??!
3 photos
Miele K 12820 SD
2.5 from 63 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.2 (31)
  • Value for Money
    2.3 (31)
  • Ease of Use
    3.4 (31)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (31)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (29)
  • Internal Layout
    4.2 (17)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More

I thought Miele was a quality brand but it seems it sources parts from the cheapest supplier

published

After a couple of years of domestic use the door handle broke off. The handle is poorly designed and constructed of cheap, thin cast metal. I replaced the door handle and this replacement handle has also now broken in the same place, despite careful use. A new handle is $250+. If you are thinking of buying Miele, add about $80 per year for handles to the running cost of Miele when comparing brands brands to buy. I am extremely disappointed as our Miele dishwashers have all been good.

Purchased in December 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
Miele representativeMiele
Chris Mc Gregor

Chris Mc GregorCentral Queensland, QLD

hate replacing door handles for Excesive cost

published

Just like others on here I'm not impressed that a door handle is so weak and it costs $200 + to replace. Iam not preparewd to keep paying out to replace the door handle every few years other than this issue the freezer is great. Makes me think I won't be buying Miele again.

Purchased in March 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Household Size2 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
Miele representativeMiele

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Damo

DamoCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Broken handle, split seal....terrible design from a quality brand

published

We have the Miele fridge freezer combo. As with a lot of other reviews of this product, the handle on the fridge has snapped. Not happy as this is an expensive fridge/freezer combo and meant to be a quality brand.

To add to this, due to the broken handle and obviously having to open the fridge still, the seal in the fridge now has a split and also needs to be replaced.

I would hesitate to purchase another Miele product.

Purchased at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
See all answers
2 comments
Miele
Miele representativeMiele
Damo
Damo

Email sent with all information as requested.

Upright Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Miele K 12820 SD compares to other Upright Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Unhappy gal

Unhappy galSouth East Queensland, QLD

Lemon

published

Fridge freezer pigeon pair
Handles have been replaced.
Constantly fills with water regardless of how much I clean
Doors are covered in rust spots
Fridge seals broken
So disappointed
Recommendations for replacement seals?
Food goes off too fast
Never buy Miele again☹️

Purchased in April 2015 at David Jones Retail Stores for A$4,598.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size3 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
Miele representativeMiele
HeatherT

HeatherTNortheast, VIC

Broken handles, seals and fills with water!

published

Our handles have snapped off, the fridge constantly fills with water, in spite of me regularly cleaning it and now the seals have cracked and broken. Am extremely dissatisfied with this fridge.

Purchased in January 2014 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size5 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
Miele representativeMiele
Sam C

Sam CSouthern and Hills, SA

Great fridge, weak handle

published

Purchased the fridge freezer combo from Harvey Norman Mount Barker in 2016 when setting up house. We have been really pleased with the size/layout of the fridge, however the handle has snapped and won't open the fridge door now, really disappointed because the handle is so expensive to buy as a spare part. With a three year old and a new baby and all the costs that go along with that plus being a single income family this is a definite negative on the product. We now have to squeeze the seal to open the door.

Purchased in July 2016 at Harvey Norman for A$2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
See all answers
Megaload m.

Megaload m.South East Queensland, QLD

Great fridge horrible handle design

published

This is the 2nd handle in 5 years that has snapped on our fridge freezer combo. Our replacement handle for our freezer was $220 direct from Miele + installation. I would hesitate to purchase another fridge\Freezer is also about to snap. I think the fridge is fine otherwise.

Purchased in January 2016 at Ashgrove .

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size3 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
Miele representativeMiele
Garth

GarthSouth East Queensland, QLD

Problems with fridge and freezer handles

published

We’ve bought a houseful of Miele appliances. We are elderly and bought these for there supposed long life. We have 2 freezers and 1 fridge, steam iron, washer, steam oven, microwave etc etc
Our 2nd fridge / freezer handle has just broken and the third handle doesn’t look too good. These are expensive to replace and is definitely a design fault.
Other than the handles the fridge freezers are working well but we certainly would like Miele to look after us especially with the amount of money we’ve spent with them.
We have recommended Miele to others but not too sure now especially with the handle problems. Never happened to us before with cheaper fridges in our younger days

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Miele
Miele representativeMiele
Nd

NdPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Buyer beware !

published

This fridge freezer pigeon pair is an absolute waste of money. DO NOT BUY ! Our handle broke soon after warranty and a with many others we were told it would cost around $200 to replace. The seal has cracked and it constantly leaks as it requires you to manually unblock the drain hole ! Complete disappointment! We had a Miele dishwasher and washing machine but those too ended up not lasting longer than 5 years. We will be steering clear of all Miele products hence forth.

Purchased at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size5 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
Miele representativeMiele
Upright Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Miele K 12820 SD compares to other Upright Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Joanna

JoannaPerth, WA

So disappointed - handles broken

published

Out entire kitchen is fitted Exclusively with Miele products. It was quite an investment to make but we thought it would be a good long term decision, unfortunately the fridge freezer combo has not lived up to expectations. First the fridge handle broke and now the freezer handle. I can’t justify the $217 (each!) replacement cost especially as I’m now on unpaid maternity leave.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
See all answers
3 comments
Miele
Miele representativeMiele
Joanna
Joanna

Hi Daniel, thanks very much for your prompt response, after emailing you as suggested, I have since followed up two times by email and still no phone call?

Miele
Miele representativeMiele

Hi Joanna, I'm sorry you've not heard back from our team, I've sent a follow up to our team. It can take 7 - 10 business days for our team to get in contact, and we do apologise for the delay. Kind regards, Daniel.

Total

TotalCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Great fridge BUT Handle snapped off

published

This is the 2nd handle that has snapped on our fridge freezer combo. It looks as though the metal is too thin. Our replacement handle for our freezer was a slightly different design but over $200 direct from Miele. I would hesitate to purchase another fridge had I known this was a problem I think the fridge is fine otherwise.

Purchased in June 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
See all answers
2 comments
Miele
Miele representativeMiele
Total
Total

Just an update Miele contacted me via phone today to offer a replacement handle free of charge. I feel that this is good customer service to fix a problem without hesitation. So well done Miele!!

Great fridge freezer but really poor handles

published

Our freezer door handle just snapped without any force, for such a great freezer fridge side by side the handles are really poorly made, a real shame considering the great quality of the fridges/freezer themselves. Considering they cost circa $220 each this is not right and should not happen

Purchased in July 2012 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size5 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
Miele representativeMiele
Peter Pozor

Peter PozorSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

We also have Handle problems. Cheap plastic fittings. German quality?.

published

We also have Handle problems. Cheap plastic fittings. German quality?.
Miele is an expensive product but the handles are poorly designed and cheaply made...I very much doubt we will buy a Miele product again

Purchased in April 2020 at Appliances Direct Online for A$1,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size3 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
Miele representativeMiele
Paul

PaulGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fridge handle breakage x2

published

Our miele fridge has had 2 door handles break. They are priced at $217 and no excessive force was used when it snapped. We regularly clean the air pipe inside the fridge to avoid vacuum build up but it still broke! For a company who prides itself on a high quality product I'm getting really disillusioned and will probably just lever the door open with our hand from now on rather than waste another $200 + dollars on an obvious design flaw.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size3 person(s)
See all answers
2 comments
Miele
Miele representativeMiele
Paul
Paul
Peter

PeterSydney, NSW

Design flaw in handles and drain blocks - seems Miele's standards are slipping

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
Miele representativeMiele
Upright Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Miele K 12820 SD compares to other Upright Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Disappointed

DisappointedSouth West, WA

Dissatisfied

published

We purchased a meile because we thought it was a superior brand but alas the door handle just snaps off in my hand. Over $200 for a new one. Definitely would not recommend to others. Handles very weak and flimsy.

Purchased at Retravision.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
See all answers
2 comments
Miele
Miele representativeMiele
Disappointed
Disappointed

Pete Moore
Eaton, Western Australia
0419655561

Cattie

CattieBrisbane

  • 2 reviews

Very disappointed especially given brand and price

published

Leaks water from the bottom.
Handles broke, paid to have them replaced and the broke again. Seals replaced twice.
No point paying a huge amount to have seals replaced again. Will be buying a new fridge and not a Miele

Purchased at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size5 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
Miele representativeMiele
Plato37

Plato37Brisbane

Poor design and quality of handles.

published

The handle of this refrigerator has broken - this is the second occasion. It really is time that Miele got to grips with this problem. The unit otherwise operates well (apart from the necessity of continually needing to attend to the drain). In spite of the fact that the handle problem is a design issue, Miele try to extract a small fortune to fix it!

Purchased in October 2013.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Miele
Miele representativeMiele
jcm4101

jcm4101Perth, WA

Don't let Miele charge you for broken door handles (Australia)

published

Purchased in January 2013 at Harvey Norman for A$2,000.00.

Build Quality
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
1 comment
Miele
Miele representativeMiele
Pauly

Pauly

  • 2 reviews

Not what you expect for an expensive fridge

published

I purchased the fridge and freezer combo about 6 years ago. I can’t fault the freezer but the fridge has had expensive issues. The fridge cost $4000 brand new but like others have mentioned - the drain hole blocks and next thing you know there’s water all sitting under the fridge. I have also had to replace the fridge handle twice at $217 each time! Now it’s broken for the third time so we have just tried to glue and pot rivet it back together, very disappointing considering the cost of this fridge. Inside is a good layout and is easy to clean.

Purchased at RetraVision for A$4,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
Miele representativeMiele
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Roisin and Peter

Roisin and Peterasked

K 12820 SD

Why does the water, when drained from inside the fridge through the very small hole into the reservoir at the back, have trouble evaporating? It created a terrible smell that goes through our whole house, we liken it to a rotting corpse. We do regularly use a straw to clear the drain hole otherwise water gathers at the bottom of the fridge. We have to drag the fridge out every few weeks to soak the stagnant water up. Please advise on how this can be fixed.

No answers
Consumer

Consumerasked

K 12820 SD (White)

I am having trouble with water not draining away through the little drain yet I can't seem to reach anything that may be blocking it...any ideas? Have tried to use a straw.

No answers
Morkinalice

Morkinaliceasked

K 12820 SD EDT/CS (Stainless Steel)

Has anyone dropped a shelf? Beware shatters like a crystal glass shards everywhere and NOT SAFETY GLASS found out the hard way 6 cuts on feet from flying shards.

1 answer
fiona
fiona

I had one explode on me when I was washing it.very scary I had no cuts but was very challenging.

Get an answer from our members and Miele representatives

Details

Compare both Miele K 12820 SD
CategoryUpright Fridges / RefrigeratorsUpright Fridges / Refrigerators
Price (RRP) A$2,799.00A$2,199.00
Dimensions 1850 x 600 x 630 mm1850 x 600 x 630 mm
Energy Rating2 star(s)2 star(s)
Household Size 3-4 people3-4 people
FeaturesWine RackWine Rack
Colour / FinishStainless SteelWhite
Handle Type ExternalExternal
Smart Fridge NoNo
Shelf MaterialGlassGlass
Number of Shelves55
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins22
Weight75.3 kg
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)
Capacity
Total Capacity 405 L405 L
Fridge Capacity 405 L405 L
Release dateApr 2011Apr 2011
Compare both Miele K 12820 SD

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.