??!
9 photos
Mitsubishi Pajero
4.3 from 215 reviews

See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Mitsubishi Pajero In-Depth Review

ProductReview.com.au's selected consumer review.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
125
4 star
52
3 star
22
2 star
9
1 star
7

Will miss it

published

Has never let me down even at 408,000klms. Horse float towing is a breeze. Fuel economy has been great although not much city driving. Lots of grunt. Upgrading to another late model Pajero. Feel sad to let mine go as brought new. Dual mass flywheel replaced with solid last year.

BadgeGLS
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2005

Excellent outback tourer

published

We live in the Pilbara and the Pajero is ideal. 2011 model, and no major issues apart from a starter motor and the odd recall. Easy to service and work on. Have been to some pretty remote places and back with no dramas. Looking forward to buying a newer model.

BadgeGL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2014
Tiarni

TiarniBeerwah Qld

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Love that car

published

This is my second pajero bang for buck why pay through the nose for a 4x4 when the mighty pajero has it all and more comfort heaps of leg room seven seats ergonomic dsh layout fingertip control for stereo cruise and bluetooth.pretty good fuel economy the 3.2 TD bullet proof very capable off road. yes there is some cabin noise but l do like to hear my motor and what its doing great stereo system and when itx timd to buy another l will buy another pajero

BadgeGLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2012
Kristie

KristieWa, 6104

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love my 4by

published

Driving my 4by is like driving a car but up higher and you can see everything. I love the cream interior, I love the boot seats sit under the floor rather then in the windows, more room and you can see out the back I'd need be. The only downfall is its not cheap on fuel

BadgeGLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015

Doug

DougBroken Hill

  • 13 reviews
  • 5 likes

Value for money, very good towing vehicle.

published
BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2010

Bandzior

BandziorQueensland, 4169

  • 24 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great capable 4x4 well built for Australian conditions

published

Great capable 4x4 well built for Australian conditions. We don't really take it off road but on a few occasions it took us through rough tracks in Litchfield NP, river crossings in Kimberley and a beach or two. Little bit thirsty when towing a caravan but you would be too pulling a 2 ton brick. Rear Difflock is there just in case but I never had to use it.

Badge27990
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016

Drjasper

DrjasperAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great comfortable 4wd with grunt

published

I have the diesel version. She sounds like a small truck, but you get used to it. It’s a very comfortable 4wd that drives like a sedan. Easy to operate the 4wd and diff lock from inside the vehicle.

The radio in mine is terrible and it’s quite ridiculous that in 2006 they couldn’t include a USB socket. They have been around for ten years when this thing was built.

BadgeGLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Paul

PaulBrisbane

Great Value

published
BadgeActiv
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2010
Jacky

JackyAU

  • 4 reviews

good for long trips

published

Overall a good car but thirsty af. Have the top of the range model otherwise don't even bother. Does its job very as well as would a 4X4: everyday use, towing, rough conditions. Transmission may jerk at lower speeds e.g. stop start traffic.What i would like is that even though there's bluetooth connectivity, you can't play music through it - only answer calls which defeats the purpose of a bluetooth system.

BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2015
GSW

GSWGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great for long trips

published
BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2011

Kim

Kim

  • 2 reviews

Top Car-Better than a LandCruiser hands down!

published
BadgeVR-X
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017

Fuel economy should be better...

published
Badge25th Anniversary
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016

HED

HED

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

perfect car

published

The best family car we had. Spacious and sporty. We wanted to long drive on our days off. Our daughter loved it as well. This car will stay with us until 10years or more. The drive sensor were safe, we can see road well while driving and lots of space at the back.

BadgeGLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Lucy

LucyPerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best family car!

published

We went from a Kluger to a pajero. Havnt regretted at all! Runs smoothly, so reliable! Spacious for a family of 4 and a decent sized dog! DVD player works a treat for the kid, especially with the long drives down south with the kids! We go on long drives economic with fuel! Don't think we will ever switch from the pajero, only to upgrade in models!

BadgeGLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015
JenP

JenPQLD, 4020

  • 14 reviews
  • 14 likes

A reliable vehicle

published

We decided on a Pajero when we purchased a 19 ft caravan, as research showed its towing capacity was great. We are very pleased with all aspects of this vehicle. It is what I would class as 'sturdy & reliable', a comfortable ride, plenty of space, and no problems. Haven't tested it off road but would assume that there would not be a worry in this regard.

BadgeGLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2015
joe

joesouth australia, 5042

  • 9 reviews

Great car with a lot of power

published

The car is amazing to drive. It has great comfort in all situations. Great on bumpy roads and is a fairly quiet car! The overall reliability of the car has been amazing. Had a battery issue which is Common in all cars when it is old. But very happy.

The fuel economy us excellent and i get a good 2 weeks mileage on a tank.

This can handles like a dream especially around corners and on the country roads.

Dashboard has lots od information for door status and speed.

Great bang for your buck including quality.

BadgeGLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2015

S_M

S_MMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

The best handling full sized 4X4 for under 60k

published

The style may be slightly dated, but this is still the best performing 4x4 available in this price bracket.
Unlike many soft-roaders, the occupants will not feel like they are being thrown around in rough seas if you give it some jandle. The 3.2 is a beautiful engine, tonnes of torque and plenty of power. Fuel economy is fair, I'm getting 9/100. The updated stereo now features carplay, and there's lots of power outlets.

BadgeGLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Davo

DavoTownsville

  • 12 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great off road 4wd

published

This is our second mitbubishi 4wd and we find this one is also reliable and user friendly. It is quiet for a 4wd and well sealed as the dust does not enter. Have travelled long distance on many outback dirt roads and it is a verh smooth ride. We fitted a non factory bull bar which as since paid off with wildlife. The reversing camera is excellent and with the turning circle the car nearly parks itself. The only issue is the gps you have to use your phone data and if you are in non phone service areas you have no gps.

BadgeGLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Paultj

PaultjPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

I have a 2007 vrx diesel and love it..

published

Pulls the caravan ,boat with ease..great on the road and off-road..performs really well..Pajero is under estimated. Found it difficult to find full foofracks..no gutter. Have 18 inch rim with Cooper's on..they are 5 years old and a bit noisy,going for Toyo tyres next..interior of car awesome extras,,will build drawers in Back, also will get dual battery fitted

BadgeVR-X
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017

jjacer

jjacerForest Lake

  • 21 reviews
  • 23 likes

Still can't find a more reliable and practical vehicle.

published
BadgeGLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014

Page 2 of 11

Questions & Answers

kristopher85

kristopher85asked

Pajero NM, NP

2002 pajero exceed,
Wondering if the hazard button has a light behind it.

No answers

Wade C

Wade Casked

Pajero NM, NP

I have an 06 VRX turbo diesel Pajero that will just shut off randomly.
You could be driving at 80km down the highway and it shuts off, you could be sitting at the lights, or driving slowly...there is no signal that it is about to shut off!, There is no warning... it just dies!
However, As soon as you pull over and put the car back in park and turn key off and back on the car will start again and run. That being said you could get 5m and it shuts off again. So far my record is 21 times shutting off in a 8km distance!
We have put a brand new battery in it, replaced the fuel filter and given it a full service but it won’t ‘fault’ for our mechanic so we are out of options...
Does anyone have any suggestions as to what it could be? Or has anyone else experienced this?

No answers

Raymond P.

Raymond P.asked

Pajero NM, NP

Icant locate the relay unit or the fuse for the petrol pump looked every where.Sorry its a 2002 Pajero v6 NM.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Mitsubishi representatives

Details

Mitsubishi Pajero NX Exceed

Mitsubishi Pajero NX Exceed (2014-2019)

3.8
(9)
Mitsubishi Pajero NX GLS

Mitsubishi Pajero NX GLS (2014-2019)

4.4
(14)
Mitsubishi Pajero NX GLX Automatic

Mitsubishi Pajero NX GLX Automatic (2014-2019)

4.3
(14)
Mitsubishi Pajero NS
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NS (2006-2008)

4.3
(27)
Mitsubishi Pajero NM, NP
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NM, NP (2000-2006)

4.2
(63)
Mitsubishi NX GLX Manual
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi NX GLX Manual (2014-2015)

5.0
(1)
Mitsubishi Pajero NW Exceed 4 Cyl 3.2L, Diesel
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW Exceed 4 Cyl 3.2L, Diesel (2011-2014)

0.0
(0)
Mitsubishi Pajero NW Exceed 6 Cyl 3.8L, Petrol
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW Exceed 6 Cyl 3.8L, Petrol (2011-2013)

5.0
(1)
Mitsubishi Pajero NW ACTiV Automatic
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW ACTiV Automatic (2012)

0.0
(0)
Mitsubishi NW ACTiV Manual
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi NW ACTiV Manual (2012)

0.0
(0)
Mitsubishi Pajero NW GL Automatic
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW GL Automatic (2011-2012)

3.0
(1)
Mitsubishi Pajero NW GL Manual
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW GL Manual (2011-2012)

0.0
(0)
Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLS Automatic
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLS Automatic (2011-2012)

5.0
(4)
Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLS Manual
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLS Manual (2011-2012)

0.0
(0)
Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX 7 Seats, Manual
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX 7 Seats, Manual (2011-2012)

0.0
(0)
Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX 7 Seats, Automatic
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX 7 Seats, Automatic (2011-2012)

0.0
(0)
Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX 5 Seats, Manual
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX 5 Seats, Manual (2012-2014)

0.0
(0)
Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX 5 Seats, Automatic
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX 5 Seats, Automatic (2012-2014)

0.0
(0)
Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX-R Manual
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX-R Manual (2012-2014)

0.0
(0)
Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX-R Automatic
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX-R Automatic (2012-2014)

4.7
(3)
Mitsubishi NW Platinum Manual
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi NW Platinum Manual (2011-2012)

0.0
(0)
Mitsubishi NW Platinum Automatic
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi NW Platinum Automatic (2011-2012)

0.0
(0)
Mitsubishi Pajero NW Platinum II Automatic
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW Platinum II Automatic (2012)

4.0
(1)
Mitsubishi Pajero NW Platinum II Manual
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW Platinum II Manual (2012)

0.0
(0)
Mitsubishi Pajero NW VR-X Manual
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW VR-X Manual (2012-2013)

0.0
(0)
Mitsubishi Pajero NW VR-X Automatic
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW VR-X Automatic (2011-2014)

4.0
(8)
Mitsubishi Pajero NT
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NT (2008-2011)

4.4
(43)
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $63,990$56,990$49,990
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticManualAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticManualAutomaticManualAutomaticManualManualAutomaticManualAutomaticManualAutomaticManualAutomaticAutomaticManualManualAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselPetrolDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDiesel and Petrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Steel17" Steel17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars4 Stars4 Stars4 Stars4 Stars4 Stars4 Stars4 Stars4 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars4 Stars4 Stars4 Stars4 Stars5 Stars5 Stars4 Stars
Doors555555555555555555555555555
Seats777777775577775577777777
Fuel Consumption9.1 L/100km9.1 L/100km9.1 L/100km8.4 L/100km9 L/100km13.5 L/100km9 L/100km8.4 L/100km9 L/100km8.4 L/100km9 L/100km8.4 L/100km8.4 L/100km9 L/100km8.4 L/100km9 L/100km8.4 L/100km9 L/100km8.4 L/100km9 L/100km9 L/100km8.4 L/100km8.4 L/100km9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 88 L88 L88 L90 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L
Engine4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L6 Cylinder 3.8 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L
Max Power141kW @ 3800rpm141kW @ 3800rpm141kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm
Max Torque441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapan
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Headlight Wipers
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Sunroof
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Headlight Wipers
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Ground Clearance225 mm225 mm225 mm225 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,000 kg3,000 kg3,000 kg3,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2006Jan 2000Jan 2014Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2012Jan 2012Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2012Jan 2012Jan 2012Jan 2012Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2012Jan 2012Jan 2012Jan 2011Jan 2008
Discontinuation dateDec 2008Dec 2006Dec 2015Dec 2014Dec 2013Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2014Dec 2014Dec 2014Dec 2014Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2013Dec 2014Dec 2011
Replaced byMitsubishi Pajero NS

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.