1 photo
Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Bronte Series

Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Bronte Series

SRK71ZRA-W (7.1kW), SRK80ZRA-W (8.0kW), SRK95ZRA-W (9.5kW), etc...
4.7 from 358 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners

Pros

  • Durable build quality

  • Whisper-quiet operation

  • Good value for money

Reviews

4.8
67 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.8 (59)
  • Value for Money
    4.8 (63)
  • Ease of Use
    4.8 (61)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (57)
  • Noise Level
    4.8 (61)
  • Heating / Cooling Speed
    4.7 (60)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
f0ssil
f0ssilGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews

Great split system

published

Great unit works well in all weather from cooling to heating. Unlike there cars they know how to build splits. I would rate it at 9 out of 10. Cheers.

Purchased in January 2021 for $1,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Whole House
lionel goodall
lionel goodallWestern Australia
  • 3 reviews

Enjoying my new airconditioner in Western Australia's long hot summer

published

Just had my Bronte aircon installed and it works brilliantly. Great in western Australia's long hot summer. Have had it on for most of the day and night in the middle of summer and it worked brilliantly. Extremely satisfied with it's features. Cools down the whole of my house in fact it sometimes gets too cold.

Purchased in January 2021 at Goodguys Jandakot for $1,599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Living/Dining Area and Whole House
Dave Mac
Dave MacGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Best AirCon unit I have ever installed

published

I was recommended this unit by AWS Dandenong. I went in to purchase a 5kw and was talked up to this 7.1kw. It’s huge and covers the whole house. We have it set on the lowest fan setting, around 20 degrees.
I cannot get over how it cools the entire house.
Quiet and super efficient on power, just puffs away.
This is one of the best units I have ever had fitted.
We no longer use gas ducted heating in winter, instead we use this as our soul source of heating. Goodbye $450 gas bills.
Don’t get me wrong, It does chew through the power bill in winter, but far better than a gas bill and then an electricity bill.
Absolutely magnificent.

Purchased in November 2018 for $1,450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Living/Dining Area and Whole House
Split System Air Conditioners

Find out how Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Bronte Series compares to other Split System Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Straight Up
Straight UpSydney, NSW
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

MHI are great Air Con

published

Purchased in January 2021 for $1,700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Large Bedroom, Living/Dining Area and Small Bedroom
Roger
RogerGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Great unit for the Californian bungalow.

published

We had one of these fitted about 2 years ago now, very quiet operation, I love the 3D function, Remote control is easy to use for programming. Only issue I have / recommend to others is to spend the extra cash and get the factory Mitsubishi Wi-Fi module. I have the aftermarket Intesis module and we have had issues with it (and it also doesn't let you control the full swings / tilts in auto function). But in saying that the warranty team was very good to deal with to rectify, but the process is very lengthy and time consuming, as if they don't have enough call centre technicians.

Purchased in August 2018 at NCG Bulleen.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Whole House
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Dr Dennis M K.
Dr Dennis M K.Northeast, VIC

Best system,,,, very effective and quiet

published

I looked around and decided this was the best system, Once installed, I turned it on and was worried that it was not working, IT WAS SO QUIET ! ! even the outside unit too ! !

Purchased in October 2020 at A&A Climate Solutions.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Whole House
Ben Thomsen
Ben ThomsenSydney Surrounds, NSW

Great air conditioner however a bit noisy.

published

This aircon unit is quite powerful and works very well at heating and cooling our 60m2 living area.
It’s however a little noisy at the indoor head unit, there is quite a bit of plastic “clicking and popping “

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area and Whole House
Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners
MHIAAMitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners

sam
samSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Keeps the moisture in an

published

Keeps the moisture at an acceptable level and also warming the house that's not very well insulated. In the summertime it does seem to struggle a little bit with some of the hot days. It still keeps the temperature down to an acceptable level.

Purchased at airconditioning online for $2,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Not Insulated
Room Type Living/Dining Area and Small Bedroom
Ashley
Ashley
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Mitsubishi Split System

published

This unit has been an absolute blessing. It serves it purpose and never had an issue with it. We found the price to be competitive and installation was quick and easy. Easily heats and cools our 3 bedroom home but sure it could do the same for something bigger.

Purchased in May 2018 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised Review No
Room Type Whole House
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners

Split System Air Conditioners

Find out how Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Bronte Series compares to other Split System Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Darrell Messer
Darrell MesserSouth East Queensland, QLD

The Bronte is a good unit functionally but the wall unit makes excessive panel expansion noise while on heating mode.

published

The unit copes well with extended usage. The unit functions well over extended periods. The features and controls are comparable to most other AC units I have used. I have just experienced a cooler than normal winter and have been impressed with the Bronte's performance.

Purchased in August 2019 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Whole House
Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners
MHIAAMitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners

Mel
MelSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

It’s great but makes noise

published

It works well To cool And heat our whole house. the only thing that does bother us is the noise it makes as it heats. It’s almost like the plastic expands and contracts so it pops throughout the evening

Purchased in August 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $1,600.00.

Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Whole House
Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners
MHIAAMitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners

Great for all seasons

published

This is effective for both heating and cooling. Powerful in moving the air around (2020 winter it has mostly stayed on 18’C). Very cost efficient for an electric heating option. Easy to clean filters. Love the boost function for a rapid change in temperature. I highly recommend this air conditioner and would purchase again. Exercise caution in choosing an installer, unhappy with the installation of compressor outside.

Purchased in August 2018 at Globalrez for $2,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Poor
Room Type Whole House
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners

John Mokdsi
John Mokdsi
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

mitsubishi reverse cycle

published

we use both to try keep the price shared between our ducted heating and our mitsubishi , gas is soo expensive to use solidly all day so we break it up by mixing between the two ways of heating . satisfied with product

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Poor
Room Type Living/Dining Area and Whole House
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners

The quietest Air con ever, I fully recommend this model.

published

This unit is quiet and efficient on both heating and cooling modes. By far the best one we have ever installed. Fully recommended, we will buy this unit this again.

Purchased in May 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area and Whole House
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners

Awesome, super quick to heat/cool and economical to run.

published

This system was purchased for our investment unit, after the wall mounted space heater failed. Our Tennent loves it, the unit is in a cool climate region where heating is a must. The previous space heater had to be on most of the time to keep the place warm. With the Bronte system is only needed for an hour or so.
Very happy with the system.

Purchased in July 2018 for $2,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised Review No
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Whole House
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners

Split System Air Conditioners

Find out how Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Bronte Series compares to other Split System Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Dee
Deeasked
Bronte Series

which is more efficient? Bronte 7.1 kw cooling only or Bronte 7.1 kw reverse cycle?

1 answer
Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners
MHIAAMitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners

Hi Dee,

The Bronte 7.1kW reverse cycle and cooling only offer the same energy effiency.

Dale S.
Dale S.asked
Bronte Series

I have just had a Bronte SRK71ZRA installed. Like a similar post above the thermostat does not work correctly. When I set the temp as low as it will go at 18 degrees the room is heated to 23. Consistently 5 degrees higher than set. On inspection, it seems the temp and humidity sensors are under the cover with the electrical connections and therefore insulated from the actual room temp. I get more accurate temp measurements with the front cover lifted up. When makes sense, as the temp sensor is exposed to the actual room. It is quite clear from the design that the sensor is not measuring the temp of the air entering the fan, but the ambient temp of the unit chassis.

MHIAA, can the temp sensor be calibrated? Is it faulty? Is this a common design floor?
Please help. I will be logging a warranty claim.

2 answers
f0ssil
f0ssil

Mine works fine it was tested by the installer after installation against a temp gauge that the installer used he showed me the results so I knew. I can’t speak highly enough of my unit that was installed 6 months ago.

Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners
MHIAAMitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners

Hi Dale,

As with almost all split systems, the unit's thermostat detects the temperature of the air being returned into the top of the indoor unit as this is a good indicator of the average temperature within the room.

If you're using a separate thermostat located across the other side of the room (and in the direct line of the air being distributed by the unit) there will always be a difference in temperate readings.

We'd suggest adjusting the louvre and fan speed settings to try and get the optimum temperature but if you believe there is still an issue with the unit you can submit a warranty request here: https://mhiaa.com.au/consumer-help-centre/warranty/warranty-service-request/

philandkim
philandkimasked
Bronte SRK71ZRA-W (7.1kW)

We have just had the unit installed and it works great. question is it does not seem to work to the thermostat. on heating we set temp to 22 degrees, during the evening temp reached 26 and there was no ramp down of fan speed - fan keeps blowing heat constantantly. Is this a setting?

2 answers
Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners
MHIAAMitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners

Hi Phil,

Glad to hear your unit is keeping you warm!

The system’s thermometer is in the indoor unit up on the wall and measures the temperature of the returning air. If you're referring to an external thermometer, located somewhere else in the room, it will very likely give you a different temperature reading to the internal thermometer of the system. This is especially true is the external thermometer is located direclty underneath the unit or in the direct airflow.

If you believe a specific area of the room is getting too warm, you may want to lower the set temperature, adjust the louvres and fan speed to try and achieve this.

Hope this helps but if you have any other questions - don't hesitate to let us know!

philandkim
philandkim

Thanks, it seems like if we set to 22 degrees the room will get to at lease 26 degrees (according to the app) before reducing the output. So I guess we set the desired temp lower and see how it goes.
Yes after a couple of days use, the unit work very well (it replaced a Panasonic system which died at 6 years of age), and it quieter too - inside and out.

See all Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Bronte Series questions

Get an answer from our members and Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioners representatives

Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Bronte Series

Details

With its excellent rating of 4.7 stars, the Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Bronte Series of split system air conditioners is a promising pick to help you stay comfortable all year round.

They're available in four different models, depending on your room size. Look at the cooling power (measured in kW), to see which is suited to the room you intend you cool.

There is also a cooling only split system air conditioner. However since the cooling-only option is around $400 more expensive than its 7.1kW split-system counterpart ($1600 v $1599 from Bunnings), for many it would make sense to get the air conditioner that offers both cooling and heating functions for cheaper.

Features:

  • Allergen clearing filter and deodorising filter
  • Reach of 18m for the cooling function
  • Various timers, including on/off timers and sleep mode
  • Wi-Fi operation optional, with separate purchase of a specialised adaptor
  • Decibel rating of 36 at low speed, which audiologists label as something between a whisper and a quiet library.

2021 ProductReview Awards logo

Mitsubishi Heavy Industries takes home the 2021 Award for its two split system air conditioners, the Bronte Series and Avanti Series. The Bronte Series earned this title due to several factors, the most highly rated of which include its superior build quality and value for money.

Compare all 5 Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Bronte Series
CategorySplit System Air ConditionersSplit System Air ConditionersSplit System Air ConditionersSplit System Air Conditioners
Price (RRP) $1,499.00$1,550.00$1,978.00$2,560.00
Features Inverter, On/Off Timer, Remote Control and Wi-Fi Smart ControlInverter, On/Off Timer, Remote Control and Wi-Fi Smart ControlInverter, On/Off Timer, Remote Control and Wi-Fi Smart ControlInverter, On/Off Timer, Remote Control and Wi-Fi Smart Control
Cooling Power6.3 kW7.1 kW8 kW9.5 kW
Heating Power7.1 kW8 kW9 kW10.3 kW
Reverse Cycle YesYesYesYes
TypeFull System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)Full System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)Full System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)Full System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)
Cooling Energy Rating 3 stars3 stars2.5 stars2.5 stars
Heating Energy Rating 4 stars3 stars3 stars3 stars
Operating Temperature for Cooling-15 to +46-15 to +46-15 to +46-15 to +46
Operating Temperature for Heating-15 to +46-15 to +46-15 to +46-15 to +46
Auto Cleaning (Self Cleaning)YesYesYesYes
Indoor Unit Dimensions 339 x 1197 x 262 mm339 x 1197 x 262 mm339 x 1197 x 262 mm339 x 1197 x 262 mm
Indoor Weight15.5 kg15.5 kg15.5 kg15.5 kg
Max Indoor Sound Pressure Level45 dB46 dB47 dB48 dB
Outdoor Unit Dimensions 640 x 800 x 290 mm750 x 880 x 340 mm750 x 880 x 340 mm845 x 970 x 370 mm
Outdoor Weight45 kg58 kg58 kg58 kg
Max Outdoor Sound Pressure Level45 dB43 dB44 dB50 dB
Max Outdoor Sound Power Level66 dB65 dB68 dB70 dB
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Compare all 5 Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Bronte Series
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.