??!
14 photos
Mitsubishi Mirage LA

Mitsubishi Mirage LA

Hatchback, Sedan
4.0 from 44 reviews

See the Best Cars in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(17)
(16)
(6)
(4)
(1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.8 (4)
  • Handling
    4.0 (4)
  • Braking
    4.0 (4)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (4)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (4)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (4)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (4)
  • Features
    3.8 (4)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (4)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (3)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (4)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (4)


This is is a perfectly safe car which I bought a few years ago & I love driving EVERY DAY

published

Every review from USA is rubbish, MY Mitsubishi PINK HATCH has given me & my family in Sydney Australia nothing but safety & pleasure! The steering is unbelievable, the breaks in an emergency lock immediately! I feel save in my MM which I drive every day of every year on local town roads, highways, motorways! I use my car everyday, I service it every 6 months with the same mechanic who also advises on any replacement tyres etc. Latest from the mechanic was that SHE was in good condition, so keep up the regular services & "SHE" will last me a long time!

Purchased for $9,000.00.

Value for Money
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

b19ckr9bb1t

b19ckr9bb1tAdelaide

  • 9 reviews

Cheap cheerful car to get you from A to B

published

Overall driving experience is nothing to shout about. Main thing is it's a cheap car to buy on the second hand market. I think the suspension is pretty appalling but for the price I suppose I cannot expect top quality. Cheap to run from rego, insurance and fuel efficiency basis.

Purchased in February 2015 for $5,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Geoff_H

Geoff_HCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Good value when bought 2nd hand

published

Purchased in July 2017 for $7,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Catharina Strydom

Catharina StrydomSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Most economic and reliable car I've had

published

My manual Mitsubishi Mirage use n fraction of the petrol my previous car used. Services are reasonable and it's a reliable car with built in Bluetooth, and ample space. When back seats are folded down, a washing machine fits inside. We have transported many bulky things in this little car. I recently replaced tyres and they were cheap. Great car!

Purchased in April 2013 at Norris Motor Group Brisbane for $12,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

K O

K OPerth

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great little car

published
BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2014

Chris

ChrisGold Coast

  • 10 reviews

I love my mirage... but

published
BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017

Sorry

SorryAlice Springs, NT

  • 2 reviews

Aircon blows hot air within 11 months in my new mirage

published

The noise levels are a major concern. It rattles on the highways which is a bit scary. Car manufacturers should be honest in providing good quality cars even if the prices are higher. Such cheap cars should not be allowed legally to be sold. It is not worth it. I don’t recommend this car to even my worst enemy

BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017

nfaruqi

nfaruqi

  • 8 reviews

Great car !

published
BodySedan
BadgeLS
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Carolynne Beazley

Carolynne BeazleyNorth Turramurra

  • 2 reviews

awesome car - couldn't ask for more for the price!

published

Performs really well, nimble on the road. Haven't noticed much noise. Interior does look cheap but functional
Legroom surprisingly amazing - we actually fit in 4 adults quite comfortably and we're all over 6'1"!! We were shocked.
Really cost efficient to run - slow to go through petrol
Not very powerful up the hills, but really does the job well enough nonetheless.

BodyHatch
BadgeLS
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2018
GeeJay

GeeJaySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Very good for a short work commute.

published

Those criticising the Mirage's looks should compare it to the Nissan micra.
My Mirage had to have the manual gear box replaced at 24000 km. A vibrating sensation was noticeable through the pedals.
The dealer said Mitsubishi had changed manufactures and the replacement shouldn't give me any bother. Has anyone had this problem, or know whether the replacement gear box is of better quality than the original. To their credit Mitsubishi replaced it under warranty, but if it fails again within say 25,000 km, the cost could ruin me.

BodyHatch
BadgeLS
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionThe manual gearbox had to be replaced under warranty at 23000 km. Does anyone know if the replacement box Mitsubishi fit is any better than the original. I was told by the dealer the replacement box comes from a different manufacturer.
Date PurchasedNov 2013

Jani

JaniSydney

  • 4 reviews

Very fuel efficient!

published

This car is a great value car! Very cheap on petrol, 4.6L/100km, and hence the running costs are very low. The overall driving experience was positive, except the fact that the engine is a little loud when you have to accelerate. The interior is about right for the money you are paying for it. As a tall 6 foot man, I could fit comfortably inside. However, one thing is that the interior looks a little cheap, with plastic used in most places. Apart from this, the design is perfect.

BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Tim L

Tim LOxenford

  • 4 reviews

Good car - especially for the price

published

If you are paying less than $15 grand for a car then you have to expect some trade offs. However after driving the car for a while, the highway noise can be a little loud but not overly so and handling is great. The bluetooth has had some issue with Android phones but only happens in a blue moon. The voice recognition is great with a 90% match on the names i say. You do have to keep manually importing the phone contacts into the car for any changes.

Service is cheap with fixed price servicing every 15k kms and super cheap to run. I get about 5L/100 on my daily commute

BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016

Eric

EricSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews

Great fuel efficient small car

published

This car is extremely well in fuel efficiency. It cost me about $35 for a full tank of fuel. Even though this is a lower end small car, it still equipped with a great Bluetooth system. I can play my favourite music in the car connecting to the spotify app from my iphone.

BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2016

Great car for short distance

published

Compact car that saves fuel, small and easy to park. I only need to pump once a fortnight and it only costs my about 30 dollar. Easy maintenance as well as sleek design. I would recommend for a short distance drive around town. Very comfortable and spacious as the back seat can be adjusted to lie flat.

BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

nic

nicmelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

OK first car

published

I don't mind this car, it gets me from A to B, but it is a bit noisy and I'm not a huge fan of what it looks like. Petrol is affordable which is good and when I'm driving around a lot it'll usually last me 2 weeks even with a small tank. It fits a lot more in it than it appears which is handy.

BodyHatch
Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Caroline

CarolineHunter Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

I love my purple Mirage

published

This car is very fuel economical. I use it for work and considering the size of the car, I get all my work equipment in with no problems. We've had no mechanical problems after nearly 3 years. The dashboard is simple but easy to use. Legroom is ok for all the family. My only complaint and it's a small one, due to the size of tyres they need to be changed more frequently than on a bigger car. Reliable, economical and a big bang for a small buck.

BodySedan
BadgeOptions
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2014

aziz

aziz

  • 5 reviews

Perfect car

published

Great little car very easy to manage i like driving it beautiful colour and looks. It is very economical on fuel. Air conditioner could have been better. Bluetooth connectivity is also a plus point. Usb connectivity. Full tank that costs around 30$$ can easily do 370 -390 kms which is pretty good.

BodyHatch
BadgeLS
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015

Emily Victoria Bridges

Emily Victoria BridgesAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good first car

published

Driving experience is enjoyable, suits my needs perfectly as a single person living in the city. Handles well, is kind of noisy but not any different to other cars in the same price range.
I don't like that the car doesn't have a centre console, but again this seems to be usual. Legroom is perfect for me (167cm). It's tough fitting three adults in the back comfortably, but can be done!
Thus far it's been extremely reliable and cheap to run. I fill up usually for around 20 bucks and a full tank lasts around 500kms

BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017

DGD

DGDBrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

AWESOME

published

Admittedly this is my first car that wasnt 10 years old, so I may have low standards, but oh my god I love this car so much. I have had it over 3 years now and have had zero issues except for a flat tyre. It uses almost no fuel and it easy to fit in little spaces and can turn on a penny. If anyone is after a nifty little car this may be the one for you!

BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2014

b19ckr9bb1t

b19ckr9bb1tAdelaide

  • 9 reviews

Cheap to run, suspension is quite soft though

published

I bought this car used at 3 years old with approx 55k on the odometer. It's cheap to run. The suspension is quite soft so it's quite bumpy on rides. If you need a car to get you from A to B , cheap to run, city driving, and you are not fussy about the ride comfort - this is a great car!

BodySedan
BadgeSport
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Page 1 of 3

See all Mitsubishi Mirage reviews

Questions & Answers

haidy1970

haidy1970asked

Just purchased a la 2016 mirage, very impressed with it, the only problem it has no temp gauge, it has a green temp warning light when you first start the car up it, that warning light goes out once car reached operating temp when you drive short distance up the road, also a red light if it over heats, the green one for low coolant.
Is it possible to get a temp gauge there is a space for a gauge does Mitibishi make a gauge.

2 answers
IntrepidAussie
IntrepidAussie

It's not something I've noticed, sorry. I guess that modern radiators are so reliable these days that it's not something I think about. Check with your dealer.

Diana0777
Diana0777

I purchased my Mirage in January 2017 at the 2016 plate clearance, it is a 2016 model, I have exactly the same issue with the green temp warning light coming on when you first start up the car then going off by itself a little later. I was going to bring this up at my 1500km service... but since you are having this issue also, perhaps it is a common thing.


Get an answer from our members and Mitsubishi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.