??!
9 photos
Mitsubishi Pajero
4.3 from 213 reviews

See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Mitsubishi Pajero In-Depth Review

ProductReview.com.au's selected consumer review.


2014 MY15 NX Exceed

Brilliant car, has 75k on the clock and drives like new. It tows my 2.2T caravan with ease. Strong powerful diesel. High quality interior fittings and excellent overall build quality. This model is still made in Japan. Have previously owned an NM Pajero Petrol and I got 250,000ks before selling it. It never missed a beat. The NX pajero handles better, tighter turning circle and better fuel evonomy. Awesome vehicle.

BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2014

Reliability

I've had my '08 pajero for almost 5 years and have found it to be a pretty reliable vehicle. What I like about it is
- Very reliable. The only problem i've had is soot buildup in the air inlet manifold due to EGR.
All modern diesels have this problem so a bit of an extra cost with maintenace but only every 70k Kms though.
- Very easy to do your own maintenance so you save $$$. The larger size of car means you can easily slide under vehicle to change engine oil and filter. Fuel filter and drive belts are easy to replace due to spacious engine bay.
- Very spacious interiour compared to say a hilux it is noticeably narrower inside. The height gives you safer view on the road. People also give you more space on the road.
- Nice looking car, not too noisy, nicr diesel sound.
- Significantly cheaper than a prado. I'll probably keep this one for another 5 to 10 years at least. (Touch wood)

BadgeVR-X
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2013

Tis 4x4 worked great for me.. won't be without it

I lime every thing about this vehicle accept the GPS. Other than that i would buy another one in the near future. Its great on and off the road and exceptionally comfortable on long trip and has all the little things like heated seats which my wife loves . Its just fablous vehicle.

BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016

Great 4x4

I have a 2017 pajero. No fancy labels, decent fuel economy for a 4x4, tough as a nail ,reliable and very good off road capability and on road handling On top of that you have the good old wide windows and high seating. The new infotainment and android connectivity is a cherry on top and I rate it above 4.5/5

BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Perfect for Australia

This car is just amazing. I mean I bought it just a month ago, and yes it is 16yo already but damn it is solid. good for light offroad and some serious with good tyres. Independent suspension makes is handling really nice and there is plenty of space inside thanks to that. It is a powerful car but at more than 2t it is not fast :) It consumes 14l/100km when I drive it.

BadgeGLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Fantastic car

The Pajero is a fantastic 4wd with great on-road manners, and very good off road capability. I do wish the steering column could be raised and lowered, but it is good enough. The mirrors and reversing camera make the pajero easier to park than my old Astra. If you have taller passengers, the rear head room can be a bit limited in the rear if you get the sunroof.

BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016

Just what you need to get you anywhere

Lovely to drive. Very secure on the road. Steering wheel adjustment is the only negative I have found in my year of owning my Paero.
Taking rear seats out makes the back lighter but causes a rattle. Diesel is certainly economical without being over noisy. Servicing is no more expensive thus far.
Would recommend over alot of these alternative soft roaders.

BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Great car. Lovely to drive.

Ive driven Pajeros since 2003. This is my third one and the last one had over 320000 km on it and still drove perfectly. I have not had a single breakdown or mechanical problem in 14 years driving Pajeros. Love the power and torque of the diesel engine and the 5 speed auto works perfectluly with the engine. It is slways in the right gear. Tows my 22 ft van easily. Reasonable fuel economy i get around 10 l/100 and i do have a lead foot so I could easily get down to around 8 if I drove gently.
Handling is nice sure footed and drives like a car. Brakes are very good. Suspension is well set up as standard. I oflen go 4 wheel driving and love the standard diff locks on the NW. It makes very rough 4 wheel drive tracks a smooth and easy drive.There are very few 4 wheel drives that could go the places this will go because very few if any have standard diff locks. Ground clearance is pretty good. I bought the GL because it doesnt have side steps so better clearance. It still has a good level of equipment even though it is the low spec model.

BadgeGL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2015

Lovely car

Lovely car to drive, a bit loud at times, but it felt like you were driving a smaller car - in a the best way possible. Easy to park, good vision etc. Sometimes legroom wasn't the greatest, but was comfortable enough. The 3rd row seats are useless I must say. Previously had a kluger, and notice that the Paj wasn't as refined, but it didn't affect how it drove. Have recently upgraded to a Colorado,and miss how easy the Paj was to park! Must add that it was very well equipped and priced

BadgeGLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016

Awesome 4wd...underrated...

I have had a pajero turbo diesel in manuals and autos for the last six years. .
1. Plenty power.
2. Fuel economy. ..I generally drive from inala brisbane to Sydney cbd in one tank of diesel
3. Very spacious
4. Done heaps of 4wd in it...done Stockton beach..rainbow beach and noosa..
Has 3000000km on it and unstoppable. ..no extra work ever needed..just oil and brakes
With autos...egr will need to be cleaned at app 200000km..cost $300 and place a blocker..

BadgeVR-X
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2011

Real man's 4x4, love it

Very reliable with top performance
Pajero’s space and seating flexibility allow third row seats to be easily stowed under the cargo floor to create a wide, flat storage space or removed completely to give you a convenient underfloor compartment. Second row seats can also be folded down to provide space for nearly anything you want to bring along for the ride.

BadgeGLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2014

Good Family Car

The Car is mainly used as moms taxi. The performance of the engine is brilliant and road handling also very good. The engine can be abit noisy but it is old technology but a very good motor. Driving on gravel roads the dashboard does rattle and is a bit noisy. My wife likes the ease of driving it and has good visibility all round which she finds a good plus factor and easy to park.
The interior is very good lots of legroom nice layout of the dash board. The glove box lid plastic scuffs quite easy. The 6/7 boot seat wish it could split like the other manufacturers so one could load more luggage if you had one person sitting in the back. Wish the boot had more square straight panels just for ease of packing the car boot.
Very reliable car running costs not bad at all. Good fuel consumption for a big car around 8 ltrs per 100.
I will give it 8 out of 10

BadgeGLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016

Great 4wd for the family

We bought our new NX Pajero after looking at all of the true and tested 4wds out there.
For the price we bought the GLS for we are more than happy.
Within a couple of months we took a trip to the red centre. A family of 4 with all camping gear fit easily with a roof pod for the lightweight stuff.
We drove 8500km and averaged 10.1 l/100km over te entire trip. We were impressed with the ride comfort and noise level.
We are not too thrilled about the lack of storage inside the cabin but we bought some cheapish seat organisers for the kids in the back seat. These organisers included bottle holders so that took care of the drink holder shortage.
Overall we are very happy with the on road and off-road handling and comfort.

BadgeGLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016
1 comment
Great so 1 person in 15700 found this helpful. Fantastic

A 4WD that handles like a car on road

I have had my MY15 NX GLS since new and have travelled over 40,000kms. Driving on the road and highways, it handles like a car thanks to its monocoque chassis with independent front and rear suspensions. No issues on sand and 20cm deep mud and corrugations. I have yet to take it to more aggressive roads/tracks. The performance from the 3.2L, 4 cylinder VGT turbo is suprisingly good. Going up the freeway tunnel it accelerates without fuss with over 500kg of passengers. Average fuel usage is 9.5L/100kms and that is with lots of city start/stop traffic. On the freeway, it returns 7.5L/100km. Noise is not that much of an issue especially with extra noise insulation and acoustic windscreen. One can only hear the diesel at idle speeds with the windows down.

I have driven to Mount Gambier, Mornington Penningsula via the Great Ocear Road, Yorke Penningsula and Goolwa, Victor Harbor, Waitpinga Beach and it ate away to highways with ease.

It is surprisingly easy to park for such a large car, mainly due to the very short front overhangs. I also fitted aftermarket front parking sensors and this made it even easier to park.

With the interior, it is very spacious, although it would have been better if the second row of seats could move back and forth. Moving it forth a little would give the 3rd row seats a little bit more leg room. The 3rd row seat floor is also a tad too high, making it feel more cramped then the second row. The fully adjustable electric driver's seat is excellent although it does not have seating position memory. The dashboad does feel a little outdated but is very functional. The centre display shows all the trip computer info, compass, outside temp etc etc. The 7" MMCS is also very nice but it is annoying that one cannot program the GPS or perform some other functions once the car is in motion (ADR rules I know), eventough a passenger could do it. Interestingly, my oldest gets motion sickness in a sedan on winding roads but have no issues in the Pajero.

Reliability wise, I have not hade any issues with it and the fixed price scheduled servicing keeps the costs down. It is about to go for its more expensive 45,000K full service. Tyres still have plenty of tread left as do the brake pads. The large 4-pot opposed caliper brakes make short work of stopping the 2.35 tonne Pajero (It has full aftermarket under-body protection, nudge bar and tow bar, hence the weight).

Overall, I am quite satisfied with it and is excellent value for money.

BadgeGLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2015

Why spend thousands more when this does the same job

Now on our 2nd one, 3.2 turbo diesel. Pulls our 21ft van with ease. Fuel without the van 7.1 ltrs per 100. With the van on as low as 13.1. Reliability & comfort is excellent. If you wish to go scrub bashing go & buy a big 4wd with full chassis. If you want a good reliable family car/tow vehicle where you stick to the bitumen,look no further than a pajero. You will save money & have a vehicle that is a pleasure to drive with all the bells & whistles.

BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Feels safe and yet easy to drive

great driving experience, looks big but really smooth to drive, easy to park. Took to Fraser Island, didn't get stuck even in soft sand.
negatives: rearview camera does not have line indication and no sound to let you know how close you are when reversing, navigation sytem touchscreen is difficult to use, and you have to stop to enter addresses (even if you have a passenger who could enter the address, the navigation does not allow it)

BadgeRX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016

Pajero Sports GLS gives what is promised

Handling and performance of the 4wd is terrific. No problems there. Not noisy either.
The interior leaves a lot to be desired. For example there are too many sun reflective trimmings in and around the two front seats which when the sun hits them, is very blinding for both the driver and front passenger. There is a shortage of usb points and the two that are included are in the most awkward position of all. It is by feel only that you can plug a device into the usb point, as you can't see it from the front seats. It's located in the console between the drivers and passenger seat, down low in the cubicle.
We've had the vehicle for around 4 months now and it's been very reliable and the running costs, being diesel, are very pleasing. On a trip, we'll get around 14 klms per litre and around town around 11klms. Towing a 1 tonne van we get around 9 klms.
Keyless entry and locking are great. Warning bells if door is left open can be annoying at times.
This vehicle was an ex demo, and had many extras fitted to it and only 700klms on the dial when we took delivery.

BadgeGLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Great car that exceeds my expectations

Couldnt ask for better. Proven reliability and reasonable fuel economy. Top value for money. Not as modern as the sport model but a better 4wd with a bigger inside feel. Finish is great. The only down side is when towing the spare tyre prevents the door opening fully. A treg hitch would solve. Tows a large van easily.

BadgeGLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016

Love this car however...

Love this car however, after market accessories and 4WD components are hard to come by. For example, mmy 2016 NX Pajero comes with 18 inch rims. Hubby wants 17 inch but because of the brake calipers they're hard to fit. As for its capabilities as a 4WD - we're happy with it. It can keep up with the Tritons, Rangers and Prado's. Doesn't even come close to the Toyota 200 series though. All in all its a good car for city driving and 4 wheel driving.

BadgeGLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016

Great 4x4 wheel wagon

After lots of search & price matching I stuck with two, either Toyota or Pajero. End up buying NX 2016 Pajero disel.It is a great 4x4 wheel .Last year we went up to cape york & came back. We drove 21000 km & we problem with the car. It handled very well all the corrugated roads & specially telegraphic track. This year we are traveling Northern part of Australia Kimberley & other region.We will let you know how did that go.Like few other reviews, the sound system is very poor & if you stop the car try to get the navigation where there no phone reception we can't get the navigation. Mitsubishi have re consider putting some better system in the car .After all spending such a huge amount should have better system. Other wise it is a beautiful 4x4 can't fault.

December 29th 2017 Update: Very reliable vehicle

This time we drove about 19000 km.via Kimberley threw Gibb River road.Gibb River road was very corrugated ..but the car handled very well. We are very happy with the performance of the Pajero. Beautiful wagon & highly recommended .Compare with some other diesel 4x4 wheel drive car Pajero is not that noisy. I must say other than we had few puncture we are so pleased with the car.

BadgeGLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015

Page 3 of 11

Questions & Answers

My np v6 pajero winds over but does not start
3 answers
I really have no definitive answer. It could be anything. I would take No1 plug out reattached lead, ground plug and see if there is spark. If not it could be the coil, engine immobiliser, no fuel or a fault in the ECU.Check the Pajero Club Victoria web site. There is a good forum thereCheers John thanks for your ideas!

just finished engine rebuild on 6g74.. added extractors and torque cam . cant find cause of engine vibration 2,100 to 2,600 rpm. harmonic balancer is good , compression is even, injectors and coils ext good, new after market engine mounts, any ideas.
1 answer
Go to The Pajero Club of Victoria Check out the gen 4 thread on this prob it appears there is a MM fix but still a common problem on later pajeros. Have not had a chance to drive mates NP yet will let you know how he went with his converter exchange re vibration.

Can any one please tell me the location of the fuel pump relay on 2001 Mitsubishi pajero exceed nm.
1 answer
Have a look on the electrical diagram in the User Handbook

Details

Pajero NX ExceedPajero NX GLSPajero NX GLX AutomaticPajero NSPajero NM, NPPajero NX GLX ManualPajero NW Exceed 4 Cyl 3.2L, DieselPajero NW Exceed 6 Cyl 3.8L, PetrolPajero NW ACTiV AutomaticPajero NW ACTiV ManualPajero NW GL AutomaticPajero NW GL ManualPajero NW GLS AutomaticPajero NW GLS ManualPajero NW GLX 7 Seats, ManualPajero NW GLX 7 Seats, AutomaticNW GLX 5 Seats, ManualPajero NW GLX 5 Seats, AutomaticPajero NW GLX-R ManualPajero NW GLX-R AutomaticNW Platinum ManualNW Platinum AutomaticPajero NW Platinum II AutomaticPajero NW Platinum II ManualPajero NW VR-X ManualPajero NW VR-X AutomaticPajero NT
Starting Price $63,990$56,990$49,990
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticManualAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticManualAutomaticManualAutomaticManualManualAutomaticManualAutomaticManualAutomaticManualAutomaticAutomaticManualManualAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselPetrolDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDiesel and Petrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Steel17" Steel17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars4 stars4 stars4 stars4 stars4 stars4 stars4 stars4 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars4 stars4 stars4 stars4 stars5 stars5 stars4 stars
Doors555555555555555555555555555
Seats777777775577775577777777
Fuel Consumption9.1 L/100km9.1 L/100km9.1 L/100km8.4 L/100km9 L/100km13.5 L/100km9 L/100km8.4 L/100km9 L/100km8.4 L/100km9 L/100km8.4 L/100km8.4 L/100km9 L/100km8.4 L/100km9 L/100km8.4 L/100km9 L/100km8.4 L/100km9 L/100km9 L/100km8.4 L/100km8.4 L/100km9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 88 L88 L88 L90 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L
Engine4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L6 Cylinder 3.8 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L
Max Power141kW @ 3800rpm141kW @ 3800rpm141kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm
Max Torque441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapan
Safety Features ABS (Antilock Braking System), Active Cruise Control, ESC (Electronic Stability Control), ISO-fix Compatible, Reversing Camera and Traction ControlABS (Antilock Braking System), Active Cruise Control, ESC (Electronic Stability Control), ISO-fix Compatible, Reversing Camera and Traction ControlABS (Antilock Braking System), Active Cruise Control, ESC (Electronic Stability Control), ISO-fix Compatible, Reversing Camera and Traction ControlABS (Antilock Braking System), Active Cruise Control, ESC (Electronic Stability Control), ISO-fix Compatible, Reversing Camera and Traction Control
Extra Features Android Auto / Apple Carplay, Automatic Headlights, Automatic Wipers, Bluetooth Connectivity, Headlight Wipers, Immobilizer, Keyless Entry, Sunroof, USB Port and Voice ControlAndroid Auto / Apple Carplay, Automatic Headlights, Automatic Wipers, Bluetooth Connectivity, Headlight Wipers, Immobilizer, Keyless Entry, USB Port and Voice ControlAndroid Auto / Apple Carplay, Bluetooth Connectivity, Immobilizer, Keyless Entry, USB Port and Voice ControlAndroid Auto / Apple Carplay, Bluetooth Connectivity, Immobilizer, Keyless Entry, USB Port and Voice Control
Ground Clearance225 mm225 mm225 mm225 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,000 kg3,000 kg3,000 kg3,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2006Jan 2000Jan 2014Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2012Jan 2012Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2012Jan 2012Jan 2012Jan 2012Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2012Jan 2012Jan 2012Jan 2011Jan 2008
Discontinuation dateDec 2008Dec 2006Dec 2015Dec 2014Dec 2013Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2014Dec 2014Dec 2014Dec 2014Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2013Dec 2014Dec 2011
Replaced byMitsubishi Pajero NS

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.