??!
10 photos
Mitsubishi Triton

Mitsubishi Triton (page 4 of 22)

MN (2009-2014), ML (2006-2009), MQ, MK (1996-2006)
3.5 from 429 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.5

429 reviews
5
(156)
4
(98)
3
(46)
2
(43)
1
(86)
  • Build Quality
    3.4 (63)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (61)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (60)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (62)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.4 (60)
  • Handling
    3.7 (60)
  • Braking
    3.8 (60)
  • Suspension
    3.4 (59)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.8 (57)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.5 (60)
  • Interior Design
    3.6 (59)
  • Boot Size
    4.2 (48)
  • Features
    3.6 (59)
  • Comfort
    3.6 (58)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Mark .t

Mark .tSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Not bad but has probs

published

Got a 2017 triton: problems suspension not great,
Rear shocks leak factory fault
Passenger seat has terrible shake and noise over bumpy road waiting for a factory fix factory fault,
Rear springs squeak had to get Mitsubishi to fit it.

Josh

JoshMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

GLS manual Triton

published

Great car, value for money!!
Top 4x4
Test drove all the dualcabs out there,
The triton comes down best value for money. Along with the same quality as a Ranger, Hilux, Navara and Colorado less the extra $15-20,000.

Mike

MikeMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

What a warrior

published

I have a triton 2010 and is the most tough car I ever have, love doing 4x4 and take me everywhere where other 4x4 much more expensive can’t go... never have problems with Ute the only maintenance I do is the service, high recommend, for 4x4 tracks to highway and towing I’m very please to say never let me down...

BadgeGL-R
CabDouble Cab
BodyUte
Engine Size2.5L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2013
Drive4WD
Utes

Find out how Mitsubishi Triton compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Simone

SimoneSt.Arnaud

PAINT WORK

published

After only 5 years my 2014 Triton was red but has faded to a pink. Really dissapointed. $30,000 ute and a cheap paint job. Do not buy red. Does anybody have the best way to renew a 5 year paint job without cutting and polishing to much.
I have a 2000 Mitsubishi sedan darker red it has not faded. They use a paint that has previously been used on a 1999 Model which faded. Very dissappointed.

BadgeGL
CabDual Cab
BodyUte
Engine Size2.8L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2014
Drive4WD
Chilli

ChilliWodonga

Don't expect more than what you paid for

published
BadgeGLS
CabDual Cab
BodyUte
Engine Size2.4L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Drive4WD
Stihlnothappy

StihlnothappyMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Regretful buy

published
BadgeGLX-R
CabDual Cab
BodyUte
Engine Size2.5L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Drive4WD
Dan77

Dan77Nathalia

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great reliable vehicle. Well priced

published

Had an MN previously and travelled 165000 in 3 years (work ute). Upgraded to the mq 4 months ago this vehicle has now done 20000 ks. No problems with it or the previous model. Dual cab 4wd. Tows anything with ease. Would highly recommend the Triton , worth a look at if your after a 4wd dual cab.

BadgeGL-R
CabDual Cab
BodyCab Chassis
Engine Size2.4L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2018
Jimb

JimbGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 25 reviews
  • 16 likes

Good vehicle

published

I have had this car for over 5 years never let me down bought,less than 3 years old still had over 2 years warranty left,servicing a bit dear with dealer till I used local mechanic,replaced tyres,auto could use another gear otherwise good car economy fair to good but only driving in traffic,second triton I have had bought previous model new 10 years before would have kept but wanted auto for work.

BadgeGLX
CabSingle Cab
BodyCab Chassis
Engine Size2.5L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2013
mikb

mikbGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Reliable but has had issues.

published

1st off there is a government website to check if you need to have the airbag replaced, input your vin number. Around 4 months after purchase the Diff failed, had it rectified fairly quickly havent had a problem since, I also had an issue where the drain plug from the power steering fell out losing the oil, this was an easy fix, the issue is well known the diesel consumption has been pretty good getting around 10lt/100km, I also had an issue where it was coming on dangerous in turbo lag, I had some hardware fix done when I put it in for a service. Its been good and reliable apart from the issues mentioned, now done 202,000km, I use the car every day and its serviced at the manufacturers intervals.

BadgeGLX
CabDouble Cab
BodyCab Chassis
Engine Size2.5L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2009
DriveRWD
Utes

Find out how Mitsubishi Triton compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Top Ute For Cash

published

Mate look after it and will go 400000 plus klms Japanese design had 2 that did with regular service and care like any diesel warm it up clean air filter regularly and dont expect more than you paid for it i find it a very honest ute but will let YOU know when its done a bit

BadgeGLX
CabDual Cab
BodyUte
Engine Size2.4L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Aaron

AaronGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Regretful buy

published

2012 mn triton auto duel cab.
Poor fuel economy. Slow acceleration which is rather scary trying to get out into traffic. Which eventually blew a head gasket at 190k resulting in a complete engine replacement. I should have done my research before buying this. I am not a fan of the triton

BadgeGL-R
CabDual Cab
BodyUte
Engine Size2.5L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Hacksaw

HacksawPerth

Special tool for diff drain plug

published

Hi I have a 2011 Triton I want to change the oil in rear diff.where do I get the special tool.looks bit like a L key & does it have a special name.Also how do I find out if my car has the Takata air bag.i tried going online and punching in my rego & state.but it just comes up with rego & state not recognised.i also sent an email but no reply.also sent email to Mitsubishi

BadgeGL-R
CabDual Cab
BodyUte
Engine Size2.5L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Four gear boxes

published

Have had the car from new at 22000 clutch burnt out not covered under warranty had to pay another $3500 out gear box was piping out of third gear repackaged parts still broken new gear box number one replaced three months later gear box issue again new gear box number two six months later same issue new gear box number three five months later gear box four and now gear box five and I have a crack in the mainifold as well and told not to tow with it and it’s the time of the year where I need it the most going into Christmas car has only done 75000 km what a price of crap and Mitsubishi tell you lies and have had to go to a lawyer to get results more time and money lost do not buy a triton worst car I’ve ever had

BadgeDo not buy
CabClub Cab
BodyUte
Engine Size2.4L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Kym

KymVIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

GREAT CAR

published

There can be no denying the Triton’s sticker price jumps off the page and slaps you in the face. Our test vehicle was the premium grade Exceed purchased for 35K DEMO 700KMS out of the tank all the bells and whistles

Compare that with other top-shelf 4x4 dual cab utes like the Amarok Ultimate V6 ($68,490), HiLux Rugged X auto ($63,690), Ranger Wildtrak auto ($61,790), Colorado Z71 auto ($57,190) and Navara ST-X ($54,490). Obviously, many Aussies have done this and concluded that being able to buy a high quality Japanese ute with all the fruit for under $50K represents outstanding value for money.

BadgeExceed
CabDual Cab
BodyUte
Engine Size2.4L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018

big problems

published

hi
I have a 2016 tritan as a work ute. things were going ok, then at 45000 klms the diesel injector blocked, court fire and melted. 3.5 weeks in workshop then told it was good to go. I drove out of workshop did 132 klms the dpf and engine warning light came on, I had to drive back to workshop at 40 kays as that was max speed, I waited 2 day before they told me it may be a dpf problem and they may be able to claim it under warranty, but they cannot even think about ordering parts until they sort out if its a warranty job. Not to mention this part is not in Australia and will take a month to get here.
The workshop tell me nothing I have to ring to ask them, and the best part is they don't know.

Badgetritan
CabSingle Cab
BodyUte
Engine Size2.4L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Drive4WD
Utes

Find out how Mitsubishi Triton compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

4wd.. Your joking...

published

4wd. Single cab... Purchase new dec 2015... The drum that holds your seat belts.. When retracted rattles very loud . was told by dealer.. Your on your own... When 4x4 stick broke the wire for the rear wheel sensor.. NO more 4wd..but rear wheels bind up if you drive it... I recommend you don't drive it until you you fix it..$400 plus to replace... 2.4 diesel big flat turbo lag..one more thing If your on your own. In the bush with a flat battery you can't clutch start it... Because you have to press in the clutch to start...WHAT WHERE YOU THINKING... 4WD IS A OF ROAD VEHICLE... MITSUBISHI...

BadgeGLX
CabSingle Cab
BodyCab Chassis
Engine Size2.4L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Drive4WD

No Real Issues At All...Can't Argue with the VALUE FOR MONEY!!!!!

published
BadgeGLS
CabDual Cab
BodyUte
Engine Size2.4L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016
Drive4WD

Great value for money.Paint and finish arr very good.

published

My only vehicle so reliability is first priority,as a fair amount of my driving is on country roads where there is no mobile reception.I travel around 430 kilometres one way to visit family and friends on a regular basis,about every 6 to 7 weeks..Very comfortable,100% reliable,has just been serviced 3 year 45,000 kilometres.For a 2.4 motor it has good overtaking power.I have only done a small amount of off road but seems very capable.

BadgeExceed
CabDual Cab
BodyUte
Engine Size2.4L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2015
Drive4WD

Not impressed

published

Not very happy with this ute.
Air bag light keeps coming on, have taken it in 4 times in one year. Mitsubishi simply don't k ow what it is. So I'm literally driving a time bomb for all I know.
And apart from that the diesel is a total slug bug.

Badgewhast
CabClub Cab
BodyUte
Engine Size2.5L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2015
nothappyjan49

nothappyjan49PERTH

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

MQ Diesel Dual Cab-Pig!

published

Not happy at all with this vehicle. Seats fallen apart, Stereo system and bluetooth turn robotic. Roof racks interfere with radio reception as aerial cant fully extend. Has flat spot on acceleration. Doesn't like to tow which defeats the purpose as its a commercial work horse. Paint is absolutely crappy! Low quality for the new price paid! Capped price servicing from Mitsubishi only goes up to 45,000kms! Do not bother. Its an absolute PIG! Was told it was a GLXplus- no such badge!

BadgeGLX
CabDual Cab
BodyUte
Engine Size2.4L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Drive4WD
Page 4 of 22
See all Mitsubishi Triton reviews

Questions & Answers

Mal

Malasked

Triton MK (1996-2006)

Will a tail shaft off a 97 triton fit a 94 model ?

No answers
Bradley Johnson

Bradley Johnsonasked

Triton MK (1996-2006)

Hi. Will the 11/99 GLX Triton doors fit a 11/02 standard triton as I’m after power windows and central locking that my 11/02 triton doesn’t have.

No answers
brett7bat

brett7batasked

Triton MK (1996-2006)

How do you set the ignition timing on a 2005 Mitsubishi mk Triton 4g64

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Other Utes

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.