??!
13 photos
Mitsubishi Lancer

Mitsubishi Lancer (page 2 of 12)

CJ, CG/CH, CE, CF
4.3 from 230 reviews · View Details

Reviews

4.3

230 reviews
5
(122)
4
(74)
3
(16)
2
(6)
1
(12)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (18)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (17)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (17)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (18)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.9 (17)
  • Handling
    4.4 (17)
  • Braking
    4.5 (18)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (17)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (17)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (17)
  • Interior Design
    3.8 (17)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (17)
  • Features
    3.6 (17)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (17)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

Lachlan B

Lachlan BCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 14 likes

Good old car

published

Car is now 10 years old and bought second hand. Previous owner clearly didn't look after it well due to paint chips scratches and stone chips being all over the paintwork. Mechanically, it still runs perfectly after 170 000km and feels reliable to drive.

Would recommend Lancers if you're looking for a good reliable car, just watch out for paint peel on the older models.

BodyHatch
BadgeActiv
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2018
Mandy page

Mandy pageBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car

published

Great reliable car this is my 2nd lancer this one was new. Haven't had any problems cost of services are capped . The car has enough power but sensible enough not to get speeding tickets. Very stylish picked the blue and it's pretty good at hiding the dirt. Would recommend this car for any buyer

BodySedan
BadgeES
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
blinky19

blinky19Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

2017 lancer cf

published

Great car. Only bought it because of its size internally. Way bigger than a Mazda 3. Not the most fuel efficient on the market. I get around 10/L per 100km city driving. That drops to 7/L on freeways. CVT makes this car a nugget but great going up the mountains. 5 year warranty plus free roadside also sweetened the deal. So far so good.

BodySedan
BadgeLS
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Cars

Find out how Mitsubishi Lancer compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Love the car but fuel consumption is expensive

published

I have owned my beautiful Mitsi Lancer Ralliart for just over 2 years. I love everything about this car except that this car does a maximum of 350km to 380km a full tank and has to use Premium 98 petrol.
The car is beautiful inside and is amazingly stunning on the outside.

BodySedan
BadgeRalliart
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Merc Primur

Merc PrimurPerth

  • 13 reviews
  • 3 likes

A good simple vehicle but needs engine refinement.

published

I had this car for review from a relative who bought the car and I am pretty happy with the way it performs, it has everything you need in a small car, the 2.0l engine has a decent amount of power, however there is a little bit of coarseness in the upper Rev range but it is not to noticeable. But overall I think it looks good and drives well.

BodySedan
BadgeES
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Chris

ChrisCanberra

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

expensive to fix man

published

This car is good if you maintain it properly. However, it is very expensive to fix even just for a low speed crash. Can go to 10000! I assume the lancer has a bad product quality regarding product itself, not referring to the passengers safety. So if you broken ur lancer better just get rid of it and move on! Typical Japanese car.
And sometime ABS does not work at all. So forget about it and go whatever else!

BodySedan
BadgeES Sport
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018
Matty B

Matty BBrisbane

Most reliable car i have owned.

published
BodyWagon
BadgeVR-X
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2004

Reliable but boring

published

Just sold my 1.5 year old Lancer with less than 7000k for much less than I paid in April 2017, while they are great reliable cars they are not for anyone who enjoys driving. Very slow and the suspension is super sloppy to the point of feeling dangerous, you have to slow down to advisory speeds or you could crash, it also wandered when the road camber changed, our 4x4 handles better. I couldn't justify the huge loan for a boring, slow, poor handling car. EVO's and Ralliarts may be good but clearly they have little in common with the base models. I'm unsure how they can justify calling it a sport, side skirts and spoiler don't create sports handling.

BodySedan
BadgeES Sport
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Jodie

Jodie

  • 5 reviews

Love my Lancer, won’t buy another vehicle

published

I purchased my 2014 Lancer as an ex demo model with lots of optional extras like tinted windows, sat nav, camera and reversing sensors. Love my Lancer! Has so much room for a mid sized sedan. I can fit three adults and two car seats in plus a weeks shopping in the boot.

BodySedan
BadgeES
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2015
Cars

Find out how Mitsubishi Lancer compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John r

John rCairns

  • 4 reviews

Great second car

published

I've had this car for over 3 years now and haven't had any major problems. It drives very smoothly and looks sexy too. It is nice and luxurious on the inside and you can get it very cheap too if you buy it used. Only complaints i have is that it is very hard to see behind when reversing because of the design and also this problem doesn't apply to this car but sedans in general but I find it difficult to park because the car is so big but I find it's all worth it in the end.

BodySedan
BadgeVR-X
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
alannahrose

alannahroseGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love my car

published

Drives really easily and smoothly, bought it as a company owned vehicle so it was treated really well which was good. I wish I had a AUX or a USB plug in, but i know that the newer models have this so when i upgrade will make sure to double check. Costs between $50-70 to fill up, depending on petrol prices. I will also make sure it is not CVT, because thats the one thing i dont like about the car.

BodySedan
BadgeES
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2012
Lizzy

LizzySpringwood

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Ok- bad on petrol

published

It's a nice zippy little car, but it's petrol hungry, drives rough and suspension seem too hard. Otherwise I love the look of it, and love the way it handles corners quickly and smoothly, love the cruise control and chilly air con- however this takes AGES to get cold in summer compared to other cars.

BodySedan
BadgeES
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Isabel

IsabelSunshine Coast

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

So dissapointing

published

We've previously had two Lancers (both 1990's models) which were awesome. Unbreakable. Bought this Lancer expecting it to be the same quality. Nope.
Terrible road noise (vaguely improved with the addition of very expensive tyres), random engine noises, awful clunky manual gearbox, cheap poor quality foam seats.
The only decent thing about this car was the design. It looked great. Mitsubishi obviously put money into design and not much else nowdays. Will never buy again.
Traded this junk on a Hyundai i30 which is awesome. Lost a lot of money with this crap car. Glad I got rid of it as I heard they have now recalled them due to serious engine fault.

BodySedan
BadgeSX
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Nanette

NanetteSouth Australia

  • 5 reviews

Perfect vehicle for safe comfortable country trips

published

Good for overtaking road trains on country trips.
Very reliable & economical & not expensive for services.
Very comfortable leather seats.
Plenty of room in the back, front & boot.
Seats fold down for extra boot room if required.
Very little road noise.
Good surround sound system.
Very good safe car.
My daughter is very happy with her purchase.

BodySedan
BadgePlatinum
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Relby

RelbyPerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it!

published

Beautiful looking car, in Gunmetal grey with suede / leather interior, electric windows all round, mag low profile tyres and spoiler, it’s a stylish car for any age group. With its zippy 2.4L engine it’s perfect for city or country driving. It’s a roomy small vehicle with plenty of boot space and leg room.

BodySedan
BadgeES Limited Edition
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2007
Cars

Find out how Mitsubishi Lancer compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Amylase

AmylaseMelbourne

  • 8 reviews

Nice, practical car

published

The driving experience is pretty good. The engine is a bit noisy but you get used to it. if you like cars that make sounds this is the type of car for you. The performance is good too. it can go from 0 to 100 real fast and the driving is smooth. the brakes are the best. Breaks almost straight away as you press it, The interior is spacious for 5 people, there is ample leg room the lights are red for interior which makes it sort of a sportish look. the car is reliable. but has had 2 recalls in the past about the drive belt and the airbags. the running costs are not too bad full tank s about $50 and service been about $300

BodySedan
BadgeES
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2008
Vallidos

VallidosSydney

  • 4 reviews

Perfect Car.

published

Car is very reliable, good on petrol and there are minimal mechanical issues. Sufficient leg space for all people in the car, especially with boot space in the hatchback version. The car looks good, runs good and does not fail to get you from A to B. Great car overall!

BodyHatch
BadgeRX
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2009
Jaz

Jaz

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Gets me here & there

published

The car overall is a very reliable car! My mum purchased the car brand new with all the extras she could get at the time. Its now my first car and it goes like a champ! Its a beautiful red colour with a sports look to the

The only problem with the car is the amount of fuel it tends to use. I go through fuel a lot faster the older the car gets and it's getting frustrating.

The side strip on the car door has also had the silver peel off and go black when taking it to Mitsubishi they tell me that I need to get the whole side door penal replaced which is a very expensive fix.

There is no other problems with the car just those two things.

BodySedan
BadgeES
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2009
Andy

AndySydney

  • 4 reviews

Love the feel of the ride

published

This model came with the touch screen and leather seats with seat warmer. This is by far the best purchase and I cannot live without it. Usually I hate driving in winter but the seat warmers make it enjoyable. The ride is very smooth since the handling is pretty good.

BodySedan
BadgeLX
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2014
Bored C.S.

Bored C.S.Sydney

  • 6 reviews

Great Price for a Great Car

published

Even though Mitsubishis aren't the most sought for cars on the market anymore, the Lancer still remains a very reliable car. Compared to other cars on its level (Mazda 3's, Corolla's, Civic's), I enjoy driving the Lancer a lot more. I feel that the accleration is a lot more responsive than the other cars. Handling is also very nice, with steering being very responsive.

Interior is not bad either, very spacious, and no one feels cramped inside. Exterior/body, Mitsubishi hasn't changed the design of their Lancers for a very long time, so it does look a bit dated. However this isn't that much of an issue, as they still look great, especially with the Ralliart front.

BodyHatch
BadgeGSR
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Page 2 of 12
See all Mitsubishi Lancer reviews

Questions & Answers

Isabell M.

Isabell M.asked

Lancer CE (1996-2003)

I got a 1997 lancer ce recently and the drivers door dose not seal (cant be fixed) what year lancer doors can i replace it with?

No answers
Isabell M.

Isabell M.asked

Lancer CE (1996-2003)

Will a 2000 model drivers door fit on a 1997?

No answers
Dylan M.

Dylan M.asked

Lancer CE (1996-2003)

My question is on relation to the relay fuse box in the engine bay- With the 1996/1999 Mitsubishi lancer ce, what are the square fuses with clear tops called. Does anyone know What is the actual name for them?
If someone could help me out, it would be appreciated!

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.