??!
3 photos
Mitsubishi Electric MSZ-GL71VGD (7.1kW)

Mitsubishi Electric MSZ-GL71VGD (7.1kW)

MPN: MSZGL71VGDKIT
4.7 from 38 reviews

Reviews

4.7

38 reviews
5
(32)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Previous
Next
Catherine BNE.

Catherine BNE.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 13 reviews
  • 8 likes

Excellent aircon!

published

This is a great machine. It works well and seems to consume little power. What I love the best is I can take out the blades to wash them. Fantastic!

Purchased in December 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers
Johanna Fox

Johanna FoxSouth East Queensland, QLD

Sleep with eye mask light so bright

published

This air conditioner would be fine if in a room you never want to sleep in. The light is so bright I have to sleep wearing a face mask. I rang and requested to give this feedback to the company and they wouldn't take my feedback just saying it's not possible not to have a light because it diagnoses the problems. When we bought our house there is a kelvinator already installed in the other bedroom and you can switch the light off so it is possible but as a company is not interested in our feedback we will just shift to a smaller bedroom and never use this company again.

Purchased in January 2018.

Ease of Use

This is perfect I can't live without it

published

Very fast cooling and very fast heating. Haven't had a problem in 3 years. Highly recommend Mitsubishi air conditioners for your home. I love Mitsubishi air conditioners they are awesome.

Purchased in June 2015 at The Good Guys for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Large Bedroom and Living/Dining Area
See all answers
Split System Air Conditioners

Find out how Mitsubishi Electric MSZ-GL71VGD (7.1kW) compares to other Split System Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jen

JenSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great System

published

The first air con we have had in this home so nothing to compare it to but the Mitsubishi Split System has worked excellently in both summer and winter. Functionality in both seasons has been quiet. Very impressed with the eco mode as well as the variety of settings which there are to choose from.

Purchased in November 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$1,699.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers
Graeme

GraemeIllawarra, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Climate Control at Home

published

We live in an apartment and this reverse cycle split system helps to keep the inside temperature at an acceptable level no matter the outside conditions.

It is a quiet unit and woks effortlessly.

It may be a bigger unit than needed but we did not want to overwork the unit if conditions meant we had to work the unit inside harder.

Even though the inside unit is relatively large it is smart unit and does not look out of place.

We use it a lot and our electricity bills do not seem excessive when compared to other places we have lived with different A/C units

Very pleased with this A/C unit.

Purchased in June 2018 at Domayne NSW.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers
kylie333

kylie333

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic option -incredible quiet

published

We were tired of having a noisy split system and recently upgraded to Mitsubishi. We went on a holiday and they had them in the apartment we rented, and we were amazed at how quiet they were. So in line with recent home renovs we replaced our existing units. Best decision ever. They are super quiet and you can also buy the wifi interface and operate from your mobile phone. So now we can turn on prior to getting home and have the room at the perfect temp. Cost a little more but well worth it. Also worth noting - one arrived faulty and we only found out at installation. Harvey Norman Thomastown handled the replacement and it was hassle fee and completed within 24hours.

Purchased in February 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Large Bedroom and Living/Dining Area
See all answers
Nightingale

Nightingale

  • 15 reviews
  • 11 likes

Quiet and Reliable

published

Quiet and Reliable we are very happy with the Mitsubishi for the price. The remote control is a bit hard to work however it cools the house really well very happy with our purchase.

Purchased in November 2018 for A$1,000.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers
Ourco

OurcoNorth Sydney

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Relatively cheap for the size

published

Tested during the recent winter days , heater performs well adequate.
The size of the indoor unit is massive and not like the latest slim line model from other brands.
Big advantage I guess was it able to throw air over longer distance to the other side of the living area.
Still need to see how it will handle over 40 degrees heat in the next summer.

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Room Type Living/Dining Area
waytogohere

waytogohereMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 15 reviews
  • 12 likes

Really effective and quiet aircon

published

We had a ducted aircon but it was very expensive to run and was not very effective because it blew the cold air through the hot roofspace. We decided to buy a split system to cool our back living area and now that we have it I wish we had done this years ago. Last summer our bill was a fraction of the year prior, the the aircon is quiet and effective and keeps the temperature consistent without cycling.
Happy so far.

Purchased in March 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$1,697.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers
Split System Air Conditioners

Find out how Mitsubishi Electric MSZ-GL71VGD (7.1kW) compares to other Split System Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Maria

MariaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews

This is a perfect product

published

Omg it is the best air conditioner and I am completely satisfied with it it works so well and cools the house easily it is so cold in the hottest days

Purchased in February 2017.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

NadiaF

NadiaFMurray Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Don't know why we didn't do this years ago!!!

published

We have had this air conditioner for six months and have had it working on hot and cold... beautifully works and so quiet... so cheap to run... Had it going two weeks and 24/7...

Purchased in September 2018 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Whole House
See all answers
Stewpot

Stewpot

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Quiet and Efficient

published

Very fast cool down and then maintains a large room when idling at lowest fan speed. It is exceptionally quiet and when idling to maintain comfort the external unit is hard to hear and the internal fan does not intrude.
Various options for running. The ISave function allows your preset setting, such as a maintenance setting, to be reached with a press of one button. Very easy to use.

Purchased in January 2019 for A$2,850.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers
Peter & P

Peter & PSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic Unit Great Price

published

Purchased the Mitsubishi units after much research both online and at stores. 5 year factory warranty and $300 Air Con Bonus promotion. Both the indoor and outdoor units are remarkably quiet. So quiet you have to really look at the units to see them operating. Cools a large area and keeps the temperature very constant. My wife really feels the hot weather and she is thrilled with how well the Mitsubishi operates.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Aaron

AaronMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Solid product

published

Was asked to install this unit at home because the central Evap unit takes forever to cool the house down. I was a little hesitate initially because it isn't cheap to buy the unit (and install) but man this is easily the best investment I have at home for year 2018. It runs well and so quiet that sometimes I even forget that I have it turned on.
If anyone ask me to describe this product in two words, I will say "solid product".

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Alpal62

Alpal62

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great Airconditioner

published

We are very happy with our Mitsubishi split system air conditioners. We have purchased a multi head system with 5 units and two compressors for all the heating and cooling needs of our new home. The units are all whisper quiet and very efficient with low power consumption. I especially like the optional wifi controllers that allow operation of the units from a smart phone.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Split System Air Conditioners

Find out how Mitsubishi Electric MSZ-GL71VGD (7.1kW) compares to other Split System Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
bob

bobHervey Bay , Qld ,Australia

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

So far so good ..

published

We just love our machine it is very quiet very effective and so easy to use, used it for clod weather and hot days never any trouble, looks good would not even know it was running its so quiet, hand controls are very simple to operate,can run it on slow running and still very effective..

Date PurchasedJan 2018
R T

R T

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Can't fault it

published

I inherited this when I moved in recently - it is quiet with only the noise of air moving, rather than machinery, and one unit does the whole bottom floor, up the stairs and the landing upstairs (but not the bedrooms), so I am happy with the performance. The remote (wall mounted) has a lot of settings on it, but easy enough to get the basic settings you need done - I need to look at the manual to do automatic timings etc all the fancy stuff.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Rob

RobSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 13 likes

Poor Customer Service

published
Date PurchasedJul 2018
Em123

Em123Taree

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Amazing!

published

We just had this installed, it is awesome! Does the job brilliantly heats our home fast (3 bdrm large living &dining). It is also very quiet compared to our old model, very neat and modern looking. Very happy with our purchase!!!

Date PurchasedJul 2018
2 comments
Mitsubishi Electric
Support C.Mitsubishi Electric
Em123
Em123

Thanks again Mitsubishi

Dan

DanMillfield

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Quiet and energy efficient

published

This unit is amazing, so quiet you can’t tell it’s even on. It was a very easy installation as it is made installer friendly which makes install cost lower. The inverter helps with noise being outside our bedroom window, especially while the kids are sleeping. Definitely recommend to potential buyers

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Page 1 of 2
See all Mitsubishi MSZ-GL Series reviews

Questions & Answers

Leo D

Leo Dasked

MSZ-GL71VGD (7.1kW)

Hi I have a new Mitsubishi Electric MSZ-GL71VGD (7.1kW). So far only use the heater. I notice it never stops when it’s reached it’s temp of 21 or sometimes 22 Deg when reached.
I notice my dads different model stops when reaches set temp then starts again when room cools down.
Mine never stops only heat then fan blows cooler air. So it’s always running.
Is this right?
Regards Leo.

1 answer
purpleredruby33
purpleredruby33

Hi you might need to update your remote or even reset turn aircon off at main switch for 30secs them try . If not get in touch with Mitsubishi . Mines a new one is yours.!!

Geoffrey

Geoffreyasked

MSZ-GL71VGD (7.1kW)

What do all the letters stand for. Geoffrey Thomson.

2 answers
Jen
Jen

As a consumer and not an electrician I presume they represent the Model of the unit.

Mitsubishi Electric
Support C.Mitsubishi Electric

Hi Geoffrey,

Here's a breakdown of that the letters in our models numbers mean:

MS - Mitsubishi Electric split system, indoor unit
Z - inverter model
GL - series number. (GL superceded GE series)
71 - capacity
VG - Sub-name
D - Demand Response Enabled Device (DRED); used in Queensland mostly.

Kind Regards,,
Mitsubishi Electric Australia Support

power2004

power2004asked

MSZ-GL71VGD (7.1kW)

just had my 7.1kw fitted and it is running fine but when I went outside to check the outdoor unit the fan wasn't working is this normal as it wasn't a very warm day when it was installed and I tested it...?

2 answers
Vince
Vince

I wouldn’t be worried if the unit is at the required temperature inside the house you will find it will probably stop spinning outside as it only runs when expelling the warm/cold air from the inside of the house, it will run when required which is part of the energy saving.

Stewpot
Stewpot

When first started the outside unit will not run for 10 minutes or so. That is normal. It may also stop if inside the house is at the correct temperature and this will save power. If the inside unit works properly nothing is wrong. The outside unit can be very quiet so you need to carefully check if the fan is turning.
One way to test it is to turn the inside temperature to its lowest setting and turn the fan to the highest speed. Outside unit should start running after about 10 minutes.

Get an answer from our members and Mitsubishi Electric representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.