1 photo
Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Bronte Series

Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Bronte Series

SRK71ZRA-W (7.1kW), SRK80ZRA-W (8.0kW), SRK95ZRA-W (9.5kW), etc...
4.7 from 358 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners

Pros

  • Durable build quality

  • Whisper-quiet operation

  • Good value for money

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.8 (259)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (272)
  • Ease of Use
    4.7 (273)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (254)
  • Noise Level
    4.7 (270)
  • Heating / Cooling Speed
    4.7 (252)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Mark M.
Mark M.South East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Does it have a thermostat ?

published

Does this unit switch off when it reaches the desired temperature ? We have it set to auto i.e. 24c but it seems to keep running even though it feels warmer than this temperature.

Purchased in May 2021 for $1,490.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Living/Dining Area
Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners
MHIAAMitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners
Cico
Cicogeelong
  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

works a treat

published

Works as specified. Quick at heating and cooling large space. Very quiet while being efficient. Cannot fault it after 3 months. Shop around for good price is advised. Good luck.

Purchased in November 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area
Deborah
DeborahSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Fourth Mitsubishi heavy industries used and we cannot fault them.

published

Works extremely well in very sticky conditions and is whisper quiet. Remote is easy to use and programme.
We have it on all day, every day on hot days and it cools the home perfectly.

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area
Split System Air Conditioners

Find out how Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Bronte Series compares to other Split System Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
lionel goodall
lionel goodallWestern Australia
  • 3 reviews

Enjoying my new airconditioner in Western Australia's long hot summer

published

Just had my Bronte aircon installed and it works brilliantly. Great in western Australia's long hot summer. Have had it on for most of the day and night in the middle of summer and it worked brilliantly. Extremely satisfied with it's features. Cools down the whole of my house in fact it sometimes gets too cold.

Purchased in January 2021 at Goodguys Jandakot for $1,599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Living/Dining Area and Whole House
Dave Mac
Dave MacGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Best AirCon unit I have ever installed

published

I was recommended this unit by AWS Dandenong. I went in to purchase a 5kw and was talked up to this 7.1kw. It’s huge and covers the whole house. We have it set on the lowest fan setting, around 20 degrees.
I cannot get over how it cools the entire house.
Quiet and super efficient on power, just puffs away.
This is one of the best units I have ever had fitted.
We no longer use gas ducted heating in winter, instead we use this as our soul source of heating. Goodbye $450 gas bills.
Don’t get me wrong, It does chew through the power bill in winter, but far better than a gas bill and then an electricity bill.
Absolutely magnificent.

Purchased in November 2018 for $1,450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Living/Dining Area and Whole House

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Andrew
Andrew
  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

When the weather gets hot this things goes into full cool regardless of setting and you freeze

published

When the weather is mildly hot it works ok, when it is cold and used to heat it works okay as well but on hot days it just goes to maximum cold and becomes unbearable cold, even if turned all the way up to 30 deg C. I have to switch it on and off manually to control the climate, then when night comes you have to turn it all the way down to 24-25 deg again to get it to cool.

I have 4 other aircons of different brands in the house and all can maintain the correct temperature except this thing.

I bought the MHI because I had one in my last house in NSW and it worked ok but these cannot seem to cope with the humid climate of QLD

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area
Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners
MHIAAMitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners
consumer
consumer
  • 2 reviews

Great product excellent for extreme tropical climates

published

Purchased in September 2020 for $1,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Living/Dining Area
Straight Up
Straight UpSydney, NSW
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

MHI are great Air Con

published

Purchased in January 2021 for $1,700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Large Bedroom, Living/Dining Area and Small Bedroom
Bruce Welsh
Bruce WelshGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Works well

published

We have had carrier in the past, this is our first Mitsubishi very happy with both heat and cool function both indoor and out door unit are quite, Unit works well is 32c day unit performed well waiting on 40 plus day for the real test

Purchased in December 2020 for $2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area
Split System Air Conditioners

Find out how Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Bronte Series compares to other Split System Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
rajenzed
rajenzedSouth East Queensland, QLD

Don't walk past this one!

published

Quite, efficient, good looking, great timer options, fantastic value for money. You cant ask for more from a split unit. The internal unit is a tough larger than my expectation, but very impressive indeed. Highly recomended.

Purchased in December 2020 for $1,699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area
Barb
BarbMid North Coast, NSW

This great. So cool and comfortable in our large room

published

Cools the room to perfection no troouble keeping rooms cool. Whisper quite cannot hear a thing have to check to make sure it is still going its so quite. Wasn't sure about getting an air con researched the different ones and found this one the best.

Purchased in December 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $1,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Not Insulated
Room Type Living/Dining Area

Awesomely Cool

published

Awesome air conditioner super quiet keeps our house cool very efficiently without having the fan on full all the time would highly recommend this brand to anyone looking for a air conditioner for their house

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Living/Dining Area
Dennis
DennisNew South Wales

Great Product providing good lifestyle

published

Product is excellent providing great cooling conditions that makes the House a very comfortable living environment. Operational guidelines are clear and concise providing ease of adjustment if and when required.

Purchased in November 2020 at The Good Guys for $1,835.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area

Cold and Hot Just Perfect

published

So glad we got our A/C installed before the onset of summer the house has remained very comfortable during these 40+ days Runs nice and quiet with a solid flow of oh so cool air

Purchased in November 2020 at Betta Home Living for $2,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Poor
Room Type Living/Dining Area
KEN
KENSouth East Queensland, QLD

This is the quietest aircon we have ever owned. Excellent unit.

published

Quiet, efficient and a class above the rest. It out performs the Daikin that was fitted. By the builder..it moves the air around the entire combined kitchen dinning and family room with almost no effort.

Purchased in November 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse Online Store for $2,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area
Split System Air Conditioners

Find out how Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Bronte Series compares to other Split System Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 12

Questions & Answers

Dee
Deeasked
Bronte Series

which is more efficient? Bronte 7.1 kw cooling only or Bronte 7.1 kw reverse cycle?

1 answer
Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners
MHIAAMitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners

Hi Dee,

The Bronte 7.1kW reverse cycle and cooling only offer the same energy effiency.

Dale S.
Dale S.asked
Bronte Series

I have just had a Bronte SRK71ZRA installed. Like a similar post above the thermostat does not work correctly. When I set the temp as low as it will go at 18 degrees the room is heated to 23. Consistently 5 degrees higher than set. On inspection, it seems the temp and humidity sensors are under the cover with the electrical connections and therefore insulated from the actual room temp. I get more accurate temp measurements with the front cover lifted up. When makes sense, as the temp sensor is exposed to the actual room. It is quite clear from the design that the sensor is not measuring the temp of the air entering the fan, but the ambient temp of the unit chassis.

MHIAA, can the temp sensor be calibrated? Is it faulty? Is this a common design floor?
Please help. I will be logging a warranty claim.

2 answers
f0ssil
f0ssil

Mine works fine it was tested by the installer after installation against a temp gauge that the installer used he showed me the results so I knew. I can’t speak highly enough of my unit that was installed 6 months ago.

Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners
MHIAAMitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners

Hi Dale,

As with almost all split systems, the unit's thermostat detects the temperature of the air being returned into the top of the indoor unit as this is a good indicator of the average temperature within the room.

If you're using a separate thermostat located across the other side of the room (and in the direct line of the air being distributed by the unit) there will always be a difference in temperate readings.

We'd suggest adjusting the louvre and fan speed settings to try and get the optimum temperature but if you believe there is still an issue with the unit you can submit a warranty request here: https://mhiaa.com.au/consumer-help-centre/warranty/warranty-service-request/

philandkim
philandkimasked
Bronte SRK71ZRA-W (7.1kW)

We have just had the unit installed and it works great. question is it does not seem to work to the thermostat. on heating we set temp to 22 degrees, during the evening temp reached 26 and there was no ramp down of fan speed - fan keeps blowing heat constantantly. Is this a setting?

2 answers
Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners
MHIAAMitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners

Hi Phil,

Glad to hear your unit is keeping you warm!

The system’s thermometer is in the indoor unit up on the wall and measures the temperature of the returning air. If you're referring to an external thermometer, located somewhere else in the room, it will very likely give you a different temperature reading to the internal thermometer of the system. This is especially true is the external thermometer is located direclty underneath the unit or in the direct airflow.

If you believe a specific area of the room is getting too warm, you may want to lower the set temperature, adjust the louvres and fan speed to try and achieve this.

Hope this helps but if you have any other questions - don't hesitate to let us know!

philandkim
philandkim

Thanks, it seems like if we set to 22 degrees the room will get to at lease 26 degrees (according to the app) before reducing the output. So I guess we set the desired temp lower and see how it goes.
Yes after a couple of days use, the unit work very well (it replaced a Panasonic system which died at 6 years of age), and it quieter too - inside and out.

See all Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Bronte Series questions

Get an answer from our members and Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners representatives

Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Bronte Series

Details

With its excellent rating of 4.7 stars, the Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Bronte Series of split system air conditioners is a promising pick to help you stay comfortable all year round.

They're available in four different models, depending on your room size. Look at the cooling power (measured in kW), to see which is suited to the room you intend you cool.

There is also a cooling only split system air conditioner. However since the cooling-only option is around $400 more expensive than its 7.1kW split-system counterpart ($1600 v $1599 from Bunnings), for many it would make sense to get the air conditioner that offers both cooling and heating functions for cheaper.

Features:

  • Allergen clearing filter and deodorising filter
  • Reach of 18m for the cooling function
  • Various timers, including on/off timers and sleep mode
  • Wi-Fi operation optional, with separate purchase of a specialised adaptor
  • Decibel rating of 36 at low speed, which audiologists label as something between a whisper and a quiet library.

2021 ProductReview Awards logo

Mitsubishi Heavy Industries takes home the 2021 Award for its two split system air conditioners, the Bronte Series and Avanti Series. The Bronte Series earned this title due to several factors, the most highly rated of which include its superior build quality and value for money.

Compare all 5 Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Bronte Series
CategorySplit System Air ConditionersSplit System Air ConditionersSplit System Air ConditionersSplit System Air Conditioners
Price (RRP) $1,499.00$1,550.00$1,978.00$2,560.00
Features Inverter, On/Off Timer, Remote Control and Wi-Fi Smart ControlInverter, On/Off Timer, Remote Control and Wi-Fi Smart ControlInverter, On/Off Timer, Remote Control and Wi-Fi Smart ControlInverter, On/Off Timer, Remote Control and Wi-Fi Smart Control
Cooling Power6.3 kW7.1 kW8 kW9.5 kW
Heating Power7.1 kW8 kW9 kW10.3 kW
Reverse Cycle YesYesYesYes
TypeFull System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)Full System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)Full System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)Full System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)
Cooling Energy Rating 3 stars3 stars2.5 stars2.5 stars
Heating Energy Rating 4 stars3 stars3 stars3 stars
Operating Temperature for Cooling-15 to +46-15 to +46-15 to +46-15 to +46
Operating Temperature for Heating-15 to +46-15 to +46-15 to +46-15 to +46
Auto Cleaning (Self Cleaning)YesYesYesYes
Indoor Unit Dimensions 339 x 1197 x 262 mm339 x 1197 x 262 mm339 x 1197 x 262 mm339 x 1197 x 262 mm
Indoor Weight15.5 kg15.5 kg15.5 kg15.5 kg
Max Indoor Sound Pressure Level45 dB46 dB47 dB48 dB
Outdoor Unit Dimensions 640 x 800 x 290 mm750 x 880 x 340 mm750 x 880 x 340 mm845 x 970 x 370 mm
Outdoor Weight45 kg58 kg58 kg58 kg
Max Outdoor Sound Pressure Level45 dB43 dB44 dB50 dB
Max Outdoor Sound Power Level66 dB65 dB68 dB70 dB
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Compare all 5 Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Bronte Series
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.