3 photos
Mitsubishi Mirage CE

Mitsubishi Mirage CE (1996-2003)

4.6 from 34 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Hatchbacks in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Mitsubishi? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

4.6
34 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.8 (4)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (4)
  • Noise Level
    2.8 (4)
  • Braking
    4.5 (4)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.3 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (4)
  • Suspension
    3.5 (4)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (4)
  • Handling
    4.3 (4)
  • Interior Design
    3.3 (3)
  • Boot Size
    3.3 (3)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (3)
  • Features
    2.7 (3)
Previous
Next
Tomas T Gadea
Tomas T Gadea Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Great little car. I love my little mirage :)

published

Purchased in June 2020 for $400.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Colin M.
Colin M.Sydney
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great very cheap car, much better than expected

published

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Mohamed sekek
Mohamed sekekGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

!!! Best car Ever !!!

published

I bought this car in 2014, never had a single problem, in 3 years ran like a bullet, cheap to run, very easy to drive. Buy it your will never lose.

Purchased in October 2014 for $850.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Manda
MandaSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 13 reviews
  • 20 likes

The best little car!

published

My first car was a Mitsubishi Mirage 2003 model second hand that I learnt to drive in I’ve only had my licence for about 6 yrs and I am also a bit older and had no idea how to drive! Never had one problem whatsoever! Excellent on fuel. I got my Mitsubishi Mirage 2003 serviced every 10,000kms and never had 1 problem. A bit small was my only issue and also being a 2 door was a bit hard to get in and out of the back. I would highly recommend this beauty of a car to anyone that is learning to drive, so so easy.

BodyHatch
Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2012
Hatchbacks

Find out how Mitsubishi Mirage CE compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Georgiana
GeorgianaVIC, 3461
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Best car I've ever owned

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSport
TransmissionManual
Engine Size1.2
Georgiana
Georgiana

An update on my fabulous Mirage, it sadly came to an untimely end when it was written off whilst stationery in my driveway. Such a terrible shame but I did get nearly 16 very happy years out of this car!

Slazmo
SlazmoSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 243 reviews
  • 242 likes

Wish I never sold it!

published
TransmissionManual
BodyHatch
Slazmo
Slazmo

Just noticed that the build dates for the last generation 4 Mirage was 1995 to 2004 and not what Product review has put up...

Cosmic kicker
Cosmic kicker

I just noticed that this 2013 mirage has a mivec motor , something you said it didn't , um perhaps you got that wrong ?

Slazmo
Slazmo

The new Mivec motor is not the same as the previous Mivec motor and should not be considered the same. Do you even know what Mivec / modular displacement is?

Rob P
Rob P
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Basic but well engineered car

published
BodyHatch
BadgeVR-X
TransmissionManual
Engine Size1.5

Related Articles

Previous
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
sthajay
sthajayMelbourne
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

2002 Mitsubishi Mirage Manual

published

Bought second hand 2002 Mitsubishi Mirage 5 speed manual 3 dr Hatchback on 07/02/2012 with 110000kms on the odo. Excellent small car, extremely agile, reliable, smooth gear shift and spacious. Fit dishwasher, bbq, tools, so much. Just normal engine oil, filters and brakes changes till 140000kms. Fuel economy 6.6 lts/100 kms pretty good even on busy city road. Trade in this year to bigger car, Mitsubishi Outlander.

Engine Size1.5
TransmissionManual
BodyHatch

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Pre 2003 Mirages are unbreakable

published

Hi,
I bought a 98 Mirage bought 5 years ago thinking that I will use and dump into scrap yard after few years. So I didn't do any service. Never changed the oil engine and etc. Ran 30K for 3 years and guess what, I never had any issues. It never disappointed me. After 3 years without any services done, I sold it to one my friend. Now this is his 2nd year with the car. He told me he has minor service (changed engine oil and air filter) and that's it for the last 5 years. Still running smooth and still water coming from exhausted as it is a new car. Unbelievable!!

Engine Size1.5
BodyHatch
Hatchbacks

Find out how Mitsubishi Mirage CE compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Not a patch on the old one.

published

Bought a new manual Mirage in February 1997 and it now has close to 150000kms on the clock. One of the best cars we'e ever owned. In 18 years it has cost almost zero apart from normal, regular maintenance.
Took a new one for a test drive - not a patch on the old one, even though the new one has all of the modern safety features. Dealer offered me $200 as a trade-in, which they'd probably sell for $4000.
So the old girl will stay in the stable and is probably good for another 18 years or more.

BodyHatch
TransmissionManual

Great car

published

I have the 2003 manual Mirage. It's the best little car, very fuel efficient and never misses a beat. Mines on 186000km at the moment and still going strong. Holds a lot for a small car and won't buy anything but a Mitsubishi again.

BodyHatch
TransmissionManual

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
mark
markMelbourne
  • 10 reviews
  • 7 likes

Mirage comes out on top, Best little Engine Ever...235,000 km still faultless :)

published
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Hatchbacks

Find out how Mitsubishi Mirage CE compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
PBR-Streetgang
PBR-StreetgangSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great Run-around Car

published

"It's no compromise of standard features..." is not quite true, in fact the 97 Mirage is missing some that would be considered standard, like a CD Player or Power Steering. If you can do without these then the car is a good one for you, However if you are elderly i think the lack of Power Steering could be too big a negative to buy one.
Overall I find the car to be a good drive, reliable, and value for money.
Reliable, good fuel economy, fair bit of room for a small car.
No Power Steering, No CD Player

BodyHatch
Kate Cani
Kate CaniAustralia
  • 2 reviews

My dream car!

published

I always got envied someone driving mirage. I always find myself drooling whenever it passes by me. Perhaps, a year or 2, I can afford to buy one for myself. I was able to drive mirage when I insisted my friend that I will drive on our way to the beach. It was easy to control, the seat was comfortable, the aircon was seamless, everything was perfect! I envied my friend for having one. Until that I'm saving my money for 1. Finger crossed ^^

BodyHatch

OK

published

Good city car for BIG people, but gutless on highway when overtaking or going up hill with airconditioner on. (automatic) Very reliable, easy to manoevre, but is set a little too low.
As a BIG person this small car is ideal. Plenty of room in the front. Ideal as a single person car. Fuel is economical and I drive around 500km per week.
No power when overtaking. Quite dangerous in fact. The Airconditioner bolts (assembly to the fan) have come loose twice and lost completely once. As this fan also drive the power steering it was quite dangerous. Can't hear the radio on the highway with the roadnoise. Red paint fades badly even after protective coat.

BodyHatch
See all Mitsubishi Mirage reviews

Questions & Answers

RussellHill
RussellHillasked
Mirage CE (1996-2003)

Will a 1996 mirage backseat headrest fit a 1999 backseat?

No answers
Phil
Philasked
Mirage CE (1996-2003)

2002 mirage 1.5 manual. What are the timing belt service intervals please

1 answer
Koala27
Koala27

I do mine every 100,000 km - also change all the other belts and check water pump for leaks while doing the timing belt. replacing a leaky pump works out cheaper if done during the timing belt replacement.

Melanie Diss
Melanie Dissasked
Mirage CE (1996-2003)

I have a manual Mirage 2003 As the engine is fairly basic I'd like to do basic maintenance; oil change, oil filter replacement,brakes etc myself. Where is the best place to find D.I.Y. information?
Any ideas would be great, thanks!

No answers
See all Mitsubishi Mirage CE (1996-2003) questions

Get an answer from our members

Mitsubishi Mirage CE (1996-2003)

Details

Compare all 13 Mitsubishi Mirage
CategoryCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $15,990
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels13" Alloy
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.5L
Max Power69kW @ 5500rpm
Max Torque126Nm @ 3000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapan
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)
Release dateJan 1996
Discontinuation dateDec 2003
Compare all 13 Mitsubishi Mirage

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.