56000 kms on it .We had about 4 years trouble free motoring then to term a phrase the wheels started falling off it was always serviced by a place that serviced ambulances,to get breaks completely replaced cost $1600 then it had serious electronics problems which they couldn't fix and referred me to someone else and after another $1500 later it was back on the road ,6 months down the track electronics problems again only $300 this time . the bottom line is, we love the van, the leg room ,the performance& handling,the fuel consumption but the reliability and repair cost would make us skeptical about having another one.

BodyVan
LineCompact
Engine Type115 CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2010
mortman
mortmanSouth East Queensland, QLD

Reliability plus.

published

I drive a vito 110cdi as a pilot vehicle, it is a 2012 model will be 4 years old next month. It has 590, 000 ks on the clock and is going as good now aa when it was new. Has never broken down. Only thing that has been repaired is the alternater at 560, 000ks. Yes parts are dear, but that is the norm for any high end euro car.

BodyVan
Linejo blogs
Engine Type110 CDI
TransmissionManual
mona
monaErmelo

this is perfect cause we are big family

published

Mercedes benz vito is comfortable and it it very nice vehicle especially when you have a family,even much enjoyable for the long journey and kids can stay comfort too when I'm driving. And one thing I like about it is it has enough space .And every body in the family crazy about it.

Bodymini combi
LineHigh Roof
Engine Type115 CDI
TransmissionManual
Vans

Find out how Mercedes-Benz Vito compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
paulybabe
paulybabeAdelaide
  • 11 reviews
  • 18 likes

Hiace is downright agricultural after driving the Vito

published
BodyVan
LineCompact
Engine Type113 CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
paulybabe
paulybabe
paulybabe
paulybabe

Well its been 3 years now, 40,000kms and the Vito hasn't missed a beat. Very pleased.

Bob
BobCentral Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

2004 CDI 115 Vito Auto 5 seats

published

Have 320,000 Klms with no engine problems HAve serviced myself or a friendly Mechanic as dealer wants to charge Min $400 for everything Wanted $400 to replace one shocky got a pair of Bouges from spare parts shop $172 Window winders replaced wanted $400 each bought from MB spares Fishwick ACT and did myself same with D rubbers Oil and fuel Filters Dealer $60 & $90 Spare parts shop Bosch Oil filter $16 Fuel Filter $35 same with brake pads. Fantastic vehicle but Dealer service is terrible. on Highway running i use less than 8 litres per 100 klms if no road works ect Ballina to Rockhampton 60 litres.

Engine Type115 CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
BodyCrew Cab
JERRYUP
JERRYUPAU
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Mercedes Vito 115 Lwb

published
Engine Type115 CDI
BodyVan
LineLong Wheel Base

Questions & Answers

silk R.
silk R.asked
Vito

Hi Vito owners,
Recently I bought 2013 Vito 122CDI it’s V6 engine with 52000 km on the clock. Drives smooth.
It has just 3 months dealers warranty as the parts and repairs are very expensive I’m thinking of buying 3 years extended warranty.
I asked from MB mechanic, his reply was “ it’s just waste of money”

Plz put on the right direction which warranty company I go with which has more coverage as I’m not in the position to spend a huge $$$ on parts & repairs.

Your knowledge and advice would be highly appreciated.
Thanks in advance

3 answers
Harbour Cat C.
Harbour Cat C.

I just bought a v class Merc 87000klm on clock
I told the dealer I don’t want the 3000 warranty they will always find a way to to say it’s not covered!
So I’m taking a gamble with a van that can do 500000 Klms same engine and gearbox

silk R.
silk R.

So u didn’t have any extended warranty?
Would you suggest one if you or your friends had buying extended warranty before?

Harbour Cat C.
Harbour Cat C.

Dont bother the insurance wont pay out when u try to claim and engine and gearbox are superior to VW

Keep the money in your pocket for small repairs most parts are on ebay

Peter L.
Peter L.asked
Vito

Hi Tanya,
Nice review. Good to hear that you're happy with your Merc.
What is the name of your recommended Mechanic? I also live in Brisbane and would appreciate your advice. Thanks!

2 answers
Harbour Cat C.
Harbour Cat C.

I Use GW atomotive But im in Sydney
Mine is a 2009 111 vito crew cab 180klms
Rear wheel drive vans have less issues

Peter L.
Peter L.

Thank you!

Peter H.
Peter H.asked
Vito

Does the 1.6 litre diesel motor 2016 have a timing chain or a belt?

No answers
See all Mercedes-Benz Vito questions

Get an answer from our members

Mercedes-Benz Vito

Details

Compare all 4 Mercedes-Benz Vito
CategoryPeople Movers and VansPeople Movers and VansPeople Movers and VansPeople Movers and Vans
Release dateMay 2015May 2004Feb 2011Jan 1996
Discontinuation dateJan 2011Dec 2014Dec 2003
Replaced byMercedes-Benz Vito W639.IIMercedes-Benz Vito V-Class W447.I
Compare all 4 Mercedes-Benz Vito
Visit official website

Other Vans

Previous
Next
See all Vans

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.