1 photo
Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump

Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump (page 2 of 4)

3.5 from 86 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.4 (16)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (17)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (16)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (17)
  • Temperature Consistency
    4.5 (15)
  • Heating Speed
    4.3 (16)
Previous
Next
JandK
JandKGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • Verified

Very happy, thank you!

published

I had one put in at my retirement home. 7 month ago. very happy, thank you!
my electricity bill net down a bit, every dollar helps, especially on a pension.

Purchased in August 2018 at Chromagen Australia.

Build Quality
Value for Money
utao
utaoSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

very capable product

published

We have been using the 170L heat pump over 6 months. It easily meets our daily hot water usage (2 adults with 1 child, 2 showers a day for adults and 1 shower for child, plus kitchen and laundry, and occasionally having 1-2 guests ). Never failed to deliver continuous hot water so far. Have not touched control pad since installation and was told the newer models do not have the 'reset after blackout' issues any more. The price seemed to be dramatically cheaper than some of the top rankers on the heat-pump review page, so I reckon it is offering wonderful value.

Purchased in March 2018 at Chromagen Australia.

Build Quality
Value for Money
glenys
glenysWestern District, VIC
  • 3 reviews

wonderful unit, for 3 people

published

It's really a good unit 170litres Midea, the only thing is when there's a power cut have to reset temp in middle of night for water otherwise cold shower in morning, and have to reset clock on unit like you do on microwave when power comes on.

Purchased in February 2019 for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
NeilKC
NeilKCMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified

A great investment for our future - read for real feedback

published
Date PurchasedNov 2018
Pascale
PascaleLangwarrin
  • Verified

The best investment we’ve ever made

published

This has to be the best investment we’ve ever made! I don’t understand the bad reviews - we’ve had this unit for over 12 months with no issues whatsoever. Delivery and installation were faultless. Our electricity bills have been halved and we are singing this product’s praises to everyone we encounter!

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
The Old Bloke
The Old BlokeAU
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Insulation is poor so the thing actually costs you more

published

I got one of these recently to replace a Dux unit that was out of warranty and Dux just didnt want to fix it even if I was offering to pay. Dux are so useless they design units they are redundant - so much for 'sustainability'. Anyway this unit is somewhat quieter but has WOEFUL insulation. I have set the timer for it to run from 8 am to 8pm, this morning when I got up, water was at 30C!! My Dux was so well insulated at least it reattained heat when it switched off overnight/. This is system is better as a pool heater than a domestic HotWater system. It's not such a 'smart' system if you have to keep it on all day to keep sustainable hot water. Big FAIL Chromagen.

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Wayne
WayneAdelaide
  • Verified

Serious Design Flaws

published
Date PurchasedSept 2018
Peter
PeterMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

170 lt

published

Very happy with the service we received after a problem was detected ‘ notified them on FB and they rang me that day, no fuss tradies and simply set it on economy mode without the timer and away it goes, I’ve recommended it to friends and they are going on with it to. Great system

Date PurchasedJuly 2018

Recommend it to everyone

published

I think the people giving bad reviews are either on the receiving end of faulty installation or a faulty product, because we have been running the 170L model since 2106 and and have never had a problem. I suggest you download the manual and have a look at what you are doing wrong? Our household fluctuates between 3-5 adults and 1 child. We are able to shower twice a day, and take baths, run a dishwasher and wash up. We have only run out of hot water once after an excessively long shower (ridiculous) was taken by a guest at night.

Date PurchasedJune 2016
Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Reduction in electricity costs

published

We have no complaint with our Chromagen Hot Water System at this point in time, the proof of which is stated in our Electricity Statements. dodo Power & Gas: "Your Average Daily Usage was 18.63 kWh for this bill". "Your usage was 25.86 kWh for the same time last year." You would have to be happy with that! We are.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
lizzy
lizzyBallarat
  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified

Much better than my old unit!

published

Had this installed and am so pleased that we did. The hot water is virtually instantaneous and not at all like the other unit we had - anything up to a minute before the hot water tap ran hot!
Adjustable so that it can be turned right down for when the little ones come to visit.
So far, very pleased with the unit but of course, time will tell.

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
John Gray
John GrayGippsland, VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent

published

Since installation electricity bill is 1/3 what it was i have it set so it only heats during the day as we have 5 KW of solar on the roof.
We are just two but it fulfils all our needs.
Mother inlaw has had hers put in got first bill an is over the moon with the savings

Date PurchasedNov 2017
cleobasset1
cleobasset1Metropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect partner to solar panels.

published

Had this unit installed in conjunction with 30 solar panels. It is very efficient, using solar output to supplement the heat pump. You can set the times you want it to use solar energy being produced, and when to switch off. The various settings seem daunting, but if you carefully read the (downloadable) manual it's pretty DIY. I had to do that as the installer made a mess of the settings and we had no hot water the following day. Assume I need to do a complete reset every time there is a power outage or blip. Will see. Overall, very happy with the economic benefits.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
TF
TFHobart
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent! Our Power Bill has halved!

published

Couldn't be happier! We waited until we've compared 2 bills. Both are halved. We also compared to other Heat Pump HWS's and Chromagen is much more affordable. Very impressed. Great value! Lots of features. Not too noisy. Easy installation. Even able to have long showers now. Love it! Happy customer.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Ilona
IlonaKinglake
  • 2 reviews

Saved me $$$$$

published

As everyone else, I was a bit sceptical at first. How can a HWS ‘save’ money? This unit is fantastic & has cut my electricity bill in 1/2. I’m on tank water so every drop is precious. Highly recommend this unit. Thank you Because of this unit I can finally have a bath (something my old unit wouldn’t allow.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 2 of 4
See all Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump reviews

Questions & Answers

Nick G
Nick Gasked

Unit switches on outside Time On - Time Off programming. Should this be happening?

No answers
Rasul R.
Rasul R.asked

Why is my hot water system is beeping?

No answers
Russ P
Russ Pasked

What is the output temperature range of the smaller model?

1 answer
Russ P
Russ P

Can it be 40 degrees?

See all Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump questions

Get an answer from our members and Chromagen representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.