17 photos
Mitsubishi 380 DB

Mitsubishi 380 DB (2005-2008)

(No Badge), GT, Platinum Edition, etc...
4.6 from 97 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Sedans in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Mitsubishi

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    5.0 (5)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (5)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (5)
  • Braking
    4.6 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.8 (5)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.6 (5)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.2 (5)
  • Handling
    5.0 (5)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (5)
  • Boot Size
    4.8 (5)
  • Comfort
    4.8 (5)
  • Features
    4.2 (5)
Previous
Next
Andrew
AndrewMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews

Best car I have ever owned

published

Purchased 5 years ago with 105000 on clock. I am just about to turn over 200000 and I've only had 1 window and the thermostat break. It's an SX series 3 and it is so comfy and absolutely pulls like a train, super smooth gear changes, a little thirsty around town but an absolute miser in the country. I now tow a jayco camper trailer with it. Pitty I can't by a new one as its fantastic, makes all my ex Holden's look like, well, Holden's.

Purchased in September 2016 for $4,500.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
JohnScott
JohnScott
  • 21 reviews
  • 11 likes

Great sedan, Australia misses not having these anymore.

published

I bought a 2008 model 380 Platinum in 2003 with 120,000 on the clock for $7000.

One of the best car purchases I've made in recent years. For my long country roads it's been more than fit for purpose. Low and comfortable, quiet and reliable. Apart from the general servicing I have spent no money on it at all.

Now it's got almost 300,000 on the clock and the aircon has recently started leaking. To fix the leak the dashboard will have to be removed so it's unlikely that I'll even bother. I've had my value from it even if it blows up tomorrow... which I highly doubt. I suspect it's got a pile more km's in it yet. It's still got loads of torque and power and the handling and economy is still great.

I wish I could buy a new one.

Purchased in March 2003 for $7,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

Other Sedans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Eric l.
Eric l.Perth, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car!

published

Purchased in May 2007 at John Hughes Car Sales for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Naqoyqatsi L.
Naqoyqatsi L.Sydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent car drove mine from Sydney to Cairns!

published

I was looking for a decent 380 GT for a while with low kms. I found one for a reasonable price, full logbooks and my mechanic friend could vouch for the car yard selling it. My mechanic friend took the car for a drive and was very impressed - drives like new he said. I have had to replace a widow and the locking mechanism on one door which were fairly minor issues. The only big issue with these otherwise fantastic cars is the paint. Mitsubishi used a thin paint which doesn’t hold up to the Australian sun so well. I had mine resprayed as I love it so much. I have driven from Sydney to Cairns and had zero problems, the cruse control was fantastic. Highly recommended if you can find one in good condition.

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Sedans

Find out how Mitsubishi 380 DB compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Ticking noise

published

I found out that Hyundai use the same purge valve as the 380s and there cheap too you can get them off ebay
It is identical to the 380s and it is easy to install ive hated the ticking noise for ages and now its gone

Purchased in August 2018.

Incentivised Review No
Year2007
TrueM
TrueMSouth East Queensland, QLD

Best Car Ever: Makes all others pale in comparison

published

Purchased in June 2009 for $29,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Geoff A
Geoff AAU
  • 13 reviews
  • 6 likes

Most reliable car ever built in Australia

published
BadgeES
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2009

Related Articles

Previous
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Gavinski
GavinskiMelbourne

An amazing sporty vehicle.

published
BadgeSX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Other Sedans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Dwayne
DwaynePerth
  • 14 reviews
  • 6 likes

Sad to see it removed

published

The Mitsubishi 380 GT Sedan, is an unique vehicle just like it's cousin vehicle the American mitsubishi galant. The 380 is very comfortable to sit and drive and I would class as an luxury car. This mitsubishi has a lot of power and tight gear ratio compared to other Australian sedans.

BadgeGT
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Sedans

Find out how Mitsubishi 380 DB compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gadjett
Gadjett
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awesom to say the least

published

Purchased my 380 LX New back in 2007, have had no major issues apart from two engine sensors that kicked in my engine light. Acceleration is awesome, handling the same, have run Slick 50 in the engine / gearbox from almost new so runs smooth with almost no engine noise. Love the interior, Radio is superb great sound system as is.
Only dislike I have is No Bluetooth and no USB port.
Mileage is fantastic with range constantly sitting in the 700 plus at fillup. Would love to have another from New.
Seats are great , suffer from bad back but never when i'm driving the 380 no matter how long the trip.
Sad day they took it out of production.

BadgeLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2007
Mick
MickGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

Awesome car for the price

published

Bought this car recently second hand I’m surprised how well it drives for a front wheel drive it’s smooth and handles well as for power there is plenty there after having to step back from an sv6 commodore wagon I wouldn’t look past a 380 for a Camry or something similar gets the job done well quite car has no rattles and a pretty comfortable ride too
Dislike no USB input

BadgeSX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Other Sedans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Ahmad
AhmadPerth
  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

What a Car!

published

I have been driving this car for more than a year now and I must say that this is one hell of a car. Stable, powerful, fast, reliable, and beautiful. Recently completed a trip to and from- between Perth and Sydney and it was a very comfortable ride, free from any worries at all. I am going to stick with Mitsubishi I guess.

Badge380
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Sedans

Find out how Mitsubishi 380 DB compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Key fob replacement.

published

Hi. You don't need to replace the key fob, just need to replace the battery. Have had it done myself with no problem. You can get it done at mister minute. Can also change it on your own. Don't know why people are told that you need to change the key fob.

BadgeVR-X
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2007
James
JamesPerth
  • 6 reviews
  • 15 likes

Value for this car is insane

published
BadgeES
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Castlere
CastlereBarmedman
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car, very reliable.

published

I bought a 2005 380 with 160,000 on the clock and it runs perfectly. Reliable, cheap used cars are hard to find, but we got lucky with this one. It is easy to drive and has great fuel economy. It's a pity they don't make these cars in Australia anymore.

BadgeES
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2016
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Nick H.
Nick H.asked
380 DB (2005-2008)

Is there a cabin air filter on a 2005 Mitsubishi 380? If so where is it and how do I change it? My air con isn't blowing as hard as it's supposed to

2 answers
JohnScott
JohnScott

Not that I know of.
The aircon fan is notorious for weakening with age and require the dash to be dismantled to get to it, design flaw.

Nick H.
Nick H.

Thanks for clearing that up, I spent a while looking for it and I thought that too. Thanks again

Danielle A.
Danielle A.asked
380 DB (2005-2008)

Hi guys and girls so the speedometer on my 380 2005 has decided to flat out stop everything else works....hmmm yes I have a led foot too

1 answer
JohnScott
JohnScott

So are you bragging that you burned out your speedo by going so fast? lol

Elizabeth
Elizabethasked
380 DB (2005-2008)

I have a 2007 Mitsubishi magna fwd DB series and it puts up communication error i have checked time and date but it still puts up the error what could it be

No answers
See all Mitsubishi 380 DB (2005-2008) questions

Get an answer from our members and Mitsubishi representatives

Mitsubishi 380 DB (2005-2008)

Details

Compare all 12 Mitsubishi 380 DB (2005-2008)
Mitsubishi 380 DB ES
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi 380 DB ES (2005-2008)

No reviews yet
Mitsubishi 380 DB ES Sports
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi 380 DB ES Sports (2005-2008)

No reviews yet
CategorySedansSedansSedansSedans
Starting Price $35,990$29,990$28,990$47,990
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticManualAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy16" Steel17" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating4 Stars4 Stars5 Stars4 Stars
Fuel Consumption10.8 L/100km10.8 L/100km11.4 L/100km10.8 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 67 L67 L67 L67 L
Engine6 Cylinder 3.8L6 Cylinder 3.8L6 Cylinder 3.8L6 Cylinder 3.8L
Max Power175kW @ 5250rpm175kW @ 5250rpm175kW @ 5250rpm175kW @ 5250rpm
Max Torque343Nm @ 4000rpm343Nm @ 4000rpm343Nm @ 4000rpm343Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureAustraliaAustraliaAustraliaAustralia
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2005Jan 2005Jan 2005Jan 2005
Discontinuation dateDec 2008Dec 2008Dec 2008Dec 2008
Compare all 12 Mitsubishi 380 DB (2005-2008)

Other Sedans

Previous
Next
See all Sedans

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.