?
? !
1 photo
Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump

Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump

3.6 from 79 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    1.3 (6)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.7 (6)
  • Noise Level
    2.0 (6)
  • Temperature Consistency
    1.7 (6)
  • Heating Speed
    2.2 (6)
Previous
Next
Tony

TonyThe Mallee, VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Was a good unt to start with but when the hot water sytem uses $1500 of electrity i begin to wonder how they are

published

Chromagen is a very dodgy company beware if you are considering get a hotwater sytem through them they sighn you up and dont wish to no about you after that

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

347 reviews
Ad
Dave

DavePerth, WA

Cheap crap unit

published

I bought this system off Greenlogic solar over 2 years ago and the tank had a error on the system i called up the manufacturer and Greenlogic and they both want a $190 call out fee plus extra money for parts to fix the unit that should be under warranty, try avoid this unit and go for something else

Purchased in January 2019 for $1,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rick M.

Rick M.South East Queensland, QLD

Service? forget it!

published

Installed by Builder in display home we purchased. Easy now to see why... cheap Chinese rubbish. Heat pump errored and stopped after 4 years. Rang Chromagen 4 times.. each time they would "send their electician" No Call, no visit. That was weeks ago. Its out of statutory warranty, hence out of concern. Dont waste your money. If you need to replace just get an off-peak. If you are young enough to see the savings in your lifetime..get solar.

Purchased in August 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John Smith

John SmithPerth, WA

Leaking

published

Bought a Midea heat pump 170 2 years ago and know the screen is faded I can’t read anything and the hot water is leaking from the front, wish I spent the extra money to get a better product

Purchased in March 2018 for $1,900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jason

JasonPerth, WA

Don’t waste your money

published

published 2 years ago
This thing seriously comes up short in some very obvious design flaws that can cost you money.

Firstly, if the power goes out, even for a second, ALL presets are lost and if you don't notice this has occurred then when you do want hot water it could well be lukewarm or cold, depending on the duration before next use and/or noticing it has occurred.

Secondly, the tank insulation is pathetic, you can almost watch the degrees dropping away on the readout after your preset timer has switched off so basically you need to overheat your water

Purchased in January 2017 for $1,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Allan Code

Allan CodeCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Faulty outlet valve

published

My exhaust outlet value leeks far too much. It has been replaced about every 6 months. MY power bill goes up and water consumption soars. Any saving the heat pump makes is lost due to these faulty valves.
A different type of valve is required for this unit. Of course the temperature will drop when the water is flowing out over a litre an hour

Purchased in October 2015 at printz plumbing for $623.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

347 reviews
Ad
Nigel

NigelQueensland

Chromagen Heat Pump Hot Water - Rubbish.

published

The Heat Pump part of this cylinder stopped working after approx 3 years, the cylinder rusted out after 5 years & 3 months, 3 months out of warranty. Rubbish, Don't buy!

Purchased in December 2014.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size3 person(s)
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Deborah

Deborahvictoria

  • Verified purchase

Terrible product and appalling service!! Avoid!!

published

The product was faulty, supplying either inadequate hot water or none at all, and yet my tenant received an increase of 15% on their water bill. When confronted, Chromagen were both ignorant and unhelpful. After many attempts and a week of no hot water, a service provider was contacted by Chromagen and sent to repair the unit. After being informed there would be no cost should the unit be dysfunctional, I then received a bill. I have just been the recipient of a highly abusive and threatening call as a result of questioning this account, being told "I will come to your suburb and make it worth my while!". This matter is still unresolved and I will be taking it further. I highly urge anyone considering this product to seriously reconsider!!!

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Rubbish and no service

published
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mike

MikeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

Absolutely rubbish

published

I replaced a good 120 lt off peak unit for the 170 lt Midea heat pump believing the hype that they were cheaper to run plus being larger I would have lots more hot water when visitors stayed, what a joke. My off peak was always hot, the 170 lt Midea we cant even get 2 full showers out of it and most times when I walk outside it's heating up I think it's on more than it's not. My advice don't touch them.

Date PurchasedSept 2017
1 comment
Mike
Mike

Have spoken with Chromagen who have informed me it should be set at 60 degrees, they also are sending someone out to check so I will comment more after they have been

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

WORST THING EVER.

published

Mongrel landlord installed these so he could get all the govt kickbacks. Power bill has TRIPLED> NO OFFPEAK power in the house at all.
I have 2 x 70+ year old neighbours who turn their hot water off all day 4 days a week due to costs.
I get 23 mins hot water in the morning, and then have to wait 4+ hours for it to reheat. We have 190L units.
Absolute CRAP. Now stuck with HUGE bills as the landlord is a fool.

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dasher109

Dasher109Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Absolute Garbage, Very Expensive to run, Poor Service, Total lack of care,

published
Date PurchasedJune 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

347 reviews
Ad
dashdown

dashdownMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Big mistake

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ajb

AjbMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Bloody Terrible

published

Chromogen tanks are the biggest pieces of junk you ever come across. Investing in one of their tanks was a huge mistake. After the first tank was repaced on warranty the second tank has now failed. I'm giving up and is switching back to another brand at my own cost. These guys really suck buyer beware.

Date PurchasedApr 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Renata

RenataLoxton

  • Verified purchase

Do not buy

published
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
dvanriel

dvanrielshepparton

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

Bills skyrocketed - Not good on Controlled Load meter

published

My landlord had this unit installed, and I expected it to be great, as it's advertised to save heaps of money. However it apparently can't be used if you have a controlled load meter. It might use less electricity than the old unit, but what it does is billed at a higher rate! Think it's probably cost me an extra $3-400 extra this year..

Date PurchasedOct 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Fizzled out 3 months out of warranty

published
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

chromagen Midea 280Lt heat pump

published

After fairly detailed research I replaced our old solar unit with a Chromagen Midea 280L Heat Pump
biggest mistake i have ever made were told it will help reduce our power bill what a load of rubbish the power bills
went through the roof when i rang ghromagen and asked to talk to a technician was told he would ring back no reply
not happy with this product at all.

Date PurchasedJune 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

347 reviews
Ad
See all Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump reviews

Questions & Answers

Leonia F

Leonia Fasked

Can someone give me a phone number so I can ring them

No answers
Geoff C

Geoff Casked

Hi. I will be absent from home for five months.

What is the best way to turn off the unit? Does it need to be drained? We live in a tropical climate.

Geoff C

2 answers
Tony
Tony

Turn it of at your switch board as they are extreamly expensive to run

Ken
Ken

I don't think it needs to be drained. there is possibly an isolating switch mounted near the unit, if not your switchboard will have a breaker marked hot water. Contact chromagen to confirm this for yourself

James T

James Tasked

Where is the heat pump manufactured and what are the running costs for 4 people households

1 answer
Ken
Ken

They are made in China. The 170ltr unit will not do enough hot water for 4 people, its suitable for 2. You will need to go for the 280 ltr unit for your needs. As to savings, you will save money....how much depends on what you currently use for hot water and who you buy your electricity from. We save around $40 per month at least

See all Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump questions

Get an answer from our members and Chromagen representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.

EvoHeat EVO270

EvoHeat EVO270

347 reviews
Ad