??!
1 photo
Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump

Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump (page 2 of 4)

3.6 from 79 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.5 (27)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (28)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (27)
  • Noise Level
    3.4 (27)
  • Temperature Consistency
    3.7 (27)
  • Heating Speed
    3.9 (27)
Previous
Next
Belinda

BelindaWestern District, VIC

  • 3 reviews

Great system

published

Splutters when first turned on hedge called a few times awaiting for some one to come and look at it other than that very efficient heating system nice hot water

Purchased in March 2019 for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Westy

WestyCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Noisy

published

i bought it new and performed well for the first few months had the unit replaced after a constant whine up to 70 BD in the first 3 years . they replaced a new unit under warranty .

Purchased in December 2017 for $1,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
dannyb54

dannyb54yallourn north

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Good hot water service.

published

Bought May 2019 with some rebate, it cost $799. Replaced Rheem 325 heat pump that was unreliable. Really energy efficient during warm months and serviceable during cold months. So far a definite pass mark.

Purchased in May 2018 for $799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
stasiahikisz

stasiahikiszGippsland, VIC

Savings on power bill

published

The unit is brilliant and the water is always hot and plentiful, even when we have guests staying. We have also noticed a big reduction in our electricity bill which is a great bonus.

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

JandK

JandKGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • Verified purchase

Very happy, thank you!

published

I had one put in at my retirement home. 7 month ago. very happy, thank you!
my electricity bill net down a bit, every dollar helps, especially on a pension.

Purchased in August 2018 at Chromagen Australia.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
utao

utaoSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

very capable product

published

We have been using the 170L heat pump over 6 months. It easily meets our daily hot water usage (2 adults with 1 child, 2 showers a day for adults and 1 shower for child, plus kitchen and laundry, and occasionally having 1-2 guests ). Never failed to deliver continuous hot water so far. Have not touched control pad since installation and was told the newer models do not have the 'reset after blackout' issues any more. The price seemed to be dramatically cheaper than some of the top rankers on the heat-pump review page, so I reckon it is offering wonderful value.

Purchased in March 2018 at Chromagen Australia.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
glenys

glenysWestern District, VIC

  • 3 reviews

wonderful unit, for 3 people

published

It's really a good unit 170litres Midea, the only thing is when there's a power cut have to reset temp in middle of night for water otherwise cold shower in morning, and have to reset clock on unit like you do on microwave when power comes on.

Purchased in February 2019 for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
NeilKC

NeilKCMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

A great investment for our future - read for real feedback

published
Date PurchasedNov 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pascale

PascaleLangwarrin

  • Verified purchase

The best investment we’ve ever made

published

This has to be the best investment we’ve ever made! I don’t understand the bad reviews - we’ve had this unit for over 12 months with no issues whatsoever. Delivery and installation were faultless. Our electricity bills have been halved and we are singing this product’s praises to everyone we encounter!

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
The Old Bloke

The Old BlokeAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Insulation is poor so the thing actually costs you more

published

I got one of these recently to replace a Dux unit that was out of warranty and Dux just didnt want to fix it even if I was offering to pay. Dux are so useless they design units they are redundant - so much for 'sustainability'. Anyway this unit is somewhat quieter but has WOEFUL insulation. I have set the timer for it to run from 8 am to 8pm, this morning when I got up, water was at 30C!! My Dux was so well insulated at least it reattained heat when it switched off overnight/. This is system is better as a pool heater than a domestic HotWater system. It's not such a 'smart' system if you have to keep it on all day to keep sustainable hot water. Big FAIL Chromagen.

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Wayne

WayneAdelaide

  • Verified purchase

Serious Design Flaws

published
Date PurchasedSept 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Deborah

Deborahvictoria

  • Verified purchase

Terrible product and appalling service!! Avoid!!

published

The product was faulty, supplying either inadequate hot water or none at all, and yet my tenant received an increase of 15% on their water bill. When confronted, Chromagen were both ignorant and unhelpful. After many attempts and a week of no hot water, a service provider was contacted by Chromagen and sent to repair the unit. After being informed there would be no cost should the unit be dysfunctional, I then received a bill. I have just been the recipient of a highly abusive and threatening call as a result of questioning this account, being told "I will come to your suburb and make it worth my while!". This matter is still unresolved and I will be taking it further. I highly urge anyone considering this product to seriously reconsider!!!

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Peter

PeterMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

170 lt

published

Very happy with the service we received after a problem was detected ‘ notified them on FB and they rang me that day, no fuss tradies and simply set it on economy mode without the timer and away it goes, I’ve recommended it to friends and they are going on with it to. Great system

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Rubbish and no service

published
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Recommend it to everyone

published

I think the people giving bad reviews are either on the receiving end of faulty installation or a faulty product, because we have been running the 170L model since 2106 and and have never had a problem. I suggest you download the manual and have a look at what you are doing wrong? Our household fluctuates between 3-5 adults and 1 child. We are able to shower twice a day, and take baths, run a dishwasher and wash up. We have only run out of hot water once after an excessively long shower (ridiculous) was taken by a guest at night.

Date PurchasedJune 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Reduction in electricity costs

published

We have no complaint with our Chromagen Hot Water System at this point in time, the proof of which is stated in our Electricity Statements. dodo Power & Gas: "Your Average Daily Usage was 18.63 kWh for this bill". "Your usage was 25.86 kWh for the same time last year." You would have to be happy with that! We are.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mike

MikeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

Absolutely rubbish

published

I replaced a good 120 lt off peak unit for the 170 lt Midea heat pump believing the hype that they were cheaper to run plus being larger I would have lots more hot water when visitors stayed, what a joke. My off peak was always hot, the 170 lt Midea we cant even get 2 full showers out of it and most times when I walk outside it's heating up I think it's on more than it's not. My advice don't touch them.

Date PurchasedSept 2017
1 comment
Mike
Mike

Have spoken with Chromagen who have informed me it should be set at 60 degrees, they also are sending someone out to check so I will comment more after they have been

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
lizzy

lizzyBallarat

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

Much better than my old unit!

published

Had this installed and am so pleased that we did. The hot water is virtually instantaneous and not at all like the other unit we had - anything up to a minute before the hot water tap ran hot!
Adjustable so that it can be turned right down for when the little ones come to visit.
So far, very pleased with the unit but of course, time will tell.

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
John Gray

John GrayGippsland, VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent

published

Since installation electricity bill is 1/3 what it was i have it set so it only heats during the day as we have 5 KW of solar on the roof.
We are just two but it fulfils all our needs.
Mother inlaw has had hers put in got first bill an is over the moon with the savings

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

WORST THING EVER.

published

Mongrel landlord installed these so he could get all the govt kickbacks. Power bill has TRIPLED> NO OFFPEAK power in the house at all.
I have 2 x 70+ year old neighbours who turn their hot water off all day 4 days a week due to costs.
I get 23 mins hot water in the morning, and then have to wait 4+ hours for it to reheat. We have 190L units.
Absolute CRAP. Now stuck with HUGE bills as the landlord is a fool.

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 2 of 4
See all Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump reviews

Questions & Answers

Leonia F

Leonia Fasked

Can someone give me a phone number so I can ring them

No answers
Geoff C

Geoff Casked

Hi. I will be absent from home for five months.

What is the best way to turn off the unit? Does it need to be drained? We live in a tropical climate.

Geoff C

2 answers
Tony
Tony

Turn it of at your switch board as they are extreamly expensive to run

Ken
Ken

I don't think it needs to be drained. there is possibly an isolating switch mounted near the unit, if not your switchboard will have a breaker marked hot water. Contact chromagen to confirm this for yourself

James T

James Tasked

Where is the heat pump manufactured and what are the running costs for 4 people households

1 answer
Ken
Ken

They are made in China. The 170ltr unit will not do enough hot water for 4 people, its suitable for 2. You will need to go for the 280 ltr unit for your needs. As to savings, you will save money....how much depends on what you currently use for hot water and who you buy your electricity from. We save around $40 per month at least

See all Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump questions

Get an answer from our members and Chromagen representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.