1 photo
Mitsubishi Challenger PA

Mitsubishi Challenger PA (1998-2006)

4.1 from 13 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Mitsubishi

Reviews

4.1
13 reviews
5
(5)
4
(6)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(0)
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (4)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (3)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (4)
  • Braking
    3.3 (4)
  • Acceleration / Power
    2.5 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.3 (3)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (4)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    2.3 (4)
  • Handling
    3.5 (4)
  • Interior Design
    3.5 (4)
  • Boot Size
    3.8 (4)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (4)
  • Features
    3.7 (3)
Previous
Next
ktg
ktgNorthern Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Reliable petrol V6 483.000kms & counting

published

just keeps going used for farm work towing & 4WDing have replaced starter motor & alternator this year ( $110 ea aftermarket) last year the harmonic balancer ( seems to be a common problem) overall a cheap 4wd that keeps on going. at close to half a million kms who cares about a few $ a year for maintainance

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Andrew
AndrewMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews

Wonderful car , love it

published

It is used as a daily driver, does offroading on the odd weekend , get it serviced regularly and on time . It has done 260000kms and I just changed the original water pump , not because it wasn't working ,but because I just put in a new timing belt. Amazing durability. Last Challenger made in Japan

Purchased in July 2013 for $5,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
westo
westoSydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Sluggish...

published

Purchased in March 2021 for $7,000.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Ripper vehicle both on and off road

published

Purchased in July 2020 for $3,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Mitsubishi Challenger PA compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Most reliable vehicle I've owned.

published
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2008
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sam O
Sam ONSW
  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Perfect off road car, Built like a Tank

published
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Curious to know

published

Just curious to know, could I drop a 2015 Toyota Hilux turbo diesel motor into a 1998 challenger would it fit ?? If it does how much you reckon it would cost?? If it did work next project would be to slam a challenger and completely lower it with air bags

Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next
Ken Coleman
Ken ColemanAU
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

I've given it Hell. It comes up smiling

published

Bought my 1998 Challenger for my country mail run as a stop-gap until I bought a new one to replace the 2008 Rodeo that died. It's been through hell on gravel roads, stop/start, loaded and driven hard. Sure some things broke. But my new mail car will be a Challenger

Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chrisalan
Chrisalan
  • 6 reviews
  • 13 likes

Great truck underated

published
BadgeLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Mitsubishi Challenger PA compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Karl S
Karl SAustralia
  • 8 reviews
  • 13 likes

Great mid-sized 4WD wagon for travelling (2001 Montero Sport)

published
BadgeLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

5year warranty -be careful what is covered

published

Bought a used challenger 2011, was 3 years old, with 5 yr warranty . Have had it for 12 months , has done 80,000 Kms third gear not working , under warranty but they're saying clutch needs replacing (not under warranty ) disappointing that we have to pay $600 for something you would think should last longer than a warranty !

TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
SSSuave
SSSuaveAshford, New South Wales
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good durable little truck

published

Ive owned my 2000 Challenger for about 7 years. The only real issue that concerned me is that the 3.0 litre V6 runs a bit warm when towing big caravans and car trailers and on 40+ days, but I push it harder than most would. Its never really over heated. Its very solid so don't expect a smooth ride although I have had to switch to all terrains/muddies. I live in the bush area on northern NSW so I need to use gravel ungrated roads from time to time. I would recommend this vehicle to others and can confidently say that this vehicle has been tested and has passed with flying colors.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Mitsubishi Challenger PA compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
David
DavidAdelaide

Good value for money

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all Mitsubishi Challenger reviews

Questions & Answers

Sami D.
Sami D.asked
Challenger PA (1998-2006)

I have a 2001 for Mitsubishi Challenger PA 3.0 V6. 4wd 4X4 gear Bushing is gone looking for a part but cant seem to find the correct one for modle. any suggestions

1 answer
KCNS
KCNS

Yep it's called a fulcrum bush. Can be a bit of a challenge to change. You can get them direct from Mitsi or about $40 from memory on eBay.

mark k.
mark k.asked
Challenger PA (1998-2006)

Will triton leafs Springs fit a 2001 challenger

No answers
Duke
Dukeasked
Challenger PA (1998-2006)

Hi How do you get to the top bolts to remove the gearbox

No answers
See all Mitsubishi Challenger PA (1998-2006) questions

Get an answer from our members and Mitsubishi representatives

Mitsubishi Challenger PA (1998-2006)

Details

Compare all 3 Mitsubishi Challenger
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Release dateFeb 1998
Discontinuation dateDec 2006
Replaced byMitsubishi Pajero Sport QE
Compare all 3 Mitsubishi Challenger

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.