??!
9 photos
Mitsubishi Pajero
4.3 from 215 reviews

See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Mitsubishi Pajero In-Depth Review

ProductReview.com.au's selected consumer review.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
125
4 star
52
3 star
22
2 star
9
1 star
7

cottsnat

cottsnatAustralia

  • 5 reviews

Love this car however...

published

Love this car however, after market accessories and 4WD components are hard to come by. For example, mmy 2016 NX Pajero comes with 18 inch rims. Hubby wants 17 inch but because of the brake calipers they're hard to fit. As for its capabilities as a 4WD - we're happy with it. It can keep up with the Tritons, Rangers and Prado's. Doesn't even come close to the Toyota 200 series though. All in all its a good car for city driving and 4 wheel driving.

BadgeGLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016

Thomas Samuel

Thomas SamuelAU

  • 2 reviews

Great 4x4 wheel wagon

published
BadgeGLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
UsandMe

UsandMeToowoomba

  • 5 reviews

Great All Round 4x4

published
BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2014
Fin

FinPerth WA

  • 2 reviews

Very underrated 4WD

published
BadgeGLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2015

Cpops

Cpops

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great, Robust, Stylish!

published
BadgeGLX-R
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2013

James Carter

James CarterMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love That Pajero

published

Owned my NS Diesel Exceed for almost 2 years now and its been awesome. Love all the great luxury features. One thing I would like to do is change the whole suspension as its a bit too stiff for regular road use. Overall its a very capable 4wd and looks gorgeous too.

BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2015

Mike

MikeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

Great valued all rounder

published
BadgeGLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Warwick Little

Warwick LittleAU

  • 3 reviews

Old school style and reliability

published

The fuel consumption is good being diesel despite being a weighty car.
On road it eats up the miles effortlessly.
Comfortable good handling and braking .suprisingly powerful engine for highway running and towing. Off road it is a competant performer. Allow for correct tyre pressures and it handles most obstacles well.
Vision all round is good being an older style body.
Interior in functional if not a bit dated in design.
The sound system phone integration sucks .it is complicated and just silly.
The reversing camera function is very handy.
In summary a better choice than a soft roader.
A very good value for money package compared to its major rival.

BadgeVR-X
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2015
Malwina Piotrek

Malwina PiotrekAU

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent

published

We love our Pajero VRX Diesel. Great fuel economy solo or when towing, fantastic offroad performance especially on sand and dunes and maneuverability of much smaller car. The only drawback is an aircon which depending on setting either cools or heats but it might be an issue of only our car.

BadgeVR-X
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016
Johnie K

Johnie KSydney

  • 2 reviews

Computer problems on NT

published

6 years of no problems. Out of warranty 5,000k and barometer failed on the computer which sets car into an emergency response and shuts down many systems e.g. will not climb a hill, no power, no cruise control etc. Expensive new computer still not perfect with anti-skid lights on when accelerating. Would not like this to happen on a big trip.

BadgeActiv
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2010

Llewellyn Stephens

Llewellyn StephensMelbourne

  • 14 reviews
  • 6 likes

Reliable Tow Vehicle.

published
BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2012

Cosi

CosiKeilor East (Melbourne)

ABS braking problem

published

I have just had fitted a new ABS module to my 2000 NM Pajero (256,000kms) This was carried out by a Mitsubishi dealership with a 2 year warranty. Upon cold start there is a distinct buzzing noise coming from the ABS module which now lasts for 24-26 seconds. Initially this noise lasted 15 seconds. After 3 brake activations the noise again commences and lasts 3-4 seconds,. The dealership and the mechanic stated "this is normal" and it will go away"
As I have just paid almost $4,000 for this "noise" and if this is "normal" I am left to wonder how many new vehicles would be sold if all new vehicles had this noisy brake system.

Regards. Griffo

BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2000

Very Surprised

published

I tried a number of similar vehicles. Test drove many. I didn't consider a Pajero and was ready to purchase a Prado, when I decided to pop into a Mitsubishi dealership down the road. Surprisingly I found the Pajero diesel more responsive than Prado and tended to hold the road better or felt firmer. What topped it off was that the Pajero exceed MY2016 (top of the range) was $17k cheaper than the mid range Prado. Obviously bought the Pajero towards end of financial year. Had it for 3 months now and very happy with it. The extras are awesome to boot. So glad I test drove Pajero.

BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016

RabbitT

RabbitTPerth

Great drive but watch the DPF

published

The Pajero has great visibility, is great around the city and easy parking. Off road (soft sand) and it performs very well. Buyers of second hand diesel Pajeros need to be aware of the DPF.
Mitsi don't really have a handle the issue. My car had less than 130,000km when the DPF failed. The repair bill was more than $6000.
The DPF fail brings an otherwise great vehicle comes to a standstill.

Badge25th Anniversary
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2011
jcooler

jcoolerBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great family wagon

published
BadgeGLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
john

johnGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 11 likes

brilliant vehicle

published

drives well , yes its a bit rough and the sound of the diesel clatter can be considered a bit loud to todays standards .The interiors could have been a bit more better especially the quality of the interior plastics . Extremely reliable vehicle and low running cost as of now . The only upgrades that i have done is put brighter bulbs and install a music system with a USB port as the old one did not have a USB port .

BadgeVR-X
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2009

TECHCHECK

TECHCHECK

  • 13 reviews
  • 24 likes

Pajero Sport 2016 Fantastic 4x4

published
BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016

No GPS

published

I have just purchased my fourth Pajero Exceed as I have previously found them to be a comfortable and reasonably capable 4WD. I now regret this purchase as the Pajero has now only got a fourth rate navigation system based on Apple maps which is not a true GPS and only works where there is internet coverage .i.e only where I don't need it.
User unfriendly as I have to fiddle with entering destinations on my phone and cables to the glove box. This is a very big backward step and I will have to buy a Tom Tom to get the safety of proper GPS coverage on holiday.
Mitsubishi think it is wonderful and have no advise to offer.

BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic

Joem

JoemHamilton, NZ

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

More than I expected

published

I like my Pajero 2010. I have done 26K in 18months. Have done some long trips ($4,600Kmsin 12days) never had any problems. Good value for money. Comfortable, and confident driving in evry weather and terrain. I have done some medium 4x4, sand drive, kept me confident and happy all the time. NIce to drive and usually get 9L/100Kms.

BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic

Cheap systems and equipment

published
BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic

Page 4 of 11

Questions & Answers

LENORE

LENOREasked

Pajero NM, NP

Mitsubishi Pajero 2003 NP Diesel 3.2L blowing grey smoke on startup - no power
Put secondhand injector pump in car with new injectors. Have checked timing on pump x 2 - all correct. Cleaned carbon build up from inlet manifold. Decarb engine. Primed fuel pump. Now blowing grey smoke on startup and minimal power. Checked for leaking injectors (even though new) retested all good. Checked turbo, waste gate, egr. Checked cam timing all good. Any ideas ???? Twin cam.

No answers

kristopher85

kristopher85asked

Pajero NM, NP

2002 pajero exceed,
Wondering if the hazard button has a light behind it.

No answers

Wade C

Wade Casked

Pajero NM, NP

I have an 06 VRX turbo diesel Pajero that will just shut off randomly.
You could be driving at 80km down the highway and it shuts off, you could be sitting at the lights, or driving slowly...there is no signal that it is about to shut off!, There is no warning... it just dies!
However, As soon as you pull over and put the car back in park and turn key off and back on the car will start again and run. That being said you could get 5m and it shuts off again. So far my record is 21 times shutting off in a 8km distance!
We have put a brand new battery in it, replaced the fuel filter and given it a full service but it won’t ‘fault’ for our mechanic so we are out of options...
Does anyone have any suggestions as to what it could be? Or has anyone else experienced this?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Mitsubishi representatives

Details

Mitsubishi Pajero NX Exceed

Mitsubishi Pajero NX Exceed (2014-2019)

3.8
(9)
Mitsubishi Pajero NX GLS

Mitsubishi Pajero NX GLS (2014-2019)

4.4
(14)
Mitsubishi Pajero NX GLX Automatic

Mitsubishi Pajero NX GLX Automatic (2014-2019)

4.3
(14)
Mitsubishi Pajero NS
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NS (2006-2008)

4.3
(27)
Mitsubishi Pajero NM, NP
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NM, NP (2000-2006)

4.2
(63)
Mitsubishi NX GLX Manual
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi NX GLX Manual (2014-2015)

5.0
(1)
Mitsubishi Pajero NW Exceed 4 Cyl 3.2L, Diesel
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW Exceed 4 Cyl 3.2L, Diesel (2011-2014)

0.0
(0)
Mitsubishi Pajero NW Exceed 6 Cyl 3.8L, Petrol
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW Exceed 6 Cyl 3.8L, Petrol (2011-2013)

5.0
(1)
Mitsubishi Pajero NW ACTiV Automatic
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW ACTiV Automatic (2012)

0.0
(0)
Mitsubishi NW ACTiV Manual
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi NW ACTiV Manual (2012)

0.0
(0)
Mitsubishi Pajero NW GL Automatic
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW GL Automatic (2011-2012)

3.0
(1)
Mitsubishi Pajero NW GL Manual
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW GL Manual (2011-2012)

0.0
(0)
Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLS Automatic
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLS Automatic (2011-2012)

5.0
(4)
Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLS Manual
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLS Manual (2011-2012)

0.0
(0)
Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX 7 Seats, Manual
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX 7 Seats, Manual (2011-2012)

0.0
(0)
Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX 7 Seats, Automatic
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX 7 Seats, Automatic (2011-2012)

0.0
(0)
Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX 5 Seats, Manual
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX 5 Seats, Manual (2012-2014)

0.0
(0)
Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX 5 Seats, Automatic
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX 5 Seats, Automatic (2012-2014)

0.0
(0)
Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX-R Manual
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX-R Manual (2012-2014)

0.0
(0)
Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX-R Automatic
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW GLX-R Automatic (2012-2014)

4.7
(3)
Mitsubishi NW Platinum Manual
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi NW Platinum Manual (2011-2012)

0.0
(0)
Mitsubishi NW Platinum Automatic
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi NW Platinum Automatic (2011-2012)

0.0
(0)
Mitsubishi Pajero NW Platinum II Automatic
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW Platinum II Automatic (2012)

4.0
(1)
Mitsubishi Pajero NW Platinum II Manual
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW Platinum II Manual (2012)

0.0
(0)
Mitsubishi Pajero NW VR-X Manual
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW VR-X Manual (2012-2013)

0.0
(0)
Mitsubishi Pajero NW VR-X Automatic
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NW VR-X Automatic (2011-2014)

4.0
(8)
Mitsubishi Pajero NT
  • Discontinued

Mitsubishi Pajero NT (2008-2011)

4.4
(43)
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $63,990$56,990$49,990
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticManualAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticManualAutomaticManualAutomaticManualManualAutomaticManualAutomaticManualAutomaticManualAutomaticAutomaticManualManualAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselPetrolDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDieselDiesel and Petrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Steel17" Steel17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars4 Stars4 Stars4 Stars4 Stars4 Stars4 Stars4 Stars4 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars4 Stars4 Stars4 Stars4 Stars5 Stars5 Stars4 Stars
Doors555555555555555555555555555
Seats777777775577775577777777
Fuel Consumption9.1 L/100km9.1 L/100km9.1 L/100km8.4 L/100km9 L/100km13.5 L/100km9 L/100km8.4 L/100km9 L/100km8.4 L/100km9 L/100km8.4 L/100km8.4 L/100km9 L/100km8.4 L/100km9 L/100km8.4 L/100km9 L/100km8.4 L/100km9 L/100km9 L/100km8.4 L/100km8.4 L/100km9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 88 L88 L88 L90 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L88 L
Engine4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L6 Cylinder 3.8 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L
Max Power141kW @ 3800rpm141kW @ 3800rpm141kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm
Max Torque441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapan
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Headlight Wipers
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Sunroof
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Headlight Wipers
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Ground Clearance225 mm225 mm225 mm225 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,000 kg3,000 kg3,000 kg3,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2006Jan 2000Jan 2014Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2012Jan 2012Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2012Jan 2012Jan 2012Jan 2012Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2012Jan 2012Jan 2012Jan 2011Jan 2008
Discontinuation dateDec 2008Dec 2006Dec 2015Dec 2014Dec 2013Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2014Dec 2014Dec 2014Dec 2014Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2012Dec 2013Dec 2014Dec 2011
Replaced byMitsubishi Pajero NS

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.