1 photo
Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Bronte Series

Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Bronte Series

SRK71ZRA-W (7.1kW), SRK80ZRA-W (8.0kW), SRK95ZRA-W (9.5kW), etc...
4.7 from 358 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners

Pros

  • Durable build quality

  • Whisper-quiet operation

  • Good value for money

Reviews

4.6
16 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.9 (14)
  • Value for Money
    4.8 (16)
  • Ease of Use
    4.8 (16)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (14)
  • Noise Level
    4.8 (16)
  • Heating / Cooling Speed
    4.7 (14)
Previous
Next
Straight Up
Straight UpSydney, NSW
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

MHI are great Air Con

published

Purchased in January 2021 for $1,700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Large Bedroom, Living/Dining Area and Small Bedroom
sam
samSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Keeps the moisture in an

published

Keeps the moisture at an acceptable level and also warming the house that's not very well insulated. In the summertime it does seem to struggle a little bit with some of the hot days. It still keeps the temperature down to an acceptable level.

Purchased at airconditioning online for $2,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Not Insulated
Room Type Living/Dining Area and Small Bedroom
Phil H.
Phil H.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Quiet and easy to use

published

The unit is quiet, we run it all night in winter to take the chill off the room. Very easy to program and we like the delayed start function. We have 3 similar units installed

Purchased in September 2018 at Airconditioning Warehouse Sales for $900.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Large Bedroom, Living/Dining Area and Small Bedroom
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners

Split System Air Conditioners

Find out how Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Bronte Series compares to other Split System Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Estelle Schmidt
Estelle SchmidtSouth East Queensland, QLD

this works very well and has kept me warm in winter and cool in summer.

published

My electricity bill hardly went up at all. its very efficient in my living area. It cooled my place quickly and efficiently last summer in Queensland. This winter I've been nice and warm. it quickly achieves the temperatures I sent as well and it's fairly quiet.

Purchased in August 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Not Insulated
Room Type Large Bedroom, Living/Dining Area, Small Bedroom and Small Office
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

David Dyson-Holland
David Dyson-HollandNorth Western Region, NSW

Great Product Works Well In Our Cafe

published

We purchased this unit to replace a faulty unit as it was cheaper to replace than fix. We put in a larger unit than we had in a commercial cafe & it works very well & supper quite which is what we were aiming for. Its now 2 years old used mainly summer & winter & we have had no issues with it. Power consumption is lower than previous unit as well.

Purchased at DUBBO for $3,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Open-Plan Office
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next

Quiet and unassuming, but does the job very well.

published

Our two units work well under all conditions. Distinction between Heat, Cool, Fan ect could be made a little more clearer on the display face. Eco mode is great, quiet and is used most of the time. Would highly recommend.

Purchased in June 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area and Open-Plan Office

It runs quietly and does an efficient job of cooling and heating the house. This is the fourth unit I’ve purchased.

published

Very satisfied with the units. I’ve purchased 4 over several years and have had no problems with them so far. I would recommend them to my friends as they’re a good reliable product.

Purchased in February 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area and Small Bedroom
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners

Graham Woodards
Graham WoodardsFar West, NSW

Product is excellent , the company not so,was offered gift cards when purchasing 2 units nothing forthcoming,

published

Absolutely fantastic, in trying conditions over the summer months ,and excellent performance in cold weather , remote unit easy to read and use, and the units are relatively silent and easy to operate

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Living/Dining Area and Small Bedroom
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners

the one to buy

published

the cooling cools a very large area and the heating heats instantaneously. it is very effective, cooling and heating. Just what it was bought to do. would highly recommend this unit

Purchased in September 2019 for $1,900.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area, Small Bedroom and Small Office
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners

Split System Air Conditioners

Find out how Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Bronte Series compares to other Split System Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Errol Hillier
Errol HillierSydney, NSW

Great air conditioning !

published

The unit works very well. The only thing that spoiled this for us was that the company we ordered it through, called us up and said if we paid up then we would get $300 cash back. So we did that but when we called up for the cash back after installation we were told the promotion wasn’t going anymore!! Deception of the highest order!!

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Large Bedroom, Open-Plan Office and Small Bedroom
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners

Bruce
BruceSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great products

published

Mitsubishi air conditioners are energy efficient andoperate in extreme weather contitions. Easy and simple instructions which makes a change from some manufacturers instructions, we went for the larger unit which gives you a quick knockdown to the desired temperature.

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area and Small Bedroom
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

V jindal
V jindalGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

amazing unit

published

this is the unit number 4 for the family. The size is just good for the average size room. We are happy with the performance of the unit. Love the quietness of the unit.

Purchased in September 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $870.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Small Bedroom

Works great.

published

Powerful and effective heat pump. Warms up the room very quickly. Easy to use. Super happy with the product and would recommend this model and brand for anyone considering purchasing a heat pump.

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Open-Plan Office
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners

Perfect!

published

I purchased and installed this beauty last Dec, 2019. Perfect cooling during this summer not only for my 7.2 X 4 meter lounge but also for the adjacent bed rooms and that too with quite economical electricity consumption. Also it is helping me quite nicely in ditching my monsterous Victorian gas winter bills as reverse cycle heating works like a charm. My only tip is to use thermostat wisely.

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $1,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area and Small Bedroom
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners

Tim Taylor
Tim TaylorGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Rocksolid Mitsubishi Heavy!!!

published

You cannot beat the reliability and quality of the Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Aircons. If you want something that works, without fail, year in year out, they are rock solid units.

Purchased in July 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $1,550.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Open-Plan Office
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners

Split System Air Conditioners

Find out how Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Bronte Series compares to other Split System Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Dee
Deeasked
Bronte Series

which is more efficient? Bronte 7.1 kw cooling only or Bronte 7.1 kw reverse cycle?

1 answer
Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners
MHIAAMitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners

Hi Dee,

The Bronte 7.1kW reverse cycle and cooling only offer the same energy effiency.

Dale S.
Dale S.asked
Bronte Series

I have just had a Bronte SRK71ZRA installed. Like a similar post above the thermostat does not work correctly. When I set the temp as low as it will go at 18 degrees the room is heated to 23. Consistently 5 degrees higher than set. On inspection, it seems the temp and humidity sensors are under the cover with the electrical connections and therefore insulated from the actual room temp. I get more accurate temp measurements with the front cover lifted up. When makes sense, as the temp sensor is exposed to the actual room. It is quite clear from the design that the sensor is not measuring the temp of the air entering the fan, but the ambient temp of the unit chassis.

MHIAA, can the temp sensor be calibrated? Is it faulty? Is this a common design floor?
Please help. I will be logging a warranty claim.

2 answers
f0ssil
f0ssil

Mine works fine it was tested by the installer after installation against a temp gauge that the installer used he showed me the results so I knew. I can’t speak highly enough of my unit that was installed 6 months ago.

Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners
MHIAAMitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners

Hi Dale,

As with almost all split systems, the unit's thermostat detects the temperature of the air being returned into the top of the indoor unit as this is a good indicator of the average temperature within the room.

If you're using a separate thermostat located across the other side of the room (and in the direct line of the air being distributed by the unit) there will always be a difference in temperate readings.

We'd suggest adjusting the louvre and fan speed settings to try and get the optimum temperature but if you believe there is still an issue with the unit you can submit a warranty request here: https://mhiaa.com.au/consumer-help-centre/warranty/warranty-service-request/

philandkim
philandkimasked
Bronte SRK71ZRA-W (7.1kW)

We have just had the unit installed and it works great. question is it does not seem to work to the thermostat. on heating we set temp to 22 degrees, during the evening temp reached 26 and there was no ramp down of fan speed - fan keeps blowing heat constantantly. Is this a setting?

2 answers
Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners
MHIAAMitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners

Hi Phil,

Glad to hear your unit is keeping you warm!

The system’s thermometer is in the indoor unit up on the wall and measures the temperature of the returning air. If you're referring to an external thermometer, located somewhere else in the room, it will very likely give you a different temperature reading to the internal thermometer of the system. This is especially true is the external thermometer is located direclty underneath the unit or in the direct airflow.

If you believe a specific area of the room is getting too warm, you may want to lower the set temperature, adjust the louvres and fan speed to try and achieve this.

Hope this helps but if you have any other questions - don't hesitate to let us know!

philandkim
philandkim

Thanks, it seems like if we set to 22 degrees the room will get to at lease 26 degrees (according to the app) before reducing the output. So I guess we set the desired temp lower and see how it goes.
Yes after a couple of days use, the unit work very well (it replaced a Panasonic system which died at 6 years of age), and it quieter too - inside and out.

See all Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Bronte Series questions

Get an answer from our members and Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners representatives

Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Bronte Series

Details

With its excellent rating of 4.7 stars, the Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Bronte Series of split system air conditioners is a promising pick to help you stay comfortable all year round.

They're available in four different models, depending on your room size. Look at the cooling power (measured in kW), to see which is suited to the room you intend you cool.

There is also a cooling only split system air conditioner. However since the cooling-only option is around $400 more expensive than its 7.1kW split-system counterpart ($1600 v $1599 from Bunnings), for many it would make sense to get the air conditioner that offers both cooling and heating functions for cheaper.

Features:

  • Allergen clearing filter and deodorising filter
  • Reach of 18m for the cooling function
  • Various timers, including on/off timers and sleep mode
  • Wi-Fi operation optional, with separate purchase of a specialised adaptor
  • Decibel rating of 36 at low speed, which audiologists label as something between a whisper and a quiet library.

2021 ProductReview Awards logo

Mitsubishi Heavy Industries takes home the 2021 Award for its two split system air conditioners, the Bronte Series and Avanti Series. The Bronte Series earned this title due to several factors, the most highly rated of which include its superior build quality and value for money.

Compare all 5 Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Bronte Series
CategorySplit System Air ConditionersSplit System Air ConditionersSplit System Air ConditionersSplit System Air Conditioners
Price (RRP) $1,499.00$1,550.00$1,978.00$2,560.00
Features Inverter, On/Off Timer, Remote Control and Wi-Fi Smart ControlInverter, On/Off Timer, Remote Control and Wi-Fi Smart ControlInverter, On/Off Timer, Remote Control and Wi-Fi Smart ControlInverter, On/Off Timer, Remote Control and Wi-Fi Smart Control
Cooling Power6.3 kW7.1 kW8 kW9.5 kW
Heating Power7.1 kW8 kW9 kW10.3 kW
Reverse Cycle YesYesYesYes
TypeFull System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)Full System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)Full System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)Full System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)
Cooling Energy Rating 3 stars3 stars2.5 stars2.5 stars
Heating Energy Rating 4 stars3 stars3 stars3 stars
Operating Temperature for Cooling-15 to +46-15 to +46-15 to +46-15 to +46
Operating Temperature for Heating-15 to +46-15 to +46-15 to +46-15 to +46
Auto Cleaning (Self Cleaning)YesYesYesYes
Indoor Unit Dimensions 339 x 1197 x 262 mm339 x 1197 x 262 mm339 x 1197 x 262 mm339 x 1197 x 262 mm
Indoor Weight15.5 kg15.5 kg15.5 kg15.5 kg
Max Indoor Sound Pressure Level45 dB46 dB47 dB48 dB
Outdoor Unit Dimensions 640 x 800 x 290 mm750 x 880 x 340 mm750 x 880 x 340 mm845 x 970 x 370 mm
Outdoor Weight45 kg58 kg58 kg58 kg
Max Outdoor Sound Pressure Level45 dB43 dB44 dB50 dB
Max Outdoor Sound Power Level66 dB65 dB68 dB70 dB
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Compare all 5 Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Bronte Series
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.