??!
3 photos
Mitsubishi ASX XB

Mitsubishi ASX XB (2012-2014) (page 2 of 3)

4.3 from 48 reviews

Reviews

4.3

48 reviews
5
(24)
4
(15)
3
(8)
2
(0)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    4.8 (4)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (4)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (4)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (5)
  • Handling
    4.6 (5)
  • Braking
    4.8 (5)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.6 (5)
  • Interior Design
    4.5 (4)
  • Boot Size
    3.8 (5)
  • Features
    4.5 (4)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (4)
Previous
Next
Flourish

FlourishGeelong

  • 15 reviews
  • 6 likes

Love it 4 years on

published

This car is lovely to drive. We have had it for four years with no issues. We may upgrade eventually as we now have two children so it's borderline too small but would highly recommend it for singles, couples or small families. Running costs are reasonable and it has been very reliable.

BadgeLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Michelle

MichelleGladstone

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Love It

published

Very comfortable and fuel economic. Love the cruise control as it's easy to use. Not the best material in the armrests - gets dirty easily but isn't hard to clean. Great on dirt and highways but also around town. Having the mirrors fold in makes it a lot easier to get through the garage door.

BadgeAspire
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.8L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Peterb666

Peterb666Merimbula

  • 24 reviews
  • 17 likes

Great all road car in 4wd form.

published

Purchased in April 2014.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Mitsubishi ASX XB compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Paint

published
BadgeAspire
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.2L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedNov 2013
toglhot

toglhotaldinga beach

  • 21 reviews
  • 18 likes

ASX diesel three years on.

published
BadgeLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.2L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedAug 2013
mymitsi

mymitsimelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

A very good vehicle easy to drive

published

Automatic gearbox holds on to a high gear for too long and produces a drone when you slow down and you have to kick the throttle to make it change i personally do NOT like doing this apart from this. The car is very good. I would love to change for a pajero.

BadgeXLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.2L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedAug 2015
JBS

JBSMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

I enjoy my SUV

published
BadgeAspire
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
ASXowner

ASXownerSydney

Great compact SUV

published

Bought this from a private seller with 30k+ on the ODO earlier this year and overall satisfied with the car.

Positives:
- Looks great from outside & inside
- Good handling and acceleration. It has power when needed (but I haven't tried it with heavy load yet)
- Great fuel economy
- Value for money

Negatives:
- Lots of blind spots on the sides and back. Can't do without the rear camera.
- Limited boot space with rear seats upright

Badge0
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Lisa

LisaKalgoorlie Boulder

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

In love with it

published

Bought our second-hand ASX in Dec last year and it's honestly the best car we've owned, love it! Sweet car to drive, great for long trips, roomy, excellent fuel consumption.
Some really nice accessories inside too, reverse camera and Bluetooth. Back seat has cute little cup holders for passengers. Great value for money!
I Can honestly say Mitsubishi have won me over with this beauty!!

BadgeAspire
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Mitsubishi ASX XB compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kath G

Kath GSydney, NSW

  • 26 reviews
  • 20 likes

Value for money and an excellent car

published

we purchased this car November 2014 and have been very pleased with our purchase . We can not believe the fuel economy compared to our RAV4 it has been cut by 50% . The room in the front is excellent and makes a very comfortable ride on long trips . We are very happy with our purchase 6 months on

Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionCVT
BadgeAspire
1 comment
Kath G
Kath G

we have just passed the 13 months mark and still running as good as the day we bought it

Angie

AngieWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 12 likes

Mitsubishi ASX Aspire

published

Love this car. Did a lot of research with all similar size SUV's and this is certainly value for money. Traded my mazda 3. Thought I would miss it but I don't. Good seating position as every man has a SUV in my town and was finding it hard in the traffic to see past them. Impressed with all the extras - heated seats, Bluetooth, steering controls, cruise control, leather seats and the list goes on. I like the interior finish. Easy to clean. Perfect or me.
All of the extras for the price

TransmissionCVT
BadgeAspire
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
JHol

JHol

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love it...for the price!

published

So good priced. Love the size (much more boot space than similar SUVs), fuel economy (Desiel ASX Asprie) and comfort. However, driver can actually touch the heating pipes with our feet (gets VERY hot in Summer), finishes are lacking (can pull on all the wiring under the seat i.e. not covered up) and the "mood lights" are a complete waste!

BadgeAspire
Engine Size2.2L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic

Perfect for our needs

published

I have a 2013 ASX petrol sports model purchased new in Auckland now with 45000kms on the clock. Never had a problem. Comfortable car to drive around town and on long NZ open road trips. 7.8 litres best open road fuel economy. This is the second ASX I have owned and never had a problem with the first. For me ASX represented best value for money. Can recommend ASX

Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionCVT
boomer

boomer

  • 22 reviews
  • 21 likes

Never buying a Mitsubishi again.

published
Watto

WattoSingleton

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

2013 ASX ASPIRE

published

I wanted an asx for some time before I got one.i love the look of it.,I've had my asx for just over 12 months. It's a great car to drive around the city or town but I find it lacking abit on the highway when overtaking, I know it's only 4 cylinders. I love the leather seats though they get really hot in summer. I wouldn't recommend it for a family. It only fits 2 car seats with little room between. It's great to park and I love the reverse camera. The fuel economy is excellent ( I have a petrol model) and large mirrors eliminate the blind spot. I have recently had trouble with the Bluetooth when it comes to making calls but the dealership said it's because I have updated my phone and my Bluetooth module might need replacing.

TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeAspire
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Mitsubishi ASX XB compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
drifand

drifandWA, 6112

  • 151 reviews
  • 47 likes

If a small SUV is what you are after

published

I have test drove several SUV and this was one of those in my list. First impressions was the car looks strong and sturdy from exterior. Nice shape. Went it and I started to feel a bit cram for my liking as I am used to a Honda civic sedan the seating space. Felt a bit squeezed. The car drove well, but the boot space and the seats just made me wonder if this is just a small step up from my mitsubishi colt I had previously .

Features look great with USB Bluetooth media and cruise control. Comes with reverse camera and most of the basics. I decided not to buy it and looked at their outlander range instead and it looked bigger and better for my needs.
Exterior shape
Too small for my liking.

Faye

FayeMelbourne

Faulty radio

published

Unfortunately the iPod does not work when verbally asking songs to be played. Where I brought the car very unhelpful and in fact unprepared to help me. Contacted mitsubishi via email (the only way you can contact) have taken between 4 to 6 weeks to reply. This has been going on since January this year and still not resolved. So the follow up service is very very poor. very happy with the rest of car the fuel economy is great. Love the size, interior except the vinyl smell when car is hot is awful.

TransmissionCVT
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
2 comments
Dani7889
Dani7889

Have you got a petrol or diesel? Just wanting to know if fuel economy is good in petrol.

Faye
Faye

Petrol and very happy with the fuel. My rav4 would cost me $50 to $60 per 300klm (a year ago) and now I spend $35 for the same same Kim's

Damo

DamoSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 17 likes

ok, but just ok

published

its a bit tinny / cheap. there are classier options out there. look around for alternatives. hard plastics. nice size though. not too large. its priced a bit high too given alternatives. blind spot annoying. quite good on a highway. drives well when up and running. quite a small boot. rear leg room average, but easy for getting a but out of.

Pretty happy with this vehicle.

published

I purchased a 2012 ASX w 40,000 kms on the clock. Runs beautifully and has all the extras. Only complaints are the engine makes an unappealing vibrating noise when traveling at low speeds (dealership has told me this is a common complaint with yhe ASX and they are awaiting a fix from Mitsubishi) and one of the headrests really hinders vision of the blindspot on the passenger side of the vehicle. Also find it tricky to park, but that may be a driver fault!
Has all of the extras, beautiful to drive.

TransmissionAutomatic
Harry

HarryMElbourne

Mitsubishi ASX 2013 Aspire

published

I have had the petrol version of the car for about 9 months now and it's been a great experience so far. The car has all the bells and whistles that you would expect in a top notch car. The seating and the height is good. only down side it the low pick up, road and engine noise when compared to my Toyota 3L Camry. All in all a very satisfied owner. If the car had the power and silent engine I would have given it a 5 star.
Smooth ride, features like GPS, bluetooth, cruise control, all control on wheels, auto head lamps, wipers, folding side mirrors etc etc.
Engine noise and road noise, low pick up

BadgeAspire
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
1 comment
Harry
Harry

Now have had it for about 18 months, completed 15,000 kms, Everything is fine, no problem at all. In fact the car seems to have got smoother now after the one year service. Because of the better seats at the front you don't feel tired on long drives.

Page 2 of 3
See all Mitsubishi ASX reviews

Questions & Answers

Cathie

Cathieasked

ASX XB (2012-2014)

Hi, I have just bought a 2012 ASX, I’m trying to set up voice control, but every time i try it will tell me I’m in the wrong screen, anyone have any ideas of what I need to do? Thanks

No answers
Mims S.

Mims S.asked

ASX XB (2012-2014)

We have had our 2013 ASX for 3 years, bought second hand. It makes very random dinging noises. We have had the mechanic have a look and check the computers etc. and he can't find anything wrong. No warning lights appear. Any ideas of what this could be please?

3 answers
Catherine BNE.
Catherine BNE.

I suggest you take it to a Mitsubishi mechanic to check it out. They're more likely to have come across it before.

JonD
JonD

All alarms should be displayed on the info screen between the speedo and tachometer.
Do the normal warning get displayed on startup? (seat belt, routine maintenance, parking sensors etc)

Shaynee M.
Shaynee M.

if i put bags on passenger seat belt makes odd dinging sound as it thinks someone is in the seat

coop

coopasked

ASX XB (2012-2014)

Whats the difference between an XA and XB?

1 answer
coop
coop

I know XA = Active Sports but i cant find what the XB is.
Could it be a more basic option?

Get an answer from our members

Other Small / Compact SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.