??!
Mitsubishi Pajero In-Depth Review

ProductReview.com.au's selected consumer review.


This the best car I have Drive.

This is the best 7 seats. Strong powerful. 7 times Dakar Rally Champion. High Ground clearance. not overprice compared to the other 4x4 Suvs.. Very Good Sound system. Cheap to maintain.
Cons high fuel consumption:

Purchased in November 2018 for $28,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtUsed
Year2,012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

Great

This is a great car it is Automatic turbo diesel can go anywhere comfortable and to drive in reliable side and curtain air bags great air conditioning is great as as a towing vehicle extremely good off road on road very capable I would recommend to anyone wanting to buy this

BadgeGLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015

Love that car

This is my second pajero bang for buck why pay through the nose for a 4x4 when the mighty pajero has it all and more comfort heaps of leg room seven seats ergonomic dsh layout fingertip control for stereo cruise and bluetooth.pretty good fuel economy the 3.2 TD bullet proof very capable off road. yes there is some cabin noise but l do like to hear my motor and what its doing great stereo system and when itx timd to buy another l will buy another pajero

BadgeGLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2012

A reliable vehicle

We decided on a Pajero when we purchased a 19 ft caravan, as research showed its towing capacity was great. We are very pleased with all aspects of this vehicle. It is what I would class as 'sturdy & reliable', a comfortable ride, plenty of space, and no problems. Haven't tested it off road but would assume that there would not be a worry in this regard.

BadgeGLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2015

2014 MY15 NX Exceed

Brilliant car, has 75k on the clock and drives like new. It tows my 2.2T caravan with ease. Strong powerful diesel. High quality interior fittings and excellent overall build quality. This model is still made in Japan. Have previously owned an NM Pajero Petrol and I got 250,000ks before selling it. It never missed a beat. The NX pajero handles better, tighter turning circle and better fuel evonomy. Awesome vehicle.

BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2014

Just what you need to get you anywhere

Lovely to drive. Very secure on the road. Steering wheel adjustment is the only negative I have found in my year of owning my Paero.
Taking rear seats out makes the back lighter but causes a rattle. Diesel is certainly economical without being over noisy. Servicing is no more expensive thus far.
Would recommend over alot of these alternative soft roaders.

BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Why spend thousands more when this does the same job

Now on our 2nd one, 3.2 turbo diesel. Pulls our 21ft van with ease. Fuel without the van 7.1 ltrs per 100. With the van on as low as 13.1. Reliability & comfort is excellent. If you wish to go scrub bashing go & buy a big 4wd with full chassis. If you want a good reliable family car/tow vehicle where you stick to the bitumen,look no further than a pajero. You will save money & have a vehicle that is a pleasure to drive with all the bells & whistles.

BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Great All Round 4x4

This is my second Pajero. Bought first one new in 2004, and ten years and 220k's on, I thought I'd get a new one. Was very impressed with first one, solid, comfy, reliable and good balance of on-road and off-road ability. I have a friend who has a Prado, which is also a great car, but more pudding like when driving on bitumen. Anyway, I can safely say the new one is great too, as it is almost exactly the same car as the old one! A bit more oomph, a bit quieter, better headlights, and some more gadgets, like self wiping windscreens, but the rest is pretty well unchanged, which I think is terrific! ......Except, the spare wheel on rear door, which seems to get in way even more now when trailer hooked up, even with spare lift kit. I suspect thats from moving spare from off-centre to centre. Now dont get me wrong, I'm a big fan of having the spare on the back, but if it was off-centred or if the rear window glass opened separately it would have made the issue of not being able to open door when towing a bit easier. Other than that, perfect for our family :)

BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2014

Great, Robust, Stylish!

We have had our Pajero since 2013. We wanted a vehicle that was stylish, economical, family friendly, comfortable, servicing made easy and great off road. We covered off most of our requirements with our vehicle. We spent hours doing our research amd comparisons as well as test driving.and came to the conclusion that what the Pajero offered for the price was just as good if not better than some other vehicles thats $ value was in the name. The only real problem for us is the bench seat for seats 6&7 instead of split which limits options and boot space when in use. These seats are also only large enough for small children. The back seat has a lumber roll style seat which some may find uncomfortable.
We went with the manufacturers enhancements and would invest in those again if purchasing new for both looks and guarantee reasons. The Mitsubishi Diamond Advantage Guarantee also added that little bit more weight to making the decision to purchase our Pajero. Mitsubishi also makes servicing a breeze and their marketing communications arent in your face. Would most likely stick with Mitsubishi in the future.

BadgeGLX-R
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2013

Old school style and reliability

The fuel consumption is good being diesel despite being a weighty car.
On road it eats up the miles effortlessly.
Comfortable good handling and braking .suprisingly powerful engine for highway running and towing. Off road it is a competant performer. Allow for correct tyre pressures and it handles most obstacles well.
Vision all round is good being an older style body.
Interior in functional if not a bit dated in design.
The sound system phone integration sucks .it is complicated and just silly.
The reversing camera function is very handy.
In summary a better choice than a soft roader.
A very good value for money package compared to its major rival.

Purchased in May 2014 at Mitsubishi Cessnock for $54,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2,014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

Reliable Tow Vehicle.

On the positive side the Pajero tows our van easily when compared with our Territory. The rear seat is easy to fit and remove and the hole provides a handy storage cavity. The interior is roomy and has all the basics you need. The 5 year warranty is brilliant but i do wonder why as part of the service schedule the tyres aren't rotated. I also don't understand why the service centres don't suggest wheel alignments rather than waiting until they are requested & tyres are beyond repair.
The lift kit on the rear tyre illustrates why the tyre should never have been moved to the middle of the rear of the vehicle. Some owners need to replace their tow hitches on their vans to clear the tyre even with the kit fitted. Finally the sat nav is hopeless and only updated by buying another disk - we have bought a Garmin.
The ideal fuel filling position is front passenger tyre lower than all others - this way you get the maximum amount of fuel in the tank without air locks.
Occasionally the car loses power when moving off from a standing position with the steering wheel at hard lock.

Purchased in November 2012 at Knox Mitsubishi.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2,012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

great BUT..... the rust

the car drives well on and off the road, it is what i brought it for and it does a great job, the dash is very dated against today's models, and have found the running costs reasonable, that is why I brought a diesel, though the service cost is a bit higher.
The main problem is that the doors have a known problem of rusting, there was apparently a let down somewhere with quality control, I have not been able to have it fixed properly, the only real fix accounting to my search is for the doors to be reskinned, all I am offered is a paint job where the chances of it coming back are very high. SOOO if you are considering buying one check under all the door rubbers.

BadgeGL
TransmissionAutomatic

Tow power

Towing caravan and boat trailers and this Pajero is doing its job pretty well. Mitsubishi said it can actually tow up to 3000 kg. Its also great for long distance travels and the engine is quiet compared to my last one. Prob is GPS I had to buy a separate one also when towing there's really no way to open the back door.

BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic

Can't fault it!

2nd Pajero in 10 years. Put 200000 km on the last one and now 31000 in just over 12 months on this one. Tow a large caravan with ease however do feel it is a bit soft in the rear so fitting air bags. Also a bit thirstier then the previous NP but has more 'go' then the NP. Rides more like a car than a Jeep or Prado/Landcruiser. Best value for the money.

BadgeVR-X
TransmissionAutomatic
1 comment
70,000 kms and still going on original standard tyres!

Caravan towing

Pajero 3.2 diesel nw is a geat towing vehicle. I have towed a 21 foot Montana caravan, I now tow a 24 foot Montana the best hitch to put on your van is Hyland that allows you to fully open the rear door. My van ATM 2750 a very happy Pajero owner.

BadgeGLX-R
TransmissionAutomatic

Mitsubishi Exceed

One of the best 4 x 4 vehicles I have owned. Performs exceptionally well in deep soft sand as well as mud.and looks great on the road. Excellent value for money!!

4x4 is great

Don't expect parts to be available all the time, have been waiting over a month for a part. No one can advise when available. Have had steering arm replaced excess wear two year old, had a recall automatic transmission tension adjustment no working. Other than that fuel eco good tows very well. Comfortable

BadgeVR-X
TransmissionAutomatic

The good, the bad and the?

I brought mr vrx model nov 2013 and now have 34000k;s on it. For the purpose I brought it< towing a 2.5 tonne caravan it surpasses all my expectations. What ever the conditions it handles it with ease and the diesel engine has more than enough torque to keep up with the petrol heads that race to pass you because you are towing.
Interior wise elctonic heated front seats are a blessing as is the rest of the seating. Dash layout is easily viewed through the steering wheel and the control are well set out.
Running costs I found I can get 1000klms out of a tank on highway mode (not towing) and 600k.s when towing highway. arround town I regularly average 650k's out ofr a tank.
Thats the positives:
on the down side the gps is a joke, if you have small children in car seats unless you use the third row (not recommended as no boot space for strollers) and a safty issue you cannot get three people across the second seat. (my commodore can) The spare wheel is badly located for towing, Mitsubshi had no solution to fix. They lifted the spare up (at a cost of $170) but this does not fix the problem, you still cannot open the rear door when hooked up to a trailer.

Purchased in November 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2,013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
1 comment
After 72000klm's I have had to replace the brakes and rotors for a second time. If towing make sure that your brakes are heavy duty otherwise be prepared.

Could Have Been The Best

Bought new 15 months ago & now have 20K km on clock. Never been off road, so can't comment on that aspect.
Use it to tow Cruiseliner caravan & as daily driver. Performs those tasks with ease.
Dealer servicing only average.
Problems are with Communication System. Bluetooth with iPhone 5 fails regularly. Maps & GPS are worse than hopeless. The GPS is so bad, I would almost rate it as dangerous.
Vehicle is noisy at highway speed. Speedo is difficult to read. Spare tyre position is an issue with nearly all towing situations.
Despite the above shortcomings that Mitsubishi don't seem to be willing to address/change with each new model, the Pajero offers reliable, economic, comfortable motoring as a tow vehicle. For very little manufacturing cost, the Pajero could have been the best medium/large 4 wheel drive tow vehicle available in Australia.
UPDATE. Now have 30 000Km. on clock & nearly 2 years old.
Still mechanically faultless.
Feel confident to say this was the right purchase decision for the tasks I had in mind,- that of a competent tow vehicle. Would expect many more years & km's of trouble free motoring.
Pajero will be the first option I will be looking at, when it comes time to replace.
UPDATE Now have 55 000km & nearly 3 years old. Still have had zero mechanical issues- a credit to Mitsubishi. Had to replace battery 6 months ago (only12mth warranty)
If it weren't for the pathetic GPS & Bluetooth, of which you are reminded of every time you drive it, I would rate the Pajero one star higher. If they would upgrade the speedo size & address the highway noise problem, This would be a 5 star vehicle.

Purchased in September 2014 at Motorama.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2,012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
1 comment
UPDATE. Now have 69 000km & is 4 years old. Still zero mechanical or warranty issues. Replaced Tyres & Brake Pads 5 000km ago- a little early as we were going on a trip & didn't want to risk a problem while away. Can't complain about the build, & general quality of the vehicle. Very happy with purchase except for the features mentioned above. Those features are in your face every time you drive & detract from an otherwise great car.

rear door unable to be opened when towing.

I had a 2004 np Pajero and found it to be a very reliable vehicle I have now purchased an NX 2015 Pajero with the spare wheel lift kit a very big improvement over the np. I have replaced the coupling on my van and the car with a McHitch automatic trailer coupling as it has a low profile of only 125mm and also no height requirements as with a 50mm ball coupling so now the rear door is able to be opened with around 10mm clearance over the hitch and hand brake.

BadgeGLS
TransmissionAutomatic

Page 1 of 2

See all Mitsubishi Pajero reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Mitsubishi Pajero NW (2011-2014) but you can read 235 questions about Mitsubishi Pajero.

Details

Pajero NW Exceed 4 Cyl 3.2L, DieselPajero NW Exceed 6 Cyl 3.8L, PetrolPajero NW ACTiV AutomaticPajero NW ACTiV ManualPajero NW GL AutomaticPajero NW GL ManualPajero NW GLS AutomaticPajero NW GLS ManualPajero NW GLX 7 Seats, ManualPajero NW GLX 7 Seats, AutomaticNW GLX 5 Seats, ManualPajero NW GLX 5 Seats, AutomaticPajero NW GLX-R ManualPajero NW GLX-R AutomaticNW Platinum ManualNW Platinum AutomaticPajero NW Platinum II AutomaticPajero NW Platinum II ManualPajero NW VR-X ManualPajero NW VR-X Automatic
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticManualAutomaticManualAutomaticManualManualAutomaticManualAutomaticManualAutomaticManualAutomaticAutomaticManualManualAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselPetrolDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDiesel
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Steel17" Steel17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17"Alloy17"Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 stars5 stars4 stars4 stars4 stars4 stars4 stars4 stars4 stars4 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars4 stars4 stars4 stars4 stars5 stars5 stars
Doors55555555555555555555
Seats77775577775577777777
Fuel Consumption9L/100km13.5L/100km9L/100km8.4L/100km9L/100km8.4L/100km9L/100km8.4L/100km8.4L/100km9L/100km8.4L/100km9L/100km8.4L/100km9L/100km8.4L/100km9L/100km9L/100km8.4L/100km8.4L/100km9L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L
Engine4 Cylinder, 3.2 L6 Cylinder, 3.8 L4 Cylinder, 3.2 L4 Cylinder, 3.2 L4 Cylinder, 3.2 L4 Cylinder, 3.2 L4 Cylinder, 3.2 L4 Cylinder, 3.2 L4 Cylinder, 3.2 L4 Cylinder, 3.2 L4 Cylinder, 3.2 L4 Cylinder, 3.2 L4 Cylinder, 3.2 L4 Cylinder, 3.2 L4 Cylinder, 3.2 L4 Cylinder, 3.2 L4 Cylinder, 3.2 L4 Cylinder, 3.2 L4 Cylinder, 3.2 L4 Cylinder, 3.2 L
Max Power147kW@3800rpm147kW@3800rpm147kW@3800rpm147kW@3800rpm147kW@3800rpm147kW@3800rpm147kW@3800rpm147kW@3800rpm147kW@3800rpm147kW@3800rpm147kW@3800rpm147kW@3800rpm147kW@3800rpm147kW@3800rpm147kW@3800rpm147kW@3800rpm147kW@3800rpm147kW@3800rpm147kW@3800rpm147kW@3800rpm
Max Torque441Nm@2000rpm441Nm@2000rpm441Nm@2000rpm441Nm@2000rpm441Nm@2000rpm441Nm@2000rpm441Nm@2000rpm441Nm@2000rpm441Nm@2000rpm441Nm@2000rpm441Nm@2000rpm441Nm@2000rpm441Nm@2000rpm441Nm@2000rpm441Nm@2000rpm441Nm@2000rpm441Nm@2000rpm441Nm@2000rpm441Nm@2000rpm441Nm@2000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapan
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2012Jan 2012Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2012Jan 2012Jan 2012Jan 2012Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2012Jan 2012Jan 2012Jan 2011
Discontinuation dateDec 2014Dec 2013Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2014Dec 2014Dec 2014Dec 2014Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2013Dec 2014
Compare all Mitsubishi Pajero

Visit official website