?
? !
1 photo
Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump

Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump

3.6 from 79 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.1 (8)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (8)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (8)
  • Temperature Consistency
    3.6 (8)
  • Heating Speed
    3.5 (8)
Previous
Next
WillyK

WillyKGoulburn Valley, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Installed by cowboys

published

Does not meet electrical standards information from electrical inspector.
RCD not installed. Isolator underrated only 20A units use 29.5A.Tried to contact company no response. Rang 4 times gave up finally gave up.

Purchased in March 2021 at Chromagen Australia for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

356 reviews
Ad
Ken

KenWestern District, VIC

Very Poor Service backup

published

Product is ok but Chromagen service back up is poor. If you have an issue with your hot water unit on the weekend, they will charge you $275 even if its under warranty for labour and parts. Not very ethical company

Purchased in November 2020 at Chromagen Australia.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Disappointed

published

Wished we install the 300 lt the same as we had which was a excellent heat pump but only lasted 4 years. Went with the smaller one as recommended but notice our power bill went up.Sales people say it would do 4 people it would struggle. A little disappointed.

Purchased in May 2020 at Chromagen.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
  • Verified

No hot water to en-suite

published

The hot water service it replaced was working perfectly, lovely hot water throughout the house.
Now no hot water, none to the en-suite. No need to use the cold water tap anywhere in the house.

Purchased in July 2020 at On line.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Matt

MattPerth, WA

  • Verified

Poor Quality: Won't last long term

published

Purchased in October 2014 at Infinite Energy for $1,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Andrew

AndrewGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Gift horse / mouth

published

Purchased in August 2017 at Chromagen Australia.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

356 reviews
Ad
Westy

WestyCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Noisy

published

i bought it new and performed well for the first few months had the unit replaced after a constant whine up to 70 BD in the first 3 years . they replaced a new unit under warranty .

Purchased in December 2017 for $1,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
The Old Bloke

The Old BlokeAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Insulation is poor so the thing actually costs you more

published

I got one of these recently to replace a Dux unit that was out of warranty and Dux just didnt want to fix it even if I was offering to pay. Dux are so useless they design units they are redundant - so much for 'sustainability'. Anyway this unit is somewhat quieter but has WOEFUL insulation. I have set the timer for it to run from 8 am to 8pm, this morning when I got up, water was at 30C!! My Dux was so well insulated at least it reattained heat when it switched off overnight/. This is system is better as a pool heater than a domestic HotWater system. It's not such a 'smart' system if you have to keep it on all day to keep sustainable hot water. Big FAIL Chromagen.

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Wayne

WayneAdelaide

  • Verified

Serious Design Flaws

published
Date PurchasedSept 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Not happy with chromagen Midea 170l heat pump

published

every time there is a power outage, I have to go out and reset the computer system otherwise I don't have any hot water, so if I go away for a few days and the power happens to go off, when I get back no hot water and have to reset it and wait until it heats up again, I got rid of a perfectly good hot water system and replaced with this heap of crap, wouldn't recommend the 170l apparently the 280l sets itself, what is wrong with technology. pity the poor old people that aren't computer savvy, so if you do change to a Chromagen heat pump go the 280l if you don't want any hassles, you are not told this before it is installed, I was told it is all in the manual, but you don't get the manual until it's installed, ??? derrrr.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
snakeman

snakeman

  • 16 reviews
  • 12 likes

Saving so much $$$$$$ in electricity and ample hot water

published

Purchased in November 2017 for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
benzainey

benzaineyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 9 likes
  • Verified

Read the terms and conditions!!!

published
Date PurchasedJune 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

356 reviews
Ad

To early to know

published

Working ok poor communication on installation between information booklet and installers had to relocate from original location to another unsuitable area
Lack of water piping to stop water running down house wall from top of tank outlets

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump reviews

Questions & Answers

Brendan

Brendanasked

We have a MideaHeat pump hot water system at a holiday property which is unoccupied for weeks at a time. I contacted Chromagen about whether it was ok to turn off the system when away and was told that this was ok as long as we were prepared to wait 4-5 hours for it to heat up when we turned it back on again. Looking at the manual online in the caution section it seems to advise against doing this. Can you clarify this issue?

1 answer
Tony
Tony

They stuff up after time and your power bill goes sky high

Leonia F

Leonia Fasked

Can someone give me a phone number so I can ring them

No answers
Geoff C

Geoff Casked

Hi. I will be absent from home for five months.

What is the best way to turn off the unit? Does it need to be drained? We live in a tropical climate.

Geoff C

2 answers
Tony
Tony

Turn it of at your switch board as they are extreamly expensive to run

Ken
Ken

I don't think it needs to be drained. there is possibly an isolating switch mounted near the unit, if not your switchboard will have a breaker marked hot water. Contact chromagen to confirm this for yourself

See all Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump questions

Get an answer from our members and Chromagen representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.

EvoHeat EVO270

EvoHeat EVO270

356 reviews
Ad