3 photos
Miele 405L Upright K 12820 SD Series

Miele 405L Upright K 12820 SD Series

K 12820 SD (White), K 12820 SD EDT/CS (Stainless Steel)
2.5 from 69 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Miele

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.2 (36)
  • Value for Money
    2.3 (36)
  • Ease of Use
    3.3 (36)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (36)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (34)
  • Internal Layout
    4.1 (22)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Savio F.
Savio F.Sydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Miele K12820 SD & FN 12827S pigeon pair fridge & freezer handles flaw

published

Purchased in August 2015 at Winning Appliances NSW, Redfern for $3,598.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Miele
Miele representativeMiele
Savio F.
Savio F.

Thank you Daniel, I have been contacted by phone and a resolution is in progress.
Miele Customer service has been great so far.
Thank you

Tim - Sunshine Coast
Tim - Sunshine CoastSouth East Queensland, QLD

Broken handle - disappointing Miele

published

Purchased in 2017 as a pigeon pair fridge and freezer. We’ve had continuous problems with water ponding and flowing onto the floor. The vacuum seal once the fridge door closes seems too strong combined with a flimsy handle design, if you go back to the fridge straight after closing the door it’s difficult to open..... However it was my 65yr old mother who snapped off the handle while visiting.
We purchased Miele thinking it was a quality brand - however I would only describe as a LEMON and poorly designed. Ultimately I regret the purchase.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Kelpie
KelpieMid North Coast, NSW

OK but...

published

Purchased at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Upright Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Miele 405L Upright K 12820 SD Series compares to other Upright Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Very disappointed with top brand!

published

Water pools in the fridge regularly. Has leaked and swollen kitchen cabinet nearby. Freezes some items while others aren’t cold enough. If anything touches the back wall it pools water. We’ve always been very careful with handles as they looked bad design and cheap.....and now tonight it broke!!! And approx. $300 to replace! We thought the layout and design was good. We are very disappointed with performance. I’ll not be recommending.

Purchased at Brisbane Appliance Sales for $1,000.00.

Incentivised Review No
Household Size 3 person(s)
Markus D.
Markus D.South East Queensland, QLD

The worst appliance we have ever purchased

published

Firstly, as reported by other people the handle breaks after 2 years and has to be replaced. We are 4 years in now and now the door rubbers have all perished and fallen apart. But worst of all, this fridge has a serious water issue. It has leaked water out the back, and over a few years ha completely destroyed our bamboo flooring. It’s going to coast thousands to replace. Complete disaster.

Purchased in December 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Miele
Miele representativeMiele

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Rosie
RosiePerth, WA

Great fridge/freezer

published

So happy with the design (easy “cleanability”) and quality of our upright fridge/freezer combination.
Like others have mentioned, we did have an issue with one door handle. It deteriorated and eventually broke. But, even six years after purchase, Miele replaced at no cost to us.
I note that the new handle is more robust and so assume this issue has been addressed and should not deter anyone from making a purchase of this otherwise fabulous appliance.

Purchased at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money

I thought Miele was a quality brand but it seems it sources parts from the cheapest supplier

published

After a couple of years of domestic use the door handle broke off. The handle is poorly designed and constructed of cheap, thin cast metal. I replaced the door handle and this replacement handle has also now broken in the same place, despite careful use. A new handle is $250+. If you are thinking of buying Miele, add about $80 per year for handles to the running cost of Miele when comparing brands brands to buy. I am extremely disappointed as our Miele dishwashers have all been good.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in December 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Miele
Miele representativeMiele
Bruce
Bruce
Chris Mc Gregor
Chris Mc GregorCentral Queensland, QLD

hate replacing door handles for Excesive cost

published

Just like others on here I'm not impressed that a door handle is so weak and it costs $200 + to replace. Iam not preparewd to keep paying out to replace the door handle every few years other than this issue the freezer is great. Makes me think I won't be buying Miele again.

Purchased in March 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Miele
Miele representativeMiele
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Damo
DamoCanberra 2600, ACT
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Broken handle, split seal....terrible design from a quality brand

published

We have the Miele fridge freezer combo. As with a lot of other reviews of this product, the handle on the fridge has snapped. Not happy as this is an expensive fridge/freezer combo and meant to be a quality brand.

To add to this, due to the broken handle and obviously having to open the fridge still, the seal in the fridge now has a split and also needs to be replaced.

I would hesitate to purchase another Miele product.

Purchased at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Miele
Miele representativeMiele
Damo
Damo

Email sent with all information as requested.

Upright Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Miele 405L Upright K 12820 SD Series compares to other Upright Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Unhappy gal
Unhappy galSouth East Queensland, QLD

Lemon

published

Fridge freezer pigeon pair
Handles have been replaced.
Constantly fills with water regardless of how much I clean
Doors are covered in rust spots
Fridge seals broken
So disappointed
Recommendations for replacement seals?
Food goes off too fast
Never buy Miele again☹️

Purchased in April 2015 at David Jones Retail Stores for $4,598.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Miele
Miele representativeMiele
HeatherT
HeatherTNortheast, VIC

Broken handles, seals and fills with water!

published

Our handles have snapped off, the fridge constantly fills with water, in spite of me regularly cleaning it and now the seals have cracked and broken. Am extremely dissatisfied with this fridge.

Purchased in January 2014 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Miele
Miele representativeMiele
Sam C
Sam CSouthern and Hills, SA

Great fridge, weak handle

published

Purchased the fridge freezer combo from Harvey Norman Mount Barker in 2016 when setting up house. We have been really pleased with the size/layout of the fridge, however the handle has snapped and won't open the fridge door now, really disappointed because the handle is so expensive to buy as a spare part. With a three year old and a new baby and all the costs that go along with that plus being a single income family this is a definite negative on the product. We now have to squeeze the seal to open the door.

Purchased in July 2016 at Harvey Norman for $2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Megaload m.
Megaload m.South East Queensland, QLD

Great fridge horrible handle design

published

This is the 2nd handle in 5 years that has snapped on our fridge freezer combo. Our replacement handle for our freezer was $220 direct from Miele + installation. I would hesitate to purchase another fridge\Freezer is also about to snap. I think the fridge is fine otherwise.

Purchased in January 2016 at Ashgrove .

Build Quality
Value for Money
Miele
Miele representativeMiele
Garth
GarthSouth East Queensland, QLD

Problems with fridge and freezer handles

published

We’ve bought a houseful of Miele appliances. We are elderly and bought these for there supposed long life. We have 2 freezers and 1 fridge, steam iron, washer, steam oven, microwave etc etc
Our 2nd fridge / freezer handle has just broken and the third handle doesn’t look too good. These are expensive to replace and is definitely a design fault.
Other than the handles the fridge freezers are working well but we certainly would like Miele to look after us especially with the amount of money we’ve spent with them.
We have recommended Miele to others but not too sure now especially with the handle problems. Never happened to us before with cheaper fridges in our younger days

Incentivised Review No
Miele
Miele representativeMiele
Nd
NdPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews

Buyer beware !

published

This fridge freezer pigeon pair is an absolute waste of money. DO NOT BUY ! Our handle broke soon after warranty and a with many others we were told it would cost around $200 to replace. The seal has cracked and it constantly leaks as it requires you to manually unblock the drain hole ! Complete disappointment! We had a Miele dishwasher and washing machine but those too ended up not lasting longer than 5 years. We will be steering clear of all Miele products hence forth.

Purchased at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Miele
Miele representativeMiele
Upright Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Miele 405L Upright K 12820 SD Series compares to other Upright Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Bee
Beeasked
405L Upright K 12820 SD Series

Hello, I am having a lot of trouble setting my freezer temperature and the manual doesn't specify. The freezer is making a very loud humming noise for the past two days after a clean and not sure how to set it back to normal freezer temperature.

No answers
Code
Codeasked
K 12820 SD EDT/CS (Stainless Steel)

Hi guys. Why is my fridge door not self-closing? I bought it only in Feb 2020.I keep finding our door left ajar by a couple of centimetres or less and back part of our fridge end up frosting. And there is nothing obstructing inside. And door is not filled with heavy items.

No answers
Roisin and Peter
Roisin and Peterasked
405L Upright K 12820 SD Series

Why does the water, when drained from inside the fridge through the very small hole into the reservoir at the back, have trouble evaporating? It created a terrible smell that goes through our whole house, we liken it to a rotting corpse. We do regularly use a straw to clear the drain hole otherwise water gathers at the bottom of the fridge. We have to drag the fridge out every few weeks to soak the stagnant water up. Please advise on how this can be fixed.

1 answer
Kartia D.
Kartia D.

No response from Miele? We have the same issue!

See all Miele 405L Upright K 12820 SD Series questions

Get an answer from our members and Miele representatives

Miele 405L Upright K 12820 SD Series

Details

Compare both Miele 405L Upright K 12820 SD Series
Miele K 12820 SD (White)
  • Discontinued

Miele K 12820 SD (White)

2.9
(43)
CategoryUpright Fridges / RefrigeratorsUpright Fridges / Refrigerators
Price (RRP) $2,799.00$2,199.00
Dimensions 1850 x 600 x 630 mm1850 x 600 x 630 mm
Energy Rating2 star(s)2 star(s)
Household Size 3-4 people3-4 people
FeaturesWine RackWine Rack
Handle Type ExternalExternal
Smart Fridge NoNo
Shelf MaterialGlassGlass
Number of Shelves55
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins22
Weight75.3 kg
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishStainless SteelWhite
Capacity
Total Capacity 405 L405 L
Fridge Capacity 405 L405 L
Release dateApr 2011
Compare both Miele 405L Upright K 12820 SD Series

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.