??!
3 photos
Mitsubishi ASX XB

Mitsubishi ASX XB (2012-2014) (page 2 of 3)

4.3 from 47 reviews

See the Best Small / Compact SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
23
4 star
15
3 star
8
2 star
0
1 star
1

Michelle

MichelleGladstone

  • 6 reviews

Love It

published

Very comfortable and fuel economic. Love the cruise control as it's easy to use. Not the best material in the armrests - gets dirty easily but isn't hard to clean. Great on dirt and highways but also around town. Having the mirrors fold in makes it a lot easier to get through the garage door.

BadgeAspire
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.8L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedDec 2015

Peterb666

Peterb666Merimbula

  • 21 reviews
  • 16 likes

Great all road car in 4wd form.

published

Purchased in April 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Paint

published
BadgeAspire
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.2L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedNov 2013
toglhot

toglhotaldinga beach

  • 21 reviews
  • 18 likes

ASX diesel three years on.

published
BadgeLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.2L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedAug 2013

mymitsi

mymitsimelbourne

  • 2 reviews

A very good vehicle easy to drive

published

Automatic gearbox holds on to a high gear for too long and produces a drone when you slow down and you have to kick the throttle to make it change i personally do NOT like doing this apart from this. The car is very good. I would love to change for a pajero.

BadgeXLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.2L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedAug 2015

JBS

JBSMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

I enjoy my SUV

published
BadgeAspire
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Petrol

ASXowner

ASXownerSydney

Great compact SUV

published

Bought this from a private seller with 30k+ on the ODO earlier this year and overall satisfied with the car.

Positives:
- Looks great from outside & inside
- Good handling and acceleration. It has power when needed (but I haven't tried it with heavy load yet)
- Great fuel economy
- Value for money

Negatives:
- Lots of blind spots on the sides and back. Can't do without the rear camera.
- Limited boot space with rear seats upright

Badge0
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Petrol

Lisa

LisaKalgoorlie Boulder

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

In love with it

published

Bought our second-hand ASX in Dec last year and it's honestly the best car we've owned, love it! Sweet car to drive, great for long trips, roomy, excellent fuel consumption.
Some really nice accessories inside too, reverse camera and Bluetooth. Back seat has cute little cup holders for passengers. Great value for money!
I Can honestly say Mitsubishi have won me over with this beauty!!

BadgeAspire
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Kath G

Kath GSydney, NSW

  • 26 reviews
  • 20 likes

Value for money and an excellent car

published

we purchased this car November 2014 and have been very pleased with our purchase . We can not believe the fuel economy compared to our RAV4 it has been cut by 50% . The room in the front is excellent and makes a very comfortable ride on long trips . We are very happy with our purchase 6 months on

Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionCVT
BadgeAspire
1 comment
Kath G
Kath G

we have just passed the 13 months mark and still running as good as the day we bought it

Angie

AngieWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Mitsubishi ASX Aspire

published

Love this car. Did a lot of research with all similar size SUV's and this is certainly value for money. Traded my mazda 3. Thought I would miss it but I don't. Good seating position as every man has a SUV in my town and was finding it hard in the traffic to see past them. Impressed with all the extras - heated seats, Bluetooth, steering controls, cruise control, leather seats and the list goes on. I like the interior finish. Easy to clean. Perfect or me.
All of the extras for the price

TransmissionCVT
BadgeAspire
Engine Size2.0L Petrol

JHol

JHol

  • 3 reviews

Love it...for the price!

published

So good priced. Love the size (much more boot space than similar SUVs), fuel economy (Desiel ASX Asprie) and comfort. However, driver can actually touch the heating pipes with our feet (gets VERY hot in Summer), finishes are lacking (can pull on all the wiring under the seat i.e. not covered up) and the "mood lights" are a complete waste!

BadgeAspire
Engine Size2.2L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic

Perfect for our needs

published

I have a 2013 ASX petrol sports model purchased new in Auckland now with 45000kms on the clock. Never had a problem. Comfortable car to drive around town and on long NZ open road trips. 7.8 litres best open road fuel economy. This is the second ASX I have owned and never had a problem with the first. For me ASX represented best value for money. Can recommend ASX

Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionCVT

boomer

boomer

  • 18 reviews
  • 21 likes

Never buying a Mitsubishi again.

published

Watto

WattoSingleton

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

2013 ASX ASPIRE

published

I wanted an asx for some time before I got one.i love the look of it.,I've had my asx for just over 12 months. It's a great car to drive around the city or town but I find it lacking abit on the highway when overtaking, I know it's only 4 cylinders. I love the leather seats though they get really hot in summer. I wouldn't recommend it for a family. It only fits 2 car seats with little room between. It's great to park and I love the reverse camera. The fuel economy is excellent ( I have a petrol model) and large mirrors eliminate the blind spot. I have recently had trouble with the Bluetooth when it comes to making calls but the dealership said it's because I have updated my phone and my Bluetooth module might need replacing.

TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeAspire
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
drifand

drifandWA, 6112

  • 151 reviews

If a small SUV is what you are after

published

I have test drove several SUV and this was one of those in my list. First impressions was the car looks strong and sturdy from exterior. Nice shape. Went it and I started to feel a bit cram for my liking as I am used to a Honda civic sedan the seating space. Felt a bit squeezed. The car drove well, but the boot space and the seats just made me wonder if this is just a small step up from my mitsubishi colt I had previously .

Features look great with USB Bluetooth media and cruise control. Comes with reverse camera and most of the basics. I decided not to buy it and looked at their outlander range instead and it looked bigger and better for my needs.
Exterior shape
Too small for my liking.

Faye

FayeMelbourne

Faulty radio

published

Unfortunately the iPod does not work when verbally asking songs to be played. Where I brought the car very unhelpful and in fact unprepared to help me. Contacted mitsubishi via email (the only way you can contact) have taken between 4 to 6 weeks to reply. This has been going on since January this year and still not resolved. So the follow up service is very very poor. very happy with the rest of car the fuel economy is great. Love the size, interior except the vinyl smell when car is hot is awful.

TransmissionCVT
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
2 comments
Dani7889
Dani7889

Have you got a petrol or diesel? Just wanting to know if fuel economy is good in petrol.

Faye
Faye

Petrol and very happy with the fuel. My rav4 would cost me $50 to $60 per 300klm (a year ago) and now I spend $35 for the same same Kim's


Damo

DamoSydney

  • 6 reviews

ok, but just ok

published

its a bit tinny / cheap. there are classier options out there. look around for alternatives. hard plastics. nice size though. not too large. its priced a bit high too given alternatives. blind spot annoying. quite good on a highway. drives well when up and running. quite a small boot. rear leg room average, but easy for getting a but out of.


Pretty happy with this vehicle.

published

I purchased a 2012 ASX w 40,000 kms on the clock. Runs beautifully and has all the extras. Only complaints are the engine makes an unappealing vibrating noise when traveling at low speeds (dealership has told me this is a common complaint with yhe ASX and they are awaiting a fix from Mitsubishi) and one of the headrests really hinders vision of the blindspot on the passenger side of the vehicle. Also find it tricky to park, but that may be a driver fault!
Has all of the extras, beautiful to drive.

TransmissionAutomatic

Harry

HarryMElbourne

Mitsubishi ASX 2013 Aspire

published

I have had the petrol version of the car for about 9 months now and it's been a great experience so far. The car has all the bells and whistles that you would expect in a top notch car. The seating and the height is good. only down side it the low pick up, road and engine noise when compared to my Toyota 3L Camry. All in all a very satisfied owner. If the car had the power and silent engine I would have given it a 5 star.
Smooth ride, features like GPS, bluetooth, cruise control, all control on wheels, auto head lamps, wipers, folding side mirrors etc etc.
Engine noise and road noise, low pick up

BadgeAspire
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
1 comment
Harry
Harry

Now have had it for about 18 months, completed 15,000 kms, Everything is fine, no problem at all. In fact the car seems to have got smoother now after the one year service. Because of the better seats at the front you don't feel tired on long drives.


TomL

TomLCanberra

Reasonably good car would be better if warranty work could be done

published

I took delivery of a new Mitsubishi ASX on 30 October 2013 and it went in for a 1500km service on 25 November 2013 where it was found that the RH mirror assembly needed replacement. On 13 December 2013 I contacted the dealer to ascertain progress on the replacement and was told that it would probably not happen this year. (I accept that the dealer cannot replace the part until the manufacturer provides it). I then emailed Mitsubishi stating that this was not good enough and pointing out that given the Christmas/New Year break it could conceivably be towards the end of January 2014 before this warranty work was carried out. To date (18 December 2013) Mitsubishi has not responded.

TransmissionCVT
3 comments
TomL
TomL
Nek
Nek

July 2014 Is your RH mirror fixed now ?

TomL
TomL

Page 2 of 3

See all Mitsubishi ASX reviews

Questions & Answers

coop

coopasked

Whats the difference between an XA and XB?

1 answer
coop
coop

I know XA = Active Sports but i cant find what the XB is.
Could it be a more basic option?


Habib

Habibasked

My ASX 2012 indicator lights on both mirrors do not work. They do work when i lock or unlock the car. Sometimes they work when hazard is on. They never work when i indicate left or right. what can be wrong with it?

No answers

arbies

arbiesasked

Got a 2014 asx xls. Any way to check if it has an alarm ( apart from smashing the widows !!! )

3 answers
Sayersmob
Sayersmob

All models are different, check your owners manual, my model doesn't have an alarm

JonD
JonD

If you've got keyless entry, try locking vehicle and try the emergency key fitted in the fob and open drivers door. That might set alarm off if fitted. If it's a sensor alarm for car interior, get someone to lock car with you inside. Wait about 30 sec to arm and see if moving around sets it off.

arbies
arbies

Yes. I wound down the drivers window, locked the car, waited 30 seconds and then tried to open the drivers door reaching in and BINGO, yes I can let the insurance mob know that it has an alarm fitted.... Cheers and thanks for the interest.


Get an answer from our members and Mitsubishi representatives

Details

CategorySmall / Compact SUVs
Release dateJan 2012
Discontinuation dateDec 2014
Replaced byMitsubishi ASX XC
Compare all Mitsubishi ASX

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.