??!
9 photos
Mitsubishi Pajero
4.3 from 215 reviews

See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Mitsubishi Pajero In-Depth Review

ProductReview.com.au's selected consumer review.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
125
4 star
52
3 star
22
2 star
9
1 star
7

J.L

J.LPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love it

published

This suv is easy to drive, easy to park, it has seat heat warmers, the leg room is good. There is not alot of soace down the side of the seat to adjust the seat position, i have small hands and its a tight squeeze. A baby seat is easy to install with no modifications needed.

BadgeGLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017

Simon

Simon

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Nice 4x4, Petrol Engine Review

published
BadgeVR-X
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2009
Mac39

Mac39Canberra, Australian Capital Territory

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

2014 MY15 NX Exceed

published

Brilliant car, has 75k on the clock and drives like new. It tows my 2.2T caravan with ease. Strong powerful diesel. High quality interior fittings and excellent overall build quality. This model is still made in Japan. Have previously owned an NM Pajero Petrol and I got 250,000ks before selling it. It never missed a beat. The NX pajero handles better, tighter turning circle and better fuel evonomy. Awesome vehicle.

BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2014

Reliability

published
BadgeVR-X
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2013

Tis 4x4 worked great for me.. won't be without it

published

I lime every thing about this vehicle accept the GPS. Other than that i would buy another one in the near future. Its great on and off the road and exceptionally comfortable on long trip and has all the little things like heated seats which my wife loves . Its just fablous vehicle.

BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016

Great 4x4

published

I have a 2017 pajero. No fancy labels, decent fuel economy for a 4x4, tough as a nail ,reliable and very good off road capability and on road handling On top of that you have the good old wide windows and high seating. The new infotainment and android connectivity is a cherry on top and I rate it above 4.5/5

BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Tomasz

Tomasz

  • 5 reviews

Perfect for Australia

published

This car is just amazing. I mean I bought it just a month ago, and yes it is 16yo already but damn it is solid. good for light offroad and some serious with good tyres. Independent suspension makes is handling really nice and there is plenty of space inside thanks to that. It is a powerful car but at more than 2t it is not fast :) It consumes 14l/100km when I drive it.

BadgeGLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Madbison

Madbison

  • 2 reviews

Fantastic car

published

The Pajero is a fantastic 4wd with great on-road manners, and very good off road capability. I do wish the steering column could be raised and lowered, but it is good enough. The mirrors and reversing camera make the pajero easier to park than my old Astra. If you have taller passengers, the rear head room can be a bit limited in the rear if you get the sunroof.

BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016
boad@ rogart

boad@ rogart

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Just what you need to get you anywhere

published

Lovely to drive. Very secure on the road. Steering wheel adjustment is the only negative I have found in my year of owning my Paero.
Taking rear seats out makes the back lighter but causes a rattle. Diesel is certainly economical without being over noisy. Servicing is no more expensive thus far.
Would recommend over alot of these alternative soft roaders.

BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Great car. Lovely to drive.

published
BadgeGL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2015

mavis99

mavis99Adelaide

  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

Lovely car

published

Lovely car to drive, a bit loud at times, but it felt like you were driving a smaller car - in a the best way possible. Easy to park, good vision etc. Sometimes legroom wasn't the greatest, but was comfortable enough. The 3rd row seats are useless I must say. Previously had a kluger, and notice that the Paj wasn't as refined, but it didn't affect how it drove. Have recently upgraded to a Colorado,and miss how easy the Paj was to park! Must add that it was very well equipped and priced

BadgeGLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016

Ali

Ali

  • 6 reviews
  • 15 likes

Awesome 4wd...underrated...

published

I have had a pajero turbo diesel in manuals and autos for the last six years. .
1. Plenty power.
2. Fuel economy. ..I generally drive from inala brisbane to Sydney cbd in one tank of diesel
3. Very spacious
4. Done heaps of 4wd in it...done Stockton beach..rainbow beach and noosa..
Has 3000000km on it and unstoppable. ..no extra work ever needed..just oil and brakes
With autos...egr will need to be cleaned at app 200000km..cost $300 and place a blocker..

BadgeVR-X
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2011

Real man's 4x4, love it

published

Very reliable with top performance
Pajero’s space and seating flexibility allow third row seats to be easily stowed under the cargo floor to create a wide, flat storage space or removed completely to give you a convenient underfloor compartment. Second row seats can also be folded down to provide space for nearly anything you want to bring along for the ride.

BadgeGLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2014

Graham

GrahamPerth

  • 2 reviews

Good Family Car

published
BadgeGLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Chris

ChrisSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great 4wd for the family

published

We bought our new NX Pajero after looking at all of the true and tested 4wds out there.
For the price we bought the GLS for we are more than happy.
Within a couple of months we took a trip to the red centre. A family of 4 with all camping gear fit easily with a roof pod for the lightweight stuff.
We drove 8500km and averaged 10.1 l/100km over te entire trip. We were impressed with the ride comfort and noise level.
We are not too thrilled about the lack of storage inside the cabin but we bought some cheapish seat organisers for the kids in the back seat. These organisers included bottle holders so that took care of the drink holder shortage.
Overall we are very happy with the on road and off-road handling and comfort.

BadgeGLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016
1 comment
Chris
Chris

Great so 1 person in 15700 found this helpful. Fantastic

vlad32

vlad32Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

A 4WD that handles like a car on road

published
BadgeGLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2015

Bob8

Bob8AU

  • 2 reviews

Why spend thousands more when this does the same job

published

Now on our 2nd one, 3.2 turbo diesel. Pulls our 21ft van with ease. Fuel without the van 7.1 ltrs per 100. With the van on as low as 13.1. Reliability & comfort is excellent. If you wish to go scrub bashing go & buy a big 4wd with full chassis. If you want a good reliable family car/tow vehicle where you stick to the bitumen,look no further than a pajero. You will save money & have a vehicle that is a pleasure to drive with all the bells & whistles.

BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

blabady

blabadySydney

  • 3 reviews

Feels safe and yet easy to drive

published

great driving experience, looks big but really smooth to drive, easy to park. Took to Fraser Island, didn't get stuck even in soft sand.
negatives: rearview camera does not have line indication and no sound to let you know how close you are when reversing, navigation sytem touchscreen is difficult to use, and you have to stop to enter addresses (even if you have a passenger who could enter the address, the navigation does not allow it)

BadgeRX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016

crazypup

crazypupTaree

  • 3 reviews

Pajero Sports GLS gives what is promised

published
BadgeGLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Great car that exceeds my expectations

published

Couldnt ask for better. Proven reliability and reasonable fuel economy. Top value for money. Not as modern as the sport model but a better 4wd with a bigger inside feel. Finish is great. The only down side is when towing the spare tyre prevents the door opening fully. A treg hitch would solve. Tows a large van easily.

BadgeGLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016

Page 3 of 11

Questions & Answers

kristopher85

kristopher85asked

Pajero NM, NP

2002 pajero exceed,
Wondering if the hazard button has a light behind it.

No answers

Wade C

Wade Casked

Pajero NM, NP

I have an 06 VRX turbo diesel Pajero that will just shut off randomly.
You could be driving at 80km down the highway and it shuts off, you could be sitting at the lights, or driving slowly...there is no signal that it is about to shut off!, There is no warning... it just dies!
However, As soon as you pull over and put the car back in park and turn key off and back on the car will start again and run. That being said you could get 5m and it shuts off again. So far my record is 21 times shutting off in a 8km distance!
We have put a brand new battery in it, replaced the fuel filter and given it a full service but it won’t ‘fault’ for our mechanic so we are out of options...
Does anyone have any suggestions as to what it could be? Or has anyone else experienced this?

No answers

Raymond P.

Raymond P.asked

Pajero NM, NP

Icant locate the relay unit or the fuse for the petrol pump looked every where.Sorry its a 2002 Pajero v6 NM.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Mitsubishi representatives

Details

Mitsubishi Pajero NX Exceed

Mitsubishi Pajero NX Exceed (2014-2019)

9 reviews
Mitsubishi Pajero NX GLS

Mitsubishi Pajero NX GLS (2014-2019)

14 reviews
Mitsubishi Pajero NX GLX Automatic

Mitsubishi Pajero NX GLX Automatic (2014-2019)

14 reviews
Mitsubishi Pajero NS
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NS (2006-2008)

27 reviews
Mitsubishi Pajero NM, NP
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NM, NP (2000-2006)

63 reviews
Mitsubishi NX GLX Manual
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi NX GLX Manual (2014-2015)

1 review
Mitsubishi Pajero NW Exceed 4 Cyl 3.2L, Diesel
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW Exceed 4 Cyl 3.2L, Diesel (2011-2014)

No reviews
Mitsubishi Pajero NW Exceed 6 Cyl 3.8L, Petrol
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW Exceed 6 Cyl 3.8L, Petrol (2011-2013)

1 review
Mitsubishi Pajero NW ACTiV Automatic
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW ACTiV Automatic (2012)

No reviews
Mitsubishi NW ACTiV Manual
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi NW ACTiV Manual (2012)

No reviews
Mitsubishi Pajero NW GL Automatic
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW GL Automatic (2011-2012)

1 review
Mitsubishi Pajero NW GL Manual
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW GL Manual (2011-2012)

No reviews
Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLS Automatic
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLS Automatic (2011-2012)

4 reviews
Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLS Manual
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLS Manual (2011-2012)

No reviews
Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX 7 Seats, Manual
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX 7 Seats, Manual (2011-2012)

No reviews
Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX 7 Seats, Automatic
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX 7 Seats, Automatic (2011-2012)

No reviews
Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX 5 Seats, Manual
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX 5 Seats, Manual (2012-2014)

No reviews
Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX 5 Seats, Automatic
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX 5 Seats, Automatic (2012-2014)

No reviews
Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX-R Manual
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX-R Manual (2012-2014)

No reviews
Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX-R Automatic
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX-R Automatic (2012-2014)

3 reviews
Mitsubishi NW Platinum Manual
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi NW Platinum Manual (2011-2012)

No reviews
Mitsubishi NW Platinum Automatic
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi NW Platinum Automatic (2011-2012)

No reviews
Mitsubishi Pajero NW Platinum II Automatic
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW Platinum II Automatic (2012)

1 review
Mitsubishi Pajero NW Platinum II Manual
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW Platinum II Manual (2012)

No reviews
Mitsubishi Pajero NW VR-X Manual
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW VR-X Manual (2012-2013)

No reviews
Mitsubishi Pajero NW VR-X Automatic
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW VR-X Automatic (2011-2014)

8 reviews
Mitsubishi Pajero NT
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NT (2008-2011)

43 reviews
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $63,990$56,990$49,990
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticManualAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticManualAutomaticManualAutomaticManualManualAutomaticManualAutomaticManualAutomaticManualAutomaticAutomaticManualManualAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselPetrolDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDiesel and Petrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Steel17" Steel17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars4 Stars4 Stars4 Stars4 Stars4 Stars4 Stars4 Stars4 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars4 Stars4 Stars4 Stars4 Stars5 Stars5 Stars4 Stars
Doors555555555555555555555555555
Seats777777775577775577777777
Fuel Consumption9.1 L/100km9.1 L/100km9.1 L/100km8.4 L/100km9 L/100km13.5 L/100km9 L/100km8.4 L/100km9 L/100km8.4 L/100km9 L/100km8.4 L/100km8.4 L/100km9 L/100km8.4 L/100km9 L/100km8.4 L/100km9 L/100km8.4 L/100km9 L/100km9 L/100km8.4 L/100km8.4 L/100km9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 88 L88 L88 L90 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L
Engine4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L6 Cylinder 3.8 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L
Max Power141kW @ 3800rpm141kW @ 3800rpm141kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm
Max Torque441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapan
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Headlight Wipers
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Sunroof
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Headlight Wipers
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Ground Clearance225 mm225 mm225 mm225 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,000 kg3,000 kg3,000 kg3,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2006Jan 2000Jan 2014Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2012Jan 2012Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2012Jan 2012Jan 2012Jan 2012Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2012Jan 2012Jan 2012Jan 2011Jan 2008
Discontinuation dateDec 2008Dec 2006Dec 2015Dec 2014Dec 2013Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2014Dec 2014Dec 2014Dec 2014Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2013Dec 2014Dec 2011
Replaced byMitsubishi Pajero NS

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.