1 photo
Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump

Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump (page 3 of 4)

3.5 from 86 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.4 (16)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (17)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (16)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (17)
  • Temperature Consistency
    4.5 (15)
  • Heating Speed
    4.3 (16)
Previous
Next
Jill
JillKerang

Never runs out of hot water.

published

Have found this to be excellent, never runs out of hot water. Can use hybrid mode for colder winter nights where it switches to power under 4 degrees. Can also operate as a normal hot water service and use off peak power if you choose to. But 99% of the time economy mode is perfect. Must be saving us at least $100 per bill

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

382 reviews
Ad
  • Verified

DIY Chromagen 170L heat pump as hot zone

published

adding Chromagen 170 L heat pump as the hot zone with the existing solar 315 L solarhart seperate tank system as low temp Zone , to make a 485 Litre water system ....... also power by 6kw solar panel at day time, so make it nearly free to run ...... installed for 16 months now and no problem at all, I also disconnected the electric heater in the Chromagen 170 L to force it to run the heat pump. After the install of the solar panels, 2017 summer quarter bill is $669 and 2018 summer is $207 for both electricity and gas, drop 69%

Date PurchasedOct 2016
Sean P
Sean PKeperra
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Excellent savings. Great system

published

Plenty of hot water for our needs (2 adults). Used in conjunction with our solar this has proved to be an excellent choice over our old gas hot water system. We have the timer set to turn off at 4 am and on at 3pm at the recommendations of the installer, as we have solar. Time will tell if it provides the same savings over winter.

Date PurchasedSept 2017
Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jerry D
Jerry DHunter Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Good little machine

published

Been using Rheem Heat pump for last 10 years. At the beginning it was good, that it started to cost us big money.
Service calls, recirculating pumps, thermostat sensors. Finally, it died.

Replaced with yet another Heat Pump.
So far so good. Very happy.
Hopping it will last longer & serve us well.

Date PurchasedSept 2017
Ronnie
RonnieVic, 3984
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

This is a money saver!!

published

I had a 7 year old electric system and I replaced it with a Chromogen 170L and could not be happier. My power bill has reduced by hundreds of dollars every quarter and we never run out of hot water. The staff and installation people were lovely and the swapover was over in a couple of hours.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
KJONNO
KJONNOPURNIM VIA WRRNAMBOOL AUS

Thank you Chromogen

published

Have not had a bill yet but is due soon, but had my family home gone from 2 persons to 10 persons with 4 children did not run out of water, water seems softer I don't know why however the the 170 litre is working fine with 55 degrees being the lowest temp and 62 the highest we are very satisfied good work government subsidy.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

382 reviews
Ad
Sharon Philips
Sharon PhilipsMurray Mallee, SA
  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Very nice unit.

published

The unit is working really well. I have not had a power bill yet but im sure it will be better with this new unit. My old unit was about 30 yrs old and seem to heat all the time. Was happy with the price I paid with the government rebates it was a great deal. The only issue was I had to pay extra for my electrical switch in the fuse box. It needed to be upgraded which I totally understand. But would of been nice if I was advised at the time of ordering that this might be possible. I had to pay for the on the day of installation or the unit would of not been installed. Lucky I had enough money to cover it. The guys that came to install the unit were very friendly. Will update this when I get my next power bill.

Date PurchasedJune 2017
benzainey
benzaineyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 7 reviews
  • 9 likes
  • Verified

Read the terms and conditions!!!

published
Date PurchasedJune 2017

DIY heat pump with existing solar system

published

I buy this unit and connect it in series with the solar 370 litre gas booater Euora hot water system, I disconnected the heating element in the chromagen 170 litre, so there will be no chance of using it, which is quite expensive to use electricity to heat up water.

AS a result, a 540 liter system existed with low temp zone and high temp zone in the chromagen.

It work good for 6 months now.

Date PurchasedJune 2016
Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rainy Monday
Rainy MondayBrisbane
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

An Excellent Hot Water Unit

published

After fairly detailed research I replaced a Chromagen Solar Unit ( a piece of rubbish) with a new Midea Heat Pump system. I figured that an air conditioner manufacturer should understand heat pump technology, and so far I am very happy. The unit has an in built timer and allows me to control the running time to during daylight hours when I get the benefit of the solar PV panels. Very tidy looking, easy to use the timer. Quiet operation. I will update when we see the next electricity bill. . . . .

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Has been a great product and has saved me on power costs

published

I am very happy having this hot water unit its been a big saving in costs and works wonderful would recommend it to any one interested as you sure will see the difference it makes in your home

Bryan Edwards
Bryan EdwardsGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 4 reviews

An excellent product Time will Tell

published

A fantastic product so far,can only comment on a short period of time in operation as is new.However the guys who installed the unit were terrific,very professional,the unit looks great and works well.

EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

382 reviews
Ad

So far so good

published

I am very happy with this hot water system. Looks good works well my power bill is down. The young men that installed it were fantastic. The company has been very helpful and nice. I would have no problem recommending them.

Keith
KeithYackandandah
  • 2 reviews

Works very well

published

Our last system was not hot enough to wash the dishes, we had to boil the jug to add to the sink, now we don't. We have a Solar system that runs the Midea 170L during the day.

Brand new and professional installation. Absolutely fantastic.

published

Received new hot water service promptly, installed quickly and professionally. Looks new age and not like an ugly add on and works perfect. Purchased as secondary hot water system for visitors bathroom and haven't ran out of hot water yet! Thank you.

Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 3 of 4
See all Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump reviews

Questions & Answers

Nick G
Nick Gasked

Unit switches on outside Time On - Time Off programming. Should this be happening?

No answers
Rasul R.
Rasul R.asked

Why is my hot water system is beeping?

No answers
Russ P
Russ Pasked

What is the output temperature range of the smaller model?

1 answer
Russ P
Russ P

Can it be 40 degrees?

See all Chromagen Midea 170L Heat Pump questions

Get an answer from our members and Chromagen representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.

EvoHeat EVO270

EvoHeat EVO270

382 reviews
Ad